NII TsPK picture

OVCHININ Alexey Nikolaevich

RF Air Force Lt. Colonel, Retired
Test Cosmonaut,
Yu.A. Gagarin CTC, Russia

DATE AND PLACE OF BIRTH:
September 28, 1971 in Rybinsk, Yaroslavl Region, Russia

FAMILY STATUS: married.

EDUCATION:
From August 1988 to September 1990 Alexey Ovchinin was a cadet of Borisoglebsk Higher Military Pilot School and from September 1990 to August 1992 he was a cadet of Yeisk Higher Military Pilot School, upon graduation from which he was qualified as a pilot-engineer.

AWARDS AND TITLES:
Hero of the Russian Federation and Pilot-Cosmonaut of the Russian Federation.
Awarded the medal Gold Star of the Hero of the Russian Federation and medals from the Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation: For Distinguished Military Service, 1st, 2nd and 3rd Class, For Service in the Air Force, For Military Virtue, 2nd Class.

WORK EXPERIENCE:
From August 1992 to February 1998 he served as an instructor pilot of Training Aviation Regiment (TAR) of Yeisk Higher Military Pilot School and from February 1998 to September 2003 he was an instructor pilot, then commander of the aviation section of Krasnodar Military Aviation Institute (MAI).
Since September 2003 and till enrollment in the cosmonaut detachment he served as commander of the aviation section of the 70th Separate Test Training Aviation Regiment of Special Purpose (OITAPON) after V.S. Seregin (settlement Chkalovskiy), Moscow Military District.
Flied Yak-52 and L-39. The total flying time is more than 1300 hours.
Ovchinin is qualified as Instructor Pilot Second Class.
By the Defence Minister Order of the Russian Federation in May-July 2012 he was dismissed from the Armed Forces into reserve.

On October 11, 2006 he was recommended for admission to Yu.A. Gagarin CTC as a candidate for cosmonauts.
On February 26, 2007 Ovchinin began to pass a two-year course of general space training.
At a period of June 16 - 22, 2008 in Sevastopol (the Ukraine) he participated in trainings in case of the descent vehicle landing on water within the preliminary crew together with Robert Terskom (Canada) and Richard Garriott (USA).
On June 2, 2009 he completed general space training (GST) having passed the state exams at CTC with a "good" mark. On June 9 at a meeting of the Interdepartmental Qualification Commission (IDQC) he was qualified as a test cosmonaut and Cosmonaut Certificate No. 205 was presented to him.
By Order of CTC NII FGBU Head on August 1, 2009 Ovchinin was appointed to a post of CTC detachment test cosmonaut.
In October 2009 at the Baikonur Cosmodrome he took part in training in Mini Research Module (MRM).

At a meeting of the Interdepartmental Commission for selection of cosmonauts and their assignment to the manned vehicles and stations on April 26, 2010 Ovchinin was certified as a cosmonaut of Yu.A. Gagarin CTC NII FGBU detachment.
In June 2012 it was reported that he was assigned to the crew of the Soyuz TMA-16M vehicle. However, in autumn 2012 Ovchinin was not approved in the crew for 2014 in connection with adopting a decision on performing an annual flight and assigning of experienced cosmonaut - Mikhail Kornienko to the crew.
At a period of September 15 - 28, 2013 on the island of Sardinia (Italy) he participated in training "for survival" in caves to acquire skills in team work in extreme conditions together with astronauts Michael Barratt, Jack Fisher, Jeremy Hansen, Paolo Nespoli and Satoshi Furukawa.

In January 2014 it was reported that he was assigned to the crew of Soyuz TMA (ISS-47/48).
On January 27, 2014 his assignment to the ISS-47/48 crew was confirmed at a meeting of the Interdepartmental Commission (IDC) of Roscosmos.

On January 30, 2014 Ovchinin within the ISS-47/48 crew together with Oleg Skripochka and Jeffrey Williams participated in training for actions in case of the emergency landing in a wooded/marshy area in winter.

On February 19, 2015 at a meeting of State Medical Board (SMB) at Yu.A. Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center he was recognized as fit for space flight as commander of the Soyuz TMA-16 M backup crew.
On March 4, 2015 Aleksei Ovchinin together with Sergei Volkov and Jeffrey Williams conducted the examination training on the Soyuz TMA-M simulator. On March 5 the crew passed the test training on the ISS Russian Segment.
On March 6, 2015 at a meeting of the State Commission at Yu.A. Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center he was approved as commander of the Soyuz TMA-16 M backup crew.
On March 26, 2015 at the State Commission meeting at the Baikonur Cosmodrome his appointment was confirmed.
On March 27, 2015 during the launch of the Soyuz TMA-16M spacecraft Aleksei Ovchinin was a backup of the spacecraft commander.

From March 2015 through March 2016 he trained as a member of the main crew of ISS-47/48 to be the commander of the manned spacecraft Soyuz TMA-20M and a flight engineer of the ISS.

