Roscosmos photo

MEIR Jessica

NASA Astronaut, USA

DATE AND PLACE OF BIRTH
Born July 15, 1977 in Caribou, Maine.

EDUCATION
She graduated from high school in Caribou, Maine.
In 1999 she received a Bachelors degree in biology from Brown University in Providence, Rhode Island.
In 2000 she received a Masters degree in space research from the International Space University in Strasbourg, France.
In 2009 she received a Ph.D. in marine biology (the immersion physiology) from the Scripps Institute of Oceanography at the University of California, San Diego, California.

AWARDS AND HONORARY TITLES
Fellowship of the American Society of Physiologists to a young scientist (2013); scholarship of the National Science Foundation (2009); Student Award from the Philanthropic Educational Organization (2008); encouraging student scholarship for achievements in science (2006); Department of Defence Fellowship (2003); Lockheed Martin Special Achievement Award (2002); title of the best employee of the month of Lockheed Martin Corporation (2002); special award for professional achievements from the Department of Space and Life Sciences of the Lyndon Johnson Space Center, NASA (2002); Lockheed Martin Special Award (2002).

HOBBY
Skiing, hiking, running, cycling, playing football, diving in the light diving equipment, has an amateur pilot license, speaks spoken Swedish.

WORK EXPERIENCE
In her Ph.D research Jessica Meir studied the diving physiology of marine mammals and birds, focusing on reducing the oxygen content in the body of emperor penguins and northern elephant seals while being underwater. These studies were conducted in Antarctica and Northern California.
During post-doctoral research at the University of British Columbia, she studied physiology of bar-headed geese flying at high altitudes, conducted experiments on the geese flying in a wind tunnel, studied physiological changes that occur in their bodies under conditions of oxygen starvation.
In 2012 Meir received a post of an associate professor at the Harvard Medical School at Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston where she continued to study physiology of animals in extreme conditions.
She also took an active part in the underwater expeditions of the Smithsonian Institution in Antarctica and Belize.

NASA WORK EXPERIENCE:
From 2000 to 2003 Jessica Meir worked at the Lockheed Martin Human Research Laboratory at the NASA Johnson Space Center where she studied human physiology during space flight under the Space Shuttle and the ISS programs.
At the same time she took part in research flights of weightlessness aboard the NASA aircraft, and was also an aquanaut crew member of the NEEMO-4 experiment in the Aquarius underwater habitat.
Jessica Meir was selected by NASA in June 2013 together with other eight candidates for the 21-st astronaut selection. The training under the astronaut candidates program included numerous reviews with regard to scientific and technical issues, intensive briefings on the International Space Station systems, training for egress into space and robotics training, medical training, flights on a T-38 aircraft, as well as studying the ways of survival on water and in the desert.
In July 2015 she completed training in the group and was certified for a space flight.

SPACE FLIGHT TRAINING
From January to April 2018 she underwent training in the backup crew of ISS-60/61 as flight engineer-1 of the Soyuz MS spacecraft and a flight engineer of the International Space Station.
From May 2018 to February 2019 Jessica Meir underwent training in the backup crew of ISS-59-60 as flight engineer-1 of the Soyuz MS spacecraft and a flight engineer of the Station.
From March 2019 she trained in the prime crew of ISS-61/62/VC-19 as flight engineer-1 of the Soyuz MS-15 spacecraft and a flight engineer of the Station.

SPACE FLIGHT EXPERIENCE

She has been performing the first space flight from September 25, 2019 as a flight engineer of the Soyuz MS-15 spacecraft, a flight engineer of the ISS under the program of prime crews 61/62 together with commander Oleg Skripochka and participant of the space flight Hazza AL Mansouri.

October 2019
Based on materials of site www.roscosmos.ru.

ISS Crew


PARMITANO Luka PARMITANO
Luka



KOCH Christina  KOCH
Christina



SKVORTSOV Alexandr SKVORTSOV
Alexandr



MORGAN   Andrew MORGAN
Andrew



  SKRIPOCHKA
Oleg



   MEIR
Jessica

English

Фото Роскосмоса

МЕИР Джессика

Астронавт НАСА, США

ДАТА И МЕСТО РОЖДЕНИЯ
Родилась 15 июля 1977 года в г. Карибу, штат Мэн.

