NIITsPK picture

FEUSTEL Andrew J.

Astronaut, NASA, USA

DATE AND PLACE OF BIRTH:
Born on August 25, 1965 in Lancaster, Pencilvania, USA.

EDUCATION:
Graduated from Lake Orion High School, Michigan. Associate Science degree, Oakland Community College, Michigan. Bachelor of Science in Solid Earth Sciences, Purdue University. Master of Science in Geophysics, Purdue University. Ph.D. in Geological Sciences, specializing in Seismology, Queens University, Kingston, Ontario, Canada, 1995.

MARITAL STATUS: married.

WORK EXPERIENCE:
For three years he worked as geophysicist in Engineering Seismology Group in Kingston, Ontario, Canada. His work included installing and operating seismic monitoring equipment in underground mines throughout Eastern Canada and Northern United States.
In 1997, he began working for ExxonMobil, Houston, Texas, as an Exploration Geophysicist under seismic survey programs.
On July 26, 2000 he was selected as astronaut candidate. After completing basic astronaut training he graduated as a mission specialist and was assigned to JSC Astronaut Office Space Shuttle and Space Station Branches.

He flew his
first space flight on May 11 through 24, 2009 as a mission specialist on Space Shuttle Atlantis STS-125 mission. The orbiter crew carried out the fifth and the last mission to repair and refurbish the Hubble Space Telescope.
During the mission he carried out three spacewalks: the total duration was 20 h 58 min.
The mission duration was 12 days 21 hours and 37 minutes.

He flew his second space mission
May 16 through June 1, 2011 as a mission specialist on Space Shuttle Endeavor STS-134 mission. The spacecraft crew delivered to the ISS magnetic spectrometer AMS-02 and logistic carrier ELC-3 with cargo.
During the mission he carried out three spacewalks: the total duration was 21 h 20 min.
The mission duration was 15 days 17 hours and 38 minutes.
On June 26, 2016, he started training at the Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center. The training program includes the study of the design and systems of Soyuz MS crew transportation vehicle and the Russian Segment of the ISS, training sessions to practice actions in case of landing in various climatic and geographic areas, individual elements of biomedical training, conducting certain joint scientific experiments, as well as the study of the Russian language.
On February 7 – 9, 2017, as a member of a notional crew together with Sergei Prokopiev and Oleg Artemiev, he underwent a three-day integrated training in ‘winter survival’ – the actions of the spacecraft crew after landing in marshy and wooded country in winter.
On November 30, 2017 by decision of the Interagency Commission he was approved as the flight engineer-1 of the main crew of Soyuz MS-08.
On February 20, 2018, at the Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center, together with Oleg Artiemiev and Richard Arnold, he passed the qualification training session in the ISS Russian Segment. On February 21, 2018 the crew passed an examination training session in the simulator of Soyuz MS spacecraft.

March 2018
Based on data of site www.gctc.ru and www.astronaut.ru.

English

Фото НИИ ЦПК им. Ю.А.Гагарина

ФОЙСТЕЛ Эндрю Джей

Астронавт НАСА, США

ДАТА И МЕСТО РОЖДЕНИЯ:
Родился 25 августа 1965 г. в г. Ланкастер, шт. Пенсильвания, США.

ОБРАЗОВАНИЕ:
В 1989 году получил степень бакалавра наук по физике Земли, а в 1991 году – магистра наук по геофизике в Университете Пёрдью, шт. Индиана. С 1991 года был докторантом в Университете Королевы (г. Кингстон, Онтарио, Канада) и в 1995 году стал доктором философии в области геологии со специализацией по сейсмологии, защитив диссертацию по затуханию сейсмических волн в шахтах, методикам измерений и практическим приложениям.

СЕМЕЙНОЕ ПОЛОЖЕНИЕ: женат.

ОПЫТ РАБОТЫ:
В течении трех лет работал геофизиком в сейсмологической технической группе в Кингстоне, провинция Онтарио, Канада. В его работу входила установка и снятие показаний с сейсмических датчиков, установленных в шахтах Восточной Канады и Севера США.
В 1997 году поступил в компанию Экссон Мобил в Хьюстоне, шт. Техас на должность геофизика-исследователя по программам сейсмической разведки.
26 июля 2000 года был отобран в качестве кандидата в астронавты. По окончании курса ОКП получил квалификацию специалиста полета и назначение в отделение эксплуатации шаттла и МКС Отдела астронавтов центра им. Джонсона.

Первый космический полет совершил с 11 по 24 мая 2009 года в качестве специалиста полёта шаттла «Атлантис» STS-125. Экипаж корабля выполнил пятый и последний полёт для ремонта и дооснащения Космического телескопа им. Хаббла.
Во время полета выполнил три выхода в открытый космос общей длительностью 20 ч 58 мин.
Продолжительность полета составила 12 сут 21 ч 37 мин.

Второй космический полет совершил с 16 мая по 1 июня 2011 года в качестве специалиста полёта шаттла «Индевор» STS-134. Экипаж корабля осуществил доставку на МКС магнитного спектрометра AMS-02 и платформы ELC-3 с грузами.
Во время полета выполнил три выхода в открытый космос общей длительностью 21 ч 20 мин.
Продолжительность полета составила 15 сут 17 ч 38 мин.

26 июня 2016 года приступил к подготовке в ЦПК им. Ю.А. Гагарина. В программу подготовки входит изучение конструкции и системы ТПК «Союз МС» и российского сегмента МКС, тренировочные занятия по действиям в случае посадки в различных климатогеографических зонах, отдельные элементы медико-биологической подготовки, проведение некоторых совместных научных экспериментов, а также изучение русского языка.

7 - 9 февраля 2017 года в составе условного экипажа вместе с Сергеем Прокопьевым и Олегом Артемьевым прошел автономную трёхдневную комплексную тренировку по «зимнему выживанию» - действиям экипажа космического корабля после посадки в лесисто-болотистой местности зимой.

30 ноября 2017 года решением Межведомственной комиссии (МВК) утвержден в качестве бортинженера-1 основного экипажа корабля «Союз МС-08».

20 февраля 2018 года в Центре подготовки космонавтов им. Ю.А. Гагарина вместе с Олегом Артемьевым и Ричардом Арнольдом сдал комплексную зачетную тренировку на российском сегменте МКС. 21 февраля 2018 года экипаж сдал экзаменационную тренировку на тренажере ТПК «Союз МС».

Март 2018 г.
По материалам сайтов www.gctc.ru и www.astronaut.ru.