Steps of ISS assembly


 
Spacecraft Launch date Landing date Station element
30 Progress M1-9 Sep 25, 2002 Feb 1, 2003  
31 Atlantis STS-112 Oct 7, 2002 Oct 18, 2002 S-1 Truss, starboard section of the ISS Integrated Truss Structure and the Crew and Equipment Translation Aid (CETA) Cart A.
32 Soyuz TMA-1 Oct 30, 2002 May 4, 2003  
33 Endeavour STS-113 Nov 24, 2002 Dec 7, 2002 Right section of the ISS Integrated Truss Structure (P1) and the Crew and Equipment Translation Aid (CETA) Cart B
34 Progress M-47 Feb 2, 2003 Aug 28, 2003 

On September 25, 2002, the Progress M1-9 cargo vehicle was launched into the low earth orbit from Baikonur launch site and performed automatical docking to its axial docking node on the ISS Service Module Zvezda on September 29.
In the process of flight to the space station the joint testing of the Kurs approach system located on the Russian Zvezda module and the cargo vehicle was conducted successfully as planned. The cargo vehicle delivered about 2,6 t of cargo to the ISS including: propellants for the station refilling; oxygen; equipment required to outfit and maintain the onboard systems; scientific equipment; food; onboard documentation; parcels for crewmembers; Russian national census sheets for 2002; equipment for the program of ESA astronaut Franc Devignes, Belgium. In-orbit system has been built, comprising of: Functional Cargo Block "Zarya", Zvezda Service Module, docking compartment-module "Pirs", "Soyuz TM-34" manned space vehicle, "Progress M1-9" cargo vehicle and also Unity, Destiny modules and Quest Airlock. The weight of the system is about 155,8 t.
On February 1, 2003 Progress M1-9 undocked from the ISS and after departing from the station was transferred to a descent and de-orbit trajectory to splashdown in the assigned region of the world oceanic area.

On October 7, 2002, the Atlantis Shuttle STS-112 was launched from J. Kennedy Space Center (ISS Expansion Program, Flight 9A) which docked to the ISS on October 9. The crew - NASA astronauts Jeff Ashby (commander), Pam Melroy (pilot), David Wolf , Sandra Magnus, Piers Sellers (specialists) and Russian cosmonaut Fedor Yurchikhin (flight specialist, employee of S.P Korolev RSC Energia).
Goal of the flight - delivery and installation of S-1 Truss, starboard section of the ISS Integrated Truss Structure and also delivery of water, cargo and scientific equipment to outfit USOS. During the joint flight the US crew performed three spacewalks. The shuttle thruster jets raised the ISS's orbit during two maneuvers. On October 16 the Atlantis' crew undocked and returned to the Earth on October 18.

On October 30, 2002 the first Russian manned space vehicle of new modification "Soyuz TMA-1" (ISS Expansion Program, Flight 5S) was launched from Baikonur launch site by the Soyuz FG launch vehicle, which on November 1 docked to the station. The fourth Russian expedition crew was onboard the station (EP-4): Russian cosmonauts Sergey Zaletin (commander), Yury Lonchakov (onboard engineer-2) and Belgian astronaut from ESA Franc Devignes (onboard enginer-1). The goal of the mission - scheduled replacement of the Soyuz TM-34 that stayed as a part of ISS since April 27, 2002, as a rescue vehicle and also flight testing of the Soyuz TMA-1 space vehicle, space experiments and research onboard, including Odyssey project and also engineering support to the main crew flight. On November 9, 2002, the Soyuz TM-34 space vehicle was undocked from the Zarya module and on November 10 reentry module of the space vehicle returned crew EP-4 to the Earth.

