ELEVENTH CREW REQUIRED RESOURCES EIGHTH RUSSIAN VISITING CREW ENEIDE ISM PROJECT IMAGE VIDEO

 
homepage
INTERNATIONAL SPACE STATION
EXPEDITION ELEVEN (ISS-11)
PRIME CREW

russian
   

NASA Photo

John Lynch PHILLIPS (Ph.D.)

ISS Flight Engineer
Soyuz TMA TS Flight Engineer
NASA Astronaut, USA

DATE AND PLACE OF BIRTH: Born April 15, 1951 in Fort Belvoir, Virginia, but considers Scottsdale, Arizona, to be his hometown.

EDUCATION:
Graduated from Scottsdale High School, Arizona, in 1966. He was the second of 906 graduators who graduated from the U.S. Naval Academy in 1972 and received a bachelor of science degree in mathematics and Russian. In 1974 he received a master of science degree in aeronautical systems from the University of West Florida and a master of science degree and a doctorate in geophysics and space physics from the University of California, Los Angeles, in 1984 and 1987 respectively.

FAMILY STATUS: Married to the former Laura Jean Doell. They have two children.

HONORS: Within the scientific body he received 2 NASA Group Achievement Awards for contributions to the Ulysses Spacecraft Mission and also the Los Alamos National Laboratory Distinguished Performance Award in 1996.
Awarded the NASA Space Flight Medal and various military awards.

HOBBY: Skiing, kayaking, hiking, fitness activities and family recreation.

WORK EXPERIENCE:
In 1972 Phillips began service in the U.S. Naval Forces and in November 1974 he was designated a Naval Aviator. He trained in the A-7 Corsair Aircraft at the Naval Air Station Lemoore, California. Then he served in Attack Squadron 155 and made combat deployments aboard the USS Oriskany and USS Roosevelt. After this be was engaged in navy recruiting in Albany, New York, and flied the CT-39 Sabreliner Aircraft at Naval Air Station North Island, California.
He has logged over 4300 flight hours and performed 250 carrier landings. From 1982 to 2002 he served as a Navy reservist, as an A-7 pilot and in various non-flying assignments.
He retired in 2002 with the rank of Captain, USNR.
After leaving the Navy in 1982, Phillips enrolled as a graduate student at the University of California, Los Angeles, where he was engaged in data processing which was obtained by the NASA Pioneer Venus Spacecraft. Upon completing his doctorate in 1987, he was awarded a J. Robert Oppenheimer Postdoctoral Fellowship at Los Alamos National Laboratory in New Mexico and in 1989 he accepted a career position at Los Alamos. While there, Phillips performed research on the Sun and the space environment. From 1993 through 1996 be was Principal Investigator for the Solar Wind Plasma Experiment aboard the Ulysses Spacecraft passed over the poles of the Sun.
John Phillips has anthored 156 scientific papers dealing with the plasma environment of the Sun, Earth, other planets and comets and spacecraft as well.
In April 1996 he was selected as an astronaut candidate by NASA. In 1998 he completed astronaut candidate training at the Johnson Space Center and was qualified as a mission specialist. After this be worked at the NASA Astronaut Office and was involved with systems engineering. Phillips was CAPCOM for the International Space Station.
On September 28, 2000 he was assigned to STS-100 crew.
From April 19 to May 1, 2001 he performed his first space flight as a mission specialist of STS-100 Endeavour with Multi-Purpose Logistics Module Raffaello. The main flight task was to deliver new equipment and cargoes to the International Space Station for Expedition-2 and also to deliver and install the Canadarm-2 Robotic Arm (SSRMS) at the external surface of the Station.
The flight duration was 11 days, 21 hours, 50 minutes and 00 sec.
Phillips is currently training for ISS Expedition-11 as ISS flight engineer and scientific specialist.

January 2005.
Based on Lyndon B. Johnson Space Center data, NASA, USA.

 

 

 

 

 

Official WEB-site of S.P.Korolev RSC Energia
E-mail:mail@rsce.ru

English

Фото NASA

Доктор Джон Линч ФИЛЛИПС

Астронавт НАСА, США

ДАТА И МЕСТО РОЖДЕНИЯ: 15 апреля 1951 года в городе Форт-Белвуар, штат Вирджиния, США, но считает своим родным городом Скотт-сдейл, штат Аризона.

