Русский

ISS Russian Segment

Docking compartment Pirs

Docking compartment Pirs

Docking compartment Pirs

Purpose:

  • support for extravehicular activities (spacewalks to deploy ISS RS and to carry out a program of fundamental and applied research and experiments);
  • creation of an additional docking port, enabling Russian manned and cargo transportation spacecraft to dock with and function within the space station;
  • providing pass-through propellant transfer from Progress cargo transportation spacecraft through its own refueling lines supporting venting prior to the undocking with the transportation spacecraft;

Key specifications

Parameter Value

Launch mass, kg

4 350

Mass in orbit, kg

3 580

Mass reserved for deliverable cargo, kg

800

Length (with docking units), mm

4 910

Maximum diameter, mm

2 550

Volume of the pressurized compartment, m3

13


Docking compartment Pirs consists of a pressurized hull carrying equipment, service systems and structural elements supporting spacewalks. On the outside the hull is covered with micrometeoroid shield panels 1 mm thick and multilayer insulation.

Two docking units - one active and one passive - are located along the longitudinal axis of the docking compartment Pirs. The active docking unit is intended for pressure-tight mating with Zvezda Service Module. The passive docking unit located on the opposite side of the compartment is intended for pressure-tight mating with transportation spacecraft of the Soyuz and Progress type.

Progress M-CO1 on the launch pad

LV with CV Progress M-CO1 on the launch pad

Installed in the hull are two ring frames with hatches for spacewalks. Both hatches have inside diameter of 1000 mm. Each cover has a window with inside diameter of 228 mm. The two hatches are completely equivalent and can be used depending on which side of the Pirs compartment is more convenient for performing a spacewalk. Each hatch is designed for 120 opening cycles. To make cosmonauts' work in open space more comfortable, there are ring handrails around the hatches both inside and outside the compartment.

Handrails are also installed outside all the hull elements of the compartment in order to make it easier for the crew to work during spacewalks.

The vehicle for delivery and integration of the docking compartment into ISS RS was a specialized cargo spacecraft developed on the basis of Progress M cargo transportation spacecraft.

On September 15, 2001, after completion of the full cycle of prelaunch processing at Baikonur, the cargo spacecraft/module was launched to the space station. On September 17, it was successfully docked with the nadir port on the ISS RS Service Module Zvezda.

During the time of Pirs operation as a part of ISS RS, there have been almost 50 spacewalks supporting space station deployment and the program of fundamental and applied research and experiments.

Module Pirs as part of RS ISS

Module Pirs as part of RS ISS

English

Российский сегмент МКС

Стыковочный отсек "Пирс"

Стыковочный отсек "Пирс"

Стыковочный отсек "Пирс"

Назначение:

  • обеспечение внекорабельной деятельности (выходы в открытый космос в процессе развертывания РС МКС и выполнения программы научно-прикладных исследований и экспериментов);
  • создание дополнительного порта для стыковки и функционирования в составе станции российских транспортных пилотируемых и грузовых кораблей;
  • обеспечение транзитной передачи топлива от транспортных грузовых кораблей (ТГК) типа "Прогресс" через свои магистрали дозаправки с обеспечением дренажа перед расстыковкой с ТГК.

Основные технические характеристики

Параметр Значение

Масса при запуске, кг

4 350

Масса на орбите, кг

3 580

Резервная масса доставляемых грузов, кг

800

Длина (со стыковочным агрегатом), мм

4 910

Максимальный диаметр, мм

2 550

Объем герметичного отсека, м3

13


Стыковочный отсек "Пирс" состоит из герметичного корпуса и установленных на нем аппаратуры, служебных систем и элементов конструкции, обеспечивающих выходы в открытый космос. Снаружи корпус закрыт панелями противометеоритной защиты толщиной 1 мм и экранновакуумной теплоизоляцией.

Два стыковочных узла - активный и пассивный - расположены по продольной оси СО "Пирс". Активный стыковочный узел предназначен для герметичного соединения со служебным модулем "Звезда". Пассивный стыковочный узел, расположенный с противоположной стороны отсека, предназначен для герметичного соединения с транспортными кораблями типа "Союз" и "Прогресс".

"Прогресс М-СО1" на стартовой позиции

"РКН с ТГК "Прогресс М-СО1" на стартовой позиции

В корпусе установлены два кольцевых шпангоута с люками для выхода в открытый космос. Оба люка имеют диаметр в свету 1000 мм. В каждой крышке имеется иллюминатор диаметром в свету 228 мм. Оба люка абсолютно равнозначны и могут использоваться в зависимости от того, с какой стороны "Пирса" удобнее проводить выход членов экипажа в открытый космос. Каждый люк рассчитан на 120 открываний. Для удобства работы космонавтов в открытом космосе вокруг люков имеются кольцевые поручни внутри и снаружи отсека.

Снаружи всех элементов корпуса отсека также установлены поручни для облегчения работы членов экипажа во время выходов.

Средством доставки и интеграции стыковочного отсека в состав РС МКС являлся специализированный грузовой корабль, создававшийся на базе транспортного грузового корабля "Прогресс М".

15 сентября 2001 г. после завершения полного цикла подготовки на космодроме Байконур грузовой корабль-модуль стартовал к станции. 17 сентября он был успешно пристыкован к надирному порту служебного модуля "Звезда" РС МКС.

За время эксплуатации модуля "Пирс" в составе РС МКС в целях обеспечения развертывания станции и выполнения программы научно-прикладных исследований и экспериментов выполнено около 50 выходов в открытый космос.

Модуль "Пирс" в составе РС МКС

Модуль "Пирс" в составе РС МКС