SIXTEENTH CREW REQUIRED RESOURCES THIRTEENTH RUSSIAN VISITING CREW ANGKASA MSM PROJECT IMAGE

 
homepage
INTERNATIONAL SPACE STATION
EXPEDITION SIXTEEN (ISS-16)
PRIME CREW

russian
   

NASA picture

Daniel Michio TANI

ISS Flight Engineer-2
NASA Astronaut, USA

DATE AND PLACE OF BIRTH: Born February 1, 1961 in Ridley Park, Pennsylvania, but considers Lombard, Illinois, to be his hometown.

EDUCATION: Graduated from Glenbard East High School, Lombard, 1979; received a bachelor of science degree in mechanical engineering from Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1984.
In 1988 he received a master of science degree in mechanical engineering from the same institute.

FAMILY STATUS: Married.
Wife: Jane Egan. They have two children.

ORGANIZATIONS: Member of the Japanese-American Citizen League, the Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association.

AWARDS: Orbital Sciences Corporation Outstanding Technical Achievement Award, 1993, for work with the Shuttle flight directors at MCC-H.

HOBBY: Golf, running, tennis, music, cooking.

WORK EXPERIENCE: In 1984 he went to work at Hughes Aircraft Corporation in El Segundo, California as a design engineer in the Space and Communications group.
In 1988 after Tani received his masterís degree in mechanical engineering, he worked in the experimental psychology department for Bolt Beranek and Newman in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Later that year he moved to Orbital Sciences Corporation in Dulles, Virginia, initially as a senior structures engineer, and then as the mission operations manager for the Transfer Orbit Stage (TOS) when launching the ACTS satellite during the STS-51 mission.
In 1994 he was assigned as the launch operations manager under the Pegasus program and served as lead for the development of documentation for launches of the Pegasus unmanned rocket. He led the team of engineers who worked in the launch and control room.
On May 1, 1996 he was selected as the NASA astronaut candidate and passed a two-year course of general space training. Having completed the training course he was qualified as a mission specialist and assigned to the Astronaut Office Computer Support Branch and then he moved to EVA Branch. During Expedition-2 to the ISS he served as a Crew Support Astronaut.
On January 29, 2001 he was assigned to the Shuttle crew (STS-108) as mission-2 specialist.
Tani performed his first spaceflight on December 5-17, 2001 as a mission specialist aboard Endevour (STS-108). The main flight task was the ISS crew rotation and the cargo delivery to the ISS in the Raffaello Module. During the flight he performed one space walk of 4 hours and 12 minutes. The flight duration was 11 days 19 hours 35 minutes.
In January 2004 Tani was assigned as a researcher of the backup crew for Expedition 11 to the ISS (the ISS-11ń crew) and at the same time he was a researcher of the prime crew for Expedition 13 to the ISS (the ISS-13 crew: Pavel Vinogradov - Daniel Tani - Dmitry Kondratiev).
At the beginning of June 2006 by the joint Roskosmos and NASA decision he was appointed to the ISS-16 prime crew (a launch aboard STS-120, a landing aboard STS-122).
During the second spaceflight which occurred on October 23, 2007 he was mission-5 specialist in the crew aboard Discovery (STS-120) which successfully docked to the ISS on October 25 and Tani continued the spaceflight aboard the ISS as the ISS-16 flight engineer-2.

October 2007.
Based on data of the Cosmonautics News journal and
Lyndon B. Johnson Space Center, NASA, USA.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Official WEB-site of S.P.Korolev RSC Energia
E-mail:mail@rsce.ru

English

Фото НАСА

Дэниел Митио ТАНИ

Астронавт НАСА, США

ДАТА И МЕСТО РОЖДЕНИЯ:
Родился 1 февраля 1961 года в городе Ридли-Парк штата Пенсильвания, США, но считает родным город Ломбард штата Иллинойс.

