Steps of ISS assembly


 
Spacecraft Launch date Landing date Station element
45 "Progress -52" Feb 28, 2005 June 16, 2005  
46 "Soyuz -6" Apr 15, 2005 Oct 11, 2005  
47 "Progress -53" June 17, 2005 Sep 7, 2005  
48 "Discovery" STS-114 July 26, 2005 Aug 9, 2005  
49 "Progress -54" Sep 8, 2005 Mar 3, 2006  

On February 28, 2005 the Soyuz-U launch vehicle combined with Progress M-52 transport cargo vehicle (ISS Mission Program, flight number 17P) was launched from Baikonur Cosmodrome. On March 2 the Souyz-U docked with the ISS. The mission objective is to deliver onboard the ISS orbital complex the fuel and cargoes required to keep up the station operation and its crew living conditions and work. The cargo vehicle delivered 262 kg of fuel to refuel the ISS installation system, 75 kg of oxygen, 34 kg of air, 312 kg of food products, 420 kg of potable water, 78 kg of special-purpose cargoes to carry out the experiments, including the European Space Agency ENEIDE Program-specific experiments, as well as the equipment for the Orbital Complex different systems and integration of European Automatic Transfer Vehicle (ATV) into the Orbital Complex, medical support aids, personal protection aids, flight documentation and parcels for crew members.
The ISS Complex is staying in orbit in the following content: Russian Segment Functional Cargo Block Zarya, Zvezda Service Module, docking compartment module Pirs, Soyuz TMA-5 manned transport vehicle, Progress M-52 transport cargo vehicle; American Segment modules Unity, Destiny, airlock Quest and multielement truss structure with solar arrays deployed. The Complex mass is about 183,2 t.
On June 16,2005 Progress M-52 was undocked from the ISS, de-orbited and brought down to Earth in its target area in the Pacific Ocean.

On April 15, 2005 the Soyuz-FG launch vehicle launched the Russian Soyuz TMA-6 manned transport vehicle (ISS Mission Program, flight number 10S) from Baikonur, which docked with the station on April 17. The Soyuz TMA-6 crew consists of the following members: Russian cosmonaut Sergei Krikalev, American astronaut John Phillips and astronaut from the European Space Agency, the Italian citizen Robert Vittori. The launch objective is to deliver onboard the ISS the main expedition crew ISS-11, namely: Russian cosmonaut Sergei Krikalev, NASA astronaut John Phillips; provide the scheduled rotation of the main expedition crew ISS-10, namely: NASA astronaut Leroy Chiao and Russian cosmonaut Salizhan Sharipov, as well as the replacement of the Soyuz TMA-5 manned transport vehicle, which has been operating as part of the ISS Orbital Complex in the capacity of a rescue vehicle since October 16, 2004; conduct by ESA astronaut Roberto Vittori the onboard activities under the eighth ISS Visiting Crew (VC-8) Program, including carrying out space experiments and research under the ENEIDE Project; solve the problems of technical support of the main expedition crew flight, as well as maintaining the station and its systems operability. On April 24, 2005 at 22 hours 42 minutes Moscow Time the Soyuz TMA-5 manned transport vehicle was undocked from Zarya Module. On April 25 at 2 hours 08 minutes Moscow Time the space vehicle descent module carrying the visiting crew member ESA astronaut Roberto Vittori and the ISS-10 crew members American astronaut Leroy Chiao and Russian cosmonaut Salizhan Sharipov, returned to earth.
The ISS Orbital Complex is staying in orbit in the following content: Functional Cargo Block Zarya, Zvezda Service Module, docking compartment module Pirs, Soyuz TMA manned transport vehicle, Progress M-52 transport cargo vehicle (Russian Segment); modules Unity, Destiny, airlock Quest and large-scale multielement truss structure with solar arrays deployed thereon (USOS). The complex mass is about 182,9 t.

