NII TsPK picture

Robert Brent THIRSK

Canadian Space Agency Astronaut, Canada

BIRTHPLACE AND DATE:
Born August 17, 1953, New Westminster, British Columbia, Canada.

EDUCATION:
Attended primary and secondary schools in British Columbia, Alberta and Manitoba.
Received a Bachelor of Science degree in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Calgary in 1976, a Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in 1978, a Doctorate of Medicine from McGill University in 1982, and a Master of Business Administration from the MIT Sloan School of Management in 1998.

FAMILY STATUS: Married.
Wife: Brenda Biasutti, Montreal, Quebec. They have three children.

HOBBY: hockey, playing the piano, flying, rest with his family.

WORK EXPERIENCE:
Dr. Thirsk was in the family medicine residency program at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital in Montreal when he was selected in 1983 for the Canadian Astronaut Program. He began astronaut training in February 1984 and served as backup payload specialist to Marc Garneau, the first Canadian astronaut for the October 1984 Challenger shuttle mission (STS-41-G).
He served as crew commander for two space mission simulations: the seven-day CAPSULS mission in 1994, at Defence Research and Development Canada in Toronto, and the 11-day NEEMO 7 undersea mission in 2004 at the National Undersea Research Center in Key Largo, Florida. He led an international research team investigating the effect of weightlessness on the heart and blood vessels. He works with educational specialists in Canada to develop space-related curriculum for grade school students. Initiatives such as Canolab, Space for Species, and Tomatosphere have allowed thousands of young Canadians to experience the thrill of scientific discovery.
He performed his first space flight on June 20 - July 7, 1996 as a payload specialist aboard the Columbia shuttle (STS-78) with Life and Microgravity Spacelab (LMS) in the payload module. During the flight he and his crewmates performed 43 international experiments devoted to the study of life and materials sciences. The life science experiments allowed to investigate changes in plants, animals, and humans under space flight conditions. The materials science experiments examined protein crystallization, fluid physics and high-temperature solidification of multi-phase materials in a weightless environment. The flight duration was 16 days 21 hours 48 min. Dr. Thirsk is a Canadian record-holder of staying in space.
In August 1998 he was assigned by the Canadian Space Agency to NASA's Johnson Space Center in Houston, Texas, to participate in the training program for flights on the shuttle and ISS, where he passed training as a mission specialist. The training program involved advanced instruction on the shuttle and space station systems, EVA (spacewalk), robotic operations, and Russian language.
Within the NASA Astronaut Office, Dr. Thirsk served as a (capsule communicator) for the International Space Station (ISS) program. s participate in actual and simulated space missions as a communication link between the Mission Control Centers and the astronauts in orbit, CAPCOMs speak directly with the space station crew, and assist with technical planning for the mission and last-minute troubleshooting.
In 2004, Dr. Thirsk trained at Yuri Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center and became certified as a Flight Engineer for the Soyuz spacecraft. He served as backup Flight Engineer to European Space Agency (ESA) astronaut Roberto Vittori and passed training as the backup crew flight engineer for the Soyuz -6 transport spacecraft under the program of Russian Expedition 8 to the ISS (VC-8). At a period of January 16 - 27, 2007 he took part in the training for survival within the preliminary crew, together with Oleg Kononenko (Russia) and Andre Kuipers (the Netherlands). The training was provided in the forest 30 km from Moscow.
On June 16 - 22, 2008 in Sevastopol (the Ukraine) Dr. Thirsk participated in the training within the preliminary crew, together with Alexei Ovchinnikov (Russia) and Richard Garriot (USA) in case of the descent vehicle water landing.
In August 2007 he was preliminarily assigned to the prime crew of Expedition 20 to the ISS (ISS-20). On February 12, 2008 NASA officially declared on his assignment to this crew. On November 21, 2008 his assignment was reconfirmed by NASA when declaring the ISS-20 - ISS-26 crewmembers.

April 2009.
By the data of site www.astronaut.ru
and the Canadian Space Agency site.

ISS Crew


RYZHIKOV SergeyRYZHIKOV
Sergey



KUD-SVERCHKOV SergeyKUD-SVERCHKOV
Sergey



RUBINS<br>KathleenRUBINS
Kathleen

ЭКИПАЖ-19/20
ЭКИПАЖ-20/21
НЕОБХОДИМЫЕ РЕСУРСЫ
ШЕСТНАДЦАТАЯ РОССИЙСКАЯ ЭКСПЕДИЦИЯ ПОСЕЩЕНИЯ
ФОТО МКС-19
ФОТО МКС-20
ВИДЕО
 
 
на главную
МЕЖДУНАРОДНАЯ КОСМИЧЕСКАЯ СТАНЦИЯ
ЭКСПЕДИЦИЯ МКС-20/21
ОСНОВНОЙ ЭКИПАЖ

English
   

Фото НИИ ЦПК им. Ю.А.Гагарина

Роберт Брент ТЁРСК

Бортинженер МКС,
бортинженер ТПК "Союз ТМА",
астронавт Канадского космического агентства, Канада

ДАТА И МЕСТО РОЖДЕНИЯ: 17 августа 1953 года в Новом Вестминстере, Британская Колумбия, Канада.

