Russian

Long duration orbital stations Salyut


Since 1970 the development of orbital stations was one of the main directions of TsKBEV (today it is RSC Energia) work. The results of this work are recognized by the world public as one of the most priority achievements of Russia in the field of manned cosmonautics.

The Salyut station was the first in the world orbital station; work on its development began in late 1969. TsKBEM at that time was the recognized leader in the field of the manned space program implementation in the USSR. The team of the Central Mechanical Engineering Design Bureau (TsKBM, Reutov) headed by General Designer V.N. Chelomei was involved in the development of manned vehicles in the interests of the Ministry of Defence of the USSR. TsKBM developed the Almaz manned orbital complex which should become a counterbalance to the U.S. MOL project (manned orbital station for military use for reconnaissance and control of the ground military objectives from orbit).

The USA actively worked on the creation of the Skylab orbital station using a tank of the Saturn-5 launch vehicle stage III as its pressurized body. The date of this station launch – mid-1972 had already been determined. Our country evidently missed the priority direction of work. The spirit of rivalry between two leading space powers was in a sense a strong stimulus to the development of space technology in them including the creation of orbital stations.

Taking into account that work in this direction had already been performed at TsKBEM and knowing about the actual state of work on the Almaz OS, the group of TsKBEM experts (K.D. Bushuev, S.O. Okhapkin, B.E. Chertok, S.S. Kryukov, K.P. Feoktistov, B.V. Rauschenbach) addressed to secretary of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union D.F. Ustinov with a proposal to develop an orbital station for solving scientific and national economic tasks as soon as possible. The essence of the proposal consisted in the development of the orbital station structure using the existing hardware of the orbital module of the Almaz station and the installation of the onboard systems of the Soyuz vehicle in it. The Soyuz vehicle itself (7K-T modification) was proposed to be used for the crew delivery to the station.

Despite the unique experience gained by TsKBEM in the field of manned cosmonauts the development of orbital stations required the solution of many new technical problems and organizational questions. In December 1969 this work was headed by Yu.P. Semenov as the leading designer.

So the subject of the development which within the next years was one of the main directions of work at TsKBEM was initiated.

In February 1970 the project of long duration orbital station (LDOS) which further was called Salyut was issued. In early March 1970 the first meeting of TsKBEM and TsKBM (F) specialists was held, who at a later time had to solve many technical and organizational problems and also uphold this direction of work in their organizations. Then, in March 1970, Yu.P. Semenov met with V.N. Chelomei for the first time. During this meeting it was possible to co-ordinate the transfer of four bodies of the Almaz station for work on long duration orbital station (LDOS). These four bodies were upgraded and for the development of the flight article and the breadboard models to check the accepted technical decisions. This allowed to reduce significantly the development time of the first in the world orbital station called Salyut.

Its Orbital Module consisted of the transfer, working and instrument compartments, as well as of the science hardware compartment. A set of solar arrays borrowed from vehicle 7K-OK was installed on the external surface of the transfer pressurized compartment 2.1 m in diameter. The working compartment had a pressure shell consisting of two rings 2.9 and 4.1 m in diameter which were connected between themselves by means of a conic adapter. The instrument compartment made as unpressurized 2.1 m in diameter was intended for arrangement of the correcting propulsion system borrowed from vehicle 7K-OK. On its external surface there was a system of two-component attitude-control engines newly developed and the second set of solar arrays also borrowed from vehicle 7K-OK was installed too. The station science hardware of a mass of 1.5 t included a solar telescope, X-ray telescope (RT-4), infrared telescope-spectrometer (IRTS); sight 60x (OD-4) and other equipment.

The station was created in the shortest time. The task of the station development and preparation for launch within a year was set at political level. It is necessary to note great enthusiasm with which participants of this unique project developed, manufactured and tested the first orbital station. Work went on round the clock without days off.

The second feature was that the station development was provided simultaneously at TsKBEM and TsKBM (F) but its manufacture – at the Khrunichev Plant and Experimental Machine-Building Plant (ZEM). The project and practically all basic systems of the station were developed at TsKBEM, manufacture of the main systems and delivery of component parts were provided at ZEM, design documentation for the body was issued at TsKBM (F), manufacture of the pressurized body, primary structure, basic structural elements, general assembly of the station were provided at the Khrunichev Plant. Integrated tests of the station after its assembly were carried out at TsKBEM.

The tight schedule dictated a special working procedure. Documentation preparation procedures were significantly simplified. The parts building was often provided according to the designer sketches. Simplification of the decision-making procedures did not lead to the quality degradation as the operational-technical management constantly and immediately accepted technical decisions.

