Steps of ISS assembly


 
Spacecraft Launch date Landing date Station element
35 Soyuz TMA-2 Apr 26, 2003 Oct 28, 2003  
36 Progress M1-10 June 8, 2003 Oct 3, 2003  
37 Progress M-48 Aug 29, 2003 Jan 28, 2004 
38 Soyuz TMA-3 Oct 18, 2003 Apr 30, 2004  
39 Progress M1-11 Jan 29, 2004 June 3, 2004  

On April 26, 2003 the Soyuz-FG launch vehicle performed the launch of the Russian transport manned space vehicle Soyuz TMA-2 (the ISS assembly program, flight 6S) from Baikonur cosmodrome. On April 28 the space vehicle was docked with the station. The Soyuz TMA-2 carries the crew of the ISS Expedition 7 (ISS-7): Russian cosmonaut Yuri Malenchenko (Commander) and NASA astronaut Edward Lu (Flight Engineer). The launch objective is to deliver the ISS-7 crew to the ISS and provide the scheduled replacement of the Soyuz TMA-1 space vehicle, which has been operating since November 1st, 2002 as part of the ISS Orbital Complex and in the capacity of the rescue vehicle. On May 4th, 2003 the Soyuz TMA-1 space vehicle was unmated from the Pirs Docking Module and on the same day the space vehicle descent module carrying the ISS-6 crew, NASA astronauts Kenneth Bowersox, Donald Petit and Russian cosmonaut Nikolai Budarin, returned to Earth.

On June 8, 2003 the Progress M1-10 cargo transport vehicle was launched by the Soyuz-U launch vehicle from Baikonur cosmodrome with its subsequent docking with the ISS performed on June 11. The launch is aimed to provide the ISS transport-engineering support. The Progress M1-10 cargo transport vehicle has already delivered to the station more than 2.3 tons of various cargoes, including 360 l of potable water, 40 kg of oxygen, about 300 kg of food products, above 400 kg of fuel to suit the needs of the station and the like. The Orbital Complex is currently operating, which involves Functional Cargo Module Zarya, Russian Service Module Zvezda, docking module Pirs, the manned spacecraft Soyuz TMA-2, the Progress M-47 and Progress M1-10 cargo transport vehicles, as well as U.S. Modules Unity and Destiny, airlock Quest and the multielement truss structure with solar arrays deployed. The Complex mass is about 185.8 kg.
On September 4, 2003 the Progress M1-10 cargo transport vehicle was undocked from the ISS and shifted to a free flight mode. On October 3, 2003 it was made to follow descent trajectory and sunk in a preset area of the Pacific Ocean.

On August 29, 2003 the Soyuz-U Launch Vehicle carrying the Progress M-48 cargo transport vehicle was launched from Baikonur Cosmodrome. On August 31, 2003 the Progress M-48 was docked to the station (under the ISS Increment and Utilization Program, flight 12P). The mission objective is to deliver aboard the required cargoes to keep the Orbital Complex in operation and maintain living conditions and work of the ISS crew.
The Progress M-48 cargo transport vehicle has already delivered to the station more than 2.5 tons of various cargoes, including 353 kg of fuel in the refuelling system tanks to suit the station's needs, 420 l of potable water, 21 kg of oxygen, over 320 kg of various cargoes for the ISS USOS. An orbit complex was assembled consisting of Functional Cargo Module Zarya, Service Module Zvezda, docking compartment - module Pirs, manned spacecraft Soyuz TMA-2, the Progress M-48 and Progress M1-10 cargo transport vehicles; the American modules Unity and Destiny; airlock Quest and the multielement truss structure with solar arrays deployed. Mass of the complex is over 187.4 tons.
On January 28, 2004 Progress M-48 undocked from the ISS, de-orbited and splashed down in the assigned region of the Pacific Ocean.

On October 18, 2003 the Russian manned transport spacecraft Soyuz TMA-3 (ISS Mission program, flight 7S) was launched by the Soyuz-FG Launch Vehicle from Baikonur. On October 20, 2003 the Soyuz TMA-3 was docked to the station. The Soyuz TMA-3 crew involved Russian cosmonaut Alexander Kaleri, NASA astronaut Michael Foale and ESA astronaut Pedro Duque, the citizen of Spain.
The launch was aimed at delivery aboard the ISS of the crew taking part in the Prime Expedition 8 (ISS-8), namely: NASA astronaut Michael Foale and Russian astronaut Alexander Kaleri; the scheduled replacement of the crew of the Prime Expedition 7 (ISS-7), namely: Russian cosmonaut Yuri Malenchenko, NASA astronaut Edward Lu, as well as the spacecraft Soyuz TMA-2, which had been operating in the capacity of rescue vehicle as part of the ISS Orbital Complex since April 28, 2003. Also the above launch was intended to provide onboard the Orbital Complex specific activities under the ISS Visiting Crew 5 (VC-5) Program, involving conduct of the space experiments and studies under the Cervantes Project by ESA astronaut Pedro Duque taking part in the Visiting Crew. In addition, during this flight it was scheduled to accomplish the tasks of engineering support of the flying crew involved in the station Prime Expedition.
On October 28, 2003 the Soyuz TMA-2 spacecraft was undocked from the Zarya module. At that day, the Descent Module with ESA astronaut Pedro Duque taking part in the Visiting Crew; Russian cosmonaut Yuri Malenchenko and NASA astronaut Edward Lu (the ISS-7 crew) had returned to Earth.
The flying on-orbit complex consists of Functional Cargo Module Zarya, Service Module Zvezda, docking compartment - module Pirs, manned spacecraft Soyuz TMA-3, Progress M-48 cargo transport vehicle (Russian Segment); modules Unity and Destiny, airlock Quest and the multielement truss structure with solar array panels deployed thereon (American Segment). Mass of the complex is about 181.5 tons.

