homepage
LAUNCHERS
 

Russian
   

S.P.Korolev RSC Energia receives numerous questions and requests from agencies, companies and individuals from abroad to tell them about the Corporation's experience in the development of rocket and space systems for various purposes, about work performed by our organization together with other companies and organizations of this country, and about a comparative assessment of the costs of new systems development with respect to other similar projects.
Materials answering these questions are presented in the appropriate sections of this Corporation's web-site. In order to facilitate the search and comprehension of these materials, we provide below some general information about our company's activities in the development of launcher facilities of various classes:

Our company (formerly known as Special Design Bureau 1, Central Design Bureau fro Experimental Machine-building, NPO Energia, now known as S.P.Korolev RSC Energia) has a wealth of experience in launcher activities.
Hardly any other company in Russia, and, maybe, in the whole world, has the same long history and breadth of experience in all the areas of rocket and space technology.
Our team was formed by the first chief designer of the rocket and space systems, the farther of the practical space science, academician Sergei Pavlovich Korolev who was assigned the task of developing the first long-range ballistic missiles in our country. It was under his leadership, with participation of other organizations and companies of our country were headed by academicians M.V.Keldysh, I.V.Kurchatov, chief designers of systems and units academicians V.P.Gloshko, M.S.Ryazansky, V.I.Kuznetsov, N.A.Pilyugin, V.P.Barmin and others, that the rocket systems R-1, R-2, R-5, R-5M, R-11 (11M, 11FM), R-7 (7A), R-9 (9A) were developed in 1946-1963. The first few of these rockets used liquid oxygen and alcohol as propellants. Then, R-11 rocket provided experience in working with nitric acid and kerosene. After that, the liquid propulsion rockets, starting with the legendary R-7, were developed using the following propellant components: liquid oxygen, kerosene, liquid hydrogen. In 1960s our company also developed strategic missile systems based on solid-propellant intercontinental two-stage missiles (RT-1, RT-2).


In 1960s the company started developing a super-heavy launch vehicle (LV) N1 for the manned lunar program. The work under this program which continued till 1974, took our country's rocket science to an entirely new level of knowledge and technologies.
A special place among all the projects carried out by our company is occupied by the development of the one-of-a-kind super-heavy LV Energia with load-carrying capacity of up to 100 tons, which is still unparalleled in world in some of its engineering solutions. It was the key project in a series of standardized environmentally-friendly domestic LVs which was to provide low-Earth orbit insertion of payloads with a mass of 12-15 tons (medium-class LV Zenit) to 30-60 tons (heavy LV Groza) and then up to 200 tons (super-heavy LV Vulkan). The work on Energia LV covers the period of time from late 1970s to early 1990s when Perestroika policies and the subsequent break-up the USSR led to the project termination. But the experience of working on this launch vehicle which was a part of our country's reusable space system Energia-Buran was so vast, successful and rich, that it was used to the fullest degree in those projects that we proposed afterwards and are still proposing today in the present-day designs of space launchers.

DM-type Block Manufacturing Production Base
DM-type Block Manufacturing
Production Base

Even in the years that were the most difficult period for Russia (1991-2000), RSC Energia pioneered a one-of-a-kind sea-based space launcher system Sea Launch, based on the designs, technologies and production facilities developed in the course of Energia-Buran project. The rocket segment of this system includes LV Zenit-2S, a derivative of Zenit,which has the same modular part as the LV Energia first stage strap-on boosters, and the upper stage DM-SL, one of ten derivatives of a highly reliable Block DM upper stage that has been in operation for several decades under various programs and uses liquid oxygen and kerosene propellants.

In parallel with this,taking into account the state of economy and the state of the market, world market included, in mid-1990s our company developed a number of designs for light launch vehicles (LV Kvant, Kvant-1), and then, taking into account the demands of the market, proposed medium LV designs as possible upgrade options for the currently operated Soyuz-type LVs derived from the original R-7 rocket design. These are launch vehicle projects Yamal, Onega, and Aurora.
The work on the rocket and space system based on medium-class LV Aurora was performed by the Corporation using the usual subcontractors for Soyuz LV under a contract with the Asia-Pacific Space Center of Australia, but was suspended in 2002 because the customer had problems with the funding. However, technical capabilities found in the course of the work under the Aurora project, and an inventory of the already built components for such a rocket , as well as the design documentation, the established network of subcontractors and the developed technologies make it feasible to develop on this basis a light-class LV system with the payload capacity of up to 1.5-2 tons to low Earth orbit.

SR&PRSC TsSKB-Progress PRODUCTION BASE
SR&PRSC TsSKB-ProgressAssembling-and-Testing Building
SR&PRSC TsSKB-Progress
PRODUCTION BASE
SR&PRSC TsSKB-Progress
Assembling-and-Testing Building

It is proposed that this system, which was given designation Aurora-L.SK, just as the launch vehicle of the same designation, should be developed within three years, using the traditional network of subcontractors proven over decades in many projects, which includes such world-renowned Russian rocket developers as TsSKB-Progress, V.P.Glushko NPO Energomash, N.A.Pilyugin NPTs AP, V.P.Barmin KBOM, V.I.Kuznetsov SNTK, RNII KP and others.