In this case there was an interesting situation: Chief Designer and Head of TsKBEM V.P. Mishin did not participate in the proposal generation in the initial phase and was opposed to the activities with regard to the orbital station but General Designer and Head of TsKBM V.N. Chelomei was a strong opponent to this work transfer to TsKBEM. These managers could not stop work on the station as it was supported by the Central Committee of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union, but nevertheless the presence of such opposition created additional difficulties for work participants. In 1972 V.P. Mishin and V.N. Chelomei even sent the joint letter to Minister of General Machine-Building S.A. Afanasiev with the proposal to terminate work on the Salyut stations at TsKBEM as V.P. Mishin considered that the Moon development should be the main direction of work. However the hardware already existing and enthusiasm of the participants did not allow to terminate this work.

In December 1970 the orbital module of the station was assembled at the Khrunichev Plant and transferred to ZEM for carrying out tests after the termination of which in March 1971 it was delivered to the launch site. Work at the cosmodrome (on the workstation newly created) was performed within 40 days. From the beginning of the project development to the station launch into orbit less than 16 months passed. Never before such complex space vehicles were developed as soon as possible. It goes without saying that when developing the station structure and systems great experience of work participants and the technology advance with regard to the systems already developed was used. But the essential factors which allowed to do it were: enthusiasm and a high responsibility “reigning” in all the teams, the efficient work management, support of higher authorities such as the Central Committee of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union, Ministry of General Machine-Building (MGMB), the corresponding documentation maintenance procedure, the hardware development, manufacture and test.

On April 19, 1971 the Proton launch vehicle with LDOS No. 1 called Salyut was launched. This name remained for all the subsequent series of orbital stations. Only several people know that in fact the station name was Zarya. It was the word which was written in capital letters on the station body; it was the name of the first orbital station launched. But just before its launch the station was urgently renamed as it turned out that the Chinese space vehicle already had this name.

First Orbital Station Salyut on the assembly trolley at the Baikonur Cosmodrome
First Orbital Station Salyut on the assembly trolley at the Baikonur Cosmodrome

The delivery of the first in the world orbital station to orbit opened a new epoch in space exploration by man. The great number of organizations took part in its creation but the TsKBEM (RSC Energia) role in this work is, of course, decisive. It was the prime organization engaged in the subject, which provided the development of the station project and systems and also the manned vehicles for the crew delivery to it.

The first expedition to the station (cosmonauts V.A. Shatalov, A.S. Eliseev and N.N. Rukavishnikov) on the Soyuz-10 vehicle was lunched from the Baikonur Cosmodrome on April 23, 1971. The station mechanical capture was provided using the docking mechanism of the Soyuz-10 vehicle but because of the malfunctions occurred during retraction the normal docking did not occur and the crew had to return to Earth.

The second expedition was launched into orbit on June 6, 1971 by the Soyuz-11 vehicle. The docking and the crew transfer to the station passed normally. The cosmonauts worked in orbit for about 23 days having established an absolute record of the man stay in space. The crew implemented the program of scientific, technical and medical experiments. The mapping of the star sky was provided using ultraviolet telescope Orion (such observations cannot be made on Earth because of the radiation absorption by the atmosphere in the ultraviolet spectrum); exploration of the water area of the World Ocean in the interests of fishery; a great program of medical experiments.

Soyuz-11 with the crew undocked from the station and made a landing to Earth on June 30, 1971. The landing had a tragic end: cosmonauts G.T. Dobrovolsky, V.N. Volkov and V.I. Patsaev died because of the descent vehicle depressurization. In connection with this failure the crew flights to the station were not performed further and the station operated in orbit in the unmanned mode. On October 11, 1971 on command from Earth the station entered the dense atmospheric layers over the water area of the Pacific Ocean and ceased to exist.

News Archive

July  2019
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31

English

Долговременная орбитальная станция «Салют»


Начиная с 1970 года одним из главных направлений работ ЦКБЭМ (сегодня РКК «Энергия») стала разработка орбитальных станций. Результаты этой работы признаны мировой общественностью как одно из наиболее приоритетных достижений России в области пилотируемой космонавтики.

Первой в мире орбитальной станцией стала станция «Салют», работа над которой началась в конце 1969 года. В это время ЦКБЭМ было в СССР признанным лидером в области реализации пилотируемых космических программ. Над созданием пилотируемых средств в интересах Минобороны СССР работал и коллектив Центрального конструкторского бюро машиностроения (ЦКБМ, г. Реутов), возглавляемый генеральным конструктором В.Н. Челомеем. ЦКБМ разрабатывал пилотируемый орбитальный комплекс «Алмаз», который должен был стать противовесом американскому проекту MOL (пилотируемая орбитальная станция военного назначения с задачами разведки и управления с орбиты наземными военными средствами).

