Russian

Long duration orbital station of the second generation Salyut-4


The Salyut station was a new word in space technology, however the technical solutions implemented during its development quickly ceased to satisfy the developers. Some of them imposed certain constraints on efficiency of the station use, significantly limited the time of its operation. One of the disadvantages of this kind was a rigid installation of solar arrays (SA) on its body. For SA pointing to the Sun the corresponding turn of the whole station with its subsequent spin-up was required to keep the maximum SA lighting, in this case this spin-up shall be periodically repeated because of instability of the rotation itself that resulted in significant propellant consumption. Such a mode confined the conduct of research and reduced the total operation time of the station in orbit.

The basic structural change in the second generation station as compared with the first Salyut OS was introduction of three SA each of which could rotate around its longitudinal axis. To compensate the mass increase required for introduction of such SA the number of tanks of the propulsion system was decreased and to reduce the propellant needs for the orbit correction its altitude was increased to 350 km. Superefficient attitude control system Kaskad and experimental navigation system Delta were installed for the first time on the station and for the first time an experimental loop with heat pipes was used in thermal control system (TCS), all this proved to be very perspective for the subsequent generations of orbital stations. Also work on creating the closed cycle of the crew supply with water began, for which purpose system of water regeneration from condensate (SWR-C) was installed onboard the station; using this system moisture released by the crew during the vital activity was collected, cleared and became suitable for drinking. The new science hardware was installed, namely X-ray spectrometertelescope, mirror X-ray telescope (XRT-4), infrared spectrometer-telescope (IRST-R) and other scientific devices. The assured operation life of the station in orbit was prolonged from 90 to 180 days.

The first of the second generation stations LDOS No. 3 (Kosmos557) was injected into orbit on May 11, 1973. For orbit correction the attitude control system of the station was used, however because of the failure of the ionic flux sensors of the motion control system in the phase beyond the radio visibility zone the full fuel depletion of the correcting propulsion system of the long duration orbital station occurred that excluded a capability of its normal in-orbit operation. The station ceased its existence in May 1973. It was especially offensive to the work participants as on May 14, 1973 the first U.S. orbital station Skylab was injected into orbit; it was used during the forced break in Salyut OS flights.

In 19721973 engineers and workers of TsKBEM, TsKBM (F), ZEM and ZIKh manufactured new station of the second generation Long Duration Orbital Station 4 (article 17 No. 124). By the science hardware structure and content it was similar to LDOS3 lost earlier. On December 26, 1974 the station was launched and after injection it was called Salyut4. It was more lucky than all its predecessors: two expeditions of the duration of 28 and 63 days successfully worked onboard the Salyut-4 OS.

The Salyut-4 Orbital Station on the assembly trolley
The Salyut-4 Orbital Station on the assembly trolley

One of the tasks of the Salyut-4 station operation was work to support longer in-orbit operation of transport vehicles. To verify the Soyuz MTV service life the Soyuz-20 vehicle with no crew docked to the Salyut-4 station upon completion of its operation in the manned mode; the vehicle operated in orbit as a part of the complex for 97 days. On February 3, 1977 on command from Earth the Salyut-4 station was de-orbited and ceased its existence in the water area of the Pacific Ocean.

Work on the Salyut-4 station was highly appreciated by the country leaders. Chief Designer Yu.P. Semenov and assembler of the Soyuz vehicles, ZEM, V.I. Morozov were awarded a title of Hero of Socialist Labour. Some detail characteristic of that time is of interest. When approving candidates in the staff of the Central Committee of the CPSU, as it was done, there was a strong objection; it turned out that V.I. Morozov was not a member of the CPSU. But TsKBEM and ZEM leaders were not going to depart from the letter of the law. They had to solve the problem of admitting V.I. Morozov as a candidate member of the CPSU within two days. The objection of the Central Committee staff was withdrawn.

