NII TsPK picture

Jeffrey Nels WILLIAMS

Colonel of the U.S. Army, retired,
NASA Astronaut,
Lyndon B. Johnson Space Center, USA

DATE AND PLACE OF BIRTH:
Born, January 18, 1958 in Superior, Wisconsin, USA, but considers Winter, Wisconsin, to be his hometown.

EDUCATION:
Graduated from High School in Winter, Wisconsin in 1976.
In May 1980 he graduated from U.S. Military Academy and received a bachelor of science degree in applied science and engineering and a rank of a second lientenant.
In 1987 he graduated from the U.S. Naval Postgraduate School and received a Master of science degree in aeronautical engineering and the degree of aeronautical engineer.
In 1995-1996 he was educated by exchange at the U.S. Naval War College, Command and Staff course and received a Master of arts degree in National security and strategic studies.

FAMILY STATUS: Married to Anna-Marie Moore and has two children.

ORGANIZATIONS:
Association of the U.S. Army, Society of Experimental Test Pilots,
American Helicopter Society, Army Aviation Association of America,
Order of Daedalians.

AWARDS AND RANKS:
Two Meritorious Service Medals, the Army Commendation Medal, the Defense Superior Service Medal, NASA Exceptional Service Medal, NASA Distinguished Service Medal, three NASA Space Flight Medals and others.

HOBBY:
Enjoys running, fishing, camping, skiing, scuba diving and wood-working. As a cadet at the U.S. Military Academy competed in the sport parachute team and held ratings of sport parachute jumpmaster and instructor.

WORK EXPERIENCE:
In September 1981 be was designated an Army aviator. He then completed a three-year assignment in Germany where be served as an Aeroscout Platoon Leader and Operations Officer in the 3rd Armored Divisions aviation battalion. Upon graduation from the Postgraduate School in 1987 he was sent to Johnson Space Center, where he served for over 4 years. He served as a Shuttle launch and landing operations engineer, a pilot in the Shuttle Avionics Integration Laboratory (SAIL) and chief of the Operations Development Office, Flight Crew Operations Directorate.
In 1992-1993 he studied at the Naval Test Pilot School and was the best among those who graduated from this School (103rd graduation). Since June 1993, he served as an experimental test pilot and then Flight Test Division Chief in the Armys Airworthiness Qualification Test Directorate at Edwards Air Force Base, California. He has logged over 3000 hours in more than 50 different aircrafts. Retired in June 2007 after more than 27 years of service.
In May 1996 be was selected for the NASA astronaut detachment (16-th selection). In August 1996 Williams again returned to Johnson Space Center and passed a two-year course of general space training, which be finished in 1998 as a mission specialist. After this he was appointed to the Spacecraft Systems Division and then to the ISS Operations Division.
On November 16, 1998 he was selected for STS-101 crew.
From May 19-29, 2000 he performed the First Space Flight as the Atlantis mission specialist under STS-101 Program. The main flight task was operations onboard the International Space Station. In flight he performed one EVA of the duration of 6 hours, 44 minutes. The flight duration was 9 days, 20 hours, 9 minutes, 8 seconds.
He passed training for a space mission within the ISS-12 back-up crew as commander.
He performed the second spaceflight from March 30 to September 29, 2006 as the Soyuz TMA-8 spacecraft flight engineer and the ISS prime crew-13 together with Pavel Vinogradov and Marcos Pontes (spaceflight participant).
The docking to the ISS occurred on April 1, 2006. From July 6, 2006 together with Pavel Vinogradov and Jeffrey Williams as flight engineer-2 of Expedition-13 Thomas Reiter worked who was carried to the Station by the Discovery shuttle (STS-121). On September 29 at 01:50 Moscow time the Soyuz TMA-8 spacecraft undocked from the international Space Station. The spacecraft landing occurred on September 29, 2006 at 05:13 Moscow time on the Kazakhstan territory north to Arkalyk.
In flight he performed two EVAs of the total duration of 12 hours 25 min.
The flight duration was 182 days 22 hours 43 min 17 s.
In July 2008 it was reported that he was assigned instead of Shannon Walker to the backup crew of Expedition-19 to the ISS. He passed training under the program for Expedition-19 to the ISS as the ISS commander, the backup crew Soyuz TMA flight engineer.
In August 2007 he was preliminarily assigned to the prime crew of Expedition-21 to the ISS. On September 21, 2008 his appointment was confirmed in the plan of flights to the ISS, which was published by Roscosmos press-service. On November 21, 2008 his appointment was officially confirmed by NASA when announcing the ISS-20 - ISS-26 crew members.

