Valentin Petrovich Glushko
(1908-1989)

Valentin Petrovich Glushko

 

 

Scientist, the farther of our country's liquid propulsion engineering,
full member of the USSR Academy of Sciences,
twice Hero of Socialist Labor,
winner of Lenin and State Prizes of USSR

Graduated from Leningrad State University (1929), Doctor of Science, Engineering (1957), corresponding member (1953), full member (1958) of the USSR Academy of Sciences. Full member of the International Academy of Astronautics.
1974 to 1977 - director and general designer of NPO Energia, 1977 to 1989 - general designer of NPO Energia of the Ministry of General Machinebuilding of the USSR, Kaliningrad, Moscow region.
He is the founder of a scientific school in the field of applied liquid propulsion engineering, a member of the first Council of Chief Designers.
Designer of the world's first electrothermal rocket engine (1928-1933), first Soviet liquid rocket engines ORM (1930-1931), a family of rockets RLA using liquid propulsion (1932-1933), powerful liquid propellant engines installed virtually on all of our country's launch vehicles, which put into orbit the first and subsequent satellites, spacecraft with Y.A. Gagarin and other cosmonauts, supported missions to the Moon and planets of the Solar system.
He was in charge of work on the development of space stations Salyut, Mir, space rocket system Energia-Buran, a common series of our country's launch vehicles. During the same period of time, developed under his direction were the world's most powerful liquid rocket engines for Zenit and Energia launch vehicles.
Being the chairman of the Council of Chief Designers, in 1974-1989 he was providing technical management and coordination of activities of companies and organizations in our country's rocket and space industry within the framework of projects developed under the leadership of NPO Energia.
He made his contribution to the world science: his work on fundamental handbooks on thermal constants, thermodynamic and thermophysical properties of various substances (1956 through 1982 - 40 books) are highly appreciated throughout the world. He authored more than 400 scientific papers, articles and inventions. He chaired and sat on many academic boards, was the editor-in-chief of three editions of Cosmonautics Encyclopedia (1968, 1970, 1985). For several decades he headed an academic board for liquid rocket propellants under the Presidium of the USSR Academy of Sciences. He was a deputy to the Supreme Soviet of the USSR of the 5th through 11th convocations, a member of the Central Committee of CPSU (1976-1989).
Winner of the Lenin Prize (1957) and State Prizes of the USSR (1967, 1984). Twice Hero of Socialist Labor (1956, 1961). He is a holder of the orders of Lenin (1956, 1958, 1968, 1975, 1978), of the October Revolution (1971), of the Red Banner of Labor (1945), many medals including the Tsiolkovsky gold medal from the USSR Academy of Sciences (1958). Monuments to him are erected in Odessa and Moscow. Named after him is NPO Energomash in Khimki, Moscow region. His name was given to a crater on the Moon. A memorial plaque was installed on the premises of RSC Energia at the main entrance to the building where he had worked. V.P.Glushko is an honorary citizen of Kazan, Kaluga, Leninsk, Odessa, Primorsk, Khimki, Elista.

News Archive

November  2019
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30

English

Валентин Петрович Глушко
(1908-1989)

Валентин Петрович Глушко

 

 

Ученый, основоположник отечественного жидкостного ракетного двигателестроения
Академик АН СССР
Дважды Герой Социалистического Труда
Лауреат Ленинской и Государственных премий СССР

Окончил Ленинградский государственный университет (1929), дтн (1957), член-корреспондент (1953), академик АН СССР (1958). Действительный член Международной академии астронавтики.
С 1974 по 1977 г. - директор и генеральный конструктор НПО "Энергия", с 1977 по 1989 г. - генеральный конструктор НПО "Энергия" MOM СССР, г. Калининград Московской обл.
Создатель научной школы в области практического жидкостного ракетного двигателестроения, член первого Совета главных конструкторов.
Конструктор первого в мире электротермического РД (1928-1933), первых советских ЖРД ОРМ (1930-1931), семейства ракет РЛА на жидком топливе (1932-1933), мощных ЖРД, установленных практически на всех отечественных РН, которые вывели на орбиту первые и последующие ИСЗ, КК с Ю.А. Гагариным и другими космонавтами, обеспечили полеты к Луне и планетам Солнечной системы.
Руководил работами над созданием орбитальных комплексов "Салют", "Мир", ракетно-космической системы "Энергия-Буран", унифицированного ряда отечественных ракет-носителей. В этот же период времени под его руководством созданы самые мощные в мире жидкостные ракетные двигатели для ракет-носителей "Зенит" и "Энергия".
Как председатель Совета главных конструкторов обеспечивал в 1974-1989 гг. техническое руководство и координацию работ предприятий и организаций ракетно-космической промышленности страны по проектам, разрабатывавшимся при головной роли НПО "Энергия".
Внес вклад в мировую науку: его работы над созданием фундаментальных справочников по термическим константам, термодинамическим и теплофизическим свойствам различных веществ (с 1956 по 1982 г. - 40 книг) высоко оценены во всем мире. Автор более 400 научных работ, статей и изобретений. Был председателем и членом многих научных советов, являлся главным редактором трех изданий энциклопедии "Космонавтика" (1968, 1970, 1985). Несколько десятилетий возглавлял Научный совет при Президиуме АН СССР по проблеме "Жидкое ракетное топливо". Был депутатом Верховного Совета СССР V-XI-го созывов, членом ЦК КПСС (1976-1989).
Лауреат Ленинской (1957), Государственных (1967, 1984) премий СССР. Дважды Герой Социалистического Труда (1956, 1961). Награжден орденами Ленина (1956, 1958, 1968, 1975, 1978), Октябрьской Революции (1971), Трудового Красного Знамени (1945), многими медалями, в числе которых золотая медаль им. К.Э. Циолковского АН СССР № 2 (1958). Ему установлены памятники в Одессе и Москве. Его имя присвоено НПО "Энергомаш", г. Химки Московской обл. Его именем назван кратер на Луне. Установлен памятный барельеф на территории РКК "Энергия" на парадном входе в корпус, где он работал. В.П. Глушко является почетным гражданином городов Казань, Калуга, Ленинск, Одесса, Приморск, Химки, Элиста.

Архив новостей

Декабрь  2018
Пн Вт Ср Чт Пт Сб Вс
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 26 27 28 29
30 31