Yu.A. Gagarin TsPK NII picture

Koichi WAKATA

JAXA Astronaut, Japan

DATE AND PLACE OF BIRTH:
August 1, 1963, in Omiya, Saitama prefecture, Japan

EDUCATION:
Graduated from Urawa High School in 1982.
Received a Bachelor of Science degree in Aeronautical Engineering from Kyushu University in 1987.
Received a Master of Science degree in Applied Mechanics from the same University in 1989.

AWARDS: Medal for Merit in Space Exploration (2011).

HOBBY:
Skiing, basket-ball, tennis, hang-gliding.

MARITAL STATUS:
Married to Stefanie von Sachsen-Altenburg, German from Bonn. They have a son.

WORK EXPERIENCE:
In April 1989 he began to work as an engineer in Japan Airlines (JAL) and for 3 months passed training and then was assigned to the Base Maintenance Department, Narita.
From July 1991 to May 1992 he was assigned to the Engineering Department of JAL where he was involved in research of structural integrity of transport aircraft, as well as in the program of corrosion prevention. He has logged over 1100 hours in a variety of aircraft.
In April 1992 he was selected as an astronaut candidate by the National Space Development Agency of Japan (NASD). From March 1992 to August 1993 he completed one year of general space training (as an astronaut candidate of NASA 14-th selection) at the Johnson Space Center, USA and was qualified as a Mission Specialist on the Space Shuttle. Then Koichi Wakata was assigned to the Astronaut Office Computer Support Branch. On December12, 1994 he was assigned to the crew of STS-72 as a Mission Specialist.
He performed his first space flight on January 11-20, 1996 as a Mission Specialist of the Endeavour Shuttle (STS-72). The flight duration was 8 days 22 hours 00 min.
From 1996 to 1998 he worked at the Astronaut Office EVA/Robotics Branch. On June 2, 1997 he was assigned to the crew of the Discovery Shuttle (STS-92) under the Space Station assembly program (ISS-05-3A). As a result he became the first Japanese who visited the Station.
He performed the second space flight on October 11-24, 2000 as a Mission Specialist in the crew of the Discovery Shuttle (STS-92 ISS-05-3A). The main objective of the mission was the delivery of the Zl Truss section. The flight duration was 12 days 21 hours 44 min.
From August 26 to September 6, 2002 Koichi Wakata took part in trainings (under the program of flights to the International Space Station -ISS) based on the European Astronaut Centre - EAC, Cologne in Germany. In December 2005 he began training at Yu.A. Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center for a long-duration expedition on the International Space Station (ISS) of the duration of three-six months. In August by the joint decision of Roskosmos and NASA he was assigned as a preliminary to the prime crew of ISS-16. The same month he began to study the Soyuz TMA spacecraft systems. Later he was removed from the crew of ISS-16. At a period of January 16-27, 2007 in the forest country 30 km from Moscow he participated in trainings to survive within the preliminary crew together with Salizhan Sharipov (Russia) and Soichi Noguchi (Japan). On February 13, 2007 by NASA decision he was assigned as a flight engineer to ISS Expedition 18 (ISS-18).

He made his third space flight on April 15 through 31, 2009 as a mission specialist on Space Shuttle Discovery STS-119 mission. Onboard the space station he served as flight engineer of expeditions ISS-18, ISS-19, ISS-20. He returned to Earth onboard Space Shuttle Endeavour STS-127 The mission duration was 137 days 15 hours and 04 minutes.

On January 28, 2011, a message was posted in the forum of Novosti Kosmonavtiki magazine that he was assigned to the main crew of Expedition ISS-38/39.
On February 17, 2011, the announcement made by the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA), and on February 18, 2011, the NASA press release No.11-044 both confirmed this assignment, also naming him the commander of Expedition ISS-39.

On April 29 - 30 and May 6, 2013 Koichi Wakata together with Mikhail Tyurin and Richard Mastracchio underwent successfully preflight test training on the ISS Russian Segment and the simulator of Soyuz TMA-V space vehicle at Cosmonauts Training Center, including training under the program of four-orbit ISS rendezvous scheme.
On May 8, 2013 in the Star City Interdepartmental Committee meeting was held which recommended him as fit for flight engineer service in backup crew of the 36/37th Expedition (ISS-36, ISS-37) to the International Space Station. On May 27, 2013 the State Commission took the decision on his approval as flight engineer of backup crew for TMV Soyuz TMA-09M.

On May 28, 2013 during launch of TMV Soyuz TMA-09M he was backup flight engineer of the space vehicle.

November 2013
Based on data of site astronaut.ru.

ISS Crew


PARMITANO Luka PARMITANO
Luka



KOCH Christina  KOCH
Christina



SKVORTSOV Alexandr SKVORTSOV
Alexandr



MORGAN   Andrew MORGAN
Andrew



  SKRIPOCHKA
Oleg



   MEIR
Jessica

English

Фото ФГБУ "НИИ ЦПК им. Ю.А. Гагарина"

Коити ВАКАТА

Астронавт JAXA, Япония

ДАТА И МЕСТО РОЖДЕНИЯ:
1 августа 1963 года в городе Омия, префектура Саитама, Япония

ОБРАЗОВАНИЕ:
В 1982 году окончил среднюю школу Urawa High School
В 1987 году получил степень бакалавра наук (авиационная техника) в Университете Кюсю.
В 1989 году получил степень магистра наук (прикладная механика) в том же Университете.