On March 3-4, 2009 at the Cosmonaut Training Center Jeffrey Williams together with Maxim Suraev passed preflight examinations with an excellent mark. Together with them backup of space tourist Esther Dyson successfully passed preflight exams. During the launch of TV Soyuz TMA-14 on March 26, 2009 he was a backup of the vehicle flight engineer. On September 7-8, 2009 at the Cosmonaut Training Center Williams together with Maxim Suraev passed preflight examinations with an excellent mark. Together with them space tourist Guy Laliberte successfully passed preflight examinations. On September 10, 2009 the Interdepartmental Commission approved him as a flight engineer of the Soyuz TMA-16 vehicle, crewmember of Expedition 21 and commander of Expedition 22 of the ISS.

Jeffrey Williams performed his third space flight at a period of September 30, 2009 to March 18, 2010 as a flight engineer of the Soyuz TMA-16 vehicle, ISS-21 and commander of the ISS-22 together with Maxim Suraev and Guy Laliberte (space flight participant).
The flight duration was 169 days 4 hr 9 min 37 sec.

In January 2014 it was reported that he was assigned to the crew of Soyuz-19 (the ISS-47/48 crew).
On January 30, 2014 Jeffrey Williams within the ISS-47/48 crew together with Oleg Skirpochka and Alexei Ovchinin participated in training for actions in case of the emergency landing in a wooded marshy area in winter.
On February 11, 2014 his assignment to the ISS-47/48 crew was confirmed in NASA press release No. 14-048.

March 2015
Based on data of Lyndon B. Johnson Space Center, NASA, USA,
site www.astronaut.ru.

ISS Crew


RYZHIKOV SergeyRYZHIKOV
Sergey



KUD-SVERCHKOV SergeyKUD-SVERCHKOV
Sergey



RUBINS<br>KathleenRUBINS
Kathleen

English

Фото НИИ ЦПК им. Ю.А. Гагарина

Джеффри Нелс УИЛЛЬЯМС

Полковник Армии США в отставке,
астронавт НАСА,
Космический центр
им. Линдона Б. Джонсона, США

ДАТА И МЕСТО РОЖДЕНИЯ:
18 января 1958 года в городе Сьюпериор, штат Висконсин, США, но считает своим родным городом Винтер этого же штата.

ОБРАЗОВАНИЕ:
В 1976 году закончил среднюю школу в городе Винтер штата Висконин.
В мае 1980 года окончил Военную академию США со степенью бакалавра по прикладным наукам и технике и получил звание второго лейтенанта.
В 1987 году закончил аспирантуру ВМС США со степенью магистра наук по авиационной технике и авиаинженера.
В 1995-1996 годах обучался по обмену в Военно-морском колледже на командно-штабном факультете и получил степень магистра искусств по национальной безопасности и стратегическим исследованиям.

СЕМЕЙНОЕ ПОЛОЖЕНИЕ: женат на Анне-Мари Мур, имеет двоих детей.

ЧЛЕНСТВО В ОРГАНИЗАЦИЯХ:
Ассоциация Армии США;
Общество летчиков-испытателей экспериментальных летательных аппаратов;
Американское вертолетное общество;
Ассоциация армейской авиации США;
Орден Дедалианцев.

НАГРАДЫ:
Две медали "За похвальную службу" , медаль Армии США "За заслуги", медаль Министерства обороны "За превосходную службу", медаль НАСА "За исключительные заслуги", медаль НАСА "За выдающиеся заслуги", три медали НАСА "За космический полет" и др.

УВЛЕЧЕНИЯ:
Бег, рыбалка, походы, катание на лыжах, подводное плавание и столярные работы. Будучи кадетом Военной академии США, входил в спортивную парашютную команду академии и имел квалификацию мастера и инструктора по парашютным прыжкам.