On November 24, 2002 the launch of the American Space Shuttle Endeavour was performed with the subsequent docking with the ISS on November 25 at 21 hours 59 minutes UTC (i.e. on November 26 at 00 hours 59 minutes Moscow legal time). The flight is denoted by STS-113 (the flight number is 11A under the ISS assembly program). The crew makeup was the following: NASA astronauts James Wetherbee (Commander), Paul Lockhart (Pilot), Michael Lopez-Alegria, John Herrington, Kenneth Bowersox, Donald Pettit and the Russia cosmonaut Nikolai Budarin (Flight Specialists). The flight objective is to deliver and mount on the station of the starboard section as part of the ISS Integrated Truss Structure (the P1 section), which is a 14-m aluminum structure. Subsequently, it will house the boards carrying solar arrays, as well as provide delivery of the 6th Prime Crew (ISS-6) members (Kenneth Bowersox, Nikolai Budarin, Donald Pettit) and return to Earth of the fifth Prime Crew (ISS-5) members (Valery Korzun, Peggy Whitson and Sergei Treschev), who have been operating onboard the Orbital station since June 7, 2002. During the Endeavour/ISS mated flight, the US astronauts M. Lopez-Alegria and J. Herrington preformed three spacewalks, during which they conducted the assembly operations to connect service lines between the sections of the ISS Integrated Truss Structure (central section SO and the side section P1 placed in orbit during this flight and mounted on the section SO by the Orbiter robot arm); continued the work to mount elements of the rail-guided cart (crew and Equipment Translation Aid); installed external transceivers of the wireless video system on the Unity Module and the P1 Truss; conducted the assembly/dismantling operating with other structural members. The Orbiter propulsion system enabled to perform three orbital raising corrections of the Complex. On December 2th the Endeavour crew members conducted undocking; on December 7th they carried out successful ground landing.

On February 2, 2003 Progress M-47 cargo vehicle was launched from Baikonur cosmodrome to a near-earth orbit. Following a two-day free flight in near-earth orbit on February 4, 2003 Progress M-47 made an automatic docking to the side port of the Russian Service Module Zvezda of the International Space Station.
The vehicle delivered about 2.5 tons of various cargoes to the ISS including 870 kg of propellant for the station refueling. An on-orbit complex of about 180.4 t was assembled consisting of Functional Cargo Module Zarya, Service Module Zvezda, docking compartment-module Pirs, cargo vehicle Progress M-47, manned spacecraft Soyuz TMA-1, modules Unity, Destiny and airlock Quest.
On August 28, 2003 the Progress M-47 cargo transport vehicle was undocked from the ISS, made to follow descent trajectory and ceased to exist in a preset area of the Pacific Ocean.

English

Этапы развертывания МКС


№№ п/п Космический
корабль
Дата пуска Дата посадки (затопления) Элемент станции
30 "Прогресс М1-9" 25.09.2002 01.02.2003  
31 "Атлантис" STS-112 07.10.2002 18.10.2002 Cекция правого борта S-1 Основной фермы
32 "Союз ТМА-1" 30.10.2002 04.05.2003  
33 "Индевор" STS-113 24.11.2002 07.12.2002 Правая секция Основной фермы (P1),
34 "Прогресс М-47" 02.02.2003 28.08.2003 

25 сентября 2002 года с космодрома Байконур на околоземную орбиту выведен транспортный грузовой корабль "Прогресс М1-9", который 29 сентября в автоматическом режиме пристыковался к осевому стыковочному узлу служебного модуля "Звезда" МКС.
В процессе полета к станции были успешно выполнены запланированные программой совместные тесты аппаратуры системы сближения "Курс", установленной на российском модуле "Звезда" и грузовом корабле. Корабль доставил на борт МКС около 2,6 т грузов, в том числе: топливо для дозаправки станции; кислород; оборудование, необходимое для дооснащения и обслуживания бортовых систем станции; научную аппаратуру; продукты питания; бортовую документацию; посылки для экипажа; переписные листы Всероссийской переписи населения 2002 года; оборудование по предстоящей программе работы астронавта ЕКА гражданина Бельгии Франка Де Винне. На орбите образован комплекс в составе: функциональный грузовой блок "Заря", служебный модуль "Звезда", стыковочный отсек-модуль "Пирс", пилотируемый корабль "Союз ТМ-34", грузовой корабль "Прогресс М1-9", а также модули "Юнити", "Дестини" и шлюзовая камера "Квест". Масса комплекса около 155,8 т.
1 февраля 2003 года корабль "Прогресс М1-9" был отстыкован от МКС и переведен после его ухода от станции на траекторию спуска и увода с орбиты в заданный район акватории мирового океана.

7 октября 2002 года со стартового комплекса Центра космических полетов имени Дж. Кеннеди произведен запуск американского МТКК "Атлантис" STS-112 (программа развертывания МКС, номер полета - 9A), который 9 октября состыковался с МКС. Экипаж корабля - астронавты НАСА Джефри Эшби (командир), Памела Мелрой (пилот), Дэвид Волф, Сандра Магнус, Пирс Селлерс (специалисты полета) и российский космонавт Федор Юрчихин (специалист полета, сотрудник РКК "Энергия" им. С.П. Королева).
Цель полета - доставка и установка на МКС секции правого борта S-1 Основной фермы МКС, а также доставка воды, грузов и научного оборудования для дооснащения Американского сегмента. Во время совместного полета американские астронавты совершили три выхода в открытый космос. Двигателями орбитального корабля было выполнено две коррекции орбиты МКС. 16 октября экипаж "Атлантис" осуществил расстыковку, а 18 октября - посадку на Землю.

