Русский

NII TsPK picture

Shannon B. Walker

NASA astronaut, USA

DATE AND PLACE OF BIRTH: June 4, 1965, the city of Houston, Texas

EDUCATION:
Finished Westbury High School in Houston.
In the Rice University she got the degrees:
degree of Bachelor of Science (Physics) in 1987;
degree of Master of Science (astrophysics) in 1992;
degree of Doctor of Philosophy (astrophysics) in 1993.

MARITAL STATUS: married.
Her husband is Andrew Thomas, NASA's astronaut.

HOBBY: Cooking, running, flying, camping and traveling.

WORK EXPERIENCE:
Took part in the 15th - 18th astronauts corps enrollments (in 1994, 1995, 1997, 1999, respectively), but she was not selected.
On May 6, 2004 she was enlisted in NASA astronauts corps as part of the 19th enrollment as a candidate for Mission Specialist.
From June 2004 till February 2006 she had received training in Johnson Space Center. On February 10, 2006 after completion of the training she was qualified as Mission Specialist and assigned to ISS Control Office, Johnson Space Center Astronauts Department. At the same time, she was appointed operator providing communication with crew (CapCom).
In August 2007 she was preliminarily assigned to backup crew of ISS Expedition 19. However, in July 2008 information appeared that Jeffrey Williams would take her place in this crew.
During June 16-22, 2008 she took part in training exercises, devoted to water landing of descent vehicle as part of preliminary crew, including Sergei Ryzhikov (Russia) and Timothy Crimer (USA), in Sevastopol (Ukraine).
According to information reported in July 2008 she was assigned to backup crew of ISS Expedition 21. In the meantime, it was reported that she was assigned to prime crew of ISS Expedition 24. On September 21, 2008 that assignment was confirmed in the ISS Mission Plan released by Roscosmos press service. On November 21, 2008 her assignment was officially confirmed by NASA during announcement of ISS-20-ISS-26 crew complements.

On September 7-8, 2009 Shannon Walker together with Alexander Skvortsov passed pre-flight exams with an excellent mark at the Cosmonaut Training Center.
On September 10, 2009 she was approved by the Interdepartmental Commission as a flight engineer of the Soyuz TMA-16 backup crew, a crewmember of the prime crews of the ISS 21/22.
During the launch of the Soyuz TMA-16 transport spacecraft on September 30, 2009 she was a backup of the spacecraft flight engineer.
In October 2009 Shannon Walker participated in the first training sessions for NASA Astronaut Corps at SpaceX Headquarters in Hawthorne, CA. Training was focused on the crew interaction with Dragon during its approach and docking with the ISS.
On May 25, 2010 at the Cosmonaut Training Center she together with Fedor Yurchikhin and Douglas Wheelock passed pre-flight examination training on the ISS Russian Segment with an excellent mark. On May 28, 2010 at the second attempt the prime crew passed comprehensive training with such a mark as 4.6.
On June 14, 2010 the Interdepartmental Commission approved Shannon Walker as a flight engineer-1 of the Soyuz TMA-19 crew, a flight engineer of the prime crews of the ISS 24/25.

She performed her first space flight at a period of June 16 - November 26, 2010 as a flight engineer-1 of the Soyuz TMA-19 spacecraft and the ISS-24/25 flight engineer together with Fedor Yurchikhin and Douglas Wheelock. The flight duration was 163 days 7 hours 10 minutes 47 seconds.

In October 2011 Walker was commander of the NASA Extreme Environment Mission Operations (NEEMO) 15 mission aboard the Aquarius underwater laboratory. On October 21 she and her crew officially became aquanauts, having spent over 24 hours underwater. Shannon Walker was also a member of the 2014-2015 Antarctic Search for Meteorites (ANSMET) expedition.
On March 13, 2017 on the Web site of journal News of Cosmonautics there was information about the appointment of Shannon Walker to the Soyuz MS-06 backup crew.
On March 13, 2017 she began training at Yu.A. Gagarin CTC. The training program includes the study of the structure and systems of the Soyuz MS manned transport spacecraft, the ISS Russian Segment, training sessions on actions in case of landing in various climatic and geographical zones, biomedical training, study of the Russian language.
On March 28, 2017 the appointment of Shannon Walker to the Soyuz MS-06 backup crew was confirmed in NASA press release 17-017.

September 2017
Based on data of site www.astronaut.ru.

English

Фото НАСА

Шеннон Бейкер УОКЕР

Астронавт НАСА, США.

ДАТА И МЕСТО РОЖДЕНИЯ: 4 июня 1965 года, г. Хьюстон, штат Техас.

