Steps of ISS assembly


 
Spacecraft Launch date Landing date Station element
8 Discovery STS-92 Oct 12, 2000 Oct 24, 2000 Base truss Z1, pressurized adapter -3
9 Soyuz -31 Oct 31, 2000 May 6, 2001  
10 Progress 1-4 Nov 16, 2000 Feb 8, 2001  
11 Endeavour STS-97 Dec 1, 2000 Dec 12, 2000 Truss 6 with two panels of solar arrays
12 Atlantis STS-98 Feb 8, 2001 Feb 20, 2001 Laboratory module Destiny

On October 12, 2000, the Discovery Shuttle (STS-92) was launched (ISS program, flight 3A) which docked to the ISS on October 13. Using the remote manipulator, a section of the base truss Z1 was mounted on the Unity module, the ISS was equipped with a pressurized adapter, Ku-band radio system and gyrodynes; four EVAs were performed. The ISS is prepared to receive the first prime crew (ISS-1). The complex consisting of Progress M1-3 cargo vehicle - Zvezda service module - Zarya functional-cargo module - Unity module - Discovery orbiter was formed in orbit. The Discovery orbiter performed landing on October 24, 2000.

On October 31, 2000, the Soyuz TM-31 transport vehicle with the ISS first prime expedition crew on board was launched. The crew consisted of two Russian cosmonauts - Yu. Gidzenko and S. Krikalev - and American astronaut W. Shepherd. The launch was performed by the Soyuz-U launch vehicle from the Baikonur cosmodrome. On November 2 the Soyuz TM-31 TV docked successfully with the ISS. With arrival of the first prime expedition crew to the ISS the station has become permanently inhabited. The complex consisting of Soyuz TM-31 - Zvezda - Zarya - Unity with a mass of about 73 t was formed in orbit.

On November 16, 2000, the Progress M1-4 transport cargo vehicle was launched from the Baikonur cosmodrome; on November 18 it was docked to the side port of the Zarya module. The cargo vehicle delivered 2.2 t payload to the ISS: propellant, food, water, medical supplies, flight equipment including units and devices of the station's systems. The complex consisting of Unity - Zarya - Zvezda - Soyuz TM-31 - Progress M1-4 with a mass of about 80 t was formed in orbit. On December 1 the Progress M1-4 TCV was undocked from the ISS on-orbit complex. On the 1st of December 4 Progress M1 undocked from the International Space Station, and on the 26th of December it redocked to the ISS. On the 8th of February Progress M1-4 undocked from the ISS and was de-orbited along the descent trajectory to the oceanic area.

On December 1, 2000, the Endeavour Shuttle STS-97 (ISS program, flight 4A) started; on December 2 it was docked to the docking assembly of the U.S. Unity module. At the moment of the orbiter docking to the ISS complex the Progress M1-4 vehicle was in autonomous flight. Through December 8 the Endeavour crew implemented the program of work planned within the STS-97 flight: delivered to the complex and mounted the truss with two panels of solar arrays to improve the station power supply before arrival of the U.S. Destiny laboratory to the station. On December 8, after opening of the transfer hatch to the Russian Zvezda service module the meeting of two crews - the ISS on-orbit complex crew and the Endeavour orbiter crew - took place; then joint activities began on transfer of delivered cargoes to the ISS. The on-orbit complex of about 187 t in mass functioned in the configuration: Soyuz TM-31 - Zvezda - Zarya - Unity - Endeavour. On December 12, 2000 The Endeavour Shuttle performed successful landing.

On February 8, 2001 the Space Shuttle Atlantis STS-98 (ISS program, flight 5A) was launched. On February 9 it docked to the ISS. The crew consisted of NASA astronauts, i.e. Kenneth Cockrell (commander), Mark Polansky (pilot), Robert Curbeam, Marsha Ivens and Thomas Jones (mission specialists). The Atlantis crew delivered and docked the Laboratory module Destiny, as well as delivered water, air food supplies and equipment for the Expedition I crew (ISS-1) to the station.
On February 16 the Atlantis crew performed undocking, and on February 20 successfully landed.
The complex consisting of the Souyz TM-31 manned vehicle, Russian Service Module Zvezda, Functional Cargo Block Zarya, U.S. modules Unity and Destiny was formed in orbit. The Station mass was about 105 t.

