NASA picture

Sunita Lyn WILLIAMS

U.S. Naval Commander
NASA Astronaut, USA

DATE AND PLACE OF BIRTH:
Sunita Pandya (married to Williams) was born on September 19, 1965 in Euclid, Ohio, but consideres Needham, Massachusetts, to be her hometown.
Her father D-r Deepak Pandya, neurobiology professor, was born in India but in 1958 he moved to the United States; her mother Mrs. Bonnie Pandya is Slovene.

EDUCATION:
In 1983 she finished High School in Needham and in 1987 she graduated from the U.S. Naval Academy with a Bachelor's Degree in physics.
In 1995 she received M.S. in Engineering Management from Florida Institute of Technology.

FAMILY STATUS: Married to Michael J. Williams.

HONORS: Awarded Navy Commendation Medal, Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Medal, Humanitarian Service Medal and various other service awards.

HOBBY: running, swimming, cycling, triple event, wind-surfing, snowboard and bow-fire.

WORK EXPERIENCE:
In May 1987 she received her commission in the United States Navy. For six months she served at the Naval Coastal System Command and received her designation as a Basic Diving Officer. Then she reported to Naval Aviation Training Command.
In July 1989 she became a Naval Aviator and then reported to Helicopter Combat Support Squadron 3 for initial C-46E, Seaknight, training. Upon completion of this training, she was assigned to Helicopter Combat Support Squadron 8 in Norfolk, Virginia. She made overseas deployments to the Mediterranean, Red Sea and the Persian Gulf.
She participated in Desert Shield and Operation Provide Comfort.
In September 1992 she was the Officer-in-Charge of an -46 detachment sent to Miami, Florida for Hurricane Andrew Relief Operations onboard USS Sylvania.
From January to December 1993 she studied at the United States Naval Test Pilot School. Then she was assigned to the Rotary Wing Aircraft Test Directorate as an -46 Project Officer, and V-22 Chase Pilot. Besides, in the squadron she was a Safety Officer and flew test flights in the SH-60B/F, UN-1, AH-1W, SH-2, VH-3, H-46, CH-53 and H-57.
In December 1995 she went back to the Naval Test Pilot School as an Instructor in the Rotary Wing Department. There she flew the UH-60, -6 and -58. Then she was assigned to the USS Saipan, Norfolk, Virginia. She has logged over 2770 flight hours in more than 30 different aircraft.
In June 1998 she was selected by NASA for the astronaut corps, in 1998-2000 she passed a course of general space training and got qualification of a mission specialist. Williams worked within the Robotics branch of NASA astronaut Department. From May 13-20, 2002 she took part as a member of 4-person crew in NEEMO-2 in the underwater Aquarius habitat.
In late 2002 she was planned to be assigned to the backup crew for Increment ISS-10 as a researcher. However, because of the Columbia Shuttle accident the ISS flight program was corrected and the crews were reformed. In December 2003 she was assigned to the ISS-12 prime crew and in December 2005 she was transferred to the ISS-14 prime crew. On May 2, 2006 she was assigned to the STS-116 crew for flight to the Station.
She is currently performing a spaceflight onboard the ISS as the second flight engineer of the ISS-14 crew and in April 2007 after rotation she will continue her work within the ISS-15 crew onboard the Station. It is proposed that Williams will end her six-month flight with landing in the Endevour Shuttle (STS-118) in early July 2007.

She performed her first space flight from December 10, 2006 to June 22, 2007 as flight engineer-2 of ISS-14 prime crew.
Sunita Williams performed four EVAs in flight, namely:
16.12.2006 - of the duration of 6 hours 31 min;
31.01.2007 - of the duration of 7 hours 55 min;
04.02.2007 - of the duration of 7 hours 11 min;
08.02.2007 - of the duration of 6 hours 40 min.
The mission duration was 194 days 18 hours 02 min.