ОБРАЗОВАНИЕ
Окончила среднюю школу в г. Карибу, штат Мэн.
В 1999 году получила степень бакалавра наук в области биологии в Брауновском университете в г. Провиденс, штат Род-Айленд.
В 2000 году получила научную степень магистра по космическим исследованиям в Международном космическом университете в г. Страсбург, Франция.
В 2009 году получила научную степень доктора в области морской биологии (физиология погружений) в Институте океанографии имени Скриппса при Калифорнийском университете в г. Сан-Диего, штат Калифорния.

НАГРАДЫ И ПОЧЕТНЫЕ ЗВАНИЯ
Стипендия Американского общества физиологов молодому ученому (2013 г.); стипендия Национального научного фонда (2009 г.); студенческая награда от Филантропической образовательной организации (2008 г.); поощрительная студенческая стипендия за достижения в науке (2006 г.); стипендия Министерства обороны США (2003 г.); поощрение за особые достижения от корпорации «Локхид-Мартин» (2002 г.); звание лучшего работника месяца корпорации «Локхид-Мартин» (2002 г.); особая награда за профессиональные достижения от управления космических и медико-биологических наук Космического центра имени Линдона Джонсона, NASA (2002 г.); особая награда корпорации «Локхид-Мартин» (2002 г.).

УВЛЕЧЕНИЯ
Лыжный спорт, походы, бег, езда на велосипеде, игра в футбол, погружения в легководолазном снаряжении; вмеет лицензию летчика-любителя, владеет разговорным шведским языком.

ОПЫТ РАБОТЫ
В своем исследовании на соискание докторской степени Джессика Меир изучала физиологию погружений морских млекопитающих и птиц, фокусируя внимание на уменьшении содержания кислорода в организме королевских пингвинов и морских слонов во время нахождения под водой. Исследования проводились в Антарктиде и Северной Калифорнии.
При прохождении постдокторантуры в Университете Британской Колумбии она занималась изучением физиологии летающих на большой высоте горных гусей, проводила эксперименты по полету гусей в аэродинамической трубе и исследовала физиологические изменения, происходящие в их организме в условиях кислородного голодания.
В 2012 году Меир получила должность адъюнкт-профессора в Гарвардской медицинской школе при Массачусетском госпитале в Бостоне, где продолжала изучение физиологии животных в экстремальных условиях.
Она также принимала активное участие в подводных экспедициях Смитсоновского института в Антарктиде и Белизе.

ОПЫТ РАБОТЫ В НАСА
С 2000 года по 2003 год Джессика Меир работала в Лаборатории исследований человеческого организма корпорации «Локхид-Мартин» в Космическом центре имени Линдона Джонсона, где изучала физиологию человека во время космических полетов по программам «Спейс Шаттл» и МКС.
В это же время она принимала участие в исследовательских полетах на невесомость на борту самолетов NASA, а также являлась членом экипажа акванавтов эксперимента NEEMO-4 в подводной лаборатории «Аквариус».
Джессика Меир прошла отбор в NASA в июне 2013 года вместе с восемью другими кандидатами в астронавты 21-го набора. Подготовка по программе кандидатов в астронавты включала в себя многочисленные обзоры по научным и техническим вопросам, интенсивные инструктажи по системам Международной космической станции, подготовку по выходу в открытый космос и робототехнике, медицинскую подготовку, полеты на самолете Т-38, а также изучение способов выживания на воде и в пустынной местности.
В июле 2015 года она завершила подготовку в группе и была сертифицирована для выполнения космического полета.

ПОДГОТОВКА К КОСМИЧЕСКИМ ПОЛЕТАМ
С января по апрель 2018 года проходила подготовку в составе дублирующего экипажа МКС-60/61 в качестве бортинженера-1 корабля «Союз МС» и бортинженера Международной космической станции.
С мая 2018 года по февраль 2019 года проходила подготовку в составе дублирующего экипажа МКС-59/60 в качестве бортинженера-1 крабля «Союз МС» и бортинженера станции.
С марта 2019 года проходила подготовку в составе основного экипажа МКС-61/62/ЭП-19 в качестве бортинженера-1 корабля «Союз МС-15» и бортинженера станции.

ОПЫТ КОСМИЧЕСКИХ ПОЛЕТОВ

Первый космический полет совершает с 25 сентября 2019 года в качестве бортинженера корабля «Союз МС-15», бортинженера МКС по программе 61-й и 62-й основных экспедиций вместе с командиром Олегом Скрипочкой и участником космического полета Хаззаа Аль-Мансури.

Октябрь 2019 г.
По материалам сайта www.roscosmos.ru.