KOLIBRY KONSTRUKTOR EDUCATION-SA EDUCATION WINOGRAD CHONDRO VIDEO-2 APIS THEBAS ARISS-2 VIDEO-3 ARISS-3 SEEDS GRAPHABOX BUGENERGY BOP ESD ARISS-4 CHROPHYL MATI-75 TOP PICTURE ARISS-TV MAI-75 FIZIKA-OBRAZOVANIE

 
homepage
INTERNATIONAL SPACE STATION
EXPERIMENTS AND RESEARCHES

SCIENTIFIC RESEARCH ON THE RUSSIAN SEGMENT
EDUCATIONAL AND HUMANITARIAN PROJECTS
BSM Project CENTENARIO
EXPERIMENT SEEDS
SE Research Manager: BSA (Brazil)

russian
   

Experiment SEEDS forms part of the scientific research program performed by Brazilian Astronaut Marcos C. Pontes (BSA) on the Russian Segment of the ISS in the frame of CENTENARIO Brazilian Soyuz Mission Project. The Brazilian Space Agency is a customer of the preparation and implementation of the research program.


USED SCIENCE HARDWARE:

Kit SED consisting of

  • Kits with seeds SED (4 pc)
  • SED memory map
USED ONBOARD HARDWARE
  • Camera Nikon D1
  • Laptop A31P
 

PURPOSE:

Demonstration of gravitropism effects (gravitation change response of plants) and phototropism effects (differences in illumination conditions) on germination of seeds in microgravity conditions.

OBJECTIVE:

To demonstrate the gravitation effect on plants growth to Brazilian students (aged from 10 to 15).

EXPERIMENT RESULT:

  • Photo information on the seeds germination process in microgravity conditions downlinked from the ISS RS.
  • Log with information on the seeds growth, memory map, as well as the kits with germinated seeds, to be returned to the ground in the Soyuz TMA descent vehicle.

 

 


Four kits with seeds are used in the experiment. Each of the kits contains five seeds Phaseolus vulgaris. Two kits are exposed in the light, the rest kits are exposed in the dark. The seeds germinate at temperatures from +20 to +30°C and at a low oxygen concentration (up to ~3%). Germination process activation is performed through seeds wetting with the use of the attached syringe with water.
The process of seeds germination and evolution is accompanied by photography performed by the onboard camera. The Laptop is used for the following processing of digital photos and their preparation for downlink.

 

 

Official WEB-site of S.P.Korolev RSC Energia
E-mail:mail@rsce.ru

"КОЛИБРИ" "КОНСТРУКТОР" "EDUCATION"-SA "EDUCATION" "WINOGRAG" "CHONDRO" "VIDEO-2" "APIS" "THEBAS" "ARISS-2" "VIDEO-3" "ARISS-3" "SEEDS" "GRAPHOBOX" "BIG ENERGY" "BOP" "ESD" "ARISS-4" "МАТИ-75" "TOP" "PICTURE" "ARISS-TV" "МАИ-75" "ФИЗИКА-ОБРАЗОВАНИЕ"

 
на главнуюМЕЖДУНАРОДНАЯ КОСМИЧЕСКАЯ СТАНЦИЯ ЭКСПЕРИМЕНТЫ И ИССЛЕДОВАНИЯ

НАУЧНЫЕ ИССЛЕДОВАНИЯ НА РОССИЙСКОМ СЕГМЕНТЕ
ОБРАЗОВАТЕЛЬНЫЕ И ГУМАНИТАРНЫЕ ПРОЕКТЫ
Проект BSM "CENTENARIO"
ЭКСПЕРИМЕНТ "SEEDS"
Постановщик КЭ: БКА (Бразилия)

English
   
Эксперимент "SEEDS" входит в программу научных исследований, проводимых на борту Российского сегмента МКС бразильским астронавтом Маркосом Цезарем Понтесом в рамках проекта BSM "CENTENARIO". Заказчиком подготовки и выполнения этой программы исследований является Бразильское космическое агентство.

Используемая служебная аппаратура:

Укладка SED, имеющая в своем составе

  • Укладки c семенами SED (4 шт.)
  • Карта памяти SED

Используемая бортовая аппаратура:

  • Фотоаппарат Nikon D1Х
  • Laptop A31P

 

Цель:

Демонстрация эффектов гравитропизма (реакции растений на изменение гравитации) и фототропизма (различия в световых условиях) при проращивании семян в условиях микрогравитации.

Задача:

Продемонстрировать воздействие гравитации на рост растений бразильским школьникам (от 10 до 15 лет).

Результаты эксперимента:

  • фотоинформация о процессе прорастания семян в условиях микрогравитации, переданная с борта РС МКС
  • журнал с информацией о росте семян, карта памяти, а также сами укладки с проросшими семенами, возвращаемые на Землю в спускаемом аппарате корабля "Союз ТМА".
 


В эксперименте используются 4 укладки с семенами. В каждой из укладок раз-мещено по пять семян Phaseolus vulgaris. Две укладки экспонируются на свету, а остальные в темноте. Семена прорастают при температурах в диапазоне от +20 до +30°C и при низкой концентрации кислорода (до ~3%). Активация про-цесса проращивания осуществляется посредством смачивания семян с помощью прилагаемого шприца с водой.
Процесс прорастания и развития ростков сопровождается фотосъемкой, осуще-ствляемой бортовым фотоаппаратом. Лэптоп используется для последующей обработки цифровых фотографий и их подготовки к сбросу на Землю.

 

 

 

Официальный сайт РКК "Энергия" им С.П. Королева
E-mail:mail@rsce.ru