On January 29, 2004 Soyuz-U launch vehicle was launched from Baikonur cosmodrome with Progress M1-11 transport cargo vehicle, which docked to the ISS on January 31,2004. The objective of the launch is to deliver propellant and cargoes to the ISS, which are required to continue the Station operation and sustain the crew living and working conditions. The transport cargo vehicle/tanker delivered about 2.4 tons of cargoes to the ISS including about 900 kg of propellant for the Station purposes, oxygen, portable water and food products, onboard system outfitting and maintenance equipment for the Russian and US Segments; science hardware, crew flight-data files, parcels for the crew.
The on-orbit complex has been assembled, consisting of the Functional Cargo Module Zarya, Service Module Zvezda, docking module-compartment Pirs, manned spacecraft Soyuz TMA-3, cargo vehicle Progress M1-11; U.S. On-Orbit Segment, including modules Unity and Destiny, airlock Quest and multi-element truss structure with deployed solar arrays. The Complex mass is about 181,8 tons.
On May 24, 2004, Progress M1-11 spacecraft undocked from ISS in order to perform science experiments in free-flying mode after which, on June 3, it was de orbited and brought down into the ocean in a designated area in the Pacific.

English

Этапы развертывания МКС


№№ п/п Космический
корабль
Дата пуска Дата посадки (затопления) Элемент станции
35 "Союз ТМА-2" 26.04.2003 28.10.2003 
36 "Прогресс М1-10" 08.06.2003 03.10.2003  
37 "Прогресс М-48" 29.08.2003 28.01.2004  
38 "Союз ТМА-3" 18.10.2003 30.04.2004  
39 "Прогресс М1-11" 29.01.2004 03.06.2004  

26 апреля 2003 года с космодрома Байконур ракетой-носителем "Союз-ФГ" осуществлен запуск российского транспортного пилотируемого космического корабля "Союз ТМА-2" (программа развертывания МКС, номер полета - 6S), который 28 апреля состыковался со станцией. На борту корабля находился экипаж седьмой основной экспедиции на МКС (МКС-7): российский космонавт Юрий Маленченко (командир) и астронавт НАСА Эдвард Лу (бортинженер). Цель запуска - доставка на борт МКС экипажа МКС-7 и плановая замена корабля "Союз ТМА-1", работающего с 1 ноября 2002 года в составе орбитального комплекса МКС в качестве корабля-спасателя. 4 мая 2003 года космический корабль "Союз ТМА-1" отстыковался от стыковочного отсека-модуля "Пирс" и в этот же день спускаемый аппарат корабля с экипажем МКС-6 - астронавтами НАСА Кеннетом Бауэрсоксом, Дональдом Петтитом и российским космонавтом Николаем Будариным - возвратился на Землю.

8 июня 2003 года с космодрома Байконур ракетой-носителем "Союз-У" был осуществлен запуск российского транспортного грузового корабля "Прогресс М1-10", который 11 июня был пристыкован к стыковочному отсеку-модулю "Пирс" МКС. Цель запуска - транспортно-техническое обеспечение МКС. "Прогресс М1-10" доставил на борт станции более 2,3 т различных грузов, в том числе: 360 л питьевой воды, 40 кг кислорода, около 300 кг продуктов питания, свыше 400 кг топлива для нужд станции и многое другое. На орбите образован комплекс в составе: функциональный грузовой блок "Заря", служебный модуль "Звезда", стыковочный отсек-модуль "Пирс", пилотируемый корабль "Союз ТМА-2", транспортные грузовые корабли "Прогресс М-47" и "Прогресс М1-10", а также модули "Юнити", "Дестини", шлюзовая камера "Квест" и многозвенная ферменная конструкция с развернутыми солнечными батареями. Масса комплекса около 185,8 т.
4 сентября 2003 года грузовой корабль "Прогресс М1-10" был отстыкован от МКС и переведен в режим автономного полета, а 3 октября 2003 года переведен на траекторию спуска и затоплен в заданном районе акватории Тихого океана.