ОПЫТ РАБОТЫ:
В сентябре 1981 года стал летчиком ВВС США. После этого в течение трех лет служил в Западной Германии в качестве ведущего взвода авиаразведчиков и оперативного офицера авиабатальона 3-й бронедивизии. По окончании аспирантуры в 1987 году был направлен в Космический центр имени Джонсона, где прослужил более четырех лет. Он был инженером по старту и посадке шаттла, пилотом тренажера в Лаборатории интеграции авионики шаттла (SAIL) и начальником отдела разработки операций Директората операций летных экипажей.
В 1992-1993 годах учился в Школе летчиков-испытателей ВМС США и был лучшим в ее 103-м выпуске. С июня 1993 года служил летчиком-испытателем, а затем руководителем Отделения летных испытаний армейского Директората испытаний на пригодность к полету на авиабазе Эдвардc в Калифорнии. Имеет налет около 3000 часов на более чем 50 различных типах самолетов. Ушел в отставку в июне 2007 года после более чем 27 лет службы.
В мае 1996 года отобран в отряд астронавтов NASA (16-й набор). В августе 1996 года он вернулся в Космический центр имени Джонсона и приступил к двухгодичному курсу общекосмической подготовки, который окончил в 1998 году в качестве специалиста полета. После этого он получил назначение в Отделение систем космических кораблей, а затем – в Отделение операций МКС.
16 ноября 1998 года был назначен в экипаж STS-101.

Первый космический полет совершил с 19 по 29 мая 2000 года в качестве специалиста полета корабля “Atlantis” по программе STS-101. Основной задачей полета являлись работы на борту Международной космической станции. В ходе полета совершил выход в открытый космос продолжительностью 6 часов 44 минуты. Длительность полета составила 9 сут 20 час 9 мин 8 сек.

Прошел подготовку к космическому полету в составе дублирующего экипажа МКС-12 в качестве командира.

Второй космический полет совершил с 30 марта по 29 сентября 2006 года в качестве бортинженера корабля "Союз ТМА-8" и 13-го основного экипажа МКС вместе с Павлом Виноградовым и Маркусом Понтесом (участник космического полета).
Стыковка с МКС состоялась 1 апреля 2006 года. С 6 июля 2006 года вместе с Павлом Виноградовым и Джеффри Уилльямсом в качестве второго бортинженера (Б2) 13-й основной экспедиции работал Томас Райтер, прибывший на станцию на шаттле Discovery STS-121. 29 сентября в 01:50 мск космический корабль "Союз ТМА-8" отстыковался от Международной космической станции. Посадка корабля произошла 29 сентября 2006 года 05:13 мск на территории Казахстана, севернее города Аркалыка. Во время полета совершил два выхода в открытый космос общей продолжительностью 12 часов 25 минут.
Продолжительность полета составила 182 суток 22 часа 43 минуты 17 секунд.

В июле 2008 года появились сообщения о его назначении вместо Shannon Walker в дублирующий экипаж 19-й экспедиции на МКС. Прошел подготовку по программе 19-й основной экспедиции на МКС в качестве командира МКС, бортинженера ТК "Союз ТМА" дублирующего экипажа.
В августе 2007 года в предварительном порядке был назначен в основной экипаж 21-й экспедиции на МКС. 21 сентября 2008 года это назначение было подтверждено в опубликованном пресс-службой Роскосмоса плане полётов на МКС. 21 ноября 2008 года его назначение было официально подтверждено НАСА при объявлении составов экипажей МКС-20 - МКС-26.

3-4 марта 2009 года в Центре подготовки космонавтов вместе с Максимом Сураевым сдал предполетные экзамены с оценкой "отлично". Вмести с ними успешно сдала предполетные экзамены дублер космического туриста Эстер Дайсон.
Во время старта ТК "Союз ТМА-14" 26 марта 2009 года был дублером бортинженера корабля.
7-8 сентября 2009 года в Центре подготовки космонавтов вместе с Максимом Сураевым сдал предполетные экзамены с оценкой "отлично". Вместе с ними успешно сдал предполетные экзамены космический турист Ги Лалиберте.
10 сентября 2009 года Межведомственной комиссией утвержден в качестве бортинженера корабля "Союз ТМА-16", члена экипажа 21-й и командира 22-й основных экипажей МКС.

Третий космический полет совершил с 30 сентября 2009 года по 18 марта 2010 года в качестве качестве бортинженера корабля "Союз ТМА-16", МКС-21 и командира МКС-22 вместе с Максимом Сураевым и Ги Лалиберте (участник космического полета).
Длительность полета составила 169 сут 4 час 9 мин 37 сек.

В январе 2014 года появились сообщения о его назначении в экипаж корабля "Союз ТМА-19" (экипаж МКС-47/48).
30 января 2014 года в составе экипажа МКС-47/48 вместе с Олегом Скрипочкой и Алексеем Овчининым принимал участие в тренировках по действиям в случае аварийной посадки в лесисто-болотистой местности зимой.
11 февраля 2014 года его назначение в экипаж МКС-47/48 было подтверждено в пресс-релизе НАСА №14-048.

Март 2015 г.
По материалам Космического Центра им. Линдона Б. Джонсона, НАСА, США,
сайта astronaut.ru.