ELEVENTH CREW REQUIRED RESOURCES EIGHTH RUSSIAN VISITING CREW ENEIDE ISM PROJECT IMAGE VIDEO

 
homepage
INTERNATIONAL SPACE STATION
EXPEDITION ELEVEN (ISS-11)
EIGHTH RUSSIAN VISITING CREW
PRIME CREW

russian
   

RGNIITsPK picture

Roberto VITTORI

Flight Engineer of Soyuz TMA
Lieutenant Colonel in the Italian Air Force,
ESA astronaut, Italy

DATE AND PLACE OF BIRTH: October 15, 1964, Viterbo, Italy.

EDUCATION: Graduated from the Italian Air Force Academy in 1989. Completed basic training with the US Air Force at Reese Air Force Base in Texas, US, in 1990. Graduated from the US Navy Test Pilot School in 1996. Completed the Italian Air Force's Accident Prevention course (Guidonia A.F.B., Italy) and Accident Investigation course (Kirtland A.F.B., New Mexico, US) between 1996 and 1997.

FAMILY STATUS: married to Valeria Vittori, born Nardi, has three children.

AWARDS AND RANKS: Academic award for completion of training at Reese Air Base, Texas. Honorary student of the Test Pilot School in Patuxent River, Maryland. Honorary student of the US Flight Safety School, Kirtland Air Force Base, New Mexico. Long Service medal from Italian Air Force (1997).

HOBBIES: soccer, jogging, swimming, reading.

WORK EXPERIENCE: From 1991 to 1994 he flew Tornado GR-1 aircraft as a member of squadron 155, regiment 50, Piacenza, Italy. During that period he completed training on in-flight refueling both during daytime and at night and was assigned to be a formation leader.
In 1995 he completed his training in US Air Force test pilot school. Then, till 1998, he served in the Italian Test Center as a pilot involved in the development of a new European airplane Euro fighter 2000. From 1996 to 1998 he was a national representative in the research and development program for air-to-air missiles.
In 1997 he enrolled in US Air Force flight safety school and during the period of 1997 to 1998 he served as a regimental flight safety officer at the Italian Flight Center. In addition to this, he taught aerodynamics within the framework of the Italian Air Force course on Accident Investigation.
He has logged more than 2000 hours in different aircraft, including F-104, GR-1 Tornado, F-18, AMX, M-2000, G-222 and P-180.
In July 1998 he was selected as an astronaut by the Italian Space Agency (ASI) in cooperation with ESA, and one month later he joined the European Astronaut Corps.
In August 1998 he was relocated to NASA's Johnson Space Center in Houston, Texas for participation in a training program for Shuttle and ISS missions, where he was trained as a mission specialist.
In March 2001 he was qualified as operator of Shuttle manipulator and in June same year he was also qualified as operator of the ISS-installed Canadarm manipulator in Canada.
In August 2001 he arrived at the Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center to start his training as Flight Engineer of the Soyuz TM-34 Prime Crew under the third Russian Visiting Crew ISS Program.
From April 25 through May 5, 2002 he performed his first space flight as the spacecraft Flight Engineer together with Russian cosmonaut Yuri Gudzenko as the spacecraft Commander and Mark Shuttleworth from the Republic of South Africa as the space flight participant. The crew was launched onboard the Soyuz TM-34 spacecraft and returned to Earch by the Descent Module of the Soyuz TM-33 spacecraft. The main goal of that mission was the scheduled change of the Soyuz-TM rescue vehicle. During his stay aboard the ISS he had conducted scientific experiments and investigations under the European Program ‘Marko Polo’. The flight duration was 9 days 21 hours 25 minutes and 18 seconds.
In August 2004 he began his training for the next space flight as Flight Engineer of the Soyuz TMA-6 transport spacecraft Prime Crew under the eighth Russian Visiting Crew ISS Program at the CTC after Yu.A. Gagarin.

March 2005.
Based on materials from Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center

 

 

 

 

 

Official WEB-site of S.P.Korolev RSC Energia
E-mail:mail@rsce.ru

English

Фото РГНИИЦПК им. Ю.А.Гагарина

ВИТТОРИ Роберто

Подполковник ВВС Италии,
астронавт ЕКА, Италия

ДАТА И МЕСТО РОЖДЕНИЯ: 15 октября 1964 года в г. Витербо, Италия.

