TWELFTH CREW REQUIRED RESOURCES NINTH RUSSIAN VISITING CREW IMAGE VIDEO

 
homepage
INTERNATIONAL SPACE STATION
EXPEDITION TWELVE (ISS-12)
BACKUP CREW

russian
   

RGNIITsPK picture

Jeffrey Nels WILLIAMS

ISS Commander,
Soyuz TMA TSC Flight Engineer,
Colonel, USA,
NASA Astronaut, Lyndon B. Johnson Space Center, USA

DATE AND PLACE OF BIRTH:
Born, January 18, 1958 in Superior, Wisconsin, USA, but considers Winter, Wisconsin, to be his hometown where be graduated from High School in 1976.

EDUCATION:
In May 1980 he graduated from U.S. Military Academy and received a bachelor of science degree in applied science and engineering and a rank of a second lientenant. In 1987 he graduated from the U.S. Naval Postgraduate School and received a Master of science degree in aeronautical engineering and the degree of aeronautical engineer. In 1995-1996 he was educated by exchange at the U.S. Naval War College, Command and Staff course and received a Master of arts degree in National security and strategic studies.

FAMILY STATUS: Married to Anna-Marie Moore and has two children.

ORGANIZATIONS:
Association of the U.S. Army,
Society of Experimental Test Pilots,
American Helicopter Society,
Army Aviation Association of America,
Order of Daedalians.

AWARDS AND RANKS:
Two Meritorious Service Medals, the Army Commendation Medal, NASA Space Flight Medal (2000) and other service awards.

HOBBY:
Enjoys running, fishing, camping, skiing, scuba diving and wood-working. As a cadet at the U.S. Military Academy competed in the sport parachute team and held ratings of sport parachute jumpmaster and instructor.

WORK EXPERIENCE:
In September 1981 be was designated an Army aviator. He then completed a three-year assignment in Germany where be served as an Aeroscout Platoon Leader and Operations Officer in the 3rd Armored Division’s aviation battalion. Upon graduation from the Postgraduate School in 1987 he was sent to Johnson Space Center, where he served for over 4 years. He served as a Shuttle launch and landing operations engineer, a pilot in the Shuttle Avionics Integration Laboratory (SAIL) and chief of the Operations Development Office, Flight Crew Operations Directorate.
In 1992-1993 he studied at the Naval Test Pilot School and was the best among those who graduated from this School (103rd graduation). Since June 1993, he served as an experimental test pilot and then Flight Test Division Chief in the Army’s Airworthiness Qualification Test Directorate at Edwards Air Force Base, California. He has logged over 2200 hours in more than 50 different aircraft.
In May 1996 be was selected for the NASA astronaut detachment (16-th selection). In August 1996 Williams again returned to Johnson Space Center and passed a two-year course of general space training, which be finished in 1998 as a mission specialist. After this he was appointed to the Spacecraft Systems Division and then – to the ISS Operations Division.
On November 16, 1998 he was selected for STS-101 crew.
From May 19-29, 2000 he performed the First Space Flight as the Atlantis mission specialist under STS-101 Program. The main flight task was operations onboard the International Space Station. In flight he performed one EVA of the duration of 6 hours, 44 minutes. The flight duration was 9 days, 20 hours, 9 minutes, 8 seconds.
He is currently training for a space flight as ISS-12 backup crew commander.

September 2005
Based on data of Lyndon B. Johnson Space Center, NASA, USA.

 

 

 

 

 

Official WEB-site of S.P.Korolev RSC Energia
E-mail:mail@rsce.ru

English

Фото РГНИИЦПК им. Ю.А.Гагарина

Джеффри Нелс УИЛЛЬЯМС

Полковник ВВС США,
астронавт НАСА,
Космический центр им. Линдона Б. Джонсона, США

ДАТА И МЕСТО РОЖДЕНИЯ:
18 января 1958 года в городе Сьюпериор, штат Висконсин, США, но считает своим родным городом Винтер этого же штата, где он в 1976 году закончил среднюю школу.

ОБРАЗОВАНИЕ:
В мае 1980 года окончил Военную академию США со степенью бакалавра по прикладным наукам и технике и получил звание второго лейтенанта. В 1987 году закончил аспирантуру ВМС США со степенью магистра наук по авиационной технике и авиаинженера. В 1995-1996 годах обучался по обмену в Военно-морском колледже на командно-штабном факультете и получил степень магистра искусств по национальной безопасности и стратегическим исследованиям.

СЕМЕЙНОЕ ПОЛОЖЕНИЕ: женат на Анне-Мари Мур, имеет двоих детей.

ЧЛЕНСТВО В ОРГАНИЗАЦИЯХ:
Ассоциация Армии США;
Общество летчиков-испытателей экспериментальных летательных аппаратов;
Американское вертолетное общество;
Ассоциация армейской авиации США;
Орден Дедалианцев.

НАГРАДЫ:
Две медали «За особые заслуги», Благодарственная медаль Армии США, медаль НАСА "За космический полет" (2000) и другие государственные награды.

УВЛЕЧЕНИЯ:
Бег, рыбалка, походы, катание на лыжах, подводное плавание и столярные работы. Будучи кадетом Военной академии США, входил в спортивную парашютную команду академии и имел квалификацию мастера и инструктора по парашютным прыжкам.

ОПЫТ РАБОТЫ:
В сентябре 1981 года стал летчиком ВВС США. После этого в течение трех лет служил в Западной Германии в качестве ведущего взвода авиаразведчиков и оперативного офицера авиабатальона 3-й бронедивизии. По окончании аспирантуры в 1987 году был направлен в Космический центр имени Джонсона, где прослужил более четырех лет. Он был инженером по старту и посадке шаттла, пилотом тренажера в Лаборатории интеграции авионики шаттла (SAIL) и начальником отдела разработки операций Директората операций летных экипажей.
В 1992-1993 годах учился в Школе летчиков-испытателей ВМС США и был лучшим в ее 103-м выпуске. С июня 1993 года служил летчиком-испытателем, а затем руководителем Отделения летных испытаний армейского Директората испытаний на пригодность к полету на авиабазе Эдвардc в Калифорнии. Имеет налет свыше 2200 часов на более чем 50 различных типах самолетов.
В мае 1996 года отобран в отряд астронавтов NASA (16-й набор). В августе 1996 года он вернулся в Космический центр имени Джонсона и приступил к двухгодичному курсу общекосмической подготовки, который окончил в 1998 году в качестве специалиста полета. После этого он получил назначение в Отделение систем космических кораблей, а затем – в Отделение операций МКС.
16 ноября 1998 года был назначен в экипаж STS-101.
Первый космический полет совершил с 19 по 29 мая 2000 года в качестве специалиста полета корабля “Atlantis” по программе STS-101. Основной задачей полета являлись работы на борту Международной космической станции. В ходе полета совершил выход в открытый космос продолжительностью 6 часов 44 минуты. Длительность полета составила 9 сут 20 час 9 мин 8 сек.
Прошел подготовку к космическому полету в составе дублирующего экипажа МКС-12 в качестве командира.

Сентябрь 2005 г.
По материалам Космического Центра им. Линдона Б. Джонсона, НАСА, США.

Экипаж МКС


ХОШИДЕ АкихикоХОШИДЕ
Акихико



Олег НовицкийНОВИЦКИЙ
Олег



Петр Дубров Дубров
Петр



Марк Ванде Хай  ВАНДЕ ХАЙ
Марк



КИМБРОУ Роберт Шейн  КИМБРОУ
Роберт Шейн



Меган МАКАРТУР МАКАРТУР
Меган



Тома  ПЕСКЕПЕСКЕ
Тома