homepage
WORK DONE IN SUPPORT OF MISSION TO MARS

Russian
   
Work done in Russia in preparation for a Martian mission

800651
(42 590 bytes)

Engineering experiments aimed at testing and developing engineering solutions for a future interplanetary vehicle were a prominent activity during missions of Salyut and Mir space stations. On these space stations, large truss structures were deployed, various materials and surfaces were exposed to space environment, closed water and oxygen loops life support systems were tested, etc.

An important result of the work done on the space stations was the development of equipment supporting long-duration manned space missions and a test of the human body responses to such a mission. Such a work could only be done on-board space stations.

Today, it can be stated that we have already traveled a considerable part of the way towards organizing the first manned mission to Mars.

Areas of activities Completed work When
Energia launch vehicle Developed in 1987. It has passed developmental flight tests 1987-1988
In-orbit assembly scheme A system for assembling the vehicle elements has passed developmental tests. More than 200 dockings were performed. 1965-2000
Truss deployment experiments Experiments with various truss and reflector shapes were conducted on-board Salyut and Mir 1982-2000
Film-type solar array A thin-film solar array with amorphous silicon (20 microns thick) was exposed to space environment on Mir space station 1998
Prototype modules A line of prototype Martian modules delivered to a space station on Progress spacecraft has been developed. The first Module-M is in the test phase. 1998-2001
Electrical rocket engines DAS engines have been developed. Engine DAS-55 operated in orbit (STEX) 1972
Life support systems Closed oxygen and water loop systems have been developed. 1982-2000
Control systems Multi-computer systems have been built and developed, prototype systems exist. 1987-2000
Experience in long-duration missions A procedure for long-duration mission support has been developed, there have been several missions lasting longer than 1-1.5 years. 1971-2000

Launch vehicle Energia before its lift-off (1987)
A docking of Progress spacecraft with Mir space station

640491
(82 159 bytes)
A Space Shuttle docking with Mir space station

639539
(77 326 bytes)
Development of long-duration missions on space stations Salyut and Mir

800578
(19 694 bytes)

At present, launch vehicles have been developed that are capable of putting into a low Earth orbit individual parts of the Martian vehicle. It would require, for example, 6-7 launches of Energia- or Saturn 5B-class launch vehicles.
An automatic docking system has been developed which will allow to incrementally assemble individual parts of the vehicle into an integrated structure..
Such system has already been used in about 150 automatic dockings with Salyut and Mir space station.

The space stations were used to study human body behavior when exposed to long-term spaceflight environments, to develop life support systems with closed oxygen and water loops. That is, the systems where oxygen and water consumed by the crew are recovered for re-use after special physical and chemical processing.

The experience of a long-duration manned space flight already exists. Three cosmonauts worked on-board Mir for about 1 year, while cosmonaut and physician Valeri Polyakov has completed a mission to the space station lasting for almost a year and a half, during which medical research important for future interplanetary missions was conducted.

Film-type solar arrays also exist. In October 1998, cosmonauts placed on the outside surface of Mir space station some samples of film-type solar array, which constitutes a key element of the Martian vehicle, in order to study how they are affected by actual space environments. These samples have been returned to Earth and are being studied. But it's not too early to say that the results look good.
Electrical rocket engines are widely used in space technology, and anode layer engines (of the DAS type) look very promising for use in the Martian vehicle from the standpoint of their service life, specific impulse and reliability. These Russian engines have been flight-tested in orbit on the US STEX satellite.
Space stations Salyut and Mir provided an experience in the deployment of long truss structures, which are required as a base to support film-like solar arrays (trusses Mayak, Rapana, Sofora and other). No serious problems are foreseen for the deployment of 300-meter trusses.
The least developed element of the interplanetary vehicle system is the landing and ascent spacecraft. Development of such a spacecraft is a complex but feasible engineering problem. The experience in landing robotic spacecraft on the planet exists, and this experience can be used for the development of manned landers as well. There is also an experience in astronauts' landing on and taking off from the lunar surface under Apollo program which should also be used in the development of the Martian mission elements.

 

Experimental film-type solar array

640508
(49 898 bytes)
Tests of an anode layer
electrical rocket engine

484480
(46 281bytes)
Developmental tests
of various designs for transformable
truss structures for solar arrays

800596
(118 635 bytes)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Official WEB-site of S.P.Korolev RSC Energia
E-mail:mail@rsce.ru

на главную
РАБОТЫ В ОБЕСПЕЧЕНИЕ МАРСИАНСКОЙ ЭКСПЕДИЦИИ

English
   
Работы в интересах подготовки марсианской экспедиции в России

800х612
(42 150 bytes)

Большое место при полетах орбитальных станций "Салют" и "Мир" занимали технические эксперименты, где проверялись и отрабатывались технические решения будущего межпланетного комплекса. На станциях разворачивались большие форменные конструкции, экспонировались различные материалы и покрытия, отрабатывались системы жизнеобеспечения "с замкнутым циклом" по воде и кислороду и т.д.
Важным результатом работ на орбитальных станциях явилась отработка средств обеспечения длительного полета человека в космосе и проверка реакции организма человека на этот полет. Только на орбитальных станциях могла быть выполнена эта работа.
Сегодня можно констатировать, что значительная часть пути к организации первого полета человека на Марс уже пройдена.