29 августа 2003 года с космодрома Байконур был произведен пуск ракеты-носителя "Союз-У" с транспортным грузовым кораблём "Прогресс М-48", который 31 августа состыковался со станцией (по программе развертывания и эксплуатации МКС номер полета - 12P). Цель полета - доставка на борт необходимых грузов для продолжения функционирования орбитального комплекса и создания условий жизни и работы экипажа МКС.
"Прогресс М-48" доставил более 2,5 т различных грузов, в том числе 353 кг топлива для станции в баках системы дозаправки, 420 л питьевой воды, 21 кг кислорода, свыше 320 кг различных грузов для Американского сегмента МКС.
На орбите образован комплекс в составе: функциональный грузовой блок "Заря", служебный модуль "Звезда", стыковочный отсек-модуль "Пирс", пилотируемый корабль "Союз ТМА-2", транспортные грузовые корабли "Прогресс М-48" и "Прогресс М1-10", американские модули "Юнити", "Дестини", шлюзовая камера "Квест" и многозвенная ферменная конструкция с развернутыми солнечными батареями. Масса комплекса более 187,4 т.
28 января 2004 года корабль "Прогресс М-48" был отстыкован от МКС, сведен с орбиты и затоплен в штатном районе Тихого океана.

18 октября 2003 года с космодрома Байконур ракетой-носителем "Союз-ФГ" произведен запуск российского транспортного пилотируемого космического корабля "Союз ТМА-3" (программа полета МКС, номер полета - 7S), который 20 октября состыковался со станцией. Экипаж корабля "Союз ТМА-3" - российский космонавт Александр Калери, астронавт НАСА Майкл Фоэл и астронавт ЕКА, гражданин Испании Педро Дуке.
Цель запуска - доставка на борт МКС экипажа восьмой основной экспедиции (МКС-8) - астронавта НАСА Майкла Фоэла и российского космонавта Александр Калери; плановая замена экипажа седьмой основной экспедиции (МКС-7) - российского космонавта Юрия Маленченко и астронавта НАСА Эдварда Лу и корабля "Союз ТМА-2", работающего в составе орбитального комплекса МКС в качестве корабля-спасателя с 28 апреля 2003 года; проведение на борту орбитального комплекса работ по программе пятой экспедиции посещения (ЭП-5) МКС, в том числе выполнение космических экспериментов и исследований в рамках проекта "Сервантес" участником экспедиции посещения астронавтом ЕКА Педро Дуке; решение задач технического обеспечения полета экипажа основной экспедиции станции.
28 октября 2003 года космический корабль "Союз ТМА-2" был отстыкован от модуля "Заря" и в этот же день спускаемый аппарат корабля с участником экспедиции посещения астронавтом ЕКА Педро Дуке и экипажем МКС-7 - российским космонавтом Юрием Маленченко и астронавтом НАСА Эдвардом Лу - возвратился на Землю.
Орбитальный комплекс функционирует в составе: функциональный грузовой блок "Заря", служебный модуль "Звезда", стыковочный отсек-модуль "Пирс", пилотируемый корабль "Союз ТМА-3", грузовой корабль "Прогресс М-48" (Российский сегмент), модули "Юнити", "Дестини", шлюзовая камера "Квест" и крупногабаритная многозвенная ферменная конструкция с развернутыми на ней панелями солнечных батарей (Американский сегмент). Масса комплекса около 181,5 т.

29 января 2004 года с космодрома Байконур осуществлен пуск ракеты-носителя "Союз-У" с транспортным грузовым кораблём "Прогресс М1-11", который 31 января состыковался с МКС. Цель пуска - доставка на борт орбитального комплекса МКС топлива и грузов, необходимых для продолжения функционирования станции и обеспечения условий жизни и работы её экипажа. Транспортный грузовой корабль-танкер доставил на борт МКС около 2,4 т грузов, в том числе: около 900 кг топлива для нужд станции; кислород; питьевую воду и продукты питания; оборудование, необходимое для дооснащения и обслуживания бортовых систем российского и американского сегментов комплекса; научную аппаратуру; бортовую документацию; посылки для экипажа.
На орбите образован комплекс: Российский сегмент - функциональный грузовой блок "Заря", служебный модуль "Звезда", стыковочный отсек-модуль "Пирс", пилотируемый корабль "Союз ТМА-3", грузовой корабль "Прогресс М1-11"; Американский сегмент - модули "Юнити", "Дестини", шлюзовая камера "Квест" и многозвенная ферменная конструкция с развернутыми солнечными батареями. Масса комплекса около 181,8 т.
24 мая 2004 года корабль "Прогресс М1-11" был отстыкован от МКС для проведения научных экспериментов по программе автономного полета после чего 3 июня сведен с орбиты и затоплен в заданном районе Тихого океана.