Russian

Sea Launch Project

High Spots

Galaxy-IIIC Launch


In accordance with Sea Launch Company plans, the first launch after almost a yearlong break should have taken place in March 2002. It was planned to launch a direct TV broadcast spacecraft Galaxy-IIIC on the HS-702 bus.
Prior to launch processing operations it was necessary to perform debugging of the nominal control law updated in accordance with control object input changes accumulated by that time and documented discrepancies by the results of four previous launches. The necessity of these activities was determined by a joint decision taken by RSC Energia, Yuzhnoye GKB and KBTM General Designers and concurred by the Sea Launch Company.
RSC Energia personnel required for these activities should have left for Home Port right after New-Year holidays. However, due to spacecraft non-availability the launch date was postponed until the beginning of May and the activities at Home Port were initiated only in the 20s of February.
Besides the debugging of the control law, prior to the beginning of nominal launch processing activities, it was necessary to replace on the Upper Stage (Block DM SL #8L) one of control system devices after its repair at NPTs AP and perform modification of the attitude/ullage control propulsion system relative to thermal shield mounting and OCN cables. At this time a message from the customer came that the spacecraft delivery is delayed. By the end of March Upper Stage modification and repair were complete. The debugging of the nominal control law drew to an end. All Home Port services were brought to readiness. Rocket Segment assemblies and systems passed through nominal tests. The testing of rocket blocks was initiated.

CHRONOLOGY OF ACTIVITIES

February 23 -
April 17, 2002

Test activities with Block DМ-SL #8L and Zenit-2S LV #8 aboard ACS. Processing activities with Rocket Segment systems and equipment.

April 11, 2002

Readiness review (SRR) for Rocket-Space complex segment systems and equipment by the start of Galaxy-IIIC SC mission processing activities. Developer (BSS) and Customer (PanAmSat) have announced an additional 5-day delay of SC arrival at Home Port (a total delay made up 12 days). A new date of SC arrival at Home Port is fixed for 22.04.02., a new launch date - for 28.05.02.

April 17 -
April 29, 2002

Further US processing activities are stopped until SC arrival, RSC Energia in the period of forced idle time started doing maintenance work under a special "Personnel Work Schedule". Continuation of testing of Zenit-2S LV #8 aboard ACS, conduct of activities with Upper Stages Block DМ-SL#9L and #11L.

April 22, 2002

Final Technical Board on the results of CACS PL control law modifications and verification.

April 29, 2002

The Galaxy-IIIC SC is delivered to Home Port. Developer (BSS) and Customer (PanAmSat) have defined a new launch date - 04.06.02.

April 29 -
May 10, 2002

Preparation and implementation of Block DМ-SL #8 loading with kerosene, nitrogen tetroxide and UDMH, compressed gases.

May 11, 2002

US/LV mating.

May 19, 2002

Transfer of PLU with the Galaxy-IIIC SC to ACS ( 5 days later than the scheduled date due to SC electric test discrepancies ), launch date shift to 09.06.02.

May 20 -
May 26, 2002

A 3 day delay in performing operations on US/PLU mating due to a faulty PLU transport-mating equipment (responsible agency - Boeing). Renewal of US/PLU mating operations, in the final phase Boeing specialists have detected a loss of one of eight metallic gaskets mounted under PLU attach bolts. Visual inspection of US/PLU internal cavities first in the mated state and then after US/PLU demating - the gasket is not detected. By the results of inspection a conclusion is made: with a high probability the lost gasket in US and PLU is absent. Sea Launch Company, BSS and Customer (PanAmSat) have defined a new launch date - 04.06.02.

May 28, 2002

ILV transfer from ACS to LP. Review (MRR) of RSC systems and equipment readiness to go to the launch site. The launch date is shifted to 15.06.02.

May 29, 2002

Activities on ILV "dry" roll-out to the launch pad, critical launch readiness checklist implementation.

May 31 -
June 11, 2002

ACS/LP transit to the launch site. Two integrated rehearsals of pre-launch processing with MCC-Moscow support.

June 13, 2002

Activities of the first launch day: making Rocket Segment systems ready for operations at the launch site, ILV processing.

June 14, 2002

Activities of the second launch day: ILV roll-out to the launch pad, critical launch readiness checklist implementation.

June 15, 2002

Activities of the third launch day: nominal launch readiness checklist, ILV fueling and launch.

June 16, 2002

At 2:39 A.M. Moscow Time (June 15, 2002 at 10:39 P.M. Greenwich Time) is carried out the eighth launch from the Odyssey Launch Platform.

Post-launch operations.

LAUNCH RESULTS

The Galaxy-IIIC spacecraft is placed into the calculated orbit:

Perigee altitude,
km
Apogee altitude,
km
Inclination,
deg.
361
41440
0,0

News Archive

July  2019
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31

English

Проект "Морской старт"

