ISS-64 mission


ISS-64

ISS crew:

Commander -
Sergey Ryzhikov
Flight engineers:
Sergey Kud-Sverchkov
Kathleen Rubins
Michael Hopkins
Victor Glover
Shannon Walker
Soichi Noguchi


Internet-Project

Планета Королёва
Russian

News

ROSCOSMOS. Prelaunch press conference of Soyuz MS-03 crews

November 17, 2016

In time-honored tradition, a pre-launch press conference was held at Baikonur launch site on November 16, 2016. Cosmonauts and astronauts of the main and backup crews of the Crew Transportation Spacecraft (CTS) Soyuz MS-03 answered questions from reporters and told about the plans for the upcoming mission to low-Earth orbit.

Before the press conference the State Commission had approved main crew of CTS Soyuz MS-03 consisting of the spacecraft commander Oleg NOVITSKY (ROSCOSMOS), flight engineers Peggy WHITSON (NASA) and Thomas PESQUET (ESA). Approved as their backup crew were a Roscosmos cosmonaut Fyodor YURCHIKHIN, a NASA astronaut Jack FISCHER, and an ESA astronaut Paolo NESPOLI.

Responding to questions from reporters, Oleg NOVITSKY told that since spacecraft of the Soyuz MS series are new, some of the systems need to be tested, and that was why a two-day rendezvous and docking profile was chosen for the mission: “We are going to fly using the two-day profile so that we could calmly check all the flight phases and try out all the systems, the crew being the eyes and ears of the mission control”. The cosmonaut reminded that this would be his second mission, and he was very glad that this time he was going to fly on a upgraded spacecraft with new systems, would once again see Earth from space and would be able to share this beauty with others.

The French astronaut Thomas PESQUET promised to prepare onboard the ISS a New Year’s Eve dinner according to the best recipes of the French cuisine and, of course, serve it round: “We have French food and I’m going to prepare the New Year’s Eve dinner. Peggy WHITSON, as far as I know, is going to prepare the Christmas dinner. And Oleg NOVITSKY is going to taste it all”. He added that he was going to take with him to the ISS a piece of a meteorite, which he believes to have come to Earth from Mars. “I’m planning to take it onboard the ISS, then bring it back to Earth and afterwards send it to Mars with a rover”, - said the astronaut.

The US astronaut Peggy WHITSON remarked that there were many experiments planned to be run onboard the ISS, some of which would be performed with participation of all the three crewmembers. She considered as the ones that were the most interesting the experiments studying the motion of liquids and growing of stem cells, as well as experiments in reproduction of bacteria and germs in zero gravity.

The new crew believes that the current crew onboard the ISS consisting of Roscosmos cosmonauts Sergei RYZHIKOV and Andrei BORISENKO and the commander of ISS-50, a NASA astronaut Robert Shane KIMBROUGH were looking forward to the gifts and letters from their relatives, which will be delivered onboard Soyuz MS-03.

The launch of the Soyuz MS-03 spacecraft with the crew of ISS-50/51 is scheduled for November 17, 2016 from Launch Pad Area No.1 (“Gagarin’s launch pad”) of the Baikonur Cosmodrome.

During their stay onboard the ISS the crews of Expeditions ISS-50 and ISS-51 are going to work with logistics spacecraft, conduct flight tests and try out new systems: onboard radio system, combined propulsion system, motion control and navigation system, TV system. The cosmonauts are also going to try out the remote operator control mode (TORU) by undocking and separating a Progress MS logistics vehicle from the ISS, station keeping and berthing; to support undocking of Soyuz MS, returning three crewmembers of ISS-49/50 to Earth and docking of Soyuz MS-04 with crewmembers of Expedition ISS-51/52. The program of applied scientific research calls for 44 scientific experiments in various fields – biomedical science, geophysics, biotechnology, etc. At the moment, the planned mission duration for this crew is 180 days.

 

RSC Energia press-center

Video


    

News Archive

February  2021
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28

Интернет-проект

Планета Королёва
English

Новости


РОСКОСМОС. Предстартовая пресс-конференция экипажей ТПК «Союз МС-03»

17.11.2016

16 ноября 2016 года на космодроме Байконур состоялась традиционная предстартовая пресс-конференция. Космонавты и астронавты основного и дублирующего экипажей транспортного пилотируемого корабля (ТПК) «Союз МС-03» ответили на вопросы журналистов и рассказали о планах предстоящей экспедиции на околоземную орбиту.

