Русский

NIITsPK picture

Yuri Ivanovich MALENCHENKO

Colonel of the Russian Federation Air Force,
Test-cosmonaut of Yu.A. Gagarin
Cosmonaut Training Center, Russia

DATE AND PLACE OF BIRTH: December 21, 1961, Svetlovodsk, Kirovograd Area (the Ukraine)
Father: Ivan Karpovich Malenchenko, born in 1930.
Mother: Nina Pavlovna Malenchenko (Ananieva), born in 1937.

EDUCATION: In 1983 he graduated from Kharkov Higher Military Pilot School after S.I. Gritsevets, Twice Hero of the Soviet Union, with a diploma of pilot engineer. In 1993 he graduated from a postal tuition faculty of N.E. Zhukovsky Air-Force Engineering Academy as a specialist in the following field: Operational and Tactical Engineering, Flight Vehicles.

FAMILY STATUS: Married. Yu. Malenchenko is the first man who married in orbit (August 10, 2003).
Son: Dmitry, born in 1984.
Daughter: Camilla, born in 2006.

AWARDS AND RANKS: Hero of the Russian Federation, Pilot Cosmonaut of the Russian Federation, National Hero of Kazakhstan, Kazakhstan Pilot-Cosmonaut № 3. Decorated with Gold Star Medal of Hero of the Russian Federation, National Hero Medal of the Republic of Kazakhstan, NASA Medal for Space Flight, Orders For Services to the Fatherland class IV, For Military Service, Medals for Distinguished Service class III, II, I, Good Conduct Medal class III, For Military Valour class I, the 70-th Anniversary of the Armed Forces of the USSR.

HOBBY: Sports and games, music, hunting.

