Expedition 5 (ISS-5)

Fourth Russian Visiting Crew

 

Launch:
  The Soyuz TMA-1, Russian manned transport spacecraft, was launched by the Souyz-FG LV on October 30, 2002 at 06:11:11 Moscow Time (03:11:11 UTC).
Launch Site:
  Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan.
Docking:
  On November 1, 2002 at 08:01:28 Moscow Time (05:01:28 UTC) to the Russian docking compartment Pier.
Undocking:
  The Soyuz TM-34 spacecraft undocked from the Zarya Functional Cargo Block on November 9, 2002 at 23:44 Moscow Time (20:44 UTC).
Landing:
  November 10, 2002 at 03:04 Moscow Time (00:04 UTC).
Landing Site:
  100 km north-east of Arkalyk, Kazakhstan.
Flight duration:
  10 days 20 hours 52 mins 49 secs.

 

MAJOR INCREMENT TASKS

  • Launch of International Crew VC-4 by Soyuz TMA-1 manned spacecraft;
  • Planned changeover of Soyuz TM-34, which has been acting as a crew rescue vehicle as part of the ISS since 27 April 2002;
  • Implementation of experiments (Acoustoka-M, Diurez, Biotest, Biodegradation, Uragan, Diatomeya) under the Russian program and experiments under ODISSEA commercial program onboard the International Space Station;
  • Solution of ISS crew flight technical support issues;
  • VC-4 return in the Soyuz TM-34 spacecraft descent capsule.
Prime Crew
VC-4

Sergey Viktorovich
ZALETIN

Crew Commander

Yu.Gagarin CTC RSNII,
Russia

Frank DE WINNE

Flight Engineer-1

ESA, Belgium

Yury Valentinovich
LONCHAKOV

Pilot-2, Flight Engineer-2

Yu.Gagarin CTC RSNII,
Russia

From left to right: Y.V. Lonchakov, S.V. Zaletin and F. De Winne.

RGNIITsPK picture

Backup Crew
VC-4

Yury Valentinovich
LONCHAKOV

Crew Commander

Yu.Gagarin CTC RSNII,
Russia

Alexander Ivanovich
LAZUTKIN

Flight Engineer

S.P. Korolev RSC Energia,
Russia

The VC-4 program foresees the implementation of 64 sessions of 23 experiments under the commercial and Russian programs:

- Odissea Project (ESA/OSTC) - 17 space experiments;
- Russian program - 6 space experiments.

The following resources are required to perform experiments under the VC-4 program (Odissea Project and Russian scientific and applied research):

CARGO FLOW

Delivery of science hardware

in Progress M1-9 logistics vehicle
in Soyouz TMA-1 transport spacecraft

TOTAL:

 

83.95 kg
23.93 kg

107.88 kg

Return of materials with SE results

in Soyuz TM-34 descent capsule
in Space Shuttle, flight ULF1

TOTAL:

 

23.20 kg
46.75 kg

69.95 kg

POWER CONSUMPTION

Permanent

Maximum per session

40 W

up to 100 W

CREW TIME

VC-4 Commander S. Zaletin
VC-4 Flight engineer-1 F. De Winne
VC-4 Flight engineer-2 Yu. Lonchakov
ISS-5 Commander V. Korzun
ISS-5 Flight Engineer-2 S. Treschev

TOTAL:

30 h 50 min
39 h 15 min
25 h 00 min
2 h 15 min
8 h 20 min

105 h 40 min

ISS Crew


Shannon Walker WALKER
Shannon



leg Novitskiy Novitskiy
leg



Petr Dubrov Dubrov
Petr



Mark Vande Hei Vande Hei
Mark



Michael Hopkins Hopkins
Michael



Victor Glover Glover
Victor



Soichi Noguchi Noguchi
Soichi