ОБРАЗОВАНИЕ:
Закончил начальную и среднюю школы в Британской Колумбии, Альберте и Манитобе.
В 1976 году получил степень бакалавра технических наук по машиностроению в Университете Калгари, в 1978 году - магистра наук по машиностроению в Массачусетском технологическом институте, степень доктора медицины в Университете Мак Гилла в 1982 году, а также степень магистра по управлению частными предприятиями в школе управления Слоана при Массачусетском технологическом институте в 1998 году.

СЕМЕЙНОЕ ПОЛОЖЕНИЕ: женат.
Жена - Бренда Бьясутти из Монреаля, Квебек. У них трое детей.

УВЛЕЧЕНИЯ: хоккей, игра на пианино, полеты, отдых с семьей.

ОПЫТ РАБОТЫ:
Участвовал в Программе ординатуры по семейной медицине в госпитале Королевы Элизабет (г. Монреаль), когда его выбрали для участия в Канадской Программе астронавтов в 1983 году. В феврале 1984 года начал подготовку к космическим полетам и являлся дублером первого канадского астронавта Марка Гарно, специалиста по полезным грузам в экипаже орбитального корабля "Челленджер" (STS-41-G), совершившего свой полет в октябре 1984 года.
Являлся командиром экипажа при моделировании двух космических полетов: семидневной миссии "CAPSULS" в 1994 году в Канадском научно-исследовательском центре Министерства обороны (г. Торонто) и 11-дневной подводной миссии "NEEMO 7" в 2002 году в Государственном подводном научно-исследовательском центре в Ки Ларго (штат Флорида). Возглавлял международную научно-исследовательскую группу, исследующую влияние невесомости на сердце и кровеносные сосуды. Работает со специалистами по образованию в Канаде с целью разработки учебного курса по космической тематике для учащихся начальной школы. Инициативы, известные как "Canolab", "Space for Species" и "Tomatosphere", позволили тысячам юных канадцев испытать радость собственных научных открытий.
Первый космический полет совершил с 20 июня по 7 июля 1996 года в качестве специалиста по полезным грузам корабля "Колумбия" (STS-78) с Лабораторией по микрогравитации и биологическим наукам (LMS), расположенной в отсеке полезного груза. В течение полета экипаж корабля выполнил 43 международных эксперимента по биологии и материаловедению. Биологические эксперименты позволили исследовать изменения, происходящие в растительных, животных и человеческих организмах в условиях космического полета. Эксперименты по материаловедению позволили исследовать кристаллизацию белков, физику жидкостей и затвердевание многофазных материалов при высокой температуре в условиях микрогравитации. Длительность полета составила 16 сут 21 час 48 мин 30 сек. Доктору Тирску принадлежит рекорд Канады по общей длительности пребывания в космосе.
В августе 1998 года направлен Канадским космическим агентством в Космический Центр имени Л. Джонсона (НАСА) в Хьюстоне, штат Техас, для участия в программе подготовки к полетам на МТКК "Шаттл" и МКС, где прошел подготовку в качестве специалиста полета. Программа подготовки включала углубленное изучение бортовых систем орбитального корабля и Международной космической станции, внекорабельной деятельности, робототехнических операций и русского языка.
Работает в отряде астронавтов НАСА в качестве CAPCOM (специалиста по связи с астронавтами) в рамках Программы Международной космической станции. Специалисты CAPCOM участвуют в действительных и моделируемых космических полетах в качестве «связующего звена» между Центрами управления полетом и астронавтами на орбите. Специалисты CAPCOM общаются непосредственно с экипажем космической станции и оказывают помощь в техническом планировании полета, поиске и оперативном устранении возникающих нештатных ситуаций.
В 2004 году прошел подготовку в ЦПК им. Ю.А. Гагарина и получил квалификацию бортинженера космического корабля "Союз". Прошел подготовку в качестве бортинженера дублирующего экипажа транспортного корабля "Союз ТМА-6" по программе восьмой российской экспедиции посещения МКС и был дублером астронавта ЕКА Роберто Виттори.
В период с 16 по 27 января 2007 года в лесистой местности в 30 км от Москвы участвовал в тренировках по выживанию в составе условного экипажа вместе с Олегом Кононенко (Россия) и Андре Кейперсом (Голландия).
С 16 по 22 июня 2008 года в Севастополе (Украина) участвовал в тренировках на случай посадки спускаемого аппарата на воду в составе условного экипажа вместе с Алексеем Овчининым (Россия) и Ричардом Гэрриотом (США).
В августе 2007 года в предварительном порядке был назначен в основной экипаж 20-й экспедиции на МКС (МКС-20). 12 февраля 2008 года НАСА официально объявило о его назначении в этот экипаж. 21 ноября 2008 года его назначение было вновь подтверждено НАСА при объявлении составов экипажей МКС-20 - МКС-26.

Апрель 2009 г.
По материалам сайта www.astronaut.ru
и сайта Канадского космического агентства.

 

 

 

 

Официальный сайт РКК "Энергия" им С.П. Королева
E-mail:mail@rsce.ru