WORK EXPERIENCE:
In 1983-1987 he served as a pilot, master pilot, commander of the flight section in the guards fighter aviation regiment of the Odessa military region.
He is a 3-rd class military pilot, total flight time is 830 hours, made more than 150 parachute jumps.
In 1987 he was enlisted in the Cosmonaut Training Center detachment.
From December 1987 to June 1989 he passed a course of general space training. In 1989 a qualification of a test cosmonaut was conferred on him.
From September 1989 to December 1992 he passed training for flight to the Mir Station as a member of the test cosmonaut group.
In January - June 1993 he passed training under EC-14 program on the Mir Station as a commander of the backup (third) crew.
From July 1993 to January 1994 he passed training for flight on the Soyuz-TM transport vehicle and Mir Orbital Complex under EC-15 program as the backup crew commander.
From February to June 1994 he passed training for flight under EC-16 program.
He performed the first space flight from July 1 to November 4, 1994 as a commander of the Soyuz TM-19 spacecraft and Mir Orbital Complex under EC-16 program together with T. Musabaev.
During the flight he made two egresses into open space; their total duration was 11 hours 7 min. He performed the first docking of the Mir Orbital Complex with the Progress M-24 cargo transport vehicle in the teleoperation control mode.
He made a landing together with T. Musabaev and W. Merbold (ESA, Germany).
The flight duration was 125 days 22 hr 53 min 36 s.
From August to December 1996 he was a co-ordinator of MCC at NASA.
In 1997 - 1998 he passed training as a member of the group for flight to the ISS.
From October 1998 to September 2000 at JSC (NASA) he passed training for a space flight by the Shuttle Orbiter under the ISS assembly program (flight 2A, 2A/2B).
He performed the second space flight from September 8 to September 20, 2000 as a flight specialist onboard the Atlantis Orbiter (STS-106) under the ISS assembly program (flight 2A/2B). In this flight the crew successfully prepared the ISS for the first long-term expedition arrival. During the flight he made one egress into open space; the egress duration was 6 hr 14 min.
The flight duration was 11 days 19 hr 11 min.
In January 2001 he began training as commander of ISS-7 prime crew, together with S. Moschenko and Edward Lou (since March 2001); on October 1, 2002 A. Kaleri was included in the crew instead of S. Moschenko. It was proposed that the Atlantis (STS-114) launch which was to deliver ISS-7 crew to the ISS would be performed on March 1, 2003, however because of the Columbia accident all shuttle flights were temporarily stopped and the ISS flight program was updated. The ISS-7 crew was reduced up to two men (A. Kaleri was transferred to the back-up crew).
On February 25, 2003 Yu. Malenchenko began training for a flight to the ISS onboard the Soyuz TMA-2 TSC, together with E. Lu.
He performed the third space flight from April 26 to October 28, 2003 as the ISS and Soyuz TMA-2 spacecraft commander under Expedition-7 (ISS-7) program. He was launched together with Edward Lu, NASA astronaut. During the flight ISS-7 crew received and unloaded the Progress M1-10 and Progress M-48 cargo vehicles, received the Russian Visiting Crew-5 onboard the Soyuz TMA-3 spacecraft. The scientific research under the Russian and U.S. programs were continued. The station was handed over to Expedition-8 prime crew. He made a landing together with Edward Lu and Pedro Duque (ESA, Spain). The flight duration was 184 days 22 hr 46 min. He is currently training as a flight engineer within the ISS-14 back-up crew for a space flight.
He performed the fourth spaceflight from October 10, 2007 to April 19, 2008 as the Soyuz-TMA-11 commander and ISS-16 Expedition flight engineer.
On November 9, 2007 Malenchenko performed one EVA of the duration of 6 hr. 55 min.
The mission duration was 191 days 19 hours 13 min.
By Order of the Defence Minister of the Russian Federation, dated July 27, 2009 he was relieved of his post as a test cosmonaut-instructor.
In January 2010 it was reported that Malenchenko was assigned to ISS-30 backup crew and ISS-32/33 Expedition prime crew.
On February 9, 2010 he was appointed to a post of the test cosmonaut-instructor of CTC detachment.
At the meeting of Interdepartmental Commission for selection of cosmonauts and their assignment to the manned spacecraft and station crews on April 26, 2010 he was qualified as a cosmonaut of Yu.A Gagarin CTC NII detachment.
On July 8, 2010 his assignment to the prime crew of ISS-32/33 Expedition was officially confirmed by NASA is press release 10-161. On October 12, 2010 his assignment to the prime crew of ISS-32/33 was confirmed by Interdepartmental Commission for selection of cosmonauts and their assignment to the manned spacecraft crews.
At a period of August 2-5, 2010 he took part in trainings for visual-instrumental observations from board the plane on the territory of Severomorsk, Murmansk region, during which the tasks of the object observation and ecological monitoring were performed.
In January 2011 Malenchenko participated in trainings for survival in the forest near Moscow as the preliminary crew commander together with Andrei Babkin and Ivan Vagner.

On November 29, 2011 Yury Malenchenko together with Sunita Williams and Akihiko Hoshide passed the pre-flight examination training on the Soyuz TMA simulator at the Cosmonaut Training Center. On November 30, 2011 the crew passed the examination training on the ISS Russian Segment.
On December 1, 2011 he was approved by the Interdepartmental Commission as the Soyuz TMA-03M vehicle backup crew commander.
On December 20, 2011 at the meeting of the State Commission devoted to the conduct of flight tests of the manned space complexes under the chairmanship of Vladimir Popovkin, Federal Space Agency Head, Malenchenko was approved as the Soyuz TMA-03M vehicle backup crew commander.
On December 21, 2011 during the launch of the Soyuz TMA-03M MTV he was the crew commander backup.

June 2012.
By the data presented by Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center and site www.astronaut.ru.

English

Фото РГНИИЦПК им. Ю.А.Гагарина

МАЛЕНЧЕНКО Юрий Иванович

Полковник ВВС РФ,
космонавт-испытатель ФГБУ "НИИ ЦПК
имени Ю.А. Гагарина", Россия

ДАТА И МЕСТО РОЖДЕНИЯ: 22 декабря 1961 года, г. Светловодск Кировоградской области (Украина).
Отец - Маленченко Иван Карпович, 1930 года рождения.
Мать - Маленченко (Ананьева) Нина Павловна, 1937 года рождения.

ОБРАЗОВАНИЕ: в 1983 году окончил Харьковское высшее военное авиационное училище летчиков им. дважды Героя Советского Союза С.И. Грицевца с дипломом летчика-инженера. В 1993 году - факультет заочного обучения Военно-воздушной инженерной академии им. Н.Е. Жуковского по специальности "Инженерная оперативно-тактическая, летательные аппараты".