On June 17,2005, a Soyuz-U launch vehicle carrying the Progress M-53 logistics spacecraft (mission number 18P under the ISS program) was launch from Baikonur launch site. On June 19 the spacecraft docked with ISS. The objective of the launch was to deliver to the space station cargoes required for continuing its operation in manned mode, providing life support to the crew, refueling the tanks of the propulsion system.
Progress M-53 has delivered to the space station about 2.4 tons of various cargoes, including 262 kg of propellant, 111 kg of oxygen, 279 kg of food, 420 kg of potable water, 146 kg of hardware for the air and water regeneration system, as well as 217 kg of cargoes are for the US segment of ISS.
The space station currently consists of: the Russian Segment - the Functional Cargo Module (FGB) Zarya, Service Module Zvezda, Docking Module Pirs, transportation spacecraft Soyuz TMA-6 and Progress M-53; and the US Orbital Segment - Unity and Destiny modules, Quest airlock and a multi-element truss structure carrying deployed solar arrays. The Space Station mass is about 184.0 tons.
On September 7, 2005 the cargo transport vehicle Progress M-53 was undocked from the ISS, deorbited and sunk in a pre-set area of the Pacific Ocean.

July 26, 2005, saw the launch of Space Shuttle Discovery STS-114 (mission LF1 under ISS deployment program), which on July 28 docked with ISS. It was the first launch of a Space Shuttle after the loss of Columbia in 2003. The Orbiter crew consists of NASA astronauts Eileen Collins (Commander), James Kelly (pilot), Steven Robinson, Andrew Thomas, Wendy Lawrence, Charles Camarda and an astronaut from the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA) Soichi Noguchi (mission specialists). Using logistics module Rafaello (MPLM-6) placed into the Discovery cargo bay, several tons of payloads were delivered to ISS, including water, new gyroscopes and EVA space suits. It also provided the means for returning to Earth some expensive hardware, in particular, dismantled sets of equipment of the Russian rendezvous and docking system Kurs (for their re-use), as well as experiments results. In the course of the attached flight Japanese astronaut Soichi Noguchi and US astronaut Steven Robinson performed three space walks, during which they examined the outer surface of Discovery for possible damage, performed an experiment to test the in-flight restoration of the Orbiter thermal protection. Also, on-board ISS, they reconfigured the power supply unit of Control Motion Gyro CNG-2, dismantled a failed Control Motion Gyro CMG-1 and replaced it with a new one, mounted on the Quest airlock an external storage platform ESP-2 designed to store all kinds of equipment and tools, replaced some of the kits in the MISSE science experiment. On August 6 Discovery successfully undocked and on August 9 it successfully landed on Earth.

On September 8, 2005 Launch Vehicle Soyuz-U with cargo transport vehicle Progress M-54 was launched from Cosmodrome Baikonur (ISS Mission Program, flight number 19P), which on September 10 was docked with the ISS. The launch objective was to deliver to the ISS the cargoes required to support its operation in a manned mode, crew living conditions and work, refuelling of propulsion system fuel tanks. Cargo vehicle Progress M-54 delivered to the station various cargoes of 2,4 tons by mass, including fuel (610 kg), oxygen (110 kg) food products (393 kg), potable water (210 kg), water and air recovery systems equipment (341 kg), scientific research equipment (27 kg), as well as the cargoes for the ISS USOS (74 kg).
The ISS operates in orbit consisting of the Russian Segment: Functional Cargo Block Zarya, docking compartment Pirs, Soyuz TMA-6 manned spacecraft, cargo transport vehicle Progress M-54; the American Segment: modules Unity, Destiny, airlock Quest and multielement truss structure with the solar arrays deployed. Mass of the Complex is about 186,4 tons. On March 3, 2006 upon completion of the flight program Progress M-54 was splashed down in the assigned region of the world oceanic area.

ISS Crew


CASSIDY Christopher CASSIDY
Christopher



Anatoly Ivanishin IVANISHIN
Anatoly



WAGNER Ivan WAGNER
Ivan



  BEHNKEN
Robert



  HURLEY
Douglas

English

Этапы развертывания МКС


№№ п/п Космический
корабль
Дата пуска Дата посадки (затопления) Элемент станции
45 "Прогресс М-52" 28.02.2005 16.06.2005  
46 "Союз ТМА-6" 15.04.2005 11.10.2005  
47 "Прогресс М-53" 17.06.2005 07.09.2005  
48 "Дискавери" STS-114 26.07.2005 09.08.2005  
49 "Прогресс М-54" 08.09.2005 03.03.2006  