ОБРАЗОВАНИЕ: в 1966 году закончил среднюю школу в городе Скотт-сдейл, штат Аризона. В 1972 году окончил Военно-морскую академию США вторым из 906 выпускников и получил степень бакалавра наук по математике и русскому языку. В 1974 году в Университете Западной Флориды защитил степень магистра наук по авиационным системам, а в Университете Калифорнии в Лос-Анджелесе стал магистром наук и доктором по геофизике и космической физике, соответственно в 1984 и 1987 годах.

СЕМЕЙНОЕ ПОЛОЖЕНИЕ: женат на урожденной Лауре Джин Доуэлл. Имеет двоих детей.

НАГРАДЫ: в составе научного коллектива был удостоен двух наград NASA за вклад в проект автоматической межпланетной станции (AMC) Ulysses, а также Лос-Аламосской лаборатории за выдающиеся достижения в 1996 году. Удостоен медали НАСА "За космический полет" (2001) и ряда военных наград.

УВЛЕЧЕНИЯ: катание на лыжах, плаванье на каяке, туризм, фитнесс, отдых с семьей.

ОПЫТ РАБОТЫ:
В 1972 году поступил на службу в ВМС США и в ноябре 1974 года стал военно-морским летчиком. На аэродроме ВМС Лемур (штат Калифорния) освоил пилотирование самолета A-7 Corsair. После этого служил в 155-й штурмовой эскадрилье и участвовал в боевых походах на борту авианосцев Oriskany и Roosevelt. Затем занимался набором новобранцев в городе Олбани (штат Нью-Йорк) и летал на самолетах CT-39 Sabreliner на аэродроме ВМС Норт-Айлэнд в Калифорнии.
Имеет общий налет более 4300 часов, он также выполнил 250 палубных посадок. С 1982 по 2002 годы проходил службу в резерве ВМС США в качестве пилота самолета A-7 и на других должностях не связанных с летной работой. Вышел в отставку в 2002 году в звании кэптена (капитана 1-го ранга) резерва ВМС США.
В 1982 году уволившись с действительной военной службы продолжил обучение в Университете Калифорнии в Лос-Анджелесе, где занимался обработкой данных полученных автоматической межпланетной станцией (AMC) Pioneer Venus. После получения докторской степени в 1987 году стал опенгеймеровским стипендиатом в Лос-Аламосской национальной лаборатории в Нью-Мексико, а в 1989 году – ее постоянным сотрудником. В Лос-Аламосе Филлипс занимался исследованиями Солнца и космической среды. В 1993-1996 годах являлся научным руководителем эксперимента по солнечному ветру и плазме на борту AMC Ulysses прошедшей над полюсами Солнца.
Джон Филлипс является автором 156 научны публикаций в области плазменной среды окружающей Солнце, Землю и другие планеты, а также кометы и космические аппараты.
В апреле 1996 года был отобран кандидатом в астронавты НАСА. В 1998 году окончил курс общекосмической подготовки в Космическом центре им. Джонсона и получил квалификацию специалиста полета. После этого работал в отделе астронавтов NASA, занимаясь вопросами системотехники и являясь оператором связи с МКС.
28 сентября 2000 года был назначен в экипаж STS-100.
Первый космический полет совершил с 19 апреля по 1 мая 2001 года в качестве специалиста полета корабля "Индевор" (STS-100) с грузовым модулем Raffaello. Основной задачей полета являлась доставка на Международную космическую станцию нового оборудования и грузов для экипажа 2-ой основной экспедиции (МКС-2), а также доставка и установка на внешней поверхности станции канадского дистанционного манипулятора SSRMS. Продолжительность полета составила 11 сут 21 час 50 мин 00 сек.
В настоящее время готовится к космическому полету в составе основного экипажа МКС-11 в качестве бортинженера и научного специалиста МКС.

Январь 2005 г.
По материалам Космического Центра им. Линдона Б. Джонсона, НАСА, США.