СЕМЕЙНОЕ ПОЛОЖЕНИЕ: женат. Ю. Маленченко – первый человек, который вступил в брак, находясь на орбите (10 августа 2003 года).
Сын - Дмитрий, 1984 года рождения.
Дочь - Камилла, 2006 года рождения.

НАГРАДЫ И ЗВАНИЯ:
Герой Российской Федерации, Летчик-космонавт Российской Федерации, Народный Герой Казахстана, Летчик-космонавт Казахстана № 3.
Награжден медалью "Золотая звезда" Героя РФ, медалью Народного Героя Республики Казахстан, медалью НАСА "За космический полет", орденами "За заслуги перед Отечеством" IV степени, "За военные заслуги", медалями "За отличие в воинской службе" III, II, I степени, "За безупречную службу" III степени, "За воинскую доблесть" I степени, "70 лет Вооруженных Сил СССР".

УВЛЕЧЕНИЯ: спортивные игры, музыка, охота.

ОПЫТ РАБОТЫ:
С 1983 по 1987 год проходил службу в качестве летчика, старшего летчика, командира авиационного звена в гвардейском истребительном авиационном полку Одесского военного округа.
Военный летчик 3-го класса, общий налет - 830 часов, выполнил более 150 прыжков с парашютом.
В отряде Центра подготовки космонавтов им. Ю.А. Гагарина с 1987 года. С декабря 1987 по июль 1989 года прошел курс общекосмической подготовки. В 1989 году присвоена квалификация "космонавт-испытатель".
С сентября 1989 по декабрь 1992 года готовился к полету на ОК "Мир" в составе группы космонавтов-испытателей.
В январе-июле 1993 года проходил подготовку по программе 14-й основной экспедиции (ЭО-14) на ОК "Мир" в качестве командира резервного (третьего) экипажа.
С июля 1993 года по январь 1994 года прошел подготовку к полету на транспортном корабле "Союз-ТМ" и орбитальном комплексе "Мир" по программе 15-й основной экспедиции в качестве командира дублирующего экипажа.
С февраля по июнь 1994 года готовился к полету по программе ЭО-16.
Первый космический полет выполнил с 1 июля по 4 ноября 1994 года в качестве командира корабля "Союз ТМ-19" и орбитального комплекса "Мир" по программе ЭО-16. Стартовал вместе с Т. Мусабаевым. В ходе полета выполнил два выхода в открытый космос общей продолжительностью 11 часов 7 минут. Выполнил первую стыковку орбитального комплекса "Мир" с транспортным грузовым кораблем "Прогресс М-24" в телеоператорном режиме. Посадку совершил вместе с Т. Мусабаевым и У. Мербольдом (ЕКА, Германия). Продолжительность полета составила 125 сут 22 час 53 мин 36 сек.
С августа по декабрь 1996 года являлся координатором ЦПК в NАSА.
В 1997 - 1998 годах проходил подготовку в составе группы к полету на МКС.
С октября 1998 по сентябрь 2000 года в Космическом центре им. Джонсона (NАSА) прошел подготовку к космическому полету на МТКК "Шаттл" по программе сборки МКС (полет 2A, а затем 2A/2B).
Второй космический полет совершил с 8 по 20 сентября 2000 года в качестве специалиста полета на борту МТКК "Атлантис" (SТS-106) по программе сборки МКС (полет 2A/2B). В ходе данного полета экипаж успешно подготовил МКС к прибытию первой длительной экспедиции. В ходе полета выполнил выход в открытый космос длительностью 6 час 14 мин. Продолжительность полета составила 11 суток 19 часов 11 минут.
В январе 2001 года приступил к подготовке в качестве командира основного экипажа МКС-7, вместе с С. Мощенко и Э. Лу (с марта 2001 года); 1 октября 2002 года вместо С. Мощенко в экипаж был включен А. Калери. Старт корабля «Атлантис» (SТS-114), который должен был доставить экипаж МКС-7 на борт МКС, предполагалось осуществить 1 марта 2003 года, однако из-за катастрофы «Колумбии» все полеты шаттлов были временно прекращены, а программа полетов на МКС скорректирована. Экипаж МКС-7 сократили до двух человек (А. Калери был переведен в дублирующий экипаж).
25 февраля 2003 года Ю. Маленченко приступил к подготовке к полету на МКС на ТК «Союз ТМА-2» вместе с Э. Лу.
Третий космический полет совершил с 26 апреля по 28 октября 2003 года в качестве командира МКС и корабля "Союз ТМА-2" по программе седьмой основной экспедиции на МКС (МКС-7). Стартовал вместе с астронавтом НАСА Эдвардом Лу. Во время полета экипажем МКС-7 были приняты и разгружены грузовые корабли «Прогресс М1-10» и «Прогресс М-48», принята 5-ая российская экспедиция посещения на корабле «Союз ТМА-3». Продолжены научные исследования по российской и американской программам. Станция передана экипажу 8-ой основной экспедиции. Посадку совершил вместе с Эдвардом Лу и Педро Дуке (ЕКА, Испания). Длительность полета составила 184 сут 22 час 46 мин.
С ноября 2003 по сентябрь 2005 года готовился к полету в составе группы космонавтов-испытателей.
С октября 2005 года по настоящее время проходит подготовку в составе дублирующего экипажа МКС-14 в качестве в качестве бортинженера МКС и командира транспортного пилотируемого корабля «Союз ТМА».