Направления
деятельности
Выполненные работы Сроки
проведения
Ракета "Энергия" Создана в 1987 году. Прошла ЛКИ. 1987-1988
Системы сборки на орбите Система сборки элементов корабля отработана. Проведено более 200 стыковок. 1965-2000
Опыт создания ферм На станциях "Салют" и "Мир" проведены эксперименты с различными вариантами ферм и рефлекторов. 1982-2000
Пленочные солнечные батареи На станции "Мир" проведено экспонирование тонкопленочной солнечной батареи с аморфным кремнием (толщина 20 мкм). 1998
Экспериментальные модули Разработана серия модулей прообразов марсианских кораблей, доставляемых на орбитальную станцию кораблями "Прогресс". Первый "Модуль-М" находится на этапе испытаний. 1998-2001
Электрореактивные двигатели Отработаны двигатели ДАС. Двигатель ДАС-55 работал на орбите (STEX). 1972
Системы жизнеобеспечения Отработаны системы с замкнутым циклом по кислороду и воде. 1982-2000
Системы управления Созданы и отработаны многомашинные системы, имеются прототипы систем. 1987-2000
Опыт длительных полетов Отработана методика обеспечения длительных полетов, проведено несколько полетов более 1-1,5 лет. 1971-2000

Ракета-носитель "Энергия"
Стыковка корабля "Прогресс" к орбитальному комплексу "Мир"

640х491
(82 159 bytes)
Стыковка корабля "Шаттл" к орбитальному комплексу "Мир"

639х539
(77 326 bytes)
Отработка длительных полётов
на орбитальных станциях
“Салют” и “Мир”


800х567
(19 788 bytes)

В настоящее время разработаны ракеты-носители, способные вывести на околоземную орбиту отдельные части корабля. Для этого нужно, например, 6-7 пусков ракеты-носителя типа "Энергия" или "Сатурн 5В".
Отработана система автоматической стыковки, которая обеспечит последовательную сборку отдельных частей корабля в единую конструкцию. С помощью такой системы уже выполнено более 200 автоматических стыковок на станциях "Салют" и "Мир".
На орбитальных станциях исследовалось поведение человеческого организма в условиях длительного космического полета, отрабатывались системы жизнеобеспечения "с замкнутым циклом" по кислороду и воде. То есть и кислород, и вода, потребляемые экипажем, с использованием специальных физико-химических процессов восстанавливаются для повторного употребления после переработки.
Опыт длительного полета человека в условиях космического пространства уже есть. Три космонавта работали на станции "Мир" около 1 года, а космонавт-врач Валерий Поляков выполнил на станции почти полуторагодовой полет, во время которого проводились медицинские исследования, важные для будущего межпланетного перелета.
Пленочные солнечные батареи тоже существуют. В октябре 1998 года на внешней поверхности станции "Мир" космонавты разместили образцы пленочной солнечной батареи - ключевого элемента марсианского корабля - для исследования влияния на них реальных условий космического пространства. Эти образцы возвращены на Землю, они исследуются. Но уже сейчас можно говорить о положительном результате.
Электрореактивные двигатели широко используются в космической технике, и двигатели с анодным слоем (тип ДАС) являются весьма перспективными по ресурсу, удельной тяге и надежности для использования на марсианском корабле. Эти российские двигатели прошли отработку в реальном космическом полете на американском спутнике STEX.
На орбитальных станциях "Салют" и "Мир" получен опыт по разворачиванию протяженных ферменных конструкций, которые необходимы в качестве основы для размещения пленочных солнечных батарей (фермы "Маяк", "Рапана", "Софора" и другие). Не видно серьезных проблем в создании 300-метровых ферм.
Наименее отработанный элемент межпланетного комплекса - это взлетно-посадочный корабль. Создание этого аппарата - сложная, но реальная техническая проблема. Есть опыт посадки на планету автоматов, этот опыт может использоваться для разработки и пилотируемых посадочных аппаратов. Есть опыт посадки и взлета астронавтов с поверхности Луны по программе "Аполлон", который также должен использоваться при создании элементов марсианской экспедиции.

 

Экспериментальная
плёночная
солнечная батарея

640х508
(49 898 bytes)
Испытания
электрореактивного
двигателя с анодным слоем

484х480
(46 281bytes)
Отработка различных вариантов
трансформируемых ферменных конструкций
для солнечных батарей

800х596
(118 635 bytes)
 

 

 

 

 

Официальный сайт РКК "Энергия" им С.П. Королева
E-mail:mail@rsce.ru