homepage
LAUNCHERS
Rocket RT-2P

Russian
   

In 1959 the Government Decree enacted OKB-1 to initiate work on the development of ballistic rockets using solid propellant RT-1 with a warhead flight range of 2 500 km, a launch mass of up to 35 t, and a combat charge mass of 500 kg.
In parallel, the tasks were pursued to implement work on RT-2 assuming the development of a ballistic rocket with a warhead flight range from 10 000 to 12 000 km and a combat charge mass of up to 500 kg. Development and flight tests of experimental rocket RT-1 allowed to gain experience in ground processing and flight testing of solid propellant rockets and to refine certain performance requirements for solid propellant rockets.
The RT-2 preliminary design has been worked out in 1963. It was assumed to use a warhead of 500 kg mass for a firing range from 10 000 to 12 000 km and a warhead of 1400 kg mass for a firing range from 4000 to 5000 km. The rocket had to be launched from a protected silo, its launch readiness had to be L - 3 - 5 minutes.
The possibility was envisioned, through combining stages of rocket RT-2, to develop medium range rockets. All parameters of rocket RT-2 (propellant distribution between stages, a diameter of engines, their burn time, pressure in chambers and at a nozzle exit, etc.) were selected close to optimal. Nevertheless, rocket RT-2 required further improvement. A mix of propellants was made in individual molds, then a charge was inserted into a shell, and a gap between the charge and the shell was filled with special binding material. This brought certain difficulties in manufacturing the solid-propellant rocket and required new design and engineering solutions to eliminate these difficulties when designing the following modifications of rocket RT-2.
One of the rockets, RT-2P, was burning solid propellant based on butyl rubber of high plasticity showing no appreciable aging and cracking during storage. This propellant was directly filled in the engine shell, then polymerized and required surfaces of charge burning were formed thereupon.
Special devices were developed to exclude an unauthorized ignition of engines at the launch pad and solid-propellant engine warranty storage life was increased that improved the rocket quality greatly.
The RT-2 flight test program assumed 32 launches. The launches took place from February to July 1966 from the Kapustin Yar launch site and from November 1966 to October 1968 from the Plesetsk launch site. The first successful launch of rocket RT-2 occurred on February 26, 1966.
On December 18, 1968 rocket RT-2 entered service.
From January 1970 to March 1971 flight tests of modified rocket RT-2P were carried out. The rocket was equipped with an antirocket radio protection system for the warhead, a more powerful warhead, stage III was equipped with a new engine and burning, more efficient propellant.
In 1972, rocket RT-2P entered service.
This rocket was the most felicitous design of OKB-1 that contributed greatly to support parity in the rocket-nuclear "competition" and enhanced safety of our Motherland.
Presently, rockets RT-2P are phased out by reason of their warranty storage life expiration.

 

 

 

 

 

Official WEB-site of S.P.Korolev RSC Energia
E-mail:mail@rsce.ru

на главную
средства выведения
Ракета РТ-2П

English
   

В 1959 году в ОКБ-1 во исполнение Постановления правительства развернулись работы по созданию баллистических ракет на твердом топливе РТ-1 с дальностью полета головной части 2 500 км, стартовой массой до 35 т и с массой боевого заряда 500 кг.
Одновременно ставились задачи по выполнению работ по теме РТ-2, которой предусматривалась разработка баллистической ракеты с дальностью полета головной части 10 000 - 12 000 км и массой боевого заряда до 500 кг.
Разработка и летные испытания экспериментальной ракеты РТ-1 позволили накопить опыт по наземной и летной отработке ракет на твердом топливе и дали возможность уточнить ряд технических характеристик перспективных ракет с РДТТ.
Эскизный проект ракеты РТ-2 был разработан в 1963 году. На ракете предусматривалось применение головной части массой 500 кг при стрельбе на дальность 10 000 - 12 000 км и головной части массой 1400 кг - на дальность 4000 - 5000 км. Старт ракеты должен был производиться из защищенной шахты, готовность к пуску составляла 3 - 5 мин.
Предусматривалась возможность путем комбинации ступеней ракеты РТ-2 создавать ракеты на промежуточные дальности. Все параметры ракеты РТ-2 (распределение топлива между ступенями, диаметр двигателей, время их работы, давление в камерах сгорания и на срезе сопла и др.) были выбраны близкими к оптимальным. И все же ракета РТ-2 требовала дальнейшего совершенствования. Так, смесевое топливо формировалось в отдельных пресс-формах, затем заряд вкладывался в корпус, а зазор между зарядом и корпусом заливался связующим веществом. Это создавало определенные трудности при изготовлении РДТТ ракеты и требовало новых конструкторских и технологических решений, которые исключили бы сложности при разработке последующих модификаций ракеты РТ-2.
Одна из них - ракета РТ-2П имела твердое топливо на основе бутилкаучука, обладающего высокой пластичностью, не имеющего заметного старения и растрескивания в процессе хранения. Это топливо заливалось сразу в корпус двигателя, затем производились полимеризация и формирование необходимых поверхностей горения заряда.
Были разработаны специальные средства, исключающие несанкционированный запуск двигателей на старте, и увеличены гарантийные сроки хранения РДТТ, что существенно повысило качество ракеты.
Программой ЛКИ ракеты РТ-2 предусматривалось проведение 32 пусков ракет. Пуски проводились в феврале-июле 1966 года с полигона в Капустином Яре и с ноября 1966 по октябрь 1968 года с полигона Плесецк. Первый успешный пуск ракеты РТ-2 состоялся 26 февраля 1966 года.
18 декабря 1968 года ракета РТ-2 была принята на вооружение.
С января 1970 года по март 1971 года на полигоне Плесецк были проведены летные испытания модернизированной ракеты РТ-2П. Ракета имела комплекс средств радиотехнической защиты ГЧ от средств противоракетной обороны, более мощную ГЧ, на III ступени применен новый двигатель и улучшенное по энергетике топливо.
В 1972 году ракета РТ-2П принята на вооружение.
Эта ракета - одна из самых удачных разработок ОКБ-1, существенно повлиявшая на поддержание паритета в ракетно-ядерном "соревновании" и укрепившая безопасность нашей Родины.
В настоящее время ракеты РТ-2П сняты с вооружения в связи с окончанием гарантийного срока их хранения.

 

 

 

 

 

Официальный сайт РКК "Энергия" им С.П. Королева
E-mail:mail@rsce.ru