He flew his first space mission March 19 through September 7, 2016 as the commander of Soyuz TMA-20M, and flight engineer of ISS-47/48. During the time the ISS-47/48 crew worked in orbit, a number of experiments were conducted in various fields of science under the Russian scientific program (medicine, space biology, biotechnology, physical and chemical processes, etc.), out of which about 50 were done by Alexey Ovchinin together with Oleg Skripochka. In the course of the mission the Russian cosmonauts worked with Russian and foreign logistics spacecraft, serviced onboard systems of the International Space Station, performed onboard photo and video shootings, as well as prepared their spacecraft Soyuz TMA-20M for return from orbit. The mission duration was 172 days 3 hours and 47 minutes.

In July 2017, using the facilities of Center 179 of the Ministry of Emergency Situations in Noginsk, Moscow region, a notional crew consisting of Alexei Ovchinin, Nick Hague and Richard Arnold has undergone training to practice actions in case of spacecraft landing on the surface of water the so called water survival training. For several days astronauts and cosmonauts performed the tasks of the so called dry, long and short training sessions.
On November 30, 2017 by decision of the Interagency Commission he was approved as the commander of the backup crew of Soyuz MS-08 and commander of the main crew of Soyuz MS-10.
On January 23, 2018, at a session of the General Medical Commission (GMC) at the Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center he was classified as medically fit for spaceflight.
On February 20, 2018, at the Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center, together with Nick Hague he passed a qualification training session in the Soyuz MS simulator, and on February 21, 2018, an examination training session in the ISS Russian Segment simulator.
On March 2018 at a meeting of the State Commission for conducting flight testis of manned space systems at Baikonur cosmodrome he was approved as the commander of the backup crew of Soyuz MS-08, flight engineer of ISS-55/56.
On March 21, 2018, during the launch of Soyuz MS-08 he was the backup of the commander of the spacecraft.

September 2018.
By the data presented by Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center
and site www.astronaut.ru

English

Фото ФГБУ НИИ ЦПК им. Ю.А. Гагарина

ОВЧИНИН Алексей Николаевич

Подполковник ВВС РФ в запасе,
космонавт-испытатель ФГБУ ЦПК
имени Ю.А. Гагарина, Россия

ДАТА И МЕСТО РОЖДЕНИЯ:
28 сентября 1971 года, г. Рыбинск Ярославской области, Россия

СЕМЕЙНОЕ ПОЛОЖЕНИЕ: женат.

ОБРАЗОВАНИЕ:
С августа 1988 года по сентябрь 1990 года – курсант Борисоглебского высшего военного училища летчиков (ВВАУЛ), а с сентября 1990 года по август 1992 года – курсант Ейского ВВАУЛ, по окончании которого получил квалификацию «летчик-инженер».

НАГРАДЫ И ЗВАНИЯ:
«Герой Российской Федерации» и «Летчик-космонавт РФ». Награжден медалью «Золотая звезда» Героя Российской Федерации, медалями Министерства обороны РФ: «За отличие в военной службе» I, II и III степени, «За службу в Военно-воздушных силах», «За воинскую доблесть» II степени.

ОПЫТ РАБОТЫ:
С августа 1992 года по февраль 1998 года служил летчиком-инструктором учебно-авиационного полка (УАП) Ейского ВВАУЛ, а с февраля 1998 года по сентябрь 2003 года – летчиком-инструктором, затем командиром авиационного звена УАП Краснодарского военного авиационного института (ВАИ).
С сентября 2003 года и до зачисления в отряд космонавтов проходил службу в качестве командира авиационного звена 70-го Отдельного испытательного тренировочного авиационного полка особого назначения (ОИТАПОН) им. В.С. Серегина РГНИИ ЦПК (пос. Чкаловский), Московский военный округ.
Летал на самолетах Як-52 и Л-39. Общий налет - более 1300 часов.
Имеет квалификацию «летчик-инструктор 2-го класса».
Приказом министра обороны РФ в мае-июле 2012 года уволен из Вооруженных сил в запас.

11 октября 2006 года был рекомендован к зачислению на должность кандидата в космонавты РГНИИ ЦПК им. Ю.А. Гагарина.
26 февраля 2007 года приступил к прохождению двухгодичного курса общекосмической подготовки (ОКП).
С 16 по 22 июня 2008 года в г. Севастополе (Украина) участвовал в тренировках на случай посадки спускаемого аппарата на воду в составе условного экипажа вместе с Робертом Терском (Канада) и Ричардом Гэрриотом (США).
2 июня 2009 года завершил курс ОКП, сдав госэкзамены в ЦПК с оценкой «хорошо». 9 июня на заседании Межведомственной квалификационной комиссии ему была присвоена квалификация «космонавт-испытатель» и вручено удостоверение космонавта № 205.
Приказом начальника ФГБУ «НИИ ЦПК им. Ю.А. Гагарина» с 1 августа 2009 года назначен на должность космонавта-испытателя отряда ЦПК.
В октябре 2009 года на космодроме Байконур принимал участие в тренировках на тренажере малого исследовательского модуля.

