TENTH CREW REQUIRED RESOURCES SEVENTH RUSSIAN VISITING CREW IMAGE VIDEO

 
homepage
INTERNATIONAL SPACE STATION
EXPEDITION TEN (ISS-10)
PRIME CREW

russian
   

RGNIITsPK picture

Leroy CHIAO

ISS Commander,
Soyuz TMA TSC Flight Engineer,
NASA Astronaut, USA

DATE AND PLACE OF BIRTH: August 28, 1960, Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA, but considers Danville, California, to be his hometown.

EDUCATION: Graduated from Monte Vista High School, Danville, California, in 1978; received a bachelor of science degree in chemical engineering from the University of California, Berkeley, in 1983, and a master of science degree and a doctorate in chemical engineering from the University of California, Santa Barbara, in 1985 and 1987, respectively.

FAMILY STATUS: Single.

AWARDS: Space Flight Medals, NASA (1994, 1996, 2000).

HOBBY: He is an amateur pilot, has a license to be an instrument-rated pilot and logged over 2000 flight hours in a variety of aircraft. He enjoys basketball and skiing.

WORK EXPERIENCE:
From 1987 to 1989 Dr. Chiao worked for the Hexcel Corporation in Dublin, California; he was involved in the development and engineering research on the advanced aerospace materials.
In January 1989 he joined the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory in Livermore, California, where he was engaged in the research on the development of composite materials.
In January 1990 he was selected by NASA as an astronaut candidate.
In July 1991 he passed a course of general space training and was qualified as a mission specialist.
He was engaged in the Space Shuttle flight software verification in the Shuttle Avionics Integration Laboratory (SAIL), worked as Chief of the Astronaut Office EVA Branch. He is a veteran of three space flights and has logged a total of 36 days, 13 hours, 39 minutes in space, including four space walks of the total duration of 1 day, 2 hours, 18 minutes.
On July 8-23, 1994 he performed his first flight as a mission specialist of the Columbia Shuttle (STS-65) with the second International Microgravity Laboratory (IML-2) onboard. The flight duration was 14 days, 17 hours, 55 minutes, it set a new flight record for the Space Shuttle program at that time. The biomedical and life sciences research in microgravity was the main flight task.
On January 11-20, 1996 he performed the second flight as a mission specialist of the Endeavour Shuttle (STS-72). During this mission the crew retrieved the Japanese Space Flyer Unit launched 10 months earlier by the Japanese launch vehicle H-2, and also deployed and in two days of the autonomous flight retrieved the OAST-Flyer with the scientific equipment. In this flight Dr. Chiao performed two space walks of the total duration of 13 hours, 2 minutes. During these space walks the following was evaluated: tools, hardware and also techniques to be used in the assembly of the International Space Station. The flight duration was 8 days, 22 hours, 1 minute.
On October 11-24, 2000 he performed the third flight as a mission specialist onboard the Discovery Shuttle (STS-92). The main flight task was to deliver and assemble the Z1 Truss and Pressurized Mating Adapter PMA-3 on the International Space Station. In this flight he performed two space walks of the total duration of 13 hours, 16 minutes. The Discovery crew prepared the ISS for arrival of the first long-duration expedition. The flight duration was 12 days, 21 hours, 43 minutes.
He passed training within the ISS-9 Backup Crew as the ISS science specialist and flight engineer.
Presently he is training for a space flight within the ISS-10 Prime Crew as the ISS commander.

September 2004
Based on the data of Lindon B. Johnson Space Center, NASA, USA.

 

 

 

 

 

Official WEB-site of S.P.Korolev RSC Energia
E-mail:mail@rsce.ru

English

Фото РГНИИ ЦПК им. Ю.А.Гагарина

Лерой ЧИАО

Астронавт НАСА, США

ДАТА И МЕСТО РОЖДЕНИЯ: 28 августа 1960 года в городе Милуоки, штат Висконсин, США, но считает своим родным городом Данвилл, штат Калифорния.

ОБРАЗОВАНИЕ:
в 1978 году закончил среднюю школу Монте Виста в городе Данвилл, штат Калифорния. Получил степень бакалавра наук в области химического машиностроения в Калифорнийском университете, Беркли, в 1983 году и степень магистра наук, а затем и докторскую степень в области химического машиностроения в Калифорнийском университете, Санта Барбара, соответственно в 1985 и 1987 годах.

СЕМЕЙНОЕ ПОЛОЖЕНИЕ: холост.

НАГРАДЫ: медали НАСА "За космический полет" (1994, 1996, 2000).

УВЛЕЧЕНИЯ: является летчиком-любителем, имеет лицензию на полеты по приборам и свыше 2000 часов налета на различных самолетах. Увлекается баскетболом и катанием на лыжах.

ОПЫТ РАБОТЫ:
С 1987 по 1989 год работал в Корпорацию Hexcel в Дублине, штат Калифорния, где занимался разработкой и исследованиями перспективных авиационно-космических материалов.
В январе 1989 года поступил в Ливерморскую национальную лабораторию имени Лоренса в Ливерморе, штат Калифорния, где занимался исследовательскими работами по созданию композитных материалов.
В январе 1990 года был отобран кандидатом в астронавты НАСА.
В июле 1991 года окончил курс общекосмической подготовки и получил квалификацию специалиста полета.
Занимался проверкой летного программного обеспечения космических кораблей "Спейс Шаттл" в Лаборатории интеграции авионики шаттлов (SAIL), работал руководителем отдела внекорабельной деятельности управления астронавтов.
Является ветераном трех космических полетов и провел в космосе в общей сложности 36 сут 13 час 39 мин, включая четыре выхода в открытый космос общей продолжительностью 1 сут 2 час 18 мин.
Первый полет - с 8 по 23 июля 1994 года в качестве специалиста полета корабля "Колумбия" (STS-65) со второй Международной лабораторией микрогравитации (ILM-2) на борту. Продолжительность полета составила 14 сут 17 час 55 мин и являлась для того времени рекордной для полетов по программе "Спейс Шаттл". Основной задачей полета являлось проведение медико-биологических и материаловедческих исследований в условиях микрогравитации.
Второй полет - с 11 по 20 января 1996 года в качестве специалиста полета корабля "Индевор" (STS-72). Во время полета осуществлен возврат на Землю японского космического аппарата (Space Flyer Unit), десятью месяцами ранее выведенного на орбиту японской ракетой-носителем H-2, а также развернул, а через два дня автономного полета осуществил возврат летательного аппарата OAST (OAST-Flyer) с научным оборудованием. В ходе полета совершил два выхода в открытый космос общей продолжительностью 13 час 2 мин, во время которых были апробированы инструменты, средства, а также методы, которые впоследствии были использованы при сборке Международной космической станции. Длительность полета составила 8 сут 22 час 1 мин.
Третий полет - с 11 по 24 октября 2000 года в качестве специалиста полета на борту корабля "Дискавери" (STS-92). Основной задачей полета являлась доставка и монтаж на Международной космической станции сегмента Z1 основной фермы и гермоадаптера PMA-3. В ходе полета совершил два выхода в открытый космос общей продолжительностью 13 час 16 мин. Экипаж "Дискавери" подготовил МКС к прибытию экипажа первой длительной экспедиции. Длительность полета: 12 сут 21 час 43 мин.
Прошел подготовку в составе дублирующего экипажа МКС-9 в качестве научного специалиста и бортинженера МКС.
В настоящее время готовится к космическому полету в составе основного экипажа МКС-10 в качестве командира МКС.

Сентябрь 2004 г.
По материалам Космического Центра им. Линдона Б. Джонсона, НАСА, США.