News Archive

November  2019
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30

English

Долговременная орбитальная станция второго поколения «Салют-4»


Станция «Салют» была новым словом в космической технике, однако реализованные при ее создании технические решения довольно быстро перестали удовлетворять разработчиков. Некоторые из них накладывали определенные ограничения на эффективность использования станции, значительно ограничивали время ее функционирования. Одним из недостатков такого рода была жесткая установка солнечных батарей (СБ) на ее корпусе. Для ориентации СБ на Солнце необходим был соответствующий разворот всей станции с последующей ее «закруткой» для сохранения максимального освещения СБ, причем «закрутку» нужно было периодически повторять из-за нестабильности самого вращения, что приводило к значительным расходам топлива. Такой режим ограничивал проведение научных исследований и сокращал общее время работы станции на орбите.

Основным конструктивным изменением в станции второго поколения по сравнению с первой ОС «Салют» было введение трех СБ, каждая из которых могла поворачиваться вокруг своей продольной оси. Для компенсации увеличения массы, требуемой для введения таких СБ, было уменьшено количество баков двигательной установки, а для снижения потребности в топливе на коррекцию орбиты ее высота была увеличена до 350 км. На станции впервые были установлены сверхэкономичная система ориентации «Каскад» и экспериментальная система навигации «Дельта», в систему терморегулирования впервые был введен экспериментальный контур с тепловыми трубами, все это оказалось очень перспективным для последующих поколений орбитальных станций. Также была начата работа по созданию замкнутого цикла обеспечения экипажа водой, для чего на борту была установлена система регенерации воды из конденсата (СРВ-К), с помощью которой выделяемая экипажем в процессе жизнедеятельности влага собиралась, очищалась и становилась пригодной для питья. Было установлено новое научное оборудование: рентгеновский телескоп-спектрометр, зеркальный рентгеновский телескоп РТ-4, инфракрасный телескоп-спектрометр ИТС-К и другие научные приборы. Гарантированный ресурс работы станции на орбите был продлен с 90 до 180 суток.

Первая из станций второго поколения ДОС № 3 («Космос-557») была выведена на орбиту 11 мая 1973 года. Для коррекции орбиты была включена система ориентации станции, однако из-за отказа датчиков ионного потока системы управления движением на участке вне зоны радиовидимости произошла полная выработка топлива корректирующей двигательной установки ДОС, что исключило возможность ее нормального функционирования на орбите. Станция прекратила свое существование в мае 1973 года. Это было особенно обидно участникам работ, так как 14 мая 1973 года на орбиту была выведена первая американская орбитальная станция «Скайлэб», которая начала эксплуатироваться во время вынужденного перерыва в полетах ОС «Салют».

В 1972–1973 годах инженеры и рабочие ЦКБЭМ, ЦКБМ (Ф), ЗЭМ и ЗИХ изготовили новую станцию второго поколения ДОС-4 (изделие 17К № 124). По конструкции и составу научной аппаратуры она была аналогична утерянной ранее ДОС-3. 26 декабря 1974 года станция была запущена и после выведения получила название «Салют-4». Ей повезло гораздо больше, чем всем ее предшественницам: на ОС «Салют-4» успешно отработали две экспедиции длительностью 28 и 63 суток.

Орбитальная станция «Салют-4» на монтажной тележке
Орбитальная станция «Салют-4» на монтажной тележке

Одной из задач эксплуатации станции «Салют-4» были работы по обеспечению более длительного функционирования на орбите транспортных кораблей. Для подтверждения ресурса ТПК «Союз» к станции «Салют-4» после завершения ее эксплуатации в пилотируемом режиме был пристыкован корабль «Союз-20» без экипажа, который функционировал на орбите в составе комплекса в течение 97 суток. 3 февраля 1977 года по команде с Земли станция «Салют-4» была сведена с орбиты и прекратила свое существование в акватории Тихого океана.

Работы по станции «Салют-4» были высоко оценены руководством страны. Главный конструктор Ю.П. Семенов и сборщик кораблей «Союз» ЗЭМ В.И. Морозов за эту работу были удостоены звания Героя Социалистического Труда. Интересна деталь, характерная для того времени. При согласовании кандидатур в аппарате ЦК КПСС, как это было положено, возникло резкое возражение: оказалось, В.И. Морозов не был членом КПСС. Но руководство ЦКБЭМ и ЗЭМ не собиралось отступать. Пришлось в два дня решить вопрос о приеме В.И. Морозова кандидатом в члены КПСС. Возражение аппарата ЦК было снято.

Архив новостей

Январь  2018
Пн Вт Ср Чт Пт Сб Вс
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31