–усский

Human Life Research on ISS Russian Segment

CRISP-2 Experiment


Experiment CRISP-2 forms part of the scientific research program performed by Italian Astronaut Roberto Vittori (ESA) on the Russian Segment of the ISS in the frame of ENEIDE ISM Project. The European Space Agency is a customer of the preparation and implementation of the research program.



Objective:

  • Study the effects of microgravity on the proliferation of neurons in crickets, if fertilization occurs in space.
  • Study the effects of gravity deprivation on gravity-related behavior in crickets.

Task:

Incubation of animals on the Russian Segment of the ISS.

Science Hardware Used:

  • Experimental Cricket Containers CRI (2) with laboratory crickets, i.e. female crickets Acheta domesticus, seven female crickets in each container. Each Cricket Container accommodates three Egg Collectors and one water bottle.
  • KUBIK Ц AMBER Ц thermally insulated container (incubator) with a set of slots for Cricket Containers.

During flight, females will be allowed to deposit eggs in the respective egg collectors during two periods of the mission. This requirement considers that embryos are exposed for different periods to microgravity. After the first period of eggs deposition the embryos are developed for 8 days under microgravity conditions. During this period the neuronal proliferation under Earth conditions is completed. After the second period of egg deposition the embryos remain in microgravity for 3 days only, namely, neuronal proliferation will continue after return to 1g-condition.

Support Facilities:

  • Camcorder DSR PD-150P.

Consumables:

  • Mini-DV video tapes.

Experiment Results:

  • Incubated embryos of crickets in Cricket Containers;
  • Video data recorded during the experiment showing walking abilities and health conditions of the female crickets.

ISS Crew


OVCHININ Alexey OVCHININ
Alexey



HAGUE  Nick HAGUE
Nick



KOCH  Christina  KOCH
Christina



SKVORTSOV Alexandr SKVORTSOV
Alexandr



PARMITANO Luka PARMITANO
Luka



MORGAN   Andrew MORGAN
Andrew

English

Медико-биологические эксперименты и исследования на Российском сегменте МКС

Эксперимент "CRISP-2"


Эксперимент "CRISP-2" входит в программу научных исследований, проводимых на борту Российского сегмента МКС итальянским астронавтом ЕКА Роберто Виттори в рамках проекта ISM "Энеида". Заказчиком подготовки и выполнения этой программы исследований является Европейское космическое агентство.



Цель:

  • Исследование влияния микрогравитации на пролиферацию нейронов у сверчков при оплодотворении в условиях космического пространства.
  • Исследование поведенческих особенностей у сверчков, обусловленных изменениями силы тяжести.

Задача:

Инкубирование насекомых на Российском сегменте МКС.

Используемая научная аппаратура:

  • Экспериментальные "Контейнеры для сверчков CRI" (2 шт.) с подопытными насекомыми – самками домашних сверчков Acheta domesticus – по 7 самок в каждом контейнере. В каждом из экспериментальных контейнеров размещено по 3 коллектора яиц и по одному баллону с водой.
  • Контейнер "КУБИК ЯНТАРЬ" – термостат (инкубатор) с набором посадочных мест для экспериментальных контейнеров со сверчками.

В течение полета самки сверчков получат возможность дважды откладывать яйца в соответствующих коллекторах яиц. В соответствии с этим эмбрионы подвергаются воздействию условий микрогравитации в течение разных периодов времени. После первого периода откладывания яиц эмбрионы развиваются в течение 8 суток в условиях микрогравитации. В течение этого периода завершается пролиферация нейронов в нормальных условиях. После второго периода откладывания яиц эмбрионы остаются в условиях микрогравитации только в течение 3 дней, а именно, пролиферация нейронов продолжается и завершается в условиях 1g.

Комплекс средств поддержки и обеспечения:

  • Камкордер DSR PD-150P.

Расходуемые материалы:

  • Видеокассеты мини-DV.

Результаты эксперимента:

  • Проинкубированные эмбрионы сверчков в экспериментальных контейнерах.
  • Видеоинформация, записанная в ходе проведения эксперимента и фиксирующая возможности перемещения и состояния здоровья самок сверчков.