RGNIITsPK picture

Peggy Annette WHITSON (Ph.D.)

NASA Astronaut, USA

DATE AND PLACE OF BIRTH: February 9, 1960, Mt. Ayr, Iowa, but considers Beaconsfield his hometown, Iowa.

EDUCATION: In 1981 received a bachelor of science degree in biology/chemistry from Iowa Wesleyan College and in 1985 she received a doctorate in biochemistry from Rice University, Houston, Texas.

FAMILY STATUS: Married.
Husband - Clarence F. Sams, Ph. D.

AWARDS AND RANKS: NASA Space Flight Medal (2002), Award for working in a team for the Mir-Shuttle Program (1996); American Astronautical Society Randol Ph Lovelace II Award (1995), NASA Space Act Board Award (1995, 1998); NASA Silver Snoopy Award (1995); NASA Exceptional Service Medal (1995, 2003); NASA Certificate of Commendation (1994); NASA Sustained Superior Performance Award (1990); Krug Inernational Merit Award (1989). NASA JSC National Research Council Resident Research Associate (1986-1988); Robert A.Welch Predoctoral Fellowship (1982-1985), Summa Cum Laude from Iowa Wesleyan College (1981); Presidents Honor Roll (1978-81); Orange van Calhoun Scholarship (1980); State of Iowa Scholar (1979); Academic Excellence Award (1978).

HOBBY: Weight lifting, biking, basketball and water skiing.

WORK EXPERIENCE: From 1981 to 1985 she conducted her graduate work in biochemistry at Rice University, Houston, Texas. Following completion of her graduate work she continued at Rice University till October 1986. Then she began her studies at NASA Johnson Space Center as a National Research Council Resident Research Associate. In 1988-1989 Whitson served as the Supervisor for the Biochemistry Research Group at KRUG International, a medical sciences contractor at NASA-JSC.
In 1989-1993 P.Whitson was already NASA staff member and worked as a Research Biochemist in the Biomedical Operations and Research Branch at NASA-JSC.
From April, 1988 to September, 1989, she headed research team in biochemistry in the KRUG company, subcontractor of NASA.
In 1991-1993 she served as Technical Monitor of the Biochemistry Research Laboratories in the Biomedical Operations and Research Branch.
In 1991-1992 she was the Payload Element Developer for Bone Cell Research Experiment (E 10) aboard SL-J (STS-47), and was a member of the US-USSR Joint Working Group in Space Medicine and Biology.
In 1992 she was assigned as the Project Scientist of the Mir-Shuttle Program (STS-60, STS-63, STS-71, Mir 18, Mir 19) and served in this capacity until the conclusion of the Phase 1A Program in 1995.
In 1993-1996 she held the additional responsibilities of the Deputy Division Chief of the Medical Sciences Division at JSC.
In 1995-1996 she served as Co-Chair of the U.S.- Russian Mission Science Working Group. Concurrently in 1991-1997 she was an Adjunct Assistant Professor in the Department of Internal Medicine and Department of Human Biological Chemistry and Genetics at University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, Texas. In 1997 she was an Adjunct Assistant Professor at Rice University in the Maybee Laboratory for Biochemical and Genetic Engineering.
In April 1996 she was selected as NASA astronaut candidate.
In 1996-1998 she passed a course of general space training and was qualified as a flight specialist. Then she performed technical duties in NASA Astronaut Office Operations Planning Branch. In 1998-1999 she also served as the lead for the Crew Test Support Team in Russia.
In July 1999 she was assigned to the backup ISS-3 crew and ISS-5 prime crew.
In September 2000 July 2001 Whitson passed training within ISS-3 backup crew together with V. Korzun and S. Treschev.