Основные события

Запуск космического аппарата Galaxy-IIIC


В соответствии с планами компании "Си Лонч" первый после почти годового перерыва пуск должен был состояться в марте 2002 г. Предполагалось осуществить запуск космического аппарата прямого телевизионного вещания "Galaxy-IIIC" на платформе HS-702
До начала операций по подготовке пуска было необходимо провести отработку штатного закона управления, откорректированного в соответствии с накопленными к этому времени изменениями исходных данных от объектов управления и документированными замечаниями по результатам четырех предыдущих пусков. Необходимость проведения этих работ определялась совместным решением Генеральных конструкторов РКК "Энергия", ГКБ "Южное" и КБТМ, одобренным компанией "Си Лонч".
Персонал РКК "Энергия", необходимый для проведения этих работ, должен был вылететь в Базовый порт сразу после новогодних праздников. Однако из-за неготовности космического аппарата дата пуска была перенесена на начало мая, и работы в Базовом порту начались только в 20-х числах февраля.
Помимо отработки закона управления до начала штатных работ по подготовке пуска было необходимо на разгонном блоке (РБ ДМ SL №8Л) провести замену одного из приборов системы управления после его ремонта в НПЦ АП и осуществить доработку двигательной установки обеспечения запуска в части установки теплового экрана и подмотки кабелей БКС. В это время пришло сообщение от заказчика об опоздании с поставкой космического аппарата. К концу марта доработки и ремонт блока были завершены. Заканчивалась отработка штатного закона управления. Были приведены в готовность все службы Базового порта. Агрегаты и системы ракетного сегмента проходили штатные испытания. Начались испытания ракетных блоков.

ХРОНОЛОГИЯ РАБОТ

23 февраля -
17 апреля 2002 г.

Работы по испытаниям РБ ДМ-SL № 8Л и РН "Зенит-2S" №8 на СКС. Работы по подготовке систем и оборудования ракетного сегмента.

11 апреля 2002 г.

Обзор готовности (SRR) систем и оборудования сегментов ракетно-космического комплекса к началу работ по подготовке миссии КА Galaxy-IIIC. Разработчиком (BSS) и Заказчиком (PanAmSat) объявлено о дополнительной задержке на 5 дней прибытия КА в Базовый порт (суммарная задержка составила 12 дней). Новый срок прибытия КА в Базовый порт обозначен - 22.04.02., новая дата проведения пуска - 28.05.02.

17 апреля -
29 апреля 2002 г.

Дальнейшие работы по подготовке РБ приостановлены до момента прибытия КА, персонал РКК "Энергия" в период вынужденного простоя приступил к выполнению работ по техническому обслуживанию по специальному "Плану занятости персонала". Продолжение испытаний РН "Зенит-2S" №8 на СКС, проведение работ с РБ ДМ-SL № 9Л и №11Л.

22 апреля 2002 г.

Заключительный технический совет по результатам доработок и верификации закона управления КАСУ ПП.

29 апреля 2002 г.

КА "Galaxy-IIIC" доставлен в Базовый порт. Разработчиком (BSS) и Заказчиком (PanAmSat) определена новая дата пуска - 04.06.02.

29 апреля -
10 мая 2002 г
.

Подготовка и проведение заправки РБ ДМ-SL №8 керосином, азотным тетраоксидом и НДМГ, сжатыми газами.

11 мая 2002 г.

Стыковка РБ и РН.

19 мая 2002 г.

Погрузка БПГ с КА "Galaxy-IIIC" на СКС (позднее на 5 дней плановой даты из-за замечаний по электроиспытаниям КА), перенос даты пуска на 09.06.02.

20 мая -
26 мая 2002 г.

Задержка на 3 дня в проведении операций по стыковке РБ и БПГ из-за неисправности транспортно-стыковочного оборудования БПГ (отв. "Боинг"). Возобновление операций по стыковке РБ-БПГ, на заключительном этапе стыковки специалисты "Боинга" обнаружили потерю одной из восьми металлических прокладок, устанавливаемых под болты крепления БПГ. Проведение осмотра внутренних полостей РБ и БПГ сначала в состыкованном состоянии, а затем после расстыковки РБ и БПГ, - прокладка не обнаружена. По результатам осмотра сделан вывод: с большой вероятностью утерянная прокладка в РБ и БПГ отсутствует. Компании Си Лонч, BSS и Заказчик (PanAmSat) определили новую дату пуска - 04.06.02.

28 мая 2002 г.

Перегрузка РКН с СКС на СП. Проведение обзора готовности (MRR) систем и оборудования РКК к выходу в район старта. Перенос даты пуска на 15.06.02.

29 мая 2002 г.

Работы по "сухому" вывозу РКН на пусковой стол, проведение контрольного набора стартовой готовности.

31 мая -
11 июня 2002 г.

Морской переход СКС и СП в район старта. Проведение двух комплексных репетиций предстартовой подготовки при поддержке Московского ЦУПа.

13 июня 2002 г.

Работы первого стартового дня: приведение систем Ракетного сегмента в готовность к работам в районе старта, подготовка РКН.

14 июня 2002 г.

Работы второго стартового дня: вывоз РКН на пусковой стол, проведение контрольного набора стартовой готовности.

15 июня 2002 г.

Работы третьего стартового дня: проведение штатного набора стартовой готовности, заправка и пуск РКН.

16 июня 2002 г.

В 2 час. 39 мин. по московскому времени (15 июня 2002 г. в 22 час. 39 мин по гринвическому времени) проведен восьмой пуск со стартовой платформы "Одиссей".

Послепусковые операции.

РЕЗУЛЬТАТЫ ПУСКА

Космический аппарат "Galaxy-IIIC" выведен на расчетную геопереходную орбиту:

Высота перигея,
км
Высота апогея,
км
Наклонение,
град.
361
41440
0,0

Архив новостей

Май  2017
Пн Вт Ср Чт Пт Сб Вс
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31