Expedition 8 (ISS-8)

Fifth Russian Visiting Crew

 

Launch:
  On October 18, 2003 at 09:38:03 Moscow Summer Time (05:38:03 UTC) the Russian manned transport spacecraft Soyuz TMA-3 was launched by the Soyuz-FG Launch Vehicle.
Launch Site:
  Baikonur launch site, Republic of Kazakhstan.
Docking:
  On October 20, 2003 at 11:15:58 Moscow Summer Time (07:15:58 UTC) the docking was made to the port of the docking compartment - module Pirs as part of the ISS Orbital Complex.
Undocking:
  On October 28, 2003 at 02:17 Moscow Time (October 27, 2003 at 23:17 UTC) the Soyuz TMA-2 spacecraft was undocked from the Functional Cargo Module Zarya.
Landing:
  On October 28, 2003 at 05:40:01 Moscow Time (02:40:01 UTC).
Landing Site:
  In the area located nearby the town of Arkhalyk, the Republic of Kazakhstan.
Flight duration:
  9 days 21 hours 1 min. 58 sec.

 

MAJOR INCREMENT TASKS

  • insertion into orbit of Pedro Duque, Spanish astronaut from ESA on the manned spacecraft Soyuz TMA-3;
  • the scheduled replacement of the Soyuz TMA-2 spacecraft, which had been operating as a rescue vehicle included as part of the ISS since April 28, 2003;
  • implementation onboard the ISS of the experiments program under the SSM Cervantes Project;
  • accomplishing the tasks of the ISS crew flight engineering support;
  • return to Earth of the Soyuz TMA-2 transport spacecraft Descent Module carrying Pedro Duque, Spanish astronaut from ESA together with the ISS-7 crew.

ISS Crew


Hoshide  AkihikoHoshide
Akihiko



leg Novitskiy Novitskiy
leg



Petr Dubrov Dubrov
Petr



Mark Vande Hei Vande Hei
Mark



Robert Shane KIMBROUGH KIMBROUGH
Robert Shane



Megan McArthur McArthur
Megan



Thomas PESQUETPESQUET
Thomas