Четвертый космический полет совершил с 10 октября 2007 года по 19 апреля 2008 года в качестве командира корабля "Союз-ТМА-11" и бортинженера экспедиции МКС-16.
Во время полета выполнил один выход в открытый космос 9 ноября 2007 года продолжительностью 6 час 55 мин.
Продолжительность полета составила 191 сут 19 час 13 мин.
Приказом министра обороны РФ от 27 июля 2009 года освобожден от должности инструктора-космонавта-испытателя.
В январе 2010 года появились сообщения о его назначении в дублирующий экипаж МКС-30 и о назначении его в основной экипаж экспедиции МКС-32/33.
9 февраля 2010 года был принят на должность инструктора-космонавта-испытателя отряда ФГБУ ЦПК.
На заседании Межведомственной комиссии по отбору космонавтов и их назначению в составы пилотируемых кораблей и станций 26 апреля 2010 года был аттестован в качестве космонавта отряда ФГБУ "НИИ ЦПК имени Ю.А. Гагарина".
8 июля 2010 года его назначение в основной экипаж экспедиции МКС-32/33 было официально подтверждено НАСА в пресс-релизе 10-161. 12 октября 2010 года его назначение в основной экипаж МКС-32/33 было подтверждено Межведомственной комиссией по отбору космонавтов и их назначению в составы экипажей пилотируемых кораблей.
Со 2 по 5 августа 2010 года принимал участие в тренировках по проведению визуально-инструментальных наблюдений с борта самолета в районе города Североморск Мурманской области, во время которых отрабатывались задачи наблюдения объектов и решения задач экологического мониторинга.
В январе 2011 года принимал участие в тренировках на выживание в подмосковном лесу в качестве командира условного экипажа вместе с Андреем Бабкиным и Иваном Вагнером.

29 ноября 2011 года в Центре подготовки космонавтов вместе с Сунитой Уилльямс и Акихико Хошиде сдал предполетную экзаменационную тренировку на тренажере корабля "Союза ТМА". 30 ноября 2011 года экипаж сдал экзаменационную тренировку на Российском сегменте МКС.
1 декабря 2011 года был утвержден Межведомственной комиссией в качестве командира дублирующего экипажа корабля "Союз ТМА-03М".
20 декабря 2011 года на заседании Государственной комиссии по проведению летных испытаний пилотируемых космических комплексов под председательством руководителя Федерального космического агентства Владимира Поповкина был утвержден командиром дублирующего экипажа корабля "Союз ТМА-03М".
21 декабря 2011 года во время старта ТПК "Союз ТМА-03М" был дублером командира экипажа.

Июнь 2012 г.
По материалам НИИ ЦПК им. Ю.А. Гагарина
и сайта www.astronaut.ru