Русский

NII TsPK picture

Paolo Angelo NESPOLI

ESA Astronaut, Italy

DATE AND PLACE OF BIRTH:
Born on April 6, 1957 in Milan, Italy.

EDUCATION:
In 1988 Nespoli received a Bachelor of Science in Aerospace Engineering from the Polytechnic University of New York, USA.
In 1989 he received a Master of Science in Aeronautics and Astronautics from the same University. In 1990 Nespoli received a Bachelor of Science in engineering mechanics.

FAMILY STATUS: Married.

HOBBY: Has licenses of a private pilot and a skin-diver.

WORK EXPERIENCE:
In 1977 upon graduation from the Paolo Frisi lyceum in Milan he was drafted by the Italian Army and worked as a parachute instructor at the Scuola Militare di Paracadutismo of Pisa and since 1980 he worked as a Special Forces operator of the 9 Btg d'Assalto "Col Moschin" of Livorno.
In 1982-1984 Nespoli was assigned to the Italian contingent of the Multinational Peacekeeping Force in Beirut, Lebanon. After his return to Italy, he was appointed an officer and continued service.
Having graduated from the University and retied from the army as a major in 1987, he returned to Italy to work as a design engineer for Proel Tecnologie in Florence. Nespoli conducted mechanical analysis and participated in tests of the Electron Gun Assemblies for the Italian Tethered Satellite System TSS.
In 1991, he joined ESA's European Astronaut Center in Cologne, Germany. He took part in support of the astronaut training and in 1995 was sent on a mission to Noordwijk and led a group responsible for preparation of personal computers used on the Mir Space Station.
In 1996 Nespoli was reported to Johnson Space Center (NASA) where he took part in the training preparation for the ISS crews.
In July 1998 the Italian Space Agency (ASI) selected Paolo Nespoli as an astronaut candidate, and on August 1, 1998 he was enlisted in ESA's European Astronaut Corps (the 3-rd selection). In August 1998 he began general space training (GST) at Johnson Space Center and in 2000 he completed a course of general space training and was qualified as a mission specialist. Besides, in July 2001 Nespoli completed training in the Shuttle robotics arm control and in September 2003 - in the extravehicular activity.
On June 19, 2006 he was as signed to STS-120 crew.
Nespoli performed his first space flight from October 23 to November 7, 2007 as the Discovery Orbiter mission specialist under STS-120 program. The main mission task was the delivery of the Italian-built Node Harmony to the International Space Station, relocation of the Р6 Solar Array to its nominal place and also rotation of the Station crew flight engineer-2. The mission duration was 15 days, 2 hours and 23 minutes.
On November 21, 2008 by NASA decision (press release №08-306) he was assigned as a flight engineer in the ISS-24 Expedition backup crew and the ISS-26 Expedition prime crew. On October 7, 2009 his assignment was confirmed by NASA once more (press release №09-233).
On May 25-26, 2010 at the Cosmonaut Training Center Nespoli together with Dmitri Kondratiev and Catherine Coleman passed the preflight examinations with marks "5" and "4.8".
On June 14, 2010 by decision of the State Committee he was approved as flight engineer-1 of the Soyuz TMA-19 backup crew.
At the Soyuz TMA-19 TV launch on June 16, 2010 he was the vehicle flight engineer backup.

December 2010.
Based on data of site www.esa.int and www.astronaut.ru
and Cosmonautics News Journal.

English

Фото НИИ ЦПК им. Ю.А.Гагарина

Паоло Анжело НЕСПОЛИ

Астронавт ЕКА, Италия

ДАТА И МЕСТО РОЖДЕНИЯ: 6 апреля 1957 года в г. Милан, Италия.

ОБРАЗОВАНИЕ: в 1988 году получил степень бакалавра по аэрокосмической технике в Политехническом университете г. Нью-Йорк, США.
В 1989 году в том же университете получил степень магистра по аэронавтике и астронавтике.
В 1990 году в университете г. Флоренция получил степень бакалавра по инженерной механике.

СЕМЕЙНОЕ ПОЛОЖЕНИЕ: женат.

УВЛЕЧЕНИЯ: имеет лицензии частного пилота и аквалангиста.

ОПЫТ РАБОТЫ:
В 1977 году, после окончания лицея Paolo Frisi в Милане, был призван в Армию. Служил инструктором по парашютной подготовке в Военной школе парашютистов в г. Пиза, а с 1980 года - оператором специальных сил 9-го десантного батальона имени полковника Москина в Ливорно.
В 1982-1984 годах проходил службу в составе итальянского контингента Международных миротворческих сил, размещенных в г. Бейрут (Ливан). После возвращения в Италию произведен в офицеры и продолжил службу.
Окончив университет и уволившись из армии в звании майора в 1987 году, он вернулся на родину и стал работать инженером-конструктором в компании Proel Tecnologie во Флоренции. Несполи занимался анализом конструкции и участвовал в испытаниях электронных пушек для итальянского привязного спутника TSS.
В 1991 году поступил на работу в Европейский центр астронавтов (ЕКА) в Кёльне (Германия). Участвовал в обеспечении подготовки астронавтов, а в 1995 году был откомандирован в Ноордвейк и возглавил группу подготовки персональных компьютеров для обеспечения работы на ОК "Мир".
В 1996 году Несполи направили в Космический центр имени Джонсона (NASA), где он участвовал в подготовке тренировок экипажей МКС.
В июле 1998 года Итальянское космическое агентство (ASI) отобрало Паоло Несполи в качестве кандидата в астронавты, и 1 августа 1998 года его зачислили в отряд астронавтов ЕКА (3-й набор). В августе 1998 года он приступил к общекосмической подготовке (ОКП) в Центре Джонсона, а в 2000 году окончил курс ОКП и получил квалификацию специалиста полета. Кроме того, в июле 2001 года Несполи завершил подготовку по управлению манипулятором шаттла, а в сентябре 2003 года - по внекорабельной деятельности.
19 июня 2006 года был назначен в экипаж STS-120.
Первый космический полет совершил с 23 октября по 7 ноября 2007 года в качестве специалиста полета корабля "Дискавери" по программе STS-120. Основной задачей полета являлись доставка на Международную космическую станцию Узлового модуля Harmony, перенос секции P6 на штатное место, а также замена бортинженера-2 экипажа станции. Длительность полета составила 15 сут 2 час 23 мин.
21 ноября 2008 года решением НАСА (пресс-релиз №08-306) был назначен бортинженером в дублирующий экипаж экспедиции МКС-24 и основной экипаж экспедиции МКС-26. 7 октября 2009 года это назначение было вновь подтверждено НАСА (пресс-релиз №09-233).
25 - 26 мая 2010 года в Центре подготовки космонавтов вместе с Дмитрием Кондратьевым и Кэтрин Колман сдал предполетные экзамены с оценкой "5" и "4.8".
14 июня 2010 года Государственной комиссией утвержден в качестве бортинженера-1 дублирующего экипажа корабля "Союз ТМА-19".
Во время старта ТК "Союз ТМА-19" 16 июня 2010 года был дублером бортинженера корабля.

Декабрь 2010 г.
По материалам сайтов www.esa.int, www.astronaut.ru
и журнала "Новости космонавтики"