English

Этапы развертывания МКС


№№ п/п Космический
корабль
Дата пуска Дата посадки (затопления) Элемент станции
8 "Дискавери" STS-92 12.10.2000 24.10.2000 Секция основной фермы Z1,
гермоадаптер РМА-3
9 "Союз ТМ-31" 31.10.2000 06.05.2001  
10 "Прогресс М1-4" 16.11.2000 08.02.2001  
11 "Индевор" STS-97 01.12.2000 12.12.2000 Правая секция фермы Р6 с 2 панелями солнечных батарей
12 "Атлантис" STS-98 08.02.2001 20.02.2001 Лабораторный модуль "Дестини"

12 октября 2000 года произведен запуск корабля "Шаттл" "Дискавери" STS-92 (программа МКС, номер полета - 3А), который 13 октября состыковался с МКС. Осуществлены установка с помощью дистанционного манипулятора на модуле "Юнити" секции основной фермы Z1, оснащение МКС гермоадаптером, радиотехнической системой Ku-диапазона и гиродинами; выполнены четыре выхода в открытый космос. МКС подготовлена к приему первого основного экипажа (МКС-1). На орбите образовался комплекс: грузовой корабль "Прогресс М1-3" - служебный модуль "Звезда" - функционально-грузовой блок "Заря" - модуль "Юнити" - орбитальный корабль "Дискавери". Корабль "Дискавери" совершил посадку 24 октября 2000 года.

31 октября 2000 года осуществлен запуск транспортного корабля "Союз ТМ-31" с экипажем первой основной экспедиции МКС на борту. В составе экипажа два российских космонавта Ю. Гидзенко и С. Крикалев и американский астронавт У. Шеперд. Запуск произведен с космодрома Байконур ракетой-носителем "Союз-У". 2 ноября ТК "Союз ТМ-31" успешно состыковался с МКС. С прибытием на МКС экипажа первой основной экспедиции станция стала постоянно обитаемой. На орбите образован комплекс: "Союз ТМ-31" - "Звезда" - "Заря" - "Юнити" массой около 73 тонн.

16 ноября 2000 года с космодрома Байконур произведен запуск транспортного грузового корабля "Прогресс М1-4", который 18 ноября был пристыкован к боковому причалу модуля "Заря". Грузовой корабль доставил на борт МКС 2,2 тонн полезного груза: топливо, продукты питания, воду, медикаменты, штатное оборудование, включающее блоки и приборы станционного борта. На орбите образован комплекс: "Юнити" - "Заря" - "Звезда" - "Союз ТМ-31" - "Прогресс М1-4" массой около 80 тонн. 1 декабря ТГК "Прогресс М1-4" отстыкован от орбитального комплекса МКС. 26 декабря вновь пристыкован к нему. 8 февраля ТГК "Прогресс М1-4" отстыкован от МКС и уведен с орбиты по траектории спуска в акваторию Мирового океана.

1 декабря 2000 года стартовал корабль "Шаттл" "Индевор" STS-97 (программа МКС, номер полета - 4А), который 2 декабря был пристыкован к стыковочному агрегату американского модуля "Юнити". Корабль "Прогресс М1-4" в момент стыковки челночного корабля с комплексом МКС находился в автономном полете. До 8 декабря экипаж "Индевор" выполнял программу работ, запланированных в рамках полета STS-97: доставил на борт комплекса и осуществил монтаж фермы с двумя панелями солнечных батарей для улучшения энергоснабжения станции перед прибытием на нее американской лаборатории "Дестини". 8 декабря после открытия переходного люка в российский служебный модуль "Звезда" состоялась встреча двух экипажей - орбитального комплекса МКС и корабля "Индевор", после чего проводилась совместная работа по переносу на борт комплекса МКС доставленных грузов. Орбитальный комплекс массой около 187 тонн функционировал в составе: "Союз ТМ-31" - "Звезда" - "Заря" - "Юнити" - "Индевор". 12 декабря 2000 года МТКК "Индевор" осуществил успешную посадку на Землю.

8 февраля 2001 года состоялся старт корабля "Шаттл" "Атлантис" STS-98 (программа МКС, номер полета - 5A), который 9 февраля состыковался с МКС. В составе экипажа астронавты НАСА: Кеннет Кокрелл (командир), Марк Полански (пилот), Роберт Кёрбим, Маша Айвенс, Томас Джоунс (специалисты). Экипаж "Атлантис" доставил и пристыковал к станции лабораторный модуль "Дестини" ("Судьба"), а также доставил запасы воды, воздуха, продуктов питания и оборудование для экипажа первой основной экспедиции МКС-1. Экипажем успешно осуществлены три выхода в открытый космос. 16 февраля экипаж "Атлантис" осуществил расстыковку, а 20 февраля - успешную посадку на Землю. На орбите образован комплекс в составе: пилотируемый корабль "Союз ТМ-31" - российский служебный модуль "Звезда" - функциональный грузовой блок "Заря" - американские модули "Юнити" и "Дестини". Масса комплекса - около 105 т.

Экипаж МКС


ХОШИДЕ АкихикоХОШИДЕ
Акихико



Олег НовицкийНОВИЦКИЙ
Олег



Петр Дубров Дубров
Петр



Марк Ванде Хай  ВАНДЕ ХАЙ
Марк



КИМБРОУ Роберт Шейн  КИМБРОУ
Роберт Шейн



Меган МАКАРТУР МАКАРТУР
Меган



Тома  ПЕСКЕПЕСКЕ
Тома