S.P. Korolev RSC Energia being an heir of the best traditions of S.P. Korolev's school and the only Russian organization having a semicentenary experience in developing LVs that operate every known propellant components, is primarily focused on the development of ecologically safe LVs with low-boiling propellant components.
At present, the organizations (V.N. Chelomei, M.K. Yangel, V.P. Makeev), which were engaged in a different area of developing rockets, i.e. LVs with high-boiling propellant components, also propose to develop ecologically safe LVs using low-boiling propellant components.
In launch vehicle Aurora-L.SK RSC Energia uses off-the-shelf flight proven components: engine NK-33 in the first stage and upper stage DM-SL as its second stage. This stage carries a highly reliable system for controlling the whole of the rocket. Engineering solutions have already been proven and guarantee a high reliability of the system as a whole, while requiring a minimal development cost, which is twice as low compared with the options proposed by other developers of similar systems.

Principal characteristics

Launching Mass

135 t

Payload mass

  • in elliptic orbit (/=300/1500 km, i=80°)

 

1.5 t

Launch Vehicle Engine Thrust

  • at first stage, Sea-level
    - main engine (NK-33)
    - vernier engine (RD0110R)
  • at second stage (11D58M), vacuum

 


154.05 tf
24.35 tf
8.0 tf

Propellant Capacity Reserve

  • at first stage
  • at second stage

 

108.0 t
11.3 t

ILV Overall Dimensions

  • length
  • maximum diameter

 

31.4 m
3.7 m

 

 

 

 

 

Official WEB-site of S.P.Korolev RSC Energia
E-mail:mail@rsce.ru

на главную
средства выведения
 

English
   

В адрес руководства РКК "Энергия" им. С.П. Королева от зарубежных агентств, фирм и частных лиц поступают многочисленные вопросы и просьбы рассказать об опыте Корпорации по созданию ракетных и ракетно-космических комплексов различного назначения, о работах, проводимых в этой области нашей организацией совместно с другими предприятиями и организациями страны и сравнительной оценке стоимости создания новых комплексов по отношению к другим аналогичным разработкам.
Материалы по этим вопросам приведены в соответствующих разделах данного сайта Корпорации. Чтобы облегчить поиск и понимание этих материалов, ниже приведены обобщающие сведения о работах предприятия в области создания средств выведения различного класса:

Коллектив нашего предприятия (ранее ОКБ-1, ЦКБЭМ, НПО "Энергия", сегодня РКК "Энергия" им. С.П. Королева) обладает богатейшим опытом проведения работ по средствам выведения.
Вряд ли можно назвать еще какое-нибудь предприятие в России и, пожалуй, в мире, имеющее такую же историю работ и опыт по всем направлениям развития ракетно-космической техники.
Наш коллектив формировался первым главным конструктором ракетно-космических систем, основоположником практической космонавтики академиком Сергеем Павловичем Королевым, на которого была возложена задача создания первых отечественных баллистических ракет дальнего действия. Именно под его руководством с участием других организаций и предприятий страны, возглавляемых академиками М.В. Келдышем, И.В. Курчатовым, главными конструкторами систем и агрегатов академиками В.П. Глушко, М.С. Рязанским, В.И. Кузнецовым, Н.А. Пилюгиным, В.П. Барминым и другими, в 1946-1963 гг. были созданы ракетные комплексы Р-1, Р-2, Р-5, Р-5М, Р-11 (11М, 11ФМ), Р-7 (7А), Р-9 (9А). На ракетах первых из этих комплексов ракетные двигатели работали на жидком кислороде и спирте. Затем на ракете Р-11 был приобретен опыт работ с азотной кислотой и керосином. После этого жидкостные ракеты, начиная с легендарной Р-7, создавались на компонентах: жидкий кислород, керосин, жидкий водород. В 1960-х годах на нашем предприятии были созданы и ракетные комплексы стратегического назначения с твердотопливными межконтинентальными двухступенчатыми ракетами (РТ-1, РТ-2).


В 1960-х годах предприятие приступило к созданию ракеты-носителя (РН) сверхтяжелого класса Н1 для лунной пилотируемой программы. Работы по ней, проводившиеся до 1974 года, вывели отечественное ракетостроение на качественно новый уровень знаний и технологий.
Особое место среди всех проектов, реализованных нашим предприятием, занимает создание уникальной РН сверхтяжелого класса "Энергия" с грузоподъемностью до 100 тонн, не имеющей по ряду технических решений и сегодня аналогов в мире. Она была основным, ключевым проектом в ряде унифицированных экологически чистых отечественных РН, который должен был обеспечивать выведение на околоземную орбиту полезного груза массой от 12-15 т (РН среднего класса "Зенит") до 30-60 т (РН тяжелого класса "Гроза", "Энергия-М") и далее до 200 т (РН сверхтяжелого класса "Вулкан"). Период работ по "Энергии" охватывает интервал времени с конца 1970-х годов по начало 1990-х годов, когда начавшаяся перестройка и последовавший распад СССР привели к закрытию проекта. Но опыт работ по этому носителю, входившему в состав отечественной многоразовой космической системы "Энергия - Буран", был настолько грандиозен, успешен и богат, что в полной мере использовался в тех проектах, которые мы предлагали впоследствии и предлагаем сегодня в современных разработках ракет космического назначения.

