Russian

Long duration orbital station of the third generation Salyut-6


As the service life of any LDOS which is rather limited is defined mainly by the fuel reserves and consumables of the life support system accommodated on it during the injection the question arose with regard to the creation of the constant logistics support system of orbital stations to make their operating life independent of the initial stock of onboard resources. For this purpose the station must have at least, two docking assemblies.

This project was implemented already at NPO Energia established on the base of TsKBEM in May 1974, which was headed by V.P. Glushko. Yu.P. Semenov was appointed Chief Designer in charge of this direction of development. The new instrument compartment was developed with the propulsion system having bellows diaphragms in tanks allowing to refuel it in flight. The second docking assembly made it possible not only to refuel the station but make the crew rotation with a constant stay of the crew onboard the station. It was indeed a new word in space technology and not all believed that it was possible to implement such a decision but an aspiration to really making a long duration station with the capability of constant renewal of its resources overcame doubts. The new stations were equipped with an additional transfer chamber with the second docking assembly that allowed a simultaneous stay of the Soyuz vehicle and the Progress cargo vehicle on the station when refueling and during the cargo delivery or two Soyuz vehicles could stay simultaneously during the crew rotation. There was a capability of extravehicular activity, in this case the transfer compartment became the airlock where spacesuits and all the equipment were accommodated. They were required for extravehicular activity on the external surface of the station using special handrail for the cosmonaut movement and restraint during EVA. Some onboard systems were upgraded, color television was introduced and a folding shower cabin was installed in the working compartment for the crew needs. The station service life was increased to three years.

It should be emphasized that developers of this Manned Space Complex were so bold as to trust in this highly reliable automatic equipment of the Progress vehicles which had to dock repeatedly to the station with the crew onboard. And only today we see that this decision was correct. The Progress vehicles allowed not only to deliver the expendable equipment, but to enhance the station capabilities to conduct research at the expense of the delivery of the required science hardware. During the station operation in the Progress vehicle autonomous flight upon completion of the docked flight phase as a part of MSC a number of important technical and applied experiments was carried out.

On September 29, 1977 the first long duration orbital station of the third generation LDOS No. 5 Salyut-6 was injected into orbit; five prime crews and 11 visiting crews worked on this station till July 29, 1982. Lets note that the first expedition to the station did not take place. The Soyuz-25 spacecraft launched on October 9, 1977 with cosmonauts V.V. Kovalenok and V.V. Ryumin did not dock with the station because of the admitted deviations in the berthing and docking phase and also because of the propellant excessive consumption and it had to return to Earth. The first cosmonauts who visited the Salyut-6 station by the Soyuz 26 spacecraft were cosmonauts Yu.V. Romanenko and G.M. Grechko who had worked in orbit for more than 96 days, from December 10, 1977 to March 16, 1978.

The Salyut-6 Orbital Station with the Sloyuz-31 vehicle docked in flight
The Salyut-6 Orbital Station with the Sloyuz-31 vehicle docked in flight

During the first expedition a significant event occurred. On January 20, 1978 for the first time in the world the Progress-1 automatic cargo (tanker) vehicle was launched to the Salyut-6 station. It delivered the required cargo and refueled its propulsion system.

The second expedition cosmonauts V.V. Kovalenok and A.S. Ivanchenkov worked in orbit from June 15 to November 2, 1978, i.e. 139 days. This duration was a record again. Word record was often used during operation of orbital stations, however not the ambition to establish records induced the developers of space technology to pursue research. In particular regular research of a human body in the space flight conditions was conducted. A man found a new habitat and the process of its development became irreversible. It was very important to study all features of a long-term orbital flight and reveal all those hazards which wait for cosmonauts in such a flight. The third expedition cosmonauts V.V. Lyakhov and V.V. Ryumin worked from February 25 to August 19, 1979, i. e. 175 days. The fourth expedition cosmonauts L.I. Popov and V.V. Ryumin worked from April 9 to October 11, 1980. The crew spent in orbit already 185 days. The fifth expedition cosmonauts V.V. Kovalenok and V.P. Savinykh worked from March 12 to May 26, 1981, i.e. 74 days.

Work on the manned expedition to Mars had been performed at NPO/RSC Energia for a long time. The research results of long-term flights were very important for such a work and this research could be carried out on orbital stations only.

During the Salyut-6 OS operation when implementing a scientific program more than 1 550 different experiments were performed, more than 150 names of scientific devices and tools of the total mass more than 2 200 kg were used. Using a capability of the cargo delivery to the station, more than 750 kg of scientific devices were delivered to the station. Work was performed in the sphere of astrophysics (onboard submillimetre telescope OST-1M, radio telescope SRT-10, etc.), materials processing (processing plants Splav and Kristall), geophysics (photographic apparatus KATE-140, Pentakon, multi-zone camera MSC), biology, medicine, etc.

On July 29, 1982 the Salyut-6 orbital station with transport logistics vehicle (TLV) Kosmos1267 which operated as a part of MSC was de-orbited and ceased its existence over the Pacific Ocean.

News Archive

December  2019
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31

English

Долговременная орбитальная станция третьего поколения «Салют-6»


Так как ресурс любой ДОС, который весьма ограничен, определяется в основном запасами топлива и расходуемыми средствами системы обеспечения жизнедеятельности, размещенными на ней при выведении, встал вопрос о создании системы постоянного материально-технического снабжения орбитальных станций для обеспечения независимости их эксплуатационного ресурса от начального запаса бортовых ресурсов. Для этого на станции необходимо было иметь, как минимум, два стыковочных агрегата.