ОБРАЗОВАНИЕ:
В 1979 году окончил среднюю школу (Glenbard East High School) в городе Ломбард. В 1984 году получил степень бакалавра наук по машиностроению в Массачусеттском технологическом институте.
В 1988 году получил степень магистра наук по машиностроению в том же институте.

СЕМЕЙНОЕ ПОЛОЖЕНИЕ: женат.
Жена - Джейн Эган. У них двое детей.

ЧЛЕНСТВО В ОРГАНИЗАЦИЯХ:
Является членом Лиги американских граждан японского происхождения, научного общества Альфа Дельта Пи, Ассоциации владельцев и пилотов самолетов.

НАГРАДЫ: В 1993 году за работу по взаимодействию с руководителями полета шаттла в ЦУП-Х был удостоен награды "За выдающиеся технические достижения".

УВЛЕЧЕНИЯ: Гольф, бег, теннис, музыка, кулинария.

ОПЫТ РАБОТЫ:
В 1984 году поступил на работу в корпорацию Hughes Aircraft Corp. в г. Эль-Сегундо, штат Калифорния. Работал инженером-конструктором в Группе космических и связных систем.
В 1988 году после получения степени  магистра наук по машиностроению, стал работать в отделении экспериментальной психологии фирмы Bolt Beranek and Newman в горде Кембридж, штата Массачусетт. Позднее в этом же году перешел в компанию Orbital Sciences Corporation в городе Даллес, штат Вирджиния, где сначала занимал должность старшего инженера по конструкциям, а затем – менеджера по управлению полетом разгонного блока при запуске спутника ACTS в ходе полета корабля "Шаттл" STS-51.
В 1994 году был назначен руководителем стартовых операций системы воздушного базирования "Пегас" и руководил разработкой документации по запускам этого носителя. Возглавлял группу инженеров, работавших в зале управления.
1 мая 1996 года отобран в качестве кандидата в астронавты NASA. Прошел двухлетний курс общей космической подготовки. По его окончанию получил квалификацию специалиста полета и назначение в Отделение компьютерного обеспечения Отдела астронавтов НАСА, а затем был переведен в Отделение внекорабельной деятельности. Во время полета 2-й экспедиции на МКС входил в экипаж поддержки.
29 января 2001 года был назначен в экипаж корабля "Шаттл" полета STS-108 в качестве специалиста полета-2.
Первый полет совершил с 5 по 17 декабря 2001 года в качестве специалиста полета шаттла Endeavour STS-108. Основная задача полета - замена экипажа МКС и доставка на нее грузов в модуле "Рафаэлло". Во время полета совершил один выход в открытый космос продолжительностью 4 часа 12 минут. Длительность полета составила 11 сут 19 час 35 мин.
В январе 2004 года был назначен научным сотрудником дублирующего экипажа 11-ой экспедиции на МКС (экипаж МКС-11Д) и одновременно научным сотрудником основного экипажа 13-й экспедиции на МКС (экипаж МКС-13: Павел Виноградов - Дэниел Тани - Дмитрий Кондратьев).
В начале июня 2006 года совместным решением Роскосмоса и NASA был включен в состав основного экипажа МКС-16 (старт на STS-120, посадка на STS-122).
Второй полет начал 23 октября 2007 года в качестве специалиста полёта-5 в экипаже шаттла "Дискавери" STS-120, который 25 октября успешно пристыковался к МКС, где Тани продолжил полет в качестве второго бортинженера экипажа МКС-16.

Октябрь 2007 г.
По материалам журнала "Новости космонавтики" и
Космического Центра им. Линдона Б. Джонсона, НАСА, США.

Экипаж МКС


ХОШИДЕ АкихикоХОШИДЕ
Акихико



Олег НовицкийНОВИЦКИЙ
Олег



Петр Дубров Дубров
Петр



Марк Ванде Хай  ВАНДЕ ХАЙ
Марк



КИМБРОУ Роберт Шейн  КИМБРОУ
Роберт Шейн



Меган МАКАРТУР МАКАРТУР
Меган



Тома  ПЕСКЕПЕСКЕ
Тома