NII TsPK picture

Michael Edward FOSSUM

U.S. Air Force Reserve Lieutenant-Colonel,
NASA Astronaut,
Lyndon B. Johnson Space Center, USA

DATE AND PLACE OF BIRTH:
Born on December 19, 1957 in Sioux Falls, South Dakota.

EDUCATION:
In 1976 he left the McAllen High School, Texas.
In 1980 he graduated from the Texas A&M University and received a Bachelor of Science (machine-building).
In 1981 he received a Master of Science (systematic design) from the Air Force Institute of Technology.
In 1997 Fossum received a Master of Science (cosmophysics) from the University of Houston in Clear Lake.

FAMILY STATUS:
Wife: Melanie J. London. They have four children.

AWARDS AND RANKS:
Decorated with the Air Force Meritorious Service Medal and NASA Space Flight Medal.

HOBBY: running, fishing, tourism. Likes to spend his time in the family circle.

WORK EXPERIENCE:
Fossum began service in May 1980. After defending a thesis at the Air Force Institute of Technology in 1981 he was assigned to serve at Johnson Space Center (JSC) where he was engaged in the shuttle flight support.
In 1985 Fossum passed training at the Air Force Test Pilot School, Edwards AFB, California.
Since 1985 he served at Edwards AFB as a flying test engineer in F-16 Test Squadron.
In 1989-1992 he served as the flight test manager in Detachment 3 of the Air Force Flight Test Center. In 1992 he was relegated to the Air Force reserve because of his transfer to work at NASA.

Since January 1993 he worked as an engineer at NASA. His first work was related to making a study of the capabilities to use Russian vehicle Soyuz as the crew rescue aid for the Space Station to be designed. In late 1993 he was assigned as a representative of the Flight Crews Directorate in the ISS designing team.
After that he worked in the Mission Control Directorate, namely he was involved in the Station assembly issues.
In 1996 he was assigned to the Astronaut Office as a Technical Deputy for the shuttle use and mission planning.
In 1997 he served as a test engineer of X-38 Vehicle (a prototype of the ISS crew rescue vehicle) in the Engineering Directorate at the Johnson Center and participated in the flight tests (automatic) at the Dryden Center.

Fossum took part in 12-15 astronaut selections for the astronaut corps. but he was not selected.
In June 1998 he was enlisted in the NASA astronaut corps. within the 17-th selection as a mission specialist. Since August 1998 Fossum passed a course of general space training. Upon completion of his training in August 1999 he was qualified as a mission specialist and assigned to the NASA Astronaut Office. His first assignment was the CAPCOM Branch where he worked as a CAPCOM at MCC and was the chief CAPCOM with the ISS-6 crew. Currently he works in the Space Station Operations Branch as the software development team leader.
On December 12, 2002 he was assigned as a mission specialist to the crew of the shuttle, namely STS-119 the launch of which was scheduled for January 2004. However, after the Columbia orbiter accident the flights were retired.
In May 2003 Fossum passed training for EVA.
On December 2, 2003 he was assigned as mission-1 specialist to the STS-121 crew.

He performed his first space flight at a period of July 4-17, 2006 as a mission specialist of the Discovery Orbiter (STS-121). During the flight he performed three EVAs of the total duration of 21 hr 29 min.
The mission duration was 12 days 18 hours 37 minutes 54 seconds.

On March 24, 2007 it was reported that he was assigned as a mission specialist to the crew of the shuttle the launch of which under the STS-124 program was preliminarily scheduled for February 2008. The flight tasks envisaged the delivery of the pressurized module and Japanese Experimental Module Kibo robotic arm to the ISS.

He performed his second space flight on June 1-14, 2008 as a mission specialist in the crew of the Discovery Orbiter (STS-124). During the flight Fossum performed three EVAs of the total duration of 20 hours 32 minutes. The mission duration was 13 days 18 hours 13 minutes 7 seconds.

In July 2009 it was reported that he was assigned to the ISS-26/27 backup crew and the ISS-28/29 prime crew. On October 7, 2009 his assignment was confirmed by NASA (press-release 09-233).
At a period of January 20 to February 2, 2010 he as the preliminary crewmember together with Ronald Garan and Sergei Volkov participated in a two-day training for survival in uninhabited locality in case of the emergency landing of the descent vehicle. The training passed in the forest near Moscow.
On November 24, 2010 at the Cosmonaut Training Center he together with Anatoliy Ivanishin and Satoshi Furukawa passed the preflight examination training on the simulator of Soyuz TMA vehicle. On November 25, 2010 the crew passed the examination training on the ISS Russian Segment.
On November 26, 2010 by decision of the Interdepartmental Commission he was approved as the backup crew flight engineer of Soyuz TMA-20 vehicle. On December 14, 2010 at the meeting of the State Commission at the Baikonur cosmodrome he was approved as the backup crew flight engineer of Soyuz TMA-20 vehicle.
During the launch of Soyuz TMA-20 TV on December 15, 2010 he was the vehicle flight engineer backup.

May 2011.
Based on the data of site www.astronaut.ru..

English

Фото НИИ ЦПК им. Ю.А.Гагарина

Майкл Эдвард ФОССУМ

Подполковник резерва ВВС США,
астронавт НАСА,
Космический центр им. Линдона Б. Джонсона, США

ДАТА И МЕСТО РОЖДЕНИЯ:
19 декабря 1957 года в городе Сиу Фолс, штат Южная Дакота.

