Русский

Donald Roy PETTIT

NASA Astronaut

DATA AND PLACE OF BIRTH: April 20, 1955, Silverton, Oregon.

EDUCATION: Graduated from Silverton Union High School, Silverton, Oregon, in 1973; received a bachelor of science degree in chemical engineering from Oregon State University in 1978; and a doctorate in chemical engineering from the University of Arizona in 1983.

FAMILY STATUS: married to Michell R. Racheph. They have two children.

HOBBIES: Photography and swimming.

WORK EXPERIENCE: Staff scientist at Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos, New Mexico from 1984-1996. Projects included reduced gravity fluid flow and materials processing experiments on board the NASA KC-135 airplane, atmospheric spectroscopy measurements on noctolucent clouds seeded from sounding rockets, volcano fumarole gas sampling on active volcanos, and problems in detonation physics applied to weapon systems. He was a member of the group that studied the technology needed to return to the moon and explore Mars (1990), and the Space Station Freedom Redesign Team (1993).
Selected by NASA in April 1996, he reported to the Johnson Space Center in August 1996. Having completed two years of training, he is a qualified mission specialist. He was assigned technical duties in the Astronaut Office Computer Support Branch. Initially assigned as a backup crewmember, he has been assigned to the crew of Expedition-6.
On March 23, 2001 he was assigned to the backup crew of Expedition 6 (ISS-6). From April 2001 to July 2002 he passed training as a crewmember.
Pettit performed his first space flight from November 24, 2002 to May 4, 2003 as a flight engineer of ISS-6 crew. During the flight he performed two EVAs of the total duration of 13 hours 17 minutes. The mission duration was 161 days 1 hr 14 min 38 s.
In December 2003 he was assigned to the backup crew of Expedition 11 (ISS-11), however already in January he was rotated by Daniel Tani.
In late October 2007 it was reported that he was assigned as a mission specialist to the crew of shuttle (STS-126). This message was officially reported by NASA on November 22, 2007 in press release No. 07-259.
Pettit performed his second space flight from November 15 to December 1, 2008 as a mission specialist of Endevour under STS-126 program. The main objective of the mission was the ISS resupply using MPLP Leonardo cargo module, performance of the ISS maintenance operations on the external surface of the American Segment, rotation of flight engineer-2 onboard the ISS. The mission duration was 15 days 20 hr 29 min 27 s.
In July 2009 it was reported about his possible assignment to the prime crew of Expedition 30 (ISS-30). On October 7, 2009 his assignment was confirmed by NASA (press release No. 09-233).

On May 12-13, 2011 Donald Pettit together with Oleg Kononenko and Andre Kuipers successfully passed the examination training on the simulator of the ISS Russian Segment and Launch Site. On May 16, 2011 he was approved by Interdepartmental Commission as the Soyuz TMA-02M backup crew flight engineer. On May 23, 2011 his assignment was confirmed at the meeting of the Federal Space Agency board.
On June 7, 2011 Donald Pettit was the spacecraft flight engineer backup.

December 2011
Based on materials of Lindon B. Johnson Space Center, NASA, USA
and site www.astronaut.ru.

English

Дональд Рой ПЕТТИТ

Астронавт НАСА.

ДАТА И МЕСТО РОЖДЕНИЯ: 20 апреля 1955 года в г. Силвертон, штат Орегон, США.

ОБРАЗОВАНИЕ: окончил среднюю школу в городе Силвертон, штат Орегон, в 1973 году; получил степень бакалавра в области химического инжениринга в Университете штата Орегон в 1978 году и степень доктора в этой же области в Университете штата Аризона в 1983 году.

СЕМЕЙНОЕ ПОЛОЖЕНИЕ: женат на Мишелль Р. Рачефф. У них двое детей.

УВЛЕЧЕНИЯ: фотография, плаванье.

ОПЫТ РАБОТЫ: С 1984 по 1996 годы - научный работник Национальной лаборатории в Лос-Аламос, штат Нью Мексико. Занимался экспериментами по текучести жидкости и обработкой материалов в условиях пониженной гравитации на борту самолета НАСА КС-135, проводил спектроскопические измерения атмосферы серебристых облаков, искусственно созданных при помощи зондирующих ракет, а также занимался отбором проб вулканического газа фумарола на действующих вулканах и проблемами физики взрывов в интересах систем вооружений. Входил в группу, занимавшуюся разработкой технологии полетов на Луну и исследования Марса (1990), а также был членом группы по перепроектированию Космической станции "Фридом" (1993).
В апреле 1996 года отобран кандидатом в астронавты НАСА и в августе 1996 года прибыл в Космический Центр им. Джонсона. По окончании двухгодичного курса подготовки сертифицирован в качестве специалиста полета. Впоследствии выполнял технические задания отдела компьютерных систем Офиса астронавтов. Первоначально назначен в состав дублирующего экипажа, впоследствии переведен в основной экипаж МКС-6.
23 марта 2001 года был назначен членом дублирующего экипажа шестой экспедиции на МКС. С апреля 2001 года по июль 2002 года проходил подготовку в составе экипажа.
Первый космический полет совершил с 24 ноября 2002 года по 4 мая 2003 года в качестве бортинженера экипажа МКС-6. В ходе полета совершил 2 выхода в открытый космос общей продолжительностью 13 часов 17 минут. Длительность полета составила 161 сут 1 час 14 мин 38 сек.
В декабре 2003 года был включен в состав дублирующего экипажа 11-ой экспедиции на МКС, однако уже в январе его заменил Дэниел Тани.
В конце октября 2007 года появилась информация о его назначении специалистом полёта в экипаж шаттла STS-126. Официальное сообщение об этом было сделано НАСА 22 ноября 2007 года в пресс-релизе № 07-259.
Второй космический полет совершил с 15 ноября по 1 декабря 2008 года в качестве специалиста полета корабля "Эндевор" по программе STS-126. Основной задачей полета являлись дооснащение МКС с использованием грузового модуля MPLP Leonardo, проведение работ по обслуживанию МКС на внешней поверхности американского сегмента, смена на борту МКС бортинженера-2. Длительность полета составила 15 сут 20 час 29 мин 27 сек.
В июле 2009 года появились сообщения о возможности его назначения в основной экипаж 30-й экспедиции на МКС. 7 октября 2009 года это назначение было подтверждено НАСА (пресс-релиз №09-233).

12-13 мая 2011 года вместе с Олегом Кононенко и Андре Кёйперсом успешно прошел экзаменационную тренировку на тренажере Российского сегмента МКС и ТК. 16 мая 2011 года был утвержден Межведомственной комиссией в качестве бортинженера дублирующего экипажа корабля "Союз ТМА-02М". 23 мая 2011 года назначение было подтверждено на заседании коллегии Федерального космического агентства.
7 июня 2011 года был дублером бортинженера корабля.

Декабрь 2011 г.
По материалам Космического Центра им. Линдона Б. Джонсона, НАСА, США
и сайта astronaut.ru

Экипаж МКС


ХОШИДЕ АкихикоХОШИДЕ
Акихико



Олег НовицкийНОВИЦКИЙ
Олег



Петр Дубров Дубров
Петр



Марк Ванде Хай  ВАНДЕ ХАЙ
Марк



КИМБРОУ Роберт Шейн  КИМБРОУ
Роберт Шейн



Меган МАКАРТУР МАКАРТУР
Меган



Тома  ПЕСКЕПЕСКЕ
Тома