Study of Cosmic Rays on ISS Russian Segment

Experiment Platan


Objective:

Study of elemental composition and detailed energy spectra of iron group nuclei in galactic cosmic rays and ions in solar cosmic rays in the 30-200 MeV/nucleon energy range. An additional objective is to detect micro-particles in the vicinity of the space station.

Tasks:

  • Installation of Platan-M detector units on the surface of the Zvezda Service Module of the ISS RS during extravehicular activity, photography of their accommodation on the outer surface of the Service module.
  • Long-duration exposure (1-2 years) of the Platan-M detector units on the Service module surface.
  • Dismounting of the Platan-M detector units after long-duration exposure from the outer surface of the Service module during extravehicular activity and their return to the ground for processing of the experiment results.

Science Hardware Used:

  • Platan-M detector unit

Flight Equipment Used:

  • Kodak ESC460c digital camera
    to photograph the detector unit at the location to reference its position to structural elements.

Support Accessories:

  • Bracket.

Expected Results:

The knowledge of fluxes and energy spectra of the most ionizing component of cosmic rays (iron group nuclei) during different phases of solar activity in the interests of providing radiation safety and resistance of space hardware.

After return to the ground the exposed detectors (layers of 20-100 mm and 30 mm in total thickness) are subjected to physico-chemical treatment (ultraviolet radiation, alkali etching), microscopy (measurement of parameters of track cones and depth of its penetration) to define the particle charge and energy.

English

Исследования космических лучей на Российском сегменте МКС

Эксперимент "Платан"


Цель:

Изучение элементного состава и детальных энергетических спектров ядер группы железа галактических космических лучей и ионов солнечных космических лучей в интервале энергий 30-200 МэВ/нуклон. Дополнительная цель - регистрация микрочастиц в окрестности станции.

Задачи:

  • Монтаж детектирующих блоков "Платан-М" на поверхности служебного модуля "Звезда" РС МКС во время выхода в открытый космос, фотографирование их размещения на внешней поверхности служебного модуля.
  • Длительное (1-2 года) экспонирование детектирующих блоков "Платан-М" на поверхности служебного модуля.
  • Демонтаж детектирующих блоков "Платан-М" после длительного экспонирования с внешней поверхности служебного модуля во время выхода в открытый космос и их возвращение на Землю для обработки результатов эксперимента.

Используемая научная аппаратура:

  • детектирующий блок "Платан-М".

Используемая штатная аппаратура:

  • цифровой фотоаппарат Kodak ESC460с
    для фотосъемки детектирующего блока на месте размещения для привязки к элементам конструкции.

Комплекс средств поддержки и обеспечения:

  • Кронштейн.

Ожидаемые результаты:

Исследование потоков и энергетических спектров самой ионизирующей компоненты космических лучей (ядра группы железа) в различных фазах солнечной активности в интересах обеспечения радиационной безопасности и стойкости космических изделий.

По возвращении на Землю проэкспонированные детекторы (слои по 20-100 мкм общей толщиной 30 мм) подвергаются физико-химической обработке (ультрафиолетовое облучение, травление щелочью), микроскопическому исследованию (измерение параметров конусов трека и глубину его проникновения) для определения заряда и энергии частицы.