ОБРАЗОВАНИЕ:
В 1976 году окончил среднюю школу в городе Макэллен, штат Техас.
В 1980 году окончил Техасский университет A&M и получил степень бакалавра наук (машиностроение).
В 1981 году в Технологическом институте ВВС получил степень магистра наук (системное проектирование).
В 1997 году в Университете Хьюстона в Клэр Лейк получил степень магистра наук (космофизика).

СЕМЕЙНОЕ ПОЛОЖЕНИЕ:
Жена - Мэлани Дж. Лондон. У них четверо детей.

НАГРАДЫ:
Награжден медалью ВВС "За похвальную службу" и медалью НАСА "За космический полет".

УВЛЕЧЕНИЯ:
Бег, рыбная ловля, туризм. Любит проводить время с семьей.

ОПЫТ РАБОТЫ:
Поступил на воинскую службу в мае 1980 года. После защиты диссертации в Технологическом институте ВВС в 1981 году был направлен на службу в космический центр Джонсона, где занимался обеспечением полетов шаттлов.
Прошел подготовку в Школе летчиков-испытателей ВВС США на базе ВВС Эдвардс в Калифорнии в 1985 году.
С 1985 года служил на базе ВВС Эдвардс в качестве летающего инженера-испытателя в испытательной эскадрильи F-16.
С 1989 по 1992 год служил руководителем летных испытаний в 3-м подразделении Летно-испытательного центра ВВС. В 1992 году перешел в резерв ВВС в связи с переходом на работу в НАСА.

С января 1993 года работал инженером в НАСА. Его первая работа была связана с изучением возможности использования российского корабля "Союз" в качестве средства спасения экипажа проектировавшейся космической станции. В конце 1993 года был назначен представителем Директората летных экипажей в группе проектирования МКС.
После этого работал в Директорате управления полетами, занимаясь вопросами сборки станции.
В 1996 году был назначен в Офис астронавтов в качестве технического заместителя по использованию шаттлов и планированию миссий.
В 1997 году служил инженером-испытателем корабля Х-38 (прототипа корабля спасения экипажа МКС) в Инженерном Директорате в центре Джонсона и участвовал в летных испытаниях (автоматических) в центре Драйдена.

Принимал участие в 12 - 15 наборах в отряд астронавтов, но отобран не был.
В июне 1998 года был зачислен в отряд астронавтов НАСА в составе 17-го набора в качестве специалиста полета. Прошел курс ОКП с августа 1998 года. По окончании ее в августе 1999 года получил квалификацию специалиста полета и назначение в Отдел астронавтов НАСА. Первым назначением стало Отделение связи с экипажем, где он работал оператором связи в ЦУПе и был главным оператором связи с экипажем МКС-6. В настоящее время работает в Отделении управления космической станцией в качестве руководителя группы разработки программного обеспечения.
12 декабря 2002 года был назначен специалистом полета в экипаж шаттла STS-119, старт которого был намечен на январь 2004 года. Однако, после катастрофы шаттла Колумбия полеты были приостановлены.
В мае 2003 года прошел подготовку к ВКД.
2 декабря 2003 года был назначен специалистом полета-1 в экипаж STS-121.

Первый космический полет совершил с 4 по 17 июля 2006 года в качестве специалиста полёта шаттла Дискавери STS-121. В ходе полета осуществил три выхода в открытый космос общей продолжительностью 21 час 29 минут.
Продолжительность полета составила 12 суток 18 часов 37 минут 54 секунды.

24 марта 2007 года было объявлено о его назначении специалистом полёта в экипаж шаттла, полет которого по программе STS-124 был предварительно запланирован на февраль 2008 года. В задачи полёта входила доставка на МКС герметического отсека и робота-манипулятора японского экспериментального модуля Кибо.

Второй космический полет совершил с 1 по 14 июня 2008 года в качестве специалиста полёта в экипаже шаттла Дискавери STS-124. За время полёта выполнил три выхода в открытый космос общей продолжительностью 20 часов 32 минуты.
Продолжительность полета составила 13 суток 18 часов 13 минут 7 секунд.
В июле 2009 года появилась информация о его назначении в дублирующий экипаж МКС-26/27 и в основной экипаж МКС-28/29. 7 октября 2009 года это назначение было подтверждено НАСА (пресс-релиз №09-233).
В период с 20 января по 2 февраля 2010 года в составе условного экипажа вместе с Рональдом Гараном и Сергеем Волковым участвовал в двухсуточных тренировках на умение выжить в безлюдной местности в случае аварийной посадки спускаемого аппарата. Тренировки проходили в подмосковном лесу.
24 ноября 2010 года в Центре подготовки космонавтов вместе с Анатолием Иванишиным и Сатоши Фурукава сдал предполетную экзаменационную тренировку на тренажере корабля "Союза ТМА". 25 ноября 2010 года экипаж сдал экзаменационную тренировку на российском сегменте МКС.
26 ноября 2010 года Межведомственной комиссией утвержден в качестве бортинженера дублирующего экипажа корабля "Союз ТМА-20". 14 декабря 2010 года на заседании Государственной комиссии на космодроме Байконур утвержден в качестве бортинженера дублирующего экипажа корабля "Союз ТМА-20".
Во время старта ТК "Союз ТМА-20" 15 декабря 2010 года был дублером бортинженера корабля.

Май 2011 г.
По материалам сайта www.astronaut.ru.

Экипаж МКС


Шеннон УокерУОКЕР
Шеннон



Олег НовицкийНОВИЦКИЙ
Олег



Петр Дубров Дубров
Петр



Марк Ванде Хай  ВАНДЕ ХАЙ
Марк



Майкл Хопкинс  ХОПКИНС
Майкл



Виктор Гловер ГЛОВЕР
Виктор



Соичи Ногучи  НОГУЧИ
Соичи