On June 5 December 7, 2002 Whitson performed her first space flight under Expedition-5 (ISS-5) Program as Flight Engineer-1 and Scientist of the International Space Station, Flight Engineer-2 of the Soyuz TM/TMA transport spacecraft, flight specialist of the Endeavour Orbiter (STS-11) (STS-111) during the flight to the ISS and STS-113 flight specialist during the return. During the flight the ISS-5 crew received two shuttles under STS-112 and STS-113 programs, which delivered the S1 and P1/truss truss segments, received and unloaded the Progress M46 and Progress M1-9 cargo vehicles, received the Russian Visiting Crew-4 onboard the Soyuz TMA-1 spacecraft. The scientific research under the Russian and U.S. programs were continued. The Station was handed over to the Expedition 6 crew.
During the flight P. Whitson performed one EVA of the duration of 4 hr 23 min.
The flight duration was 184 days 22 hr 14 min.

From November 2003 to March 2005 she was Deputy Chief of NASA Astronaut Office. From May 2005 to November 2005 she served as Chief of the Station Operations Branch, Astronaut Office.
She passed training within the ISS-14 backup crew as the ISS Commander.
Whitson is currently training for a space flight as the ISS-16 prime crew Commander and the Soyuz TMA TSC flight engineer.

Whitson performed her second space flight at a period of October 10, 2007 to April 19, 2008 under the ISS-16 program as a flight engineer of Soyuz TMA-11 spacecraft and commander of the ISS-16 Expedition together with Yuriy Malenchenko and member of visiting crew-13 Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor.
During the flight she performed five spacewalks of the total duration of 35 hr 21 min.
The mission duration was 191 days 16 hr 7 min.

From October 2009 to July 2012 she was Chief of the Astronaut Office.
In October 2014 at the forum of journal News of Cosmonautics a message appeared about her assignment to the crew of the ISS-50/51 Expedition.
At the meeting of the Interdepartmental Commission which was held on December 16, 2014 for selection of astronauts and their assignment to the crews of manned spacecraft and stations her assignment to the backup crew of long-term ISS-48/49 Expedition and the prime crew of long-term ISS 50/51 Expedition was approved.
On June 15, 2015 Whitson began to pass training for a space flight at Yu.A. Gagarin CTC. It was a day of the presentation of her training program for a space flight, which she was to pass together with Roscosmos cosmonaut Oleg Novitskiy and ESA astronaut Thomas Pesquet in the prime crew of ISS 50/51.
On August 6, 2015 her assignment to the crew of the ISS 50/51 Expedition was confirmed by NASA press release 15-161.

On February 11, 2016 Whitson in the crew together with Oleg Novitskiy and Thomas Pesquet passed training for actions in case of emergency landing in the wooded-marshy area in winter. The crewmembers successfully coped with all the tasks: built two types of shelters: (a one-slope tent and a wigwam), pointed the way to their location for the search and rescue team using a light signal cartridge and fire and rendered first aid to the wounded colleague during transfer to the place of meeting with rescuers.

On May 26, 2016, at the Cosmonaut Training Center, together with Oleg Novitski and Thomas Pesquet, she passed an examination training session in a simulator of Soyuz MS spacecraft. On May 27, 2016 the crew passed the pre-flight examination training session on the ISS Russian Segment.
July 6, 2016. At a meeting of the State Commission for conducting flight testing of manned space systems at Baikonur cosmodrome, approved her as a flight engineer of the backup crew of Soyuz MS.
On July 7, 2016 during the launch of Soyuz MS she was the Flight Engineer-2 of the backup crew.

November 2016.
Based the on data of site www.astronaut.ru and Lyndon B. Johnson Space Center, NASA, USA.

English

Фото РГНИИЦПК им. Ю.А.Гагарина

Пэгги Аннет УИТСОН (Доктор философии)

Астронавт НАСА, США

ДАТА И МЕСТО РОЖДЕНИЯ: 9 февраля 1960 года, г. Маунт Эйр, штат Айова, но считает своим родным городом Биконсфилд, штат Айова.

ОБРАЗОВАНИЕ: в 1981 году получила степень бакалавра в области биологии/химии в Колледже Айова Веслейн. В 1985 году получила степень доктора в области биохимии в Университете Райе, Хьюстон, Техас.

