RGNIITsPK picture

Edward Tsang LU

NASA Astronaut, USA

DATE AND PLACE OF BIRTH: Born July 1, 1963, in Springfield, Massachusetts, USA. Considers Honolulu, Hawaii and Webster, New York, to be his hometowns.
His parents, Charlie and Snowlily Lu, reside in Fremont, California.

EDUCATION: Graduated from R.L. Thomas High School, Webster, New York, in 1980. Bachelor of science degree in electrical engineering from Cornell University, 1984. Doctorate in applied physics from Stanford University, 1989.

FAMILY STATUS: Unmarried.

HONOURS: NASA Medals for Space Mission (1997, 2000)

HOBBY: Air acrobatics, playing the piano, tennis, surfing, skiing, travelling; he is a coach in wrestling.

WORK EXPERIENCE:
From 1989 until 1992 he was engaged in scientific research in the field of solar physics and astrophysics at the Observatory in Boulder, Colorado, in this case in 1992 he worked concurrently at the Integrated Institute for Laboratory Astrophysics at the University of Colorado.
In 1992 - 1995 he continued his education at the Institute for Astronomy in Honolulu, Hawaii. Participated in a number of theoretical elaborations in the field of basic physics research of solar flares.
Selected by NASA as a candidate for astronauts in December 1994, arrived at the Johnson Space Center in March 1995, where he passed a one-year course of training and was qualified as a mission specialist.
He performed the first space mission on May 15-24, 1997 as a mission specialist of Atlantis (STS-84). The main mission objective was to dock and work onboard the Russian Space Station Mir. The mission duration was 9 days 5 hr 19 min 56 s.
He performed the second space mission from September 8-20, 2000 as a mission specialist of Atlantis (STS-106). The main mission objective was to deliver cargoes onboard the International Space Station and prepare it for the arrival of the first permanent crew. During the mission he performed a space walk lasting 6 hr 14 min. The mission duration was 11 days 19 hr 11 min 1 s.
Presently he is training for a space mission within ISS-7 prime crew as a flight engineer.

April 2003
By the data of Lindon B. Johnson Space Center, NASA, USA.

ISS Crew


Hoshide  AkihikoHoshide
Akihiko



leg Novitskiy Novitskiy
leg



Petr Dubrov Dubrov
Petr



Mark Vande Hei Vande Hei
Mark



Robert Shane KIMBROUGH KIMBROUGH
Robert Shane



Megan McArthur McArthur
Megan



Thomas PESQUETPESQUET
Thomas

English

Фото РГНИИ ЦПК им. Ю.А.Гагарина

Эдвард Цанг ЛУ

Астронавт НАСА, США

ДАТА И МЕСТО РОЖДЕНИЯ: 1 июля 1963 года в г. Спрингфилд, шт. Массачусеттс, США. Считает Гонолулу, Гаваи и Уэбстер, шт. Нью-Йорк своими родными городами. Его родители, Чарли и Сноулили Лу, проживают в г. Фримонт, штат Калифорния.

ОБРАЗОВАНИЕ: в 1980 году закончил среднюю школу имени Р.Л. Томаса в г. Уэбстер, шт. Нью-Йорк. Получил степень бакалавра в области электротехники в Корнелльском университете в 1984 году и докторскую степень в области прикладной физики в Стэндфордском университете в 1989 году.

СЕМЕЙНОЕ ПОЛОЖЕНИЕ: холост.

НАГРАДЫ: медали НАСА "За космический полет" (1997, 2000).

УВЛЕЧЕНИЯ: воздушная акробатика, игра на пианино, теннис, серфинг, лыжи, путешествия, является тренером по борьбе.

ОПЫТ РАБОТЫ:
С 1989 по 1992 год занимался научными исследованиями в области физики солнца и астрофизики в обсерватории в Боулдере, шт. Колорадо, причем в 1992 году одновременно и в Объединенном институте лабораторной астрофизики при Университете Колорадо.
В 1992 - 1995 годах продолжил свое образование в Институте астрономии в Гонолулу, Гаваи. Участвовал в ряде теоретических разработок в области фундаментальных физических исследований солнечных вспышек.
В декабре 1994 года отобран кандидатом в астронавты НАСА и в марте 1995 года прибыл в Космический Центр им. Джонсона, где прошел годичный курс подготовки и получил квалификацию специалиста полета.
Первый космический полет совершил 15-24 мая 1997 года в качестве специалиста полета корабля "Атлантис" (STS-84). Основной задачей полета являлась стыковка и работа на борту российского орбитального комплекса "Мир". Продолжительность полета составила 9 сут 5 час 19 мин 56 сек.
Второй космический полет выполнил с 8 по 20 сентября 2000 года в качестве специалиста полета корабля "Атлантис" (STS-106). Основной задачей полета являлась доставка грузов на борт Международной космической станции и её подготовка к прибытию первого постоянного экипажа. В ходе полета выполнил выход в открытый космос длительностью 6 час 14 мин. Длительность полета составила 11 сут 19 час 11 мин 1 сек.
В настоящее время готовится к космическому полету в составе основного экипажа МКС-7 в качестве бортинженера.

Апрель 2003 г.
По материалам Космического Центра им. Линдона Б. Джонсона, НАСА, США

Экипаж МКС


ХОШИДЕ АкихикоХОШИДЕ
Акихико



Олег НовицкийНОВИЦКИЙ
Олег



Петр Дубров Дубров
Петр



Марк Ванде Хай  ВАНДЕ ХАЙ
Марк



КИМБРОУ Роберт Шейн  КИМБРОУ
Роберт Шейн



Меган МАКАРТУР МАКАРТУР
Меган



Тома  ПЕСКЕПЕСКЕ
Тома