Этот проект был реализован уже в НПО «Энергия», образованном на базе ЦКБЭМ в мае 1974 года, которое возглавил В.П. Глушко. Главным конструктором направления был назначен Ю.П. Семенов. Был создан новый агрегатный отсек с двигательной установкой с сильфонными мембранами в баках, позволяющими дозаправлять ее топливом в полете. Второй стыковочный агрегат давал возможность не только дозаправлять станцию топливом, но и проводить смену экипажа с постоянным нахождением экипажа на борту станции. Это действительно было новым словом в космической технике, и не все верили в возможность реализации такого решения, но стремление сделать станцию действительно долговременной, с возможностью постоянного возобновления ее ресурсов, преодолевало сомнения. В состав новых станций была введена дополнительная переходная камера со вторым стыковочным агрегатом, который позволял находиться на станции одновременно кораблю «Союз» и грузовому кораблю «Прогресс» при дозаправке и доставке грузов или одновременно двум кораблям «Союз» при смене экипажа. Появилась возможность выхода в открытый космос, при этом переходный отсек стал шлюзовой камерой, где размещались скафандры и все оборудование, необходимое для обеспечения выхода из станции на ее внешнюю поверхность с использованием специальных поручней для перемещения и закрепления космонавтов в ходе внекорабельной деятельности (ВКД). Был усовершенствован ряд бортовых систем, внедрено цветное телевидение, а в рабочем отсеке для обеспечения нужд экипажа установлена складная душевая кабина. Ресурс станции был увеличен до трех лет.

Следует подчеркнуть, что разработчикам этого ПКК необходима была большая смелость, чтобы довериться пусть и высоконадежной, но все же автоматике кораблей «Прогресс», которые должны были многократно стыковаться к станции с экипажем на борту. И только сегодня видно, насколько правильным оказалось это решение. Корабли «Прогресс» позволили не только доставлять расходуемое оборудование, но и наращивать возможности станции по проведению научных исследований за счет доставки соответствующей научной аппаратуры. В процессе эксплуатации станции в ходе автономного полета кораблей «Прогресс» по завершении совместной фазы полета в составе ПКК был проведен ряд важных технических и прикладных экспериментов.

29 сентября 1977 года на орбиту была выведена первая долговременная орбитальная станция третьего поколения ДОС № 5 – «Салют-6», на которой до 29 июля 1982 года работали пять основных экспедиций и 11 экспедиций посещения. Отметим лишь, что первая экспедиция на станцию не состоялась. Космический корабль «Союз-25», запущенный 9 октября 1977 года с космонавтами В.В. Коваленком и В.В. Рюминым, не состыковался со станцией из-за допущенных отклонений на участке причаливания и стыковки, а также перерасхода топлива и вынужден был вернуться на Землю. Первыми космонавтами, посетившими станцию «Салют-6» на корабле «Союз-26», стали космонавты Ю.В. Романенко и Г.М. Гречко, проработавшие на орбите более 96 суток, с 10 декабря 1977 года по 16 марта 1978 года.

Орбитальная станция «Салют-6» с пристыкованным кораблем «Союз-31» в полете
Орбитальная станция «Салют-6» с пристыкованным кораблем «Союз-31» в полете

Во время первой экспедиции состоялось знаменательное событие. 20 января 1978 года впервые в мире к станции «Салют-6» стартовал автоматический грузовой корабль­заправщик «Прогресс-1», который доставил на станцию необходимые грузы и дозаправил ее двигательную установку.

Вторая экспедиция – космонавты В.В. Коваленок и А.С. Иванченков – работала на орбите с 15 июня по 2 ноября 1978 года, т. е. 139 сут. Эта продолжительность снова стала рекордной. Слово «рекорд» часто использовалось при эксплуатации орбитальных станций, однако не стремление к рекордам двигало разработчиков космической техники. Проводилось планомерное исследование человеческого организма в условиях космического полета. Человек обрел новую среду обитания, и процесс ее освоения стал необратимым. Очень важно было изучить все особенности длительного орбитального полета и выявить те опасности, которые ждут человека на этом пути. Третья экспедиция – космонавты В.В. Ляхов и В.В. Рюмин – работала с 25 февраля по 19 августа 1979 года, т. е. 175 сут. Четвертая экспедиция – космонавты Л.И. Попов и В.В. Рюмин – работала с 9 апреля по 11 октября 1980 года. Экипаж провел на орбите уже 185 сут. Пятая экспедиция – космонавты В.В. Коваленок и В.П. Савиных – работала с 12 марта по 26 мая 1981 года, т. е. 74 сут.

В течение длительного времени в НПО/РКК «Энергия» шли работы по пилотируемой экспедиции на Марс. Результаты исследований длительных полетов очень важны для таких работ, а эти исследования могли проводиться только на орбитальных станциях.

Во время эксплуатации ОС «Салют-6» при выполнении научной программы было проведено более 1 550 разноплановых экспериментов, использовано свыше 150 наименований научных приборов и инструментов суммарной массой более 2 200 кг. Используя возможность доставки на станцию грузов, на борт было привезено свыше 750 кг научных приборов. Работы проводились в области астрофизики (бортовой субмиллиметровый телескоп БСТ-1М, радиотелескоп КРТ-10 и др.), производства материалов (технологические установки «Сплав» и «Кристалл»), геофизики (фотоаппаратура КАТЭ-140, «Пентакон», многозональный фотоаппарат МКФ), биологии, медицины и др.

29 июля 1982 года орбитальная станция «Салют-6» с транспортным кораблем снабжения (ТКС) «Космос-1267», который функционировал в составе ПКК, была сведена с орбиты и прекратила свое существование над Тихим океаном.

Архив новостей

Апрель  2018
Пн Вт Ср Чт Пт Сб Вс
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30