США активно работали над созданием орбитальной станции «Скайлэб» с использованием в качестве ее гермокорпуса бака III ступени ракеты-носителя «Сатурн-5». Был уже определен срок запуска этой станции – середина 1972 года. Наша страна явно упускала приоритетное направление работ. Дух соперничества между двумя ведущими космическими державами явился, в известном смысле, прекрасным стимулом для развития в них космической техники, в том числе по направлению создания орбитальных станций.

Учитывая, что в ЦКБЭМ в этом направлении работы уже велись, и зная о действительном состоянии работ по ОС «Алмаз», группа специалистов ЦКБЭМ (К.Д. Бушуев, С.О. Охапкин, Б.Е. Черток, С.С. Крюков, К.П. Феоктистов, Б.В. Раушенбах) обратилась к секретарю ЦК КПСС Д.Ф. Устинову с предложением в короткие сроки создать орбитальную станцию научного и народнохозяйственного назначения. Суть предложения заключалась в создании конструкции орбитальной станции с использованием задела по орбитальному блоку станции «Алмаз» и установке на нем бортовых систем космического корабля «Союз». Сам корабль «Союз» (модификация 7К-Т) предлагалось использовать для доставки на станцию экипажа.

Несмотря на уникальный опыт, накопленный ЦКБЭМ в области пилотируемой космонавтики, создание орбитальных станций требовало решения многих новых технических проблем и организационных вопросов. В декабре 1969 года эти работы возглавил Ю.П. Семенов в качестве ведущего конструктора.

Так была начата тема, которой в течение последующих лет суждено было стать одним из основных направлений работ в ЦКБЭМ.

В феврале 1970 года был выпущен проект по долговременной орбитальной станции (ДОС), которая в дальнейшем стала называться «Салют». В начале марта 1970 года состоялась первая встреча специалистов ЦКБЭМ и ЦКБМ (Ф), которым в дальнейшем суждено было совместно решать множество технических и организационных проблем, а также отстаивать это направление работ в своих организациях. Тогда же, в марте 1970 года, Ю.П. Семенов впервые встретился с В.Н. Челомеем. Во время этой встречи удалось согласовать передачу четырех корпусов станции «Алмаз» для работ по ДОС. Эти четыре корпуса были доработаны и использованы для создания летного изделия, а также экспериментальных макетов для проверки принятых технических решений. Это позволило значительно сократить сроки создания первой в мире орбитальной станции «Салют».

Ее орбитальный блок состоял из переходного, рабочего и агрегатного отсеков, а также отсека научной аппаратуры. На наружной поверхности переходного герметичного отсека диаметром 2,1 м с агрегатом стыковки был установлен комплект солнечных батарей, заимствованных с корабля 7К-ОК. Рабочий отсек имел герметичную оболочку, состоящую из двух обечаек диаметром 2,9 и 4,1 м, соединенных между собой коническим переходником. Агрегатный отсек в негерметичном исполнении диаметром 2,1 м был предназначен для размещения корректирующей двигательной установки, заимствованной с корабля 7К-ОК. На его внешней поверхности располагалась система двухкомпонентных двигателей ориентации, разработанная вновь, и установлен второй комплект солнечных батарей, также заимствованных с корабля 7К-ОК. Научное оборудование станции массой 1,5 т включало солнечный телескоп, рентгеновский телескоп (РТ-4), инфракрасный телескоп­спектрометр (ИТС-К), визир с 60-кратным увеличением (ОД-4) и другую аппаратуру.

Станция была создана в чрезвычайно короткие сроки. Задача разработать и подготовить станцию к запуску в течение года была поставлена на политическом уровне. Следует отметить большой энтузиазм, с которым участники этого уникального проекта разрабатывали, изготавливали и испытывали первую орбитальную станцию. Работы велись круглосуточно, без выходных дней.

Второй особенностью явилось то, что разработка станции проводилась одновременно в ЦКБЭМ и ЦКБМ (Ф), а изготовление – на Заводе имени М.В. Хруничева (ЗИХ) и Заводе экспериментального машиностроения (ЗЭМ). Проект и практически все основные системы станции разрабатывались в ЦКБЭМ, изготовление основных систем и поставка комплектующих – на ЗЭМ, конструкторская документация на корпус выпускалась в ЦКБМ (Ф), изготовление гермокорпуса, силового интерьера, основных элементов конструкции, общая сборка изделия проводились на ЗИХ. Комплексные испытания станции после сборки выполнялись в ЦКБЭМ.

