Steps of ISS assembly


 
Spacecraft Launch date Landing date Station element
27 Soyuz TM-34 Apr 25, 2002 Nov 10, 2002  
28 Endeavour STS-111 June 6, 2002 June 19, 2002 Mobile Base System (MBS)
29 Progress M-46 June 26, 2002 Oct 14, 2002  

On April 25, 2002, the Russian Soyuz TM-34 transport manned spacecraft was launched from the Baikonur cosmodrome by the Soyuz-U launch vehicle (the ISS deployment program, the mission number is 4S) that docked to the station on April 27. The crew of the Russian Visiting Expedition Three (VE-3) of the spacecraft included: Russian cosmonaut Yuri Gidzenko (commander), ESA Italian astronaut Roberto Vittori (mission specialist-1) and citizen of RSA Mark Shuttleworth (space flight participant). The launch objective is to implement a scheduled replacement of the Soyuz TM-33 rescue vehicle that was a part of the ISS from October 23, 2002, to resolve the tasks of the ISS-4 crew mission logistics support, as well as to conduct space experiments and research under the Italy program (Marko Polo project) and under the RSA cosmonaut program on board the orbital complex. On May 5, 2002, the Soyuz TM-33 descent vehicle with the VE-3 on board returned to the Earth.

On June 6, 2002, the U.S. Shuttle Endeavour STS-111 was launched (the ISS deployment program, the mission number is UF2) that docked to the ISS on June 7. The crew consisted of: NASA astronauts Kenneth Cockrell (commander), Paul Lockhart (pilot), Franklin Chang-Diaz, Peggy Whitson, ESA French astronaut Philippe Perrin and Russian cosmonauts Balery Korzun, SergeiTreschev (mission specialists). The mission objective was to deliver Expedition Five crew (ISS-5) - Valery Korzun, Peggy Whitson and Sergei Treschev - to the ISS and to return the Expedition Four crew (ISS-4) -Yuri Onufrienko, Carl Walz and Daniel Bursch - who have been operating aboard the complex since December 7, 2001, to the ground. In addition, the Endeavour delivered a remote Mobile Base System (MBS) to the station, as well as equipment for the U.S. segment, including additional Scientific Racks and consumables that were in the Italian-built Leonardo Logistics Module making its third trip to the ISS in the orbiter cargo bay. During the joint flight F. Chang-Diaz and P. Perrin performed three spacewalks in the process of which they installed Mobile Maintenance System elements on the ISS USOS, replaced Canadarm's wrist roll joint and stowed an additional debris panel on the PMA-1 adapter. Three corrections of the complex orbit were performed using the orbiter propulsion system. On June 15 the Endeavour was undocked by the crew and landed successfully to the ground on June 19.

On June 26, 2002, the Progress M-46 was launched from the Baikonur cosmodrome and on June 29 it performed automatic docking to the axial docking port of the ISS Zvezda Service Module. The spacecraft delivered 2.58 t of different cargoes, including 825 kg of fuel to support life and operation of the ISS Prime Expedition Five crew. A complex was formed consisting of: Zarya Functional Cargo Module, Zvezda Service Module, Pirs Docking Module-Compartment, Progress M-46 cargo vehicle, Soyuz TM-34 manned vehicle, S.U. Unity and Destiny Modules, Quest Airlock. The complex mass is about 153 t.
On September 24, 2002 Progress M-46 vehicle was undocked from the ISS and transferred to an orbit with a maximum altitude of 401 km and minimum altitude of 360 km, in which it traveled in a free flight under a dedicated program. On October 14, 2002 upon completion of the flight program Progress M-46 was splashed down in the assigned region of the world oceanic area.

