Русский

Expedition 4 (ISS-4)

Third Russian Visiting Crew

 

VC-3
Launch:
  The Soyuz TM-34, Russian manned transport spacecraft, was launched on April 25, 2002 at 10:26:35.117 Moscow Summer Time (06:26:35.117 UTC).
Launch Site:
  the Republic of Kazachstan, cosmodrome Baikonur.
Docking:
  The spacecraft was docked in an automated mode to the nadir docking port of the Zarya Functional Cargo Block of the ISS on April 27, 2002 at 11:55:51 Moscow Summer Time (07:55:51 UTC).
Undocking:
  The Soyuz TM-33 spacecraft undocked from Russian docking compartment Pier on May 5, 2002 at 4:31:08 Moscow Summer Time (00:31:08 UTC).
Landing:
  May 5, 2002 at 7:51:53 Moscow Summer Time (03:51:53 UTC).
Landing Site:
  26 km south-east of Arkalyk (Republic of Kazachstan).
Flight duration:
  9 days 21 hours 25 mins 18 secs.

 

MAJOR INCREMENT TASKS

  • putting into orbit an international Visiting Crew 3 on board manned spacecraft Soyuz TM-34;
  • scheduled replacement of Soyuz TM-33 spacecraft which has been serving as a rescue vehicle for ISS since October 23, 2001;
  • conducting work on-board the space station under the visiting expedition program: Plasma Crystal, Biotest-1 experiments under the Russian program, and experiments under two commercial programs, Italian Marco Polo program (CHIRO, VEST, ALTEINO, BMI) and a Cosmonaut M.Shuttleworth Program (CCE, SPC, ESCD, EDUCATION-SA, PLANKTON-LINZA-SA);
  • addressing the ISS crew logistical tasks;
  • returning Visiting Crew 3 to Earth in the descent vehicle of the Soyuz TM-33 spacecraft.
Prime Crew
VC-3

Yuri Pavlovich
GIDZENKO

Commander of the crew

Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center, Russia

Roberto
VITTORI

Flight engineer

ESA, Italy

Mark
SHUTTLEWORTH

Space flight participant

Republic of South Africa

Left to right: M. Shuttleworth, Y.P. Gidzenko, R. Vittori

Backup Crew
VC-3

Gennadi Ivanovich
PADALKA

Commander of the crew

Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center, Russia

Oleg Dmitrievich
KONONENKO

Flight engineer

S.P.Korolev RSC Energia, Russia

The following resources are needed to carry out the experiments program:

CARGO FLOW

Ascent to the ISS RS

in logistics vehicle Progress M1-8
manned transport vehicle Soyuz TM-34

TOTAL:

 

43.88 kg
27.32 kg

71.20 kg

Descent of materials with SE results

in Soyuz TM-33 descent vehicle

 

20.01 kg

POWER CONSUMPTION

Continuous

Maximum during a session

40 W

up to 180 W

CREW TIME

Visiting Crew 3 Commander Yu.Gidzenko
Visiting Crew 3 Flight Engineer R.Vittori
Space flight participant M.Shuttleworth

TOTAL:

42 h 55 m
32 h 45 m
36 h 25 m

112 h 05 m

ISS Crew


OVCHININ Alexey OVCHININ
Alexey



HAGUE  Nick HAGUE
Nick



KOCH  Christina  KOCH
Christina



SKVORTSOV Alexandr SKVORTSOV
Alexandr



PARMITANO Luka PARMITANO
Luka



MORGAN   Andrew MORGAN
Andrew