ОБРАЗОВАНИЕ: в 1989 году окончил Итальянскую Академию ВВС. В 1990 году прошел курс летной подготовки на базе Риса ВВС США, Техас. В 1996 году окончил школу летчиков-испытателей ВМС США. В период с 1996 г. по 1997 г. прошел курс по предупреждению катастроф Итальянских ВВС (авиабаза Гвидония, Италия) и курс исследования причин катастроф (авиабаза Кертленд, Нью-Мексико, США).

СЕМЕЙНОЕ ПОЛОЖЕНИЕ: женат на Валерии Виттори, урожденной Нарди. Имеет троих детей.

НАГРАДЫ И ЗВАНИЯ: академическая награда по завершению летной подготовки на авиабазе Риса, Техас. Почетный слушатель школы летчиков-испытателей, Патуксент-Ривер, Мэриленд. Почетный слушатель школы безопасности полетов США, авиабаза Кертленд, Нью-Мексико. Медаль Итальянских ВВС за долгую службу (1997 г.).

УВЛЕЧЕНИЯ: футбол, бег трусцой, плавание, чтение.

ОПЫТ РАБОТЫ: с 1991 по 1994 г.г. летал на самолетах GR-1 "Торнадо" в составе 155 эскадрильи 50 полка, Пьяцента, Италия. В этот период прошел подготовку по дозаправке в воздухе в дневное и ночное время и получил назначение ведущего боевого порядка.
В 1995 году прошел курс подготовки в школе летчиков-испытателей ВМС США. Затем до 1998 года служил в Итальянском испытательном центре в качестве летчика, занятого в программе разработки нового европейского самолета "Еврофайтер 2000". С 1996 по 1998 год был национальным представителем в программе разработки и исследования ракет класса "воздух-воздух".
В 1997 году поступил в школу безопасности полетов ВВС США и в период с 1997 по 1998 год занимал должность офицера по безопасности полетов полка при Итальянском испытательном центре. Кроме того, преподавал аэродинамику в рамках курса исследования катастроф ВВС Италии.
Налетал свыше 2000 часов на самолетах разного типа, среди них: F-104, "Торнадо" GR-1, F-18, АМХ, М-2000, G-222 и Р-180.
В июле 1998 года был отобран Итальянским космическим агентством совместно с Европейским космическим агентством в качестве астронавта и через месяц был включен в состав отряда европейских астронавтов.
В августе 1998 года был переведен в Космический Центр имени Л. Джонсона в Хьюстоне, штат Техас, для участия в программе подготовки к полетам на МТКК "Шаттл" и МКС, где прошел подготовку в качестве специалиста полета.
В марте 2001 года получил квалификацию оператора манипулятора шаттла, а в июне этого же года в Канаде – квалификацию оператора канадского манипулятора Canadarm, установленного на МКС.
В августе 2001 года прибыл в Центр подготовки космонавтов имени Ю.А. Гагарина и приступил к подготовке к космическому полету в качестве бортинженера основного экипажа транспортного корабля "Союз ТМ-34" по программе третьей российской экспедиции посещения МКС.
Первый космический полет совершил с 25 апреля по 5 мая 2002 года в качестве бортинженера космического корабля совместно с командиром корабля российским космонавтом Юрием Гидзенко и участником космического полета гражданином ЮАР Марком Шаттлвортом. Экипаж стартовал в космическом корабле "Союз ТМ-34", вернулся на Землю в спускаемом аппарате космического корабля "Союз ТМ-33". Целью полета являлась плановая замена корабля-спасателя "Союз ТМ". Во время полета на борту МКС выполнил научные эксперименты и исследования по европейской программе «Марко Поло». Длительность полета составила 9 сут 21 ч 25 мин 18 сек.
В августе 2004 года в ЦПК им. Ю.А. Гагарина приступил к подготовке к новому космическому полету в качестве бортинженера основного экипажа транспортного корабля "Союз ТМА-6" по программе восьмой российской экспедиции посещения МКС.

Март 2005 г.
По материалам РГНИИЦПК им. Ю.А.Гагарина