28 февраля 2005 года с космодрома Байконур осуществлен пуск ракеты-носителя "Союз-У" с транспортным грузовым кораблём "Прогресс М-52" (программа полета МКС, номер полета - 17P), который 2 марта состыковался с МКС. Цель пуска - доставка на борт орбитального комплекса МКС топлива и грузов, необходимых для продолжения функционирования станции и обеспечения условий жизни и работы её экипажа. Грузовой корабль доставил 262 кг топлива для дозаправки двигательной установки МКС, 75 кг кислорода, 34 кг воздуха, 312 кг продуктов питания, 420 кг питьевой воды, 78 кг целевых грузов для проведения экспериментов, в том числе по программе «Энеида» Европейского космического агентства, а также оборудование для различных систем орбитального комплекса и интеграции в его состав европейского автоматического грузового корабля ATV, средства медицинского обеспечения и индивидуальной защиты, бортовая документация и посылки для экипажа. На орбите образован комплекс: Российский сегмент - функциональный грузовой блок "Заря", служебный модуль "Звезда", стыковочный отсек-модуль "Пирс", пилотируемый корабль "Союз ТМА-5", грузовой корабль "Прогресс М-52"; Американский сегмент - модули "Юнити", "Дестини", шлюзовая камера "Квест" и многозвенная ферменная конструкция с развернутыми солнечными батареями. Масса комплекса около 183,2 т.
16 июня 2005 года корабль "Прогресс М-52" был отстыкован от МКС, сведен с орбиты и затоплен в штатном районе Тихого океана.

15 апреля 2005 года с космодрома Байконур ракетой-носителем "Союз-ФГ" произведен запуск российского транспортного пилотируемого космического корабля "Союз ТМА-6" (программа полета МКС, номер полета - 10S), который 17 апреля состыковался со станцией. Экипаж корабля "Союз ТМА-6" - российский космонавт Сергей Крикалев, американский астронавт Джон Филлипс и астронавт Европейского космического агентства гражданин Италии Роберто Виттори. Цель запуска - доставка на борт МКС экипажа одиннадцатой основной экспедиции (МКС-11) - российского космонавта Сергея Крикалева и астронавта НАСА Джона Филлипса; плановая замена экипажа десятой основной экспедиции (МКС-10) - астронавта НАСА Лероя Чиао и российского космонавта Салижана Шарипова, а также корабля "Союз ТМА-5", работающего в составе орбитального комплекса МКС в качестве корабля-спасателя с 16 октября 2004 года; проведение на борту орбитального комплекса астронавтом ЕКА Роберто Виттори работ по программе восьмой экспедиции посещения (ЭП-8) МКС, в том числе выполнение космических экспериментов и исследований в рамках проекта "Энеида"; решение задач технического обеспечения полета экипажа основной экспедиции, а также поддержания работоспособности станции и ее систем. 24 апреля 2005 года в 22:42 московского времени космический корабль "Союз ТМА-5" был отстыкован от модуля "Заря" и в 02:08 московского времени 25 апреля спускаемый аппарат корабля с участником экспедиции посещения астронавтом ЕКА Роберто Виттори и экипажем МКС-10 - американским астронавтом Лероем Чиао и российским космонавтом Салижаном Шариповым - возвратился на Землю.
Орбитальный комплекс функционирует в составе: функциональный грузовой блок "Заря", служебный модуль "Звезда", стыковочный отсек-модуль "Пирс", пилотируемый корабль "Союз ТМА-6", грузовой корабль "Прогресс М-52" (Российский сегмент), модули "Юнити", "Дестини", шлюзовая камера "Квест" и крупногабаритная многозвенная ферменная конструкция с развернутыми на ней панелями солнечных батарей (Американский сегмент). Масса комплекса около 182,9 т.

