Steps of ISS assembly


 
Spacecraft Launch date Landing date Station element
1 FGB Zarya Nov 20, 1998 up to now The first ISS module FGB Zarya
2 Endeavour STS-88 Dec 4, 1998 Dec 16, 1998 The second ISS module NODE-1 (Unity), pressurized mating adapters -1, -2
3 Discovery STS-96 May 27, 1999 June 6, 1999 Cargo boom
4 Atlantis STS-101 May 19, 2000 May 29, 2000  

ISS deployment started with the November 20, 1998, launch on a Russian Proton launch vehicle of the Functional and Cargo Module (FGB) Zarya, which was also built in Russia.

November 20, 1998.
The Functional and Cargo Module is put into orbit.

 

 

 

 

December 4, 1998 saw the launch of Space Shuttle Endeavour, mission STS-88, with US module NODE-1 (Unity) on board (Flight 2A in the ISS program). The flight crew consisted of R. Cabana, commander, F. Sturckow, N. Currie, J. Ross, J. Newman, and a Russian cosmonaut S. Krikalev. On December 7, Endeavor docked with FGB, picked up NODE-1 with its remote manipulator arm and berthed it to the Russian module. The Endeavor crew performed, both inside and outside FGB, installation of the early communications hardware and some repairs. On December 13, the crew performed undocking, and on December 16 the Orbiter landed.

December 7, 1998.
The first US module NODE-1 docked with the Functional and Cargo Module (FGB)

The first crew of the
International Space Station
in orbit

The flight crew after landing

Cosmonaut of S.P. Korolev RSC Energia,
S. Krikalev

On May 27, 1999, Space Shuttle Discovery was launched on STS-96 mission (Flight 2A.1 in the ISS program). The flight crew consisted of K. Rominger, commander, R. Husband, J. Payetee, T. Jernigan, E. Ochoa, D. Barry and a Russian cosmonaut V. Tokarev. On May 29 Discovery docked with the FGB + NODE-1 stack. The crew transferred cargo to the space station, did maintenance work on FGB, installed a transmitter on NODE-1 and a corrective mask on one of the targets outside FGB, transferred and installed on the adapter section a cargo boom operator post and an adapter for its attachment that had been delivered on the Shuttle. On June 4, the crew performed undocking, and on June 6 the Orbiter landed.

On May 19, 2000, Space Shuttle Atlantis was launched on STS-101 mission (Flight 2A.2a in the ISS program). The flight crew consisted of J. Halsell, commander, S. Horowitz, S. Helms, J. Voss, M.E. Weber, J. Williams, and a Russian cosmonaut Yu. Usachev. On May 21 Discovery docked with the FGB + NODE-1 stack. The crew conducted repairs on FGB and installed a cargo boom, handrails, and a TV cable on the outer surface of the space station. The Shuttle Orbiter engines were used to reboost the ISS orbit On May 27 the crew performed undocking, and on May 29 the Orbiter landed.

English

Этапы развертывания МКС


№№ п/п Космический
корабль
Дата пуска Дата посадки (затопления) Элемент станции
1 ФГБ "Заря" 20.11.1998 в полете ФГБ "Заря" - первый модуль МКС
2 "Индевор" STS-88 04.12.1998 16.12.1998 Модуль NODE-1 ("Юнити") - второй модуль МКС, гермоадаптеры РМА-1, РМА-2
3 "Дискавери" STS-96 27.05.1999 06.06.1999 Пост оператора грузовой стрелы
4 "Атлантис" STS-101 19.05.2000 29.05.2000  

Развертывание МКС началось запуском 20 ноября 1998 года с помощью российской ракеты-носителя "Протон" функционально-грузового блока (ФГБ) "Заря", также созданного в России.

20 ноября 1998 года
выведен на орбиту
функционально-грузовой блок

4 декабря 1998 года состоялся старт космического корабля "Шаттл" "Индевор" STS-88 с американским модулем NODE-1 ("Юнити") на борту (программа МКС, номер полета - 2А). В состав экипажа входили: Р. Кабана - командир, Ф. Стурков, Н. Курье, Дж. Росс, Дж. Ньюман, российский космонавт С. Крикалев. 7 декабря "Индевор" осуществил причаливание к ФГБ, перенос манипулятором и пристыковку модуля NODE-1 к российскому модулю. Экипаж корабля "Индевор" выполнил на ФГБ (внутри и снаружи) монтаж аппаратуры "ранней" связи и ремонтные работы. 13 декабря экипаж осуществил расстыковку, а 16 декабря - посадку.

7 декабря 1998 года
к функционально-грузовому блоку пристыкован первый блок США-NODE-1

Первый экипаж
Международной
космической станции в полете

Экипаж после приземления

Космонавт РКК "Энергия" им. С.П. Королева С. Крикалев

27 мая 1999 года стартовал корабль "Дискавери" STS-96 (программа МКС, номер полета - 2A.1). В состав экипажа вошли: К. Ромингер - командир, Р. Хасбанд, Дж. Пейити, Т. Джерниган, Е. Охоа, Дж. Бэрри и российский космонавт В. Токарев. 29 мая "Дискавери" состыковался со связкой ФГБ+NODE-1. Экипаж осуществил перенос грузов на станцию, выполнил профилактические работы на ФГБ, установил передатчик обратной связи на модуле NODE-1 и корректирующую маску на одной из мишеней снаружи ФГБ, перенес и установил на переходник доставленные "Шаттлом" пост оператора грузовой стрелы и адаптер для его крепления. 4 июня экипаж осуществил расстыковку, а 6 июня - посадку.

19 мая 2000 года состоялся старт корабля "Шаттл" "Атлантис" STS-101 (программа МКС, номер полета - 2A.2а). В составе экипажа: Дж. Холселл - командир, С. Горвиц, С. Хэлмс, Дж. Восс, М. Вебер, Дж. Вильямс и российский космонавт Ю. Усачев. 21 мая "Дискавери" состыковался со связкой ФГБ+NODE-1. Экипаж осуществил ремонтные работы на ФГБ и монтаж грузовой стрелы, поручней и ТВ-кабеля на внешней поверхности станции. Двигателем "Шаттла" была осуществлена коррекция подъема орбиты МКС. 27 мая экипаж осуществил расстыковку, а 29 мая - посадку.