На заседании Межведомственной комиссии по отбору космонавтов и их назначению в составы экипажей пилотируемых кораблей и станций 26 апреля 2010 года был аттестован в качестве космонавта отряда ФГБУ «НИИ ЦПК им. Ю.А. Гагарина».
В июне 2012 года появились сообщения о его назначении в состав экипажа корабля «Союз ТМА-16М». Однако осенью 2012 года в экипаже на 2014 год утвержден не был в связи с принятием решения об осуществлении годового полета и назначении в состав экипажа опытного космонавта Михаила Корниенко.
С 15 по 28 сентября 2013 года на острове Сардиния (Италия) принимал участие в тренировках на выживание в пещерах с целью приобретения навыков работы в команде в экстремальных условиях вместе с астронавтами Майклом Барраттом, Джеком Фишером, Джереми Хансеном, Паоло Несполи и Сатоши Фурукава.
В январе 2014 года появились сообщения о его назначении в состав экипажа корабля «Союз ТМА» (экипаж МКС-47/48).
27 января 2014 года его назначение в состав экипажа МКС-47/48 было подтверждено на заседании Межведомственной комиссии «Роскосмоса».
30 января 2014 года в составе экипажа МКС-47/48 вместе с Олегом Скрипочкой и Джеффри Уилльямсом принимал участие в тренировках по действиям в случае аварийной посадки в лесисто-болотистой местности зимой.

19 февраля 2015 года на заседании Государственной медицинской комиссии в ЦПК им. Ю.А. Гагарина был признан годным к космическому полету в качестве командира дублирующего экипажа корабля «Союз ТМА-16М».
4 марта 2015 года вместе с Сергеем Волковым и Джеффри Уилльямсом провел экзаменационную тренировку на тренажере транспортного пилотируемого корабля (ТПК) «Союз ТМА-М». 5 марта экипаж сдал зачетную тренировку на тренажере Российского сегмента МКС.
6 марта 2015 года на заседании Госкомиссии в ЦПК им. Ю.А. Гагарина утвержден в качестве командира дублирующего экипажа ТПК «Союз ТМА-16М».
26 марта 2015 года на заседании Государственной комиссии на космодроме Байконур это назначение было подтверждено.
27 марта 2015 года во время старта ТПК «Союз ТМА-16М» был дублером командира корабля.

С марта 2015 года по март 2016 года – проходил подготовку в составе основного экипажа МКС-47/48 в качестве командира ТПК «Союз ТМА-20М» и бортинженера МКС.

Первый космический полет совершил с 19 марта по 7 сентября 2016 в качестве командира ТПК «Союз ТМА-20М» и бортинженера МКС-47/48. За время работы экипажа МКС-47/48 было проведено множество экспериментов из разных областей науки по российской научной программе (медицина, космическая биология, биотехнология, физико-химические процессы и др.), из них около 50 выполнили Алексей Овчинин вместе с Олегом Скрипочкой. Российские космонавты в ходе полета выполнили работу с российскими и иностранными грузовыми кораблями, обслуживание бортовых систем Международной космической станции, бортовые фото-, видеосъемки, а также подготовили свой корабль «Союз ТМА-20М» к возвращению с орбиты. Продолжительность полета составила 172 сут. 3 час. 47 мин.

В июле 2017 года на базе 179-го Центра МЧС в г. Ногинск Московской области условный экипаж в составе Алексея Овчинина, Ника Хейга и Ричарда Арнольда прошел тренировки по действиям после посадки космического корабля на водную поверхность – так называемые «водные выживания». На протяжении нескольких дней космонавты и астронавты выполняли задачи так называемых «сухой», «длинной» и «короткой» тренировок.
30 ноября 2017 года решением Межведомственной комиссии (МВК) утвержден в качестве командира дублирующего экипажа корабля «Союз МС-08» и командира основного экипажа корабля «Союз МС-10».
23 января 2018 года на заседании Главной медицинской комиссии (ГМК) в ЦПК им. Ю.А. Гагарина был признан годным к космическому полёту по состоянию здоровья.
20 февраля 2018 года в Центре подготовки космонавтов им. Ю.А. Гагарина вместе с Ником Хейгом сдал комплексную зачетную тренировку на тренажере ТПК «Союз МС», а 21 февраля 2018 года - экзаменационную тренировку на Российском сегменте МКС.
20 марта 2018 года на заседании Государственной комиссии по проведению летных испытаний пилотируемых космических комплексов на космодроме Байконур утвержден в качестве командира дублирующего экипажа корабля «Союз МС-08», бортинженера МКС-55/56.
21 марта 2018 года во время старта ТПК «Союз МС-08» был дублером командира корабля.

Сентябрь 2018 г.
По материалам ФГБУ "НИИ ЦПК имени Ю.А. Гагарина"
и сайта www.astronaut.ru.

Экипаж МКС


ХОШИДЕ АкихикоХОШИДЕ
Акихико



Олег НовицкийНОВИЦКИЙ
Олег



Петр Дубров Дубров
Петр



Марк Ванде Хай  ВАНДЕ ХАЙ
Марк



КИМБРОУ Роберт Шейн  КИМБРОУ
Роберт Шейн



Меган МАКАРТУР МАКАРТУР
Меган



Тома  ПЕСКЕПЕСКЕ
Тома