Производственная база изготовления блоков типа ДМ в РКК "Энергия"
Производственная база изготовления блоков типа ДМ в РКК «Энергия»

Даже в самые трудные для России годы (1991-2000) по инициативе РКК "Энергия" на основе полученного в ходе реализации проекта "Энергия - Буран" задела, отработанных технологий и налаженного современного производства создается уникальный морской ракетно-космический комплекс "Морской старт". В составе ракетного сегмента этого комплекса - РН "Зенит-2S", которая является модификацией "Зенита", имевшего единую модульную часть с боковыми блоками первой ступени РН "Энергия", и космический разгонный блок ДМ-SL как одна из 10 модификаций высоконадежного, эксплуатируемого в течение нескольких десятилетий по различным программам разгонного блока типа ДМ, работающего на компонентах топлива жидкий кислород и керосин.

Одновременно с этим, учитывая состояние экономики и коньюнктуру рынка, в том числе мирового, наше предприятие в середине 1990-х годов разработало ряд проектов средств выведения легкого класса (РН "Квант", "Квант-1"), а затем, учитывая интересы рыночной экономики, предложило проекты РН среднего класса как возможные варианты модернизации эксплуатируемой РН типа "Союз", созданной на базе ракеты Р-7. Это проекты носителей "Ямал", "Онега" и "Аврора".
Работы по ракетно-космическому комплексу с РН среднего класса "Аврора" велись Корпорацией в традиционной для РН "Союз" кооперацией предприятий по заказу Австралийской компании "Азиатско-Тихоокеанский космический центр", но в 2002 году эти работы были остановлены из-за проблем с финансированием со стороны компании. Однако, выявленные в ходе работ по проекту "Аврора" технические возможности, заделы уже готовых компонентов такой ракеты, а также проектная документация, налаженная кооперация предприятий-соисполнителей и освоенные технологии позволяют говорить о реальности создания на этой основе ракетно-космического комплекса с РН легкого класса грузоподъемностью до 1,5-2 т на низкой околоземной орбите.

Производственная база ГНПРКЦ "ЦСКБ-Прогресс"
Сборочно-испытательный корпус ГНПРКЦ  "ЦСКБ-Прогресс"
Производственная база
ГНПРКЦ «ЦСКБ-Прогресс»
Сборочно-испытательный корпус
ГНПРКЦ «ЦСКБ-Прогресс»

Этот комплекс, получивший название "Аврора-L.SK", как и его одноименная ракета-носитель, РКК "Энергия" им. С.П. Королева предлагает создать в течение 3 лет с привлечением к работам традиционно сложившейся и проверенной десятилетиями во многих проектах кооперацией всемирно известных российских предприятий-разработчиков в области ракетостроения, включая такие, как: ГНПРКЦ "ЦСКБ - Прогресс", НПО "Энергомаш" им. академика В.П. Глушко, НПЦ АП им. академика Н.А. Пилюгина, КБОМ им. В.П. Бармина, СНТК имени Кузнецова, РНИИ КП и другие.

РКК "Энергия", являясь наследником лучших традиций школы С.П. Королева, единственной в России организацией, обладающей полувековым опытом разработки РН на любом из известных компонентов топлива, в первую очередь ориентирована все же на создании экологически чистых РН на низкокипящих компонентах топлива.
В настоящее время и организации, которые развивали другое направление (В.Н. Челомей, М.К. Янгель, В.П. Макеев) создания ракет - РН на высококипящих компонентах топлива, также предлагают создавать экологически чистые РН на низкокипящих компонентах топлива.
РКК "Энергия" в ракете-носителе "Аврора-L.SK" использует уже готовые, проверенные в ходе эксплуатации компоненты - двигатель НК-33 на первой ступени и ракетный блок ДМ-SL в качестве второй ступени. На этом блоке устанавливается отработанная система управления всей ракетой.
Технические решения уже апробированы, гарантируют высокую надежность комплекса в целом при минимальной стоимости его создания, которая в два раза меньше по сравнению с вариантами, предлагаемыми другими разработчиками аналогичных комплексов.

Основные характеристики РКН "Аврора-L.SK"

Стартовая масса

135 т

Масса полезной нагрузки

  • на эллиптической орбите (Нп/На=300/1500 км, i=80°)

 

1,5 т

Тяга двигателей ракеты-носителя

  • первой ступени, на Земле
    - маршевый двигатель (НК-33)
    - рулевой двигатель (РД0110Р)
  • второй ступени (11Д58М), в пустоте

 


154,05 тс
24,35 тс
8,0 тс

Рабочий запас топлива

  • первой ступени
  • второй ступени

 

108,0 т
11,3 т

Габариты РКН

  • длина
  • максимальный диаметр

 

31,4 м
3,7 м

 

 

 

 

 

 

Официальный сайт РКК "Энергия" им С.П. Королева
E-mail:mail@rsce.ru