СЕМЕЙНОЕ ПОЛОЖЕНИЕ: замужем.
Муж - Клэронс Ф. Сэмсон, доктор философии.

НАГРАДЫ И ЗВАНИЯ: НАСА «За космический полёт» (2002), награда за работу в группе по программе Мир-Шаттл (1996), награда Американского Аэрокосмического Общества им. Рэндолфа Ловеласа Второго (1995), награды Совета НАСА (1995, 1998); награда НАСА Silver Snoopy (1995), медаль НАСА «За выдающиеся заслуги» (1995, 2003), Похвальная грамота НАСА (1994), награда НАСА «За наивысшие достижения» (1990), награда компании «KRUG International» (1989). Постоянный Ассоциированный исследователь Национального Исследовательского Совета НАСА/Космического Центра им. Джонсона (1986–1988), член Сообщества незащитившихся докторов наук им. Роберта А. Уэлча (1982–1985), ей присуждена Почётная степень Сумма Кум Лауде от Веслеанского колледжа Айовы (1981), она внесена в список почётных студентов Президента (1978–1981). Поощрительная стипендия (1980), стипендиат штата Айова (1979), награда за академические достижения (1978).

УВЛЕЧЕНИЯ: атлетическая гимнастика, велосипедный спорт, баскетбол, водные лыжи.

ОПЫТ РАБОТЫ: С 1981 по 1985 годы – изучала биохимию в аспирантуре Университета Райса, Хьюстон, штат Техас. После окончания аспирантуры продолжала заниматься исследовательской работой в Университете Райса до октября 1986 года, а затем перешла в Национальный исследовательский совет США с прикомандированием к Космическому центру им. Джонсона.
В 1988-1989 годах руководила исследованиями в области биохимии компании «KRUG International», выполнявшей в Центре им. Джонсона подрядные работы по медицине.
В 1989–1993 годах П.Уитсон уже была сотрудником НАСА и работала биохимиком-исследователем в Отделении биомедицинских операций и исследований Центра им. Джонсона.
С 1991 по 1993 год она осуществляла технический контроль биохимических исследовательских лабораторий в этом Отделении.
С 1991 по 1992 год она была разработчиком элементов полезного груза для проведения эксперимента по исследованию костных клеток (Е 10) на борту лаборатории SL-J (STS-47) и была членом совместной рабочей группы США – СССР по космической медицине и биологии.
В 1992 году была назначена руководителем исследований по программе Мир – Шаттл (STS-60, STS-63, STS-71, ЭО-18, ЭО-19) и оставалась на этой должности до окончания Фазы 1А программы в 1995 году.
С 1993 по 1996 год выполняла дополнительные обязанности заместителя начальника Отделения медицинских наук в Центре им. Джонсона.
В 1995–1996 годах была сопредседателем советско-американской рабочей группы по научной программе.
Одновременно в 1991–1997 годах была адъюнктом (помощником профессора) при кафедрах медицины, биохимии и генетики Медицинского отделения Университета Техаса в Галвестоне. В 1997 года она является адъюнктом кафедры биохимии и генной инженерии Мейбеевской лаборатории в Университете Райса.
В апреле 1996 года была отобрана кандидатом в астронавты НАСА.
В 1996-1998 годах прошла курс общекосмической подготовки и получила квалификацию специалиста полета. После этого работала в Отделении оперативного планирования Отдела астронавтов НАСА. В 1998-1999 годах она также являлась руководителем группы поддержки экипажей в России.
В июле 1999 года получила назначение в дублирующий экипаж МКС-3 и основной экипаж МКС-5.
С сентября 2000 по июль 2001 года прошла подготовку в составе дублирующего экипажа МКС-3 вместе с В.Корзуном и С.Трещевым.
Прошла подготовку в качестве бортинженера дублирующего экипажа МКС-3.
Прошла подготовку к космическому полету в качестве бортинженера основного экипажа МКС-5.

