Русский

NII TsPK picture

Scott Joseph KELLY

US AF Colonel,
NASA Astronaut,
Lyndon B. Johnson Space Center, USA

DATE AND PLACE OF BIRTH:
February 21, 1964 in Orange, New Jersey, USA but considers West Orange, New Jersey to be his home town.

EDUCATION:
In 1987 he received a Bachelor of Science degree in electrical engineering from the State University of New York Maritime College.
In 1996 received a Master of Science degree in aviation systems from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville.

FAMILY STATUS:
Married to Leslie S. Yandell. They have two children.

AWARDS:
Navy Commendation Medal, Navy Achievement Medal, Defense Superior Service Medal, Southwest Asia Service Medal, Defense of Kuwait Medal, National Defense Service Medal and Sea Service Deployment Ribbon.

HOBBY: Running, sport games.

WORK EXPERIENCE:
In May 1987 Kelly began service in the US Navy. In July 1989 upon completion of the flight training at Naval Air Station (NAS) Beeville, Texas, he became a naval aviator.
In 1989 he reported to Fighter Squadron 101 at NAS Oceana, Virginia Beach, Virginia, for initial F-14 Tomcat training.
Upon completion of this training he was assigned to Fighter Squadron 143 based aboard the USS Dwight D. Eisenhower. He took part in overseas deployments to the North Atlantic, Mediterranean Sea, Red Sea and Persian Gulf.
From January 1993 to June 1994 he attended the U.S. Naval Test Pilot School.
Since 1994 he worked as a test pilot at the Strike Aircraft Test Squadron, Naval Air Warfare Center Aircraft Division, Patuxent River, Maryland. He flied the F-14A/B/D, F/A - 18A/B/C/D and KC-130F. Kelly was the first pilot to fly an F-14 with an experimental digital flight control system installed and performed a maneuver with a high angle of attack.
He has logged over 4,000 flight hours in more than 30 different aircraft and has over 250 carrier landings.
On May 1, 1996 he was selected as the NASA astronaut candidate. He passed a two-year course of general space training. Upon completion of this training, he was qualified as the shuttle pilot and assigned to the Astronaut Office Spacecraft Systems/Operations Branch. In 2002 he was transferred to the EVA Branch.
He performed his first space flight on December 19-27, 1999 as the Discovery Shuttle pilot under STS-103 program. The main task was the Hubble Space Telescope repair. The mission duration was 7 days, 23 hours, 10 minutes and 47 seconds.
In 2000 he worked as NASA representative to perform operations onboard the ISS, namely Director of Operations in Russia.
In March 2001 he was assigned as a flight engineer in the backup crew for Expedition-5 to the ISS (ISS-5). He passed training at Yu.A. Gagarin CTC as the Soyuz -TM TSC flight engineer.
On December 12, 2002 Kelly was assigned as the Shuttle Crew Commander under STS-118 program. This flight to the ISS was planned to be performed in November 2003. However, after the Columbia Orbiter accident all flights were halted and many crews were reformed.
He performed his second space flight on August 8-21, 2007 as the Endeavour Shuttle Commander under STS-118 program. The main flight task was to deliver and install S5 truss segment to the International Space Station. The mission duration was 12 days, 17 hours, 55 minutes and 40 seconds.
In July 2008 it was reported that he was assigned to the backup crew for Expedition 23 to the ISS (ISS-23). Concurrently with this statement it was reported that he was assigned to the prime crew for Expedition 25 to the ISS (ISS-25). His assignment was confirmed in the ISS flight plan published by Roscosmos press-service. On November 21, 2008 his assignment was officially confirmed by NASA (press-release № 08-306) when the ISS-20 - ISS-26 crew members were declared.
On April 1, 2009 by the Interdepartmental Committee he was approved as a flight engineer of the backup crew for the Soyuz TMA-18 spacecraft and the ISS prime crews for Expeditions 23/24.
On April 2, 2010 during the launch of the Soyuz TMA-18 TSC he was a backup of the spacecraft flight engineer.

September 2010.
Based on data of Lyndon B. Johnson Space Center, NASA, USA
and site www.astronaut.ru

English

Фото ФГБУ НИИ ЦПК им. Ю.А. Гагарина

Скотт Джозеф КЕЛЛИ

Кэптен ВМС США,
астронавт НАСА,
Космический центр
им. Линдона Б. Джонсона, США

ДАТА И МЕСТО РОЖДЕНИЯ: 21 февраля 1964 года в городе Орандж, штат Нью-Джерси, США. Своим родным городом считает город Вест-Орандж того же штата.