ISS Crew


CASSIDY Christopher CASSIDY
Christopher



Anatoly Ivanishin IVANISHIN
Anatoly



WAGNER Ivan WAGNER
Ivan



  BEHNKEN
Robert



  HURLEY
Douglas

English

Этапы развертывания МКС


№№ п/п Космический
корабль
Дата пуска Дата посадки (затопления) Элемент станции
27 "Союз ТМ-34" 25.04.2002 10.11.2002 
28 "Индевор" STS-111 06.06.2002 19.06.2002 Мобильная базовая система (MBS)
29 "Прогресс М-46" 26.06.2002 14.10.2002 

25 апреля 2002 года с космодрома Байконур ракетой-носителем "Союз-У" был осуществлен запуск российского транспортного пилотируемого космического корабля "Союз ТМ-34" (программа развертывания МКС, номер полета - 4S), который 27 апреля состыковался со станцией. На борту корабля находился экипаж третьей российской экспедиции посещения (ЭП-3): российский космонавт Юрий Гидзенко (командир), итальянский астронавт ЕКА Роберто Виттори (бортинженер-1) и гражданин ЮАР Марк Шаттлворт (участник космического полета). Цель запуска - плановая замена корабля-спасателя "Союз ТМ-33", который с 23 октября 2001 года находился в составе МКС, решение задач технического обеспечения полета экипажа МКС-4, а также проведение на борту орбитального комплекса космических экспериментов и исследований по программе Италии (проект "Марко Поло") и программе космонавта ЮАР. 5 мая 2002 года спускаемый аппарат космического корабля "Союз ТМ-33" с экипажем ЭП-3 возвратился на Землю.

6 июня 2002 года произведен запуск американскогокосмического корабля многоразового использования "Индевор" STS-111 (программа развертывания МКС, номер полета - UF2), который 7 июня состыковался с МКС. В составе экипажа находились: астронавты НАСА Кеннет Кокрелл (командир), Пол Локарт (пилот), Франклин Чанг-Диаз, Пегги Уитсон, французский астронавт ЕКА Филипп Перрэн ироссийские космонавты Валерий Корзун, Сергей Трещев (специалисты полета). Целью полета являлась доставка на МКС экипажа пятой основной экспедиции (МКС-5) - Валерия Корзуна, Пегги Уитсон и Сергея Трещева - и возвращение на Землю экипажа четвертой основной экспедиции (МКС-4) -Юрия Онуфриенко, Карла Уолза и Дэниела Бёрша, работавших на борту комплекса с 7 декабря 2001 года. Кроме того, "Индевор" доставил на станцию дистанционную Мобильную базовую систему (MBS), а также оборудование для дооснащения ее Американского сегмента, в том числе дополнительные научные стойки и расходуемые материалы, которые находились в итальянском грузовом модуле "Леонардо", совершившем свой третий полет к МКС в отсеке полезного груза орбитального корабля. В ходе совместного полета Ф. Чанг-Диаз и Ф. Перрэн совершили три выхода в открытый космос, выполнив установку на Американском сегменте МКС элементов мобильной системы технического обслуживания, заменив кистевой шарнир канадского манипулятора и уложив на гермоадаптере PMA-1 для хранения дополнительную противоосколочную панель. С помощью двигательной установки корабля проведены три коррекции орбиты комплекса. 15 июня экипаж "Индевора" осуществил расстыковку, а 19 июня - успешную посадку на Землю.

26 июня 2002 года с космодрома Байконур произведен запуск транспортного грузового корабля "Прогресс М-46", который 29 июня в автоматическом режиме пристыковался к осевому стыковочному узлу служебного модуля "Звезда" МКС. Корабль доставил 2,58 т различных грузов, в том числе 825 кг топлива, для обеспечения жизни и работы экипажа пятой основной экспедиции МКС. На орбите образован комплекс в составе: функциональный грузовой блок "Заря", служебный модуль "Звезда", стыковочный отсек-модуль "Пирс", грузовой корабль "Прогресс М-46", пилотируемый корабль "Союз ТМ-34", американские модули "Юнити" и "Дестини", шлюзовая камера "Квест". Масса комплекса около 153 тонн.
24 сентября 2002 года корабль "Прогресс М-46" был отстыкован от МКС и переведен на орбиту максимальной высотой 401 км и минимальной высотой 360 км, где совершал автономный полет по отдельной программе. 14 октября 2002 года по завершении программы полета "Прогресс М-46" был затоплен в заданном районе акватории мирового океана.