Сжатые сроки диктовали особую технологию работ. Были существенно упрощены процедуры подготовки документации. Изготовление деталей часто проводилось по эскизам конструктора. Упрощение процедур принятия решений не привело к снижению качества, поскольку оперативно­техническое руководство действовало постоянно для незамедлительного принятия технических решений.

При этом сложилась любопытная ситуация: главный конструктор и руководитель ЦКБЭМ В.П. Мишин не участвовал в формировании предложения на начальном этапе и находился в оппозиции к работам по орбитальной станции, а генеральный конструктор и руководитель ЦКБМ В.Н. Челомей был откровенным противником передачи этих работ ЦКБЭМ. Остановить работы по станции, так как они поддерживались ЦК КПСС эти руководители не могли, но тем не менее наличие такой оппозиции создавало дополнительные трудности для участников работ. В 1972 году В.П. Мишин и В.Н. Челомей даже направили министру общего машиностроения С.А. Афанасьеву совместное письмо с предложением прекратить работы по станциям «Салют» в ЦКБЭМ, так как В.П. Мишин считал, что главным направлением работ ЦКБЭМ должно быть освоение Луны. Однако уже созданный задел и энтузиазм участников не позволили прекратить эти работы.

В декабре 1970 года на ЗИХ был собран орбитальный блок станции и передан на ЗЭМ для проведения испытаний, после окончания которых в марте 1971 года он был отправлен на техническую позицию. Работы на космодроме (на вновь созданном рабочем месте) были проведены за 40 дней. От начала разработки проекта до запуска станции на орбиту прошло меньше 16 месяцев. Еще никогда космические аппараты такой сложности не создавались в крайне сжатые сроки. Разумеется, при разработке конструкции и систем станции использовался громадный опыт участников работ и технический задел по уже разработанным системам. Но существенными факторами, позволившими это сделать, были: энтузиазм и высокая ответственность, царившие в коллективах, умелая организация работ, поддержка вышестоящих организаций (ЦК КПСС, Министерство общего машиностроения), соответствующая технология ведения документации, разработки, изготовления и испытаний материальной части.

19 апреля 1971 года стартовала ракета-носитель «Протон» с ДОС № 1, которая получила название «Салют». Это название сохранилось для всей последующей серии орбитальных станций. Мало кто знает, что название станции в действительности было «Заря». Именно это слово крупными буквами было написано на ее корпусе, с этим названием первая станция ушла в полет. Но пришлось срочно, буквально перед стартом, ее переименовывать, потому что, как оказалось, это название для космического аппарата уже использовалось в Китае.

Первая орбитальная станция «Салют» на монтажной тележке на космодроме Байконур
Первая орбитальная станция «Салют» на монтажной тележке на космодроме Байконур

Появление на орбите первой в мире орбитальной станции открыло новую эпоху в исследовании человеком космического пространства. В ее создании участвовало большое количество организаций, но роль ЦКБЭМ (РКК «Энергия») в этой работе, безусловно, является решающей. Она была головной организацией по теме, обеспечив разработку и проекта, и систем станции, и пилотируемых кораблей для доставки к ней экипажей.

Первая экспедиция на станцию (космонавты В.А. Шаталов, А.С. Елисеев и Н.Н. Рукавишников) на корабле «Союз-10» стартовала с космодрома Байконур 23 апреля 1971 года. Механический захват станции с помощью стыковочного механизма корабля «Союз-10» был выполнен, но из-за неполадок, возникших при стягивании, штатная стыковка не состоялась, и экипажу пришлось вернуться на Землю.

Вторая экспедиция стартовала на орбиту 6 июня 1971 года на корабле «Союз-11». Стыковка и переход экипажа на станцию прошли нормально. Космонавты работали на орбите около 23 суток, установив абсолютный рекорд пребывания человека в космосе. Экипаж выполнил программу научных, технических и медицинских экспериментов. Было проведено картографирование звездного неба с помощью ультрафиолетового телескопа «Орион» (такие наблюдения не могут проводиться на Земле из-за поглощения атмосферой излучения в ультрафиолетовой области спектра); исследование акватории Мирового океана в интересах рыбного хозяйства; большая программа медицинских экспериментов.

«Союз-11» с экипажем был отстыкован от станции и совершил посадку на Землю 30 июня 1971 года. Посадка завершилась трагически: космонавты Г.Т. Добровольский, В.Н. Волков и В.И. Пацаев погибли из-за разгерметизации СА. В связи с аварией полеты экипажей на станцию далее не проводились, и она функционировала на орбите в беспилотном режиме. 11 октября 1971 года по команде с Земли станция вошла в плотные слои атмосферы над акваторией Тихого океана и прекратила свое существование.

Архив новостей

Сентябрь  2018
Пн Вт Ср Чт Пт Сб Вс
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30