Первый космический полет совершила с 5 июня по 7 декабря 2002 года по программе пятой основной экспедиции на МКС (МКС-5) в качестве бортинженера-1 и научного специалиста МКС, бортинженера-2 транспортного корабля "Союз ТМ/ТМА", специалиста полета корабля «Индевор» (STS-111) на этапе полета к МКС и STS-113 на этапе возвращения. Во время полета экипажем МКС-5 были приняты два шаттла по программам STS-112 и STS-113, которые доставили секции S1 и P1 Основной фермы, приняты и разгружены грузовые корабли «Прогресс М-46» и «Прогресс М1-9», принята 4-ая российская экспедиция посещения на корабле «Союз ТМА-1». Продолжены научные исследования по российской и американской программам. Станция передана экипажу 6-ой основной экспедиции.
В ходе полета П. Уитсон выполнила один выход в открытый космос продолжительностью 4 час 23 мин.
Длительность полета составила 184 сут 22 час 14 мин.

С ноября 2003 по март 2005 года – заместитель начальника Отдела астронавтов НАСА.
С мая 2005 по ноябрь 2005 года – начальник Отделения по операциям на МКС Отдела астронавтов НАСА.
Прошла подготовку к космическому полету в качестве командира дублирующего экипажа МКС-14.
Прошла подготовку к космическому полету в качестве командира основного экипажа МКС-16.

Второй космический полет совершила с 10 октября 2007 года по 19 апреля 2008 года по программе МКС-16 в качестве бортинженера корабля «Союз-ТМА-11» и командира экспедиции МКС-16 вместе с Юрием Маленченко и членом 13-й экспедиции посещения Шейхом Музафаром Шукором.
Во время полета выполнила пять выходов в открытый космос общей продолжительностью 35 час 21 мин.
Длительность полета составила 191 сут 16 час 7 мин.

С октября 2009 по июль 2012 года была Командиром отряда (Офиса) астронавтов (Chief of the Astronaut Office).
В октябре 2014 года на форуме журнала «Новости космонавтики» появилось сообщение о её назначении в экипаж экспедиции МКС-50/51.
На состоявшемся 16 декабря 2014 года заседании Межведомственной комиссии по отбору космонавтов и их назначению в составы экипажей пилотируемых кораблей и станций было утверждено её назначение в состав дублирующего экипажа длительной экспедиции МКС-48/49 и основного экипажа длительной экспедиции МКС 50/51.
15 июня 2015 года приступила к подготовке к полёту в ЦПК им. Ю.А. Гагарина. В этот день состоялось представление программы её подготовки к полёту, которую она должна проходить вместе космонавтом Роскосмоса Олегом Новицким и астронавтом ЕКА Тома Песке в составе основного экипажа МКС 50/51.
6 августа 2015 года её назначение в экипаж экспедиции МКС 50/51 было подтверждено пресс-релизом НАСА 15-161.

11 февраля 2016 года в составе экипажа вместе с Олегом Новицким и Тома Песке прошла тренировку по действиям в случае аварийной посадки в лесисто-болотистой местности зимой. Члены экипажа успешно справились со всеми заданиями: построили два вида укрытий (односкатный шалаш и вигвам), обозначили для поисково-спасательных сил своё местонахождение с помощью светосигнального патрона и костра и оказали медицинскую помощь «раненому» коллеге на этапе перехода к месту встречи со спасателями.

26 мая 2016 года в Центре подготовки космонавтов вместе с Олегом Новицким и Тома Песке сдала экзаменационную тренировку на тренажере корабля «Союз МС». 27 мая 2016 года экипаж сдал предполетную экзаменационную тренировку на российском сегменте МКС.
6 июля 2016 года. На заседании Государственной комиссии по проведению лётных испытаний пилотируемых космических комплексов на космодроме Байконур утверждена в качестве бортинженера дублирующего экипажа корабля «Союз МС».
7 июля 2016 года во время старта корабля «Союз МС» была бортинженером-2 дублирующего экипажа.

Ноябрь 2016 г.
По материалам Космического Центра им. Линдона Б. Джонсона, НАСА, США, сайта www.astronaut.ru