NASA picture

Timothy L. KOPRA

NASA Astronaut, USA

DATE AND PLACE OF BIRTH:
Born on April 9, 1963, in Austin, Texas.

EDUCATION:
He graduated from Austin High School in Austin in 1981.
In 1985 Kopra received a bachelor of science degree, Military Academy, West Point.
In 1995 he received a master of science degree (aerospace engineering), George Institute of Technology.

FAMILY STATUS: married to Dawn Kaye Lehman. They have two children.

AWARDS: several Air Force and DOD Medals.

HOBBY: running, swimming and biking.

WORK EXPERIENCE:
Since August 1986 he was the U.S. Army aviator. Up to 1990 Kopra served at Fort Campbell, Kentucky, where he served as an aeroscout platoon leader, troop executive officer, and squadron adjutant in the 101st Airborne Division's air cavalry squadron.
In 1990 he was transferred to the 3rd Armored Division in Hanau, Germany, and participated in Operations Desert Shield and Desert Storm. He completed his service in Germany as an attack helicopter company commander.
Having returned to the United States and upon graduation from Georgia Institute of Technology in 1995 he attended the U.S. Naval Test Pilot School. Upon graduation, he was assigned to the U.S. Army Aviation Technical Test Center, where be worked as an experimental test pilot on various projects and was the director for the Comanche helicopter program.
He also finished the Army Parachutist Course, Pathfinder Course, Pathfinder Course, Air Assault Course and the Command and General Staff College.
In September 1998 Kopra began to serve at the Johnson Space Center as a test engineer at the assembly-test complex. He was to test software for ISS and participate in operations for the shuttle processing.
On July 26, 2000 he was selected as a candidate for astronauts (18th selection, NASA) for training as a mission specialist. He passed a course of general space training. Upon completion of the course he was qualified as a mission specialist and assigned to the Space Station Branch of the Astronaut Office, where he was involved in testing of the crew interfaces for two ISS modules, software of the onboard computers and Local Area Network on ISS.
On January 26 - 28, 2006 Kopra within the preliminary crew, together with Maxim Suraev (Russia) and Nicole Stott (USA) participated in a two-day test for survival in the desolate territory in case of the descent vehicle emergency landing. The test was conducted in the forest near Moscow.
On February 13, 2007 by NASA decision he was assigned as a flight engineer to the backup crew of Expedition 16 to the ISS (ISS-16) and then to the backup crew of Expedition 17 to the ISS (ISS-17). Successively he was a backup of Garrett Reisman and Gregory Chamitoff.
In summer 2007 he was preliminarily assigned to the prime crew of Expedition 18 (ISS-18) to the ISS. According to these plans he was to be launched by Endeavour (STS-127) in January 2009. On November 21, 2008 his assignment was officially confirmed by NASA when declaring the ISS-20 - ISS-26 crewmembers.

He performed his first space flight from July 16 to September 12, 2009 as a mission specialist of the Endevour Shuttle (STS-127) and a flight engineer of ISS-20.
On July 18, 2009 during the flight he performed one EVA of the duration of 5 hours 32 min.
The mission duration was 58 days 2 hours 50 min.

On September 19, 2009 in NASA press release No. 09-218 it was reported that he was assigned as a mission specialist to the Shuttle (STS-133) crew. On January 15, 2011 he received an injury, namely the hip fracture when fell from the bicycle. As a result of this accident on January 19, 2011 Kopra was officially (NASA press release 11-023) removed from STS-133 crew in which he was changed by Stephen Bowen.
At a period of January 22-24, 2014 Kopra within the crew of ISS-46/47 together with Sergei Zaletin and Timothy Peake took part in the autonomous integrated training in actions required in case of the emergency landing in the wooded-marshy area in winter.

On May 6, 2015 he began to pass comprehensive training as a flight engineer of the backup crew of the vehicle together with commander Yury Malenchenko and flight engineer Timothy Peake. That day the examination training on the Soyuz TMA simulator was provided. On May 7 the crew passed the test training on the Russian Segment of the ISS.
On July 8, 2015 at a meeting of the Interdepartmental Commission held at Yu.A. Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center Timothy Kopra was approved as flight engineer-1 of the Soyuz TMA-17M backup crew.
On July 21, 2015 at a meeting of the State Commission at the Baikonur Cosmodrome he was approved as flight engineer-1 of the Soyuz TMA-17 backup crew.
On July 23, 2015 at launch of the Soyuz TMA-17 MTV he was a backup of the crew flight engineer-1.

December 2015
By the data of site www.astronaut.ru.

English

Фото НАСА

Тимоти Леннарт Копра

Астронавт НАСА, США

ДАТА И МЕСТО РОЖДЕНИЯ:
Родился 9 апреля 1963 года в городе Аустин (Austin) в Техасе.