17 июня 2005 года с космодрома Байконур осуществлен пуск ракеты-носителя "Союз-У" с транспортным грузовым кораблём "Прогресс М-53" (программа полета МКС, номер полета - 18P), который 19 июня был состыкован с МКС. Цель запуска - доставка на борт станции грузов, необходимых для продолжения ее функционирования в пилотируемом режиме, обеспечения условий жизни и работы экипажа, дозаправки топливом баков двигательной установки. «Прогресс М-53» доставил на станцию около 2,4 тонн различных грузов, включая 262 кг топлива, 111 кг кислорода, 279 кг продуктов питания, 420 кг питьевой воды, 146 кг аппаратуры систем регенерации воды и воздуха, а также 217 кг грузов для Американского сегмента МКС. На орбите образован комплекс: Российский сегмент - функциональный грузовой блок "Заря", служебный модуль "Звезда", стыковочный отсек-модуль "Пирс", пилотируемый корабль "Союз ТМА-6", грузовой корабль "Прогресс М-53"; Американский сегмент - модули "Юнити", "Дестини", шлюзовая камера "Квест" и многозвенная ферменная конструкция с развернутыми солнечными батареями. Масса комплекса около 184,0 т.
7 сентября 2005 года грузовой транспортный корабль "Прогресс М-53" был отстыкован от МКС, сведен с орбиты и затоплен в заданном районе Тихого океана.

26 июля 2005 года произведен старт корабля шаттл "Дискавери" STS-114 (программа развертывания МКС, номер полета - LF1), который 28 июля состыковался с МКС. Это был первый после гибели в 2003 году корабля "Колумбия" космический полет шаттла. В составе экипажа: астронавты НАСА Эйлин Коллинз (командир), Джеймс Келли (пилот), Стивен Робинсон, Эндрю Томас, Венди Лоуренс, Чарльз Камарда и астронавт японского космического агентства JAXA Соичи Ногучи (специалисты полета). С помощью модуля материально-технического обеспечения "Рафаэлло" (MPLM-6), размещаемого в грузовом отсеке корабля "Дискавери", на МКС было доставлено несколько тонн полезных грузов, включая, воду, новые гироскоп и скафандры для внекорабельной деятельности, а также обеспечено возвращение на Землю дорогостоящего оборудования, в частности, демонтированных комплектов российской системы сближения и стыковки типа "Курс" (для их повторного использования) и результатов экспериментов. В ходе совместного полета японским астронавтом Соичи Ногучи и американским астронавтом Стивеном Робинсоном выполнены три выхода в открытый космос, во время которых они провели осмотр внешней поверхности корабля "Дискавери" с целью выявления повреждений, выполнили эксперимент по отработке методов восстановления теплозащитного покрытия корабля в условиях полета, а также на МКС провели переконфигурацию блока питания гиродина CMG-2, демонтировали вышедший из строя силовой гироскопический стабилизатор CMG-1 и на его место установили новый, смонтировали на шлюзовой камере "Квест" внешнюю складскую платформу ESP-2, предназначенную для хранения различного оборудования и инструментов, заменили часть укладок в рамках научного эксперимента MISSE. 6 августа экипаж "Дискавери" осуществил расстыковку, а 9 августа - успешную посадку на Землю.

8 сентября 2005 года с космодрома Байконур осуществлен пуск ракеты-носителя "Союз-У" с транспортным грузовым кораблём "Прогресс М-54" (программа полета МКС, номер полета - 19P), который 10 сентября был состыкован с МКС. Цель запуска – доставка на борт МКС грузов, необходимых для продолжения ее функционирования в пилотируемом режиме, обеспечения условий жизни и работы экипажа, дозаправки топливом баков двигательной установки. «Прогресс М-54» доставил на станцию около 2,4 тонн различных грузов, включая 610 кг топлива, 110 кг кислорода, 393 кг продуктов питания, 210 кг питьевой воды, 341 кг аппаратуры систем регенерации воды и воздуха, 27 кг оборудования для обеспечения научных исследований, а также 74 кг грузов предназначенных для Американского сегмента МКС.
На орбите образован комплекс: Российский сегмент - функциональный грузовой блок "Заря", служебный модуль "Звезда", стыковочный отсек-модуль "Пирс", пилотируемый корабль "Союз ТМА-6", грузовой корабль "Прогресс М-54"; Американский сегмент - модули "Юнити", "Дестини", шлюзовая камера "Квест" и многозвенная ферменная конструкция с развернутыми солнечными батареями. Масса комплекса около 186,4 т. 3марта 2006 года по завершении программы полета "Прогресс М-54" был затоплен в заданном районе акватории мирового океана.