NASA picture

Timothy L. KOPRA

NASA Astronaut, USA

DATE AND PLACE OF BIRTH:
Born on April 9, 1963, in Austin, Texas.

EDUCATION:
He graduated from Austin High School in Austin in 1981.
In 1985 Kopra received a bachelor of science degree, Military Academy, West Point.
In 1995 he received a master of science degree (aerospace engineering), George Institute of Technology.

FAMILY STATUS: married to Dawn Kaye Lehman. They have two children.

AWARDS: several Air Force and DOD Medals.

HOBBY: running, swimming and biking.

WORK EXPERIENCE:
Since August 1986 he was the U.S. Army aviator. Up to 1990 Kopra served at Fort Campbell, Kentucky, where he served as an aeroscout platoon leader, troop executive officer, and squadron adjutant in the 101st Airborne Division's air cavalry squadron.
In 1990 he was transferred to the 3rd Armored Division in Hanau, Germany, and participated in Operations Desert Shield and Desert Storm. He completed his service in Germany as an attack helicopter company commander.
Having returned to the United States and upon graduation from Georgia Institute of Technology in 1995 he attended the U.S. Naval Test Pilot School. Upon graduation, he was assigned to the U.S. Army Aviation Technical Test Center, where be worked as an experimental test pilot on various projects and was the director for the Comanche helicopter program.
He also finished the Army Parachutist Course, Pathfinder Course, Pathfinder Course, Air Assault Course and the Command and General Staff College.
In September 1998 Kopra began to serve at the Johnson Space Center as a test engineer at the assembly-test complex. He was to test software for ISS and participate in operations for the shuttle processing.
On July 26, 2000 he was selected as a candidate for astronauts (18th selection, NASA) for training as a mission specialist. He passed a course of general space training. Upon completion of the course he was qualified as a mission specialist and assigned to the Space Station Branch of the Astronaut Office, where he was involved in testing of the crew interfaces for two ISS modules, software of the onboard computers and Local Area Network on ISS.
On January 26 - 28, 2006 Kopra within the preliminary crew, together with Maxim Suraev (Russia) and Nicole Stott (USA) participated in a two-day test for survival in the desolate territory in case of the descent vehicle emergency landing. The test was conducted in the forest near Moscow.
On February 13, 2007 by NASA decision he was assigned as a flight engineer to the backup crew of Expedition 16 to the ISS (ISS-16) and then to the backup crew of Expedition 17 to the ISS (ISS-17). Successively he was a backup of Garrett Reisman and Gregory Chamitoff.
In summer 2007 he was preliminarily assigned to the prime crew of Expedition 18 (ISS-18) to the ISS. According to these plans he was to be launched by Endeavour (STS-127) in January 2009. On November 21, 2008 his assignment was officially confirmed by NASA when declaring the ISS-20 - ISS-26 crewmembers.

April 2009
By the data of site www.astronaut.ru.

ISS Crew


RYZHIKOV SergeyRYZHIKOV
Sergey



KUD-SVERCHKOV SergeyKUD-SVERCHKOV
Sergey



RUBINS<br>KathleenRUBINS
Kathleen

ЭКИПАЖ-19/20
ЭКИПАЖ-20/21
НЕОБХОДИМЫЕ РЕСУРСЫ
ШЕСТНАДЦАТАЯ РОССИЙСКАЯ ЭКСПЕДИЦИЯ ПОСЕЩЕНИЯ
ФОТО МКС-19
ФОТО МКС-20
ВИДЕО
 
 
на главную
МЕЖДУНАРОДНАЯ КОСМИЧЕСКАЯ СТАНЦИЯ
ЭКСПЕДИЦИЯ МКС-20/21
ДУБЛИРУЮЩИЙ ЭКИПАЖ

English
   

Фото НАСА

Тимоти Леннарт Копра

Бортинженер МКС,
астронавт НАСА, США

ДАТА И МЕСТО РОЖДЕНИЯ:
Родился 9 апреля 1963 года в городе Аустин (Austin) в Техасе.

ОБРАЗОВАНИЕ:
В 1981 году закончил среднюю школу в Аустине.
В 1985 году получил степень бакалавра B.S. в Военной Академии в Вест-Пойнте.
В 1995 году получил степень магистра M.S. (аэрокосмическое машиностроение) в Технологическом институте штата Джорджия.

СЕМЕЙНОЕ ПОЛОЖЕНИЕ: на Дон Кэй Лэмэн, у них двое детей.

НАГРАДЫ: несколько медалей ВВС и Министерства Обороны.

УВЛЕЧЕНИЯ: бег, плавание, мотоциклы (байкинг).

ОПЫТ РАБОТЫ:
С августа 1986 года - летчик Армии США. До 1990 года служил в Форте Кэмпебелл в Кентукки, где был командиром взвода, старшим помощником командира части, заместителем командира воздушно-десантной эскадрильи в 101-й воздушно-десантной дивизии.
В 1990 году был переведен в 3-ю бронетанковую дивизию в Ханнау в Германии. Участвовал в операциях "Щит пустыни" и "Буря в пустыне". Закончил службу в Германии командиром группы ударных вертолетов.
Вернувшись в США и окончив Технологический институт, в 1995 году он был направлен в школу летчиков-испытателей ВМФ, после окончания которой был направлен на службу в технико-испытательный центр Армии США, где работал летчиком-испытателем по различным программам, руководителем испытаний вертолетов Comanche.
Окончил так же армейские курсы парашютистов, штурманские курсы, колледж командного состава при генеральном штабе.
В сентябре 1998 года начал работать в космическом центре им. Л. Джонсона в качестве инженера-испытателя в монтажно-испытательном комплексе. В его задачи входило тестирование программного обеспечения для МКС и участие в операциях по обслуживанию шаттлов.
26 июля 2000 года отобран в качестве кандидата в астронавты 18-го набора NASA (для подготовки в качестве специалиста полета). Прошел курс общей космической подготовки. По окончании получил квалификацию специалиста полета и назначение в Отделение управления станции Отдела астронавтов, где занимался тестированием интерфейсов связи двух модулей МКС, программного обеспечения бортовых компьютеров и локальной сети на станции.
С 26 по 28 января 2006 года в составе условного экипажа вместе с Максимом Сураевым (Россия) и Николь Стотт (США) участвовал в двухсуточном экзамене на умение выжить в безлюдной местности в случае аварийной посадки спускаемого аппарата. Экзамен проходил в подмосковном лесу.
13 февраля 2007 года решением NASA был назначен бортинженером в дублирующий экипаж 16-й экспедиции на МКС (МКС-16), а затем в дублирующий экипаж 17-й экспедиции на МКС (МКС-17). Последовательно был дублёром Гэррета Рисмана и Грегори Шамитоффа.
Летом 2007 года в предварительном порядке был назначен в основной экипаж 18-й (МКС-18) экспедиции на МКС. Согласно этим планам он должен был стартовать на корабле Endeavour STS-127 в январе 2009 года. 21 ноября 2008 года его назначение было официально подтверждено НАСА при объявлении составов экипажей МКС-20 - МКС-26.

Апрель 2009 г.
По материалам сайта www.astronaut.ru

 

 

 

 

 

Официальный сайт РКК "Энергия" им С.П. Королева
E-mail:mail@rsce.ru