УВЛЕЧЕНИЯ:
Лыжи, баскетбол, теннис, дельтаплан.

СЕМЕЙНОЕ ПОЛОЖЕНИЕ:
Женат на Штефани фон Заксен-Альтенбург, немке из Бонна. У них один сын.

НАГРАДЫ: медаль "За заслуги в освоении космоса" (2011).

ОПЫТ РАБОТЫ:
В апреле 1989 года начал работать инженером в компании Japan Airlines (JAL) и в течение 3 месяцев проходил обучение и затем работал в Главном ремонтном управлении в Нарите.
С июля 1991 по май 1992 работал в техническом управлении компании, где занимался исследованиями целостности конструкции транспортных самолетов, а также программой предотвращения коррозии. Налет на самолетах различных типов составляет более 1100 часов.
В апреле 1992 года отобран в отряд астронавтов NASDA. С марта 1992 по август 1993 года прошел годичный курс общекосмической подготовки (в составе 14-го набора NASA) в Космическом центре им. Джонсона в США и получил квалификацию специалиста полета шаттла. По окончании был назначен в Отделение компьютерного обеспечения Отдела астронавтов. 12 декабря 1994 года был назначен в экипаж STS-72 в качестве специалиста полета.
Первый космический полет совершил с 11 по 20 января 1996 года в качестве специалиста полета шаттла Endeavour STS-72. Продолжительность полета составила 8 суток 22 часа 00 минут.
С 1996 по 1998 год работал в Отделении ВКД Отдела астронавтов (Astronaut Office EVA/Robotics Branch). 2 июня 1997 года получил назначение в экипаж шаттла "Discovery" STS-92 по программе сборки космической станции ISS-05-3A. (В результате стал первым японцем, побывавшим на станции).
Второй космический полет совершил с 11 по 24 октября 2000 года в качестве специалиста полёта в экипаже шаттла Discovery STS-92 ISS-05-3A. Основная задача полёта - доcтавка секции Z1 Truss. Продолжительность полета составила 12 суток 21 час 44 минуты.
С 26 августа по 6 сентября 2002 года участвовал в тренировках (по программе полетов на станцию МКС) на базе европейского центра астронавтов в Кёльне (European Astronaut Centre - EAC, Cologne) в Германии. В декабре 2005 года приступил к подготовке в РГНИИ ЦПК им. Ю.А. Гагарина для долгосрочного полёта на Международной космической станции (МКС) продолжительностью от трех до шести месяцев. В августе совместным решением Роскосмоса и NASA в предварительном порядке был включен в состав основного экипажа МКС-16. В том же месяце в РГНИИ ЦПК им. Ю.А. Гагарина приступил к изучению систем корабля "Союз ТМА". Позднее был выведен из экипажа МКС-16. В период с 16 по 27 января 2007 года в лесистой местности в 30 км от Москвы участвовал в тренировках по выживанию в составе условного экипажа вместе с Салижаном Шариповым (Россия) и Соити Ногути (Япония).
13 февраля 2007 года решением NASA был назначен бортиженером основного экипажа 18-й экспедиции на МКС (МКС-18).

Третий космический полет совершил с 15 марта по 31 июля 2009 года в качестве специалиста полёта в экипаже шаттла Discovery STS-119. На станции исполнял обязанности бортинженера МКС-18, МКС-19, МКС-20. Возвращение на Землю осуществил на шаттле Эндевор STS-127.
Продолжительность полета составила 137 суток 15 час 04 минуты.

28 января 2011 года на форуме журнала "Новости космонавтики" появилось сообщение о назначении его в основной экипаж экспедиции МКС-38/39.
17 февраля 2011 года в сообщении японского агентства аэрокосмических исследований JAXA и 18 февраля 2011 года в пресс-релизе НАСА №11-044 это назначение было подтверждено, при этом он так же был назван командиром экспедиции МКС-39.

29 - 30 апреля и 6 мая 2013 года в Центре подготовки космонавтов вместе с Михаилом Тюриным и Риком Мастракио успешно прошел предполетные экзаменационные тренировки на Российском сегменте МКС и на тренажере корабля "Союз ТМА-М", в том числе по программе четырехвитковой схемы сближения с МКС.
8 мая 2013 года в Звездном городке состоялось заседание Межведомственной комиссии, которая рекомендовала его к утверждению в качестве бортинженера дублирующего экипажа 36/37-й экспедиции на Международную космическую станцию. 27 мая 2013 года решением государственной комиссии утверждён бортинженером дублирующего экипажа ТПК "Союз ТМА-09М".

28 мая 2013 года во время старта ТПК "Союз ТМА-09М" был дублером бортинженера корабля.

Ноябрь 2013 г.
По материалам сайта astronaut.ru.