ОБРАЗОВАНИЕ:
Окончила среднюю школу Вестбари в Хьюстоне.
В Университете Райса получила степени: в 1987 году - бакалавра наук (физика), в 1992 году - магистра наук (астрофизика), в 1993 году - доктора философии (астрофизика).

СЕМЕЙНОЕ ПОЛОЖЕНИЕ: замужем.
Муж - Эндрю Томас, астронавт НАСА.

УВЛЕЧЕНИЯ: кулинария, бег, полеты, кемпинг и путешествия.

ОПЫТ РАБОТЫ:
Принимала участие в 15-18-м наборах в отряд астронавтов (в 1994, 1995, 1997, 1999 годах соответственно), но отобрана не была.
6 мая 2004 года была зачислена в отряд астронавтов НАСА в составе 19-го набора в качестве кандидата в специалисты полета.
С июня 2004 по февраль 2006 года проходила подготовку в Космическом центре им. Джонсона. 10 февраля 2006 года после завершения подготовки получила квалификацию специалиста полёта и была назначена в Отделение управления МКС Отдела астронавтов центра Джонсона. Одновременно была назначена оператором связи с экипажем (CapCom).
В августе 2007 года в предварительном порядке была назначена в дублирующий экипаж 19-й экспедиции на МКС. Однако в июле 2008 года появились сообщения, что в этом экипаже её сменит Джеффри Уилльямс.
С 16 по 22 июня 2008 года в Севастополе (Украина) участвовала в тренировках на случай посадки спускаемого аппарата на воду в составе условного экипажа вместе с Сергеем Рыжиковым (Россия) и Тимоти Кримером (США).
В июле 2008 года появились сообщения о её назначении в дублирующий экипаж 21-й экспедиции на МКС. Одновременно с этим появилось сообщение о её назначении в основной экипаж 24-й экспедиции на МКС. 21 сентября 2008 года это назначение было подтверждено в опубликованном пресс-службой Роскосмоса плане полётов на МКС. 21 ноября 2008 года её назначение было официально подтверждено НАСА при объявлении составов экипажей МКС-20 - МКС-26.

7-8 сентября 2009 года в Центре подготовки космонавтов вместе с Александром Скворцовым сдала предполетные экзамены с оценкой «отлично».
10 сентября 2009 года Межведомственной комиссией утверждена в качестве бортинженера дублирующего экипажа корабля «Союз ТМА-16», члена экипажа 21/22-й основных экипажей МКС.
Во время старта ТК «Союз ТМА-16» 30 сентября 2009 года была дублером бортинженера корабля.
В октябре 2009 года участвовала в первых тренировках для группы астронавтов НАСА в штаб-квартире компании SpaceX в Hawthorne, CA. Тренировки были сфокусированы на взаимодействии экипажа с кораблем Dragon во время его приближения и стыковки с МКС.
25 мая 2010 года в Центре подготовки космонавтов вместе с Фёдором Юрчихиным и Дагласом Уилоком сдала предполетную экзаменационную тренировку на Российском сегменте МКС с оценкой «5». 28 мая 2010 года со второй попытки основной экипаж сдал комплексную тренировку с оценкой «4,6».
14 июня 2010 года Межведомственной комиссией утверждена в качестве бортинженера-1 экипажа корабля «Союз ТМА-19», бортинженера 24/25-й основных экипажей МКС.

Первый космический полет совершила с 16 июня по 26 ноября 2010 года в качестве бортинженера-1 корабля «Союз ТМА-19» и бортинженера МКС-24/25 вместе с Фёдором Юрчихиным и Дагласом Уилоком.
Длительность полета составила 163 сут 7 ч 10 мин 47 с.

В октябре 2011 года Уокер была командиром миссии NASA Extreme Environments Mission Operations (NEEMO) 15 на борту подводной лаборатории Aquarius. 21 октября она и ее команда официально стали акванавтами, проведя более 24 часов под водой. Шеннон Уокер также была участником экспедиции по поиску метеоритов в Антарктиде (ANSMET) с 2014 по 2015 год.
13 марта 2017 года на сайте журнала «Новости космонавтики» появилась информация о назначении Шеннон Уокер в дублирующий экипаж корабля «Союз МС-06».
13 марта 2017 года приступила к подготовке в ЦПК им. Ю.А. Гагарина. В программе подготовки - изучение конструкции и систем транспортного пилотируемого корабля «Союз МС», Российского сегмента МКС, тренировочные занятия по действиям в случае посадки в различных климатогеографических зонах, медико-биологическая подготовка, изучение русского языка.
28 марта 2017 года назначение Шеннон Уокер в дублирующий экипаж корабля «Союз МС-06» было подтверждено в пресс-релизе НАСА 17-017.

Сентябрь 2017 г.
По материалам сайта www.astronaut.ru, www.nasa.gov