In February 2008 she was transferred to the manager-astronaut category and appointed Deputy Head of the NASA Astronaut Office.
In June 2008 she was retransferred to the active astronaut category.
On December 10, 2009 it was reported that she was assigned to the backup crew of ISS-30/31 Expedition and ISS-32/33 Expedition prime crew. On July 8, 2010 her assignment was officially confirmed by NASA in press release 10-161. On October 12, 2010 her assignment to ISS-31/32 prime crew was confirmed by Interdepartmental Commission for selection of cosmonauts and their assignment to the manned spacecraft crews.

On November 29, 2011 Sunita Williams together with Yury Malenchenko and Akihiko Hoshide passed the pre-flight examination training on the Soyuz TMA simulator at the Cosmonaut Training Center. On November 30, 2011 the crew passed the examination training on the ISS Russian Segment.
On December 1, 2011 she was approved by the Interdepartmental Commission as the Soyuz TMA-03M vehicle backup crew commander.
On December 20, 2011 at the meeting of the State Commission devoted to the conduct of the flight tests of the manned space complexes under the chairmanship of Vladimir Popovkin, Federal Space Agency Head, Sunita Williams was approved as a flight engineer of the Soyuz TMA-03M vehicle backup crew.
On December 21, 2011 during the launch of the Soyuz TMA-03M MTV she was the vehicle flight engineer backup.

June 2012
Based on materials sites www.nasa.gov and www.astronaut.ru.

ISS Crew


PARMITANO Luka PARMITANO
Luka



KOCH Christina  KOCH
Christina



SKVORTSOV Alexandr SKVORTSOV
Alexandr



MORGAN   Andrew MORGAN
Andrew



  SKRIPOCHKA
Oleg



   MEIR
Jessica

English

Фото НАСА

Сунита Лин УИЛЛЬЯМС

Капитан 3-го ранга ВМС США,
астронавт НАСА, США

ДАТА И МЕСТО РОЖДЕНИЯ:
Сунита Пандья (по мужу - Уилльямс) родилась 19 сентября 1965 года в г. Юклид штата Огайо, но своей родиной считает город Нидэм в штате Массачусетс.
Отец Суниты - д-р Дипак Пандья, профессор нейробиологии, родился в Индии, в 1958 году переехал в США; ее мать - г-жа Бонни Пандья - словенка.

ОБРАЗОВАНИЕ:
В 1983 году окончила среднюю школу в Нидэме, а в 1987 г. - Военно-морскую академию США со степенью бакалавра наук по физике.
В 1995 году во Флоридском технологическом институте получила степень магистра наук в области управления проектами.

СЕМЕЙНОЕ ПОЛОЖЕНИЕ: замужем за Майклом Дж. Уилльямсом.

НАГРАДЫ: награждена медалями ВМС и Корпуса морской пехоты США, медалью "За службу по оказанию гуманитарной помощи" и другими наградами за службу.

УВЛЕЧЕНИЯ: бег, плаванье, езда на велосипеде, троеборье, виндсерфинг, сноуборд и стрельба из лука.