ОБРАЗОВАНИЕ:
В 1981 году закончил среднюю школу в Аустине.
В 1985 году получил степень бакалавра B.S. в Военной Академии в Вест-Пойнте.
В 1995 году получил степень магистра M.S. (аэрокосмическое машиностроение) в Технологическом институте штата Джорджия.

СЕМЕЙНОЕ ПОЛОЖЕНИЕ: на Дон Кэй Лэмэн, у них двое детей.

НАГРАДЫ: несколько медалей ВВС и Министерства Обороны.

УВЛЕЧЕНИЯ: бег, плавание, мотоциклы (байкинг).

ОПЫТ РАБОТЫ:
С августа 1986 года - летчик Армии США. До 1990 года служил в Форте Кэмпебелл в Кентукки, где был командиром взвода, старшим помощником командира части, заместителем командира воздушно-десантной эскадрильи в 101-й воздушно-десантной дивизии.
В 1990 году был переведен в 3-ю бронетанковую дивизию в Ханнау в Германии. Участвовал в операциях "Щит пустыни" и "Буря в пустыне". Закончил службу в Германии командиром группы ударных вертолетов.
Вернувшись в США и окончив Технологический институт, в 1995 году он был направлен в школу летчиков-испытателей ВМФ, после окончания которой был направлен на службу в технико-испытательный центр Армии США, где работал летчиком-испытателем по различным программам, руководителем испытаний вертолетов Comanche.
Окончил так же армейские курсы парашютистов, штурманские курсы, колледж командного состава при генеральном штабе.
В сентябре 1998 года начал работать в космическом центре им. Л. Джонсона в качестве инженера-испытателя в монтажно-испытательном комплексе. В его задачи входило тестирование программного обеспечения для МКС и участие в операциях по обслуживанию шаттлов.
26 июля 2000 года отобран в качестве кандидата в астронавты 18-го набора NASA (для подготовки в качестве специалиста полета). Прошел курс общей космической подготовки. По окончании получил квалификацию специалиста полета и назначение в Отделение управления станции Отдела астронавтов, где занимался тестированием интерфейсов связи двух модулей МКС, программного обеспечения бортовых компьютеров и локальной сети на станции.
С 26 по 28 января 2006 года в составе условного экипажа вместе с Максимом Сураевым (Россия) и Николь Стотт (США) участвовал в двухсуточном экзамене на умение выжить в безлюдной местности в случае аварийной посадки спускаемого аппарата. Экзамен проходил в подмосковном лесу.
13 февраля 2007 года решением NASA был назначен бортинженером в дублирующий экипаж 16-й экспедиции на МКС (МКС-16), а затем в дублирующий экипаж 17-й экспедиции на МКС (МКС-17). Последовательно был дублёром Гэррета Рисмана и Грегори Шамитоффа.
Летом 2007 года в предварительном порядке был назначен в основной экипаж 18-й (МКС-18) экспедиции на МКС. Согласно этим планам он должен был стартовать на корабле Endeavour STS-127 в январе 2009 года. 21 ноября 2008 года его назначение было официально подтверждено НАСА при объявлении составов экипажей МКС-20 - МКС-26.

Первый космический полет совершил с 16 июля по 12 сентября 2009 года специалиста полёта шаттла Эндевор STS-127 и бортинженера МКС-20.
18 июля 2009 года во время полета выполнил один выход в открытый космос продолжительностью 5 час 32 мин.
Продолжительность полета составила 58 сут 2 час 50 мин.

19 сентября 2009 года в пресс-релизе НАСА № 09-218 было сообщено о его назначении специалистом полёта в экипаж шаттла STS-133. 15 января 2011 года он получил травму (сломал бедро) во время падения с велосипеда. В результате этого 19 января 2011 года был официально (пресс-релиз NASA 11-023) выведен из экипажа STS-133, в котором его заменил Стивен Боуэн.
С 22 по 24 января 2014 года в составе экипажа МКС-46/47 вместе с Сергеем Залетиным и Тимоти Пиком принимал участие в автономных комплексных тренировках по действиям в случае аварийной посадки в лесисто-болотистой местности зимой.

6 мая 2015 года начал прохождение комплексных тренировок в качестве бортинженера дублирующего экипажа корабля вместе с командиром Юрием Маленченко и бортинженером Тимоти Пиком. В этот день состоялась экзаменационная тренировка на тренажере корабля «Союз ТМА». 7 мая экипаж сдал зачетную тренировку на российском сегменте МКС.
8 июля 2015 года на состоявшемся в ЦПК им. Ю.А. Гагарина заседании Межведомственной комиссии утвержден бортинженером-1 дублирующего экипажа корабля «Союз ТМА-17М».
21 июля 2015 года на заседании Государственной комиссии на космодроме Байконур был утвержден в качестве бортинженера-1 дублирующего экипажа ТПК «Союз ТМА-17М».
23 июля 2015 года во время старта ТПК «Союз ТМА-17М» был дублером бортинженера-1 экипажа.

Декабрь 2015 г.
По материалам сайта www.astronaut.ru