Перед пресс-конференцией Государственная комиссия утвердила основной экипаж ТПК «Союз МС-03» в составе: командира корабля Олега НОВИЦКОГО (РОСКОСМОС), бортинженеров Пегги УИТСОН (NASA) и Тома ПЕСКЕ (ESA). В качестве дублёров утверждены: космонавт РОСКОСМОСА Фёдор ЮРЧИХИН, астронавт NASA Джек ФИШЕР и астронавт ЕSА Паоло НЕСПОЛИ.

Отвечая на вопрос журналистов, Олег НОВИЦКИЙ рассказал, что, поскольку корабль серии «Союз МС» новый, ряд систем требуют испытаний, поэтому для полёта выбрана двухсуточная схема сближения и стыковки: «Мы летим по двухсуточной схеме, чтобы можно было спокойно проконтролировать все этапы полёта, проверить работу всех систем. Ведь экипаж - это глаза и уши Земли». Космонавт напомнил, что это будет его второй полёт, и он очень рад, что в этот раз полетит на модернизированном корабле с новыми системами, снова увидит Землю из космоса и сможет поделиться этой красотой с другими.

Французский астронавт Тома ПЕСКЕ пообещал приготовить на МКС новогодний ужин по лучшим рецептам французской кухни и, конечно, всех угостить: «У нас есть французская еда, я буду готовить новогодний ужин. Пегги УИТСОН, насколько мне известно, приготовит рождественский ужин. А Олег НОВИЦКИЙ все это будет пробовать». Он добавил, что возьмет с собой на МКС осколок метеорита, который, как он считает, прилетел на Землю с Марса: «Планирую взять его на борт МКС, потом привезти обратно на Землю и затем отправить на Марс с ровером», - сказал астронавт.

Американский астронавт Пегги УИТСОН отметила, что на борту МКС планируется много экспериментов, некоторые из которых будут выполняться с участием всех трёх членов экипажа. К наиболее интересным она отнесла эксперименты по изучению движения жидкости и выращиванию стволовых клеток, а также опыты по размножению бактерий и микроорганизмов в невесомости.

Новый экипаж считает, что находящиеся на МКС космонавты РОСКОСМОСА Сергей РЫЖИКОВ и Андрей БОРИСЕНКО и командир экспедиции МКС-50 астронавт NASA Роберт Шейн КИМБРОУ ожидают подарки и письма от родных, которые будут доставлены на корабле «Союз МС-03».

Запуск ТПК «Союз МС-03» с экипажем МКС-50/51 запланирован на 17 ноября 2016 года с площадки №1 «Гагаринский старт» космодрома Байконур.

Во время пребывания на МКС экипажу экспедиций МКС-50 и МКС-51 предстоят работы с транспортными грузовыми кораблями; проведение летных испытаний нового корабля и отработка новых систем: бортовой радиотехнической системы, комбинированной двигательной установки, системы управления движением и навигацией, телевизионной системы. Также космонавтам предстоит отработать телеоператорный режим управления (ТОРУ) путем отстыковки и расхождения грузового корабля «Прогресс МС» с МКС, зависания и причаливания; обеспечить расстыковку корабля «Союз МС», возвращение трех членов экипажа МКС-49/50 на Землю и стыковку с МКС корабля «Союз МС-04» с членами экспедиции МКС-51/52 на борту. Программой научно-прикладных исследований предусмотрено 44 научных эксперимента различного профиля - медико-биологические, геофизические, биотехнологические и др. На данный момент планируемая продолжительность полета экипажа составляет 180 суток.

 

Пресс-службы РОСКОСМОСА и РКК «Энергия»

 

 

Запуски

01.12.2019
Планируется пуск РН «Союз-2.1а» с ТГК «Прогресс МС-13»
25.09.2019
Состоялся пуск РН «Союз-ФГ» с ТПК «Союз МС-15»

Архив новостей

Ноябрь  2019
Пн Вт Ср Чт Пт Сб Вс
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30