ОПЫТ РАБОТЫ:
В мае 1987 года поступила на службу в ВМС США. В течение шести месяцев служила в Командовании береговых систем ВМС и получила квалификацию офицера-водолаза. После этого приступила к летной подготовке. В июле 1989 года стала пилотом ВМС и была направлена в 3-ю вертолетную эскадрилью боевого обеспечения для прохождения подготовки на вертолет CН-46E Sea Knight. Затем получила назначение в 8-ю вертолетную эскадрилью боевого обеспечения на авиастанции ВМС Норфолк в Вирджинии. Участвовала в боевых походах в Средиземное и Красное моря и в Персидский залив.
Участвовала в операциях "Щит пустыни" и "Обеспечение поддержки".
В сентябре 1992 года в качестве руководителя подразделения вертолетов Н-46 на корабле USS Sylvania была направлена в Майами для проведения восстановительных работ и ликвидации последствий урагана Эндрю.
С января по декабрь 1993 года училась в Школе летчиков-испытателей ВМС США. Затем проходила службу в Директорате испытаний винтокрылых аппаратов в качестве офицера проекта вертолета Н-46 и пилота сопровождения самолета-вертолета (конвертоплана) V-22 Osprey. Кроме того, в эскадрилье она являлась офицером по безопасности полетов. Выполняла испытательные полеты на вертолетах SH-60B/F, UH-1, AH-IW, SH-2, VH-3, Н-46, СН-53 и Н-57.
В декабре 1995 года вернулась в Школу летчиков-испытателей ВМС на должность летчика-инструктора кафедры винтокрылых аппаратов. Летала на вертолетах UH-60, OH-6 и OH-58. После этого получила назначение на универсальный десантный корабль USS Saipan в Норфолке. Имеет налет более 2770 часов на более чем 30 типах вертолетов.
В июне 1998 года была отобрана в отряд астронавтов NASA, в 1998-2000 годах прошла курс общекосмической подготовки и получила квалификацию специалиста полета. Работала в Отделении робототехники Отдела астронавтов NASA. С 13 по 20 мая 2002 года в составе экипажа из четырех человек участвовала в эксперименте NEEMO-2 в подводной лаборатории Aquarius.
В конце 2002 года планировалась к назначению в состав дублирующего экипажа 10-й основной экспедиции на МКС в качестве научного специалиста. Однако из-за катастрофы орбитального корабля "Колумбия" планы полетов на МКС были скорректированы, а экипажи переформированы. В декабре 2003 года была включена в основной экипаж МКС-12, а в декабре 2005 года переведена в основной экипаж МКС-14. 2 мая 2006 года ее включили в экипаж STS-116 для доставки на станцию.
В настоящее время выполняет космический полет на МКС в качестве второго бортинженера экипажа МКС-14, а в апреле 2007 года после пересменки продолжит работу на станции в составе экипажа МКС-15. Предполагается, что Уилльямс завершит свой полугодовой полет посадкой на ОК "Индевор" (STS-118) в начале июля 2007 года.

Первый космический полет совершила с 10 декабря 2006 года по 22 июня 2007 года в качестве бортинженера-2 основного экипажа МКС-14.
Во время полёта выполнила четыре выхода в открытый космос:
16.12.2006 - продолжительностью 6 часов 31 минуту;
31.01.2007 - продолжительностью 7 часов 55 минут;
04.02.2007 - продолжительностью 7 часов 11 минут;
08.02.2007 - продолжительностью 6 часов 40 минут.
Продолжительность полета составила 194 суток 18 часов 2 минуты.

В феврале 2008 года была переведена в категорию астронавтов-менеджеров и назначена заместителем руководителя Отдела астронавтов НАСА. В июне 2008 года была вновь переведена в категорию активных астронавтов.
10 декабря 2009 года появились сообщения о её назначении в дублирующий экипаж экспедиции МКС-30/31 и в основной экипаж экспедиции МКС-32/33. 8 июля 2010 года это назначение было официально подтверждено НАСА в пресс-релизе 10-161. 12 октября 2010 года её назначение в основной экипаж МКС-31/32 было подтверждено Межведомственной комиссией по отбору космонавтов и их назначению в составы экипажей пилотируемых кораблей.

29 ноября 2011 года в Центре подготовки космонавтов вместе с Юрием Маленченко и Акихико Хошиде сдала предполетную экзаменационную тренировку на тренажере корабля "Союза ТМА". 30 ноября 2011 года экипаж сдал экзаменационную тренировку на Российском сегменте МКС.
1 декабря 2011 года была утверждена Межведомственной комиссией в качестве командира дублирующего экипажа корабля "Союз ТМА-03М".
20 декабря 2011 года на заседании Государственной комиссии по проведению летных испытаний пилотируемых космических комплексов под председательством руководителя Федерального космического агентства Владимира Поповкина была утверждена бортинженером дублирующего экипажа корабля "Союз ТМА-03М".
21 декабря 2011 года во время старта ТПК "Союз ТМА-03М" была дублером бортинженера корабля.

Июнь 2012 г.
По материалам сайтов www.nasa.gov и astronaut.ru