30 октября 2002 года с космодрома Байконур ракетой-носителем "Союз-ФГ" был произведен запуск первого российского транспортного пилотируемого космического корабля новой модификации "Союз ТМА-1" (программа развертывания МКС, номер полета - 5S), который 1 ноября состыковался со станцией. На борту корабля находился экипаж четвертой российской экспедиции посещения (ЭП-4): российские космонавты Сергей Залетин (командир), Юрий Лончаков (бортинженер-2) и бельгийский астронавт ЕКА Франк Де Винне (бортинженер-1). Цель запуска - плановая замена корабля "Союз ТМ-34", находившегося с 27 апреля 2002 года в составе орбитального комплекса МКС в качестве корабля-спасателя, а также летная отработка корабля "Союз ТМА-1", проведение на борту орбитального комплекса космических экспериментов и исследований, в том числе по проекту "Одиссея", а также техническое обеспечение полета экипажа основной экспедиции станции. 9 ноября 2002 года корабль "Союз ТМ-34" был отстыкован от модуля "Заря", а 10 ноября спускаемый аппарат космического корабля с экипажем ЭП-4 возвратился на Землю.

24 ноября 2002 года осуществлен запуск американского многоразового транспортного космического корабля "Индевор", который 25 ноября в 21:59 UTC (26 ноября в 00:59 ДМВ) состыковался с МКС. Полет имеет обозначение STS-113 (по программе развертывания МКС, номер полета - 11A). В составе экипажа находились: астронавты НАСА Джеймс Уэзерби (командир), Пол Локхарт (пилот), Майкл Лопес-Алегрия, Джон Херрингтон, Кеннет Бауэрсокс, Дональд Петтит и российский космонавт Николай Бударин (специалисты полета). Цель полета - доставка и установка на станции правой секции Основной фермы МКС (секции P1), представляющей собой 14-метровую алюминиевую ферму, на которой впоследствии будут размещены планшеты с солнечными батареями, а также доставка на МКС экипажа шестой основной экспедиции (МКС-6) - Кеннета Бауэрсокса, Николая Бударина и Дональда Петтита - и возвращение на Землю экипажа пятой основной экспедиции (МКС-5) - Валерия Корзуна, Пегги Уитсон и Сергея Трещева, работавших на борту орбитального комплекса с 7 июня 2002 года. Во время совместного полета корабля "Индевор" со станцией американские астронавты М. Лопес-Алегрия и Дж. Херрингтон совершили три выхода в открытый космос, в ходе которых провели монтажные работы по подключению коммуникаций между секциями Основной фермы МКС - центральной секцией S0 и доставленной в этом полете на орбиту и установленной с помощью манипулятора корабля на секцию S0 боковой секцией Р1; продолжили установку элементов рельсового транспортировочного устройства, установили внешние приемопередатчики беспроводной видеосистемы на модуле "Юнити" и ферме P1, осуществили монтажно-демонтажные работы по другим элементам конструкции. С помощью двигательной установки корабля проведены три коррекции подъема орбиты комплекса. 2 декабря экипаж "Индевора" осуществил расстыковку, а 7 декабря - успешную посадку на Землю.

2 февраля 2003 года с космодрома Байконур на околоземную орбиту выведен транспортный грузовой корабль "Прогресс М-47". После автономного двухсуточного полета 4 февраля 2003 года он был пристыкован в автоматическом режиме к осевому стыковочному узлу модуля "Звезда" Международной космической станции.
Корабль доставил на борт МКС более 2,5 т различных грузов, в том числе 870 кг топлива для дозаправки станции. На орбите образован комплекс массой около 180,4 т в составе: функциональный грузовой блок "Заря", служебный модуль "Звезда", стыковочный отсек-модуль "Пирс", грузовой корабль "Прогресс М-47", пилотируемый корабль "Союз ТМА-1", модули "Юнити", "Дестини" и шлюзовая камера "Квест".
28 августа 2003 года грузовой корабль "Прогресс М-47" был отстыкован от МКС, переведен на траекторию спуска и прекратил своё существование в заданном районе акватории Тихого океана.