ОБРАЗОВАНИЕ:
В 1987 году получил степень бакалавра по электротехнике в Морском колледже при Университете штата Нью-Йорк.
В 1996 году получил степень магистра наук по авиационным системам в Университете штата Теннесси в Ноксвилле.

СЕМЕЙНОЕ ПОЛОЖЕНИЕ:
Женат на Лесли С. Яндел. У них двое детей.

НАГРАДЫ: медаль ВМС "За заслуги", медаль ВМС "За достижения", медаль Министерства обороны "За отличную службу", медаль "За службу в Юго-Западной Азии", медаль "За оборону Кувейта", памятная медаль "За службу по защите нации" и лента "За участие в операциях ВМС".

УВЛЕЧЕНИЯ: бег, игровые виды спорта.

ОПЫТ РАБОТЫ:
В мае 1987 года поступил на действительную службу в ВМС США. В июле 1989 года после окончания летной подготовки на авиационной базе ВМС Бивилль в Техасе стал морским летчиком.
В 1989 году получил назначение в 101-ю истребительную эскадрилью на авиационную базу ВМС Океания в Вирджиния Бич, штат Вирджиния, где осваивал пилотирование истребителя F-14.
По завершении подготовки получил назначение в 143-ю истребительную эскадрилью, базирующуюся на борту авианосца "Дуайт Эйзенхауэр". Принимал участие в походах в Северную Атлантику, Средиземное море, Красное море и Персидский залив.
С января 1993 по июнь 1994 года проходил подготовку в Школе летчиков-испытателей ВМС США.
С 1994 года служил летчиком-испытателем в Испытательной эскадрилье самолетов ударной авиации Центра боевой авиации ВМС в Пэтьюксент-Ривер, штат Мэриленд. Летал на F-14A/B/D, F/A-18A/B/C/D и KC-130F. Первым испытал истребитель F-14, на котором была установлена экспериментальная цифровая система управления, и выполнил маневр с высоким углом атаки.
Его общий налет составляет более 4000 часов на более чем 30 типах ЛА, выполнил более 250 посадок на палубу авианосца.
1 мая 1996 года отобран в качестве кандидата в астронавты НАСА. Прошел двухлетний курс общекосмической подготовки. По окончании его получил квалификацию пилота шаттла и назначение в Отделение систем космического корабля и операций (Spacecraft Systems/Operations Branch) Отдела астронавтов НАСА. В 2002 году был переведен в Отделение ВКД (EVA Branch).
Первый космический полет совершил с 19 по 27 декабря 1999 года в качестве пилота корабля "Дискавери" по программе STS-103. Основная задача - ремонт космического телескопа "Хаббл". Продолжительность полета составила 7 сут 23 час 10 мин 47 сек.
В 2000 году работал представителем НАСА по операциям на МКС в России.
В марте 2001 года был назначен бортинженером дублирующего экипажа 5-й основной экспедиции на МКС (МКС-5). Прошел подготовку в ЦПК им. Ю.А. Гагарина в качестве бортинженера ТК "Союз-ТМ".
12 декабря 2002 года был назначен командиром экипажа шаттла по программе STS-118, полет которого к МКС был запланирован на ноябрь 2003 года. Однако после катастрофы орбитального корабля "Колумбия" все полеты были приостановлены, а многие экипажи переформированы.
Второй космический полет совершил с 8 по 21 августа 2007 года в качестве командира корабля "Индевор" по программе STS-118. Основной задачей полета являлись доставка и установка на Международной космической станции фермы S5. Длительность полета составила 12 сут 17 час 55 мин 40 сек.
В июле 2008 года появились сообщения о его назначении в дублирующий экипаж 23-й экспедиции на МКС (МКС-23). Одновременно с этим появилось сообщение о его назначении в основной экипаж 25-й экспедиции на МКС (МКС-25). Это назначение было подтверждено в опубликованном пресс-службой Роскосмоса плане полётов на МКС. 21 ноября 2008 года его назначение было официально подтверждено НАСА (пресс-релиз №08-306) при объявлении составов экипажей МКС-20 - МКС-26.
1 апреля 2009 года Межведомственной комиссией утвержден в качестве бортинженера дублирующего экипажа корабля "Союз ТМА-18" и 23/24-й основных экипажей МКС.
Во время старта ТК "Союз ТМА-18" 2 апреля 2010 года был дублером бортинженера корабля.

Сентябрь 2010 г.
По материалам Космического Центра им. Линдона Б. Джонсона, НАСА, США
и сайта www.astronaut.ru.