FORTH CREW REQUIRED RESOURCES THIRD RUSSIAN VISITING CREW MARCO POLO PROGRAMM SOUTH-AFRICAN PROGRAM IMAGES VIDEO

 
homepage
INTERNATIONAL SPACE STATION
EXPEDITION FOUR (ISS-4)
THIRD RUSSIAN VISITING CREW

russian
   
Launch:
  the Soyuz TM-34, Russian manned transport spacecraft, was launched on April 25, 2002 at 10:26:35.117 Moscow Summer Time (06:26:35.117 UTC).
Launch site:
  the Republic of Kazachstan, cosmodrome Baikonur.
Docking:
  the spacecraft was docked in an automated mode to the nadir docking port of the Zarya Functional Cargo Block of the ISS on April 27, 2002 at 11:55:51 Moscow Summer Time (07:55:51 UTC).
Undocking:
  the Soyuz TM-33 spacecraft undocked from Russian docking compartment Pier on May 5, 2002 at 4:31:08 Moscow Summer Time (00:31:08 UTC).
Landing:
  landing took place on May 5, 2002 at 7:51:53 Moscow Summer Time (03:51:53 UTC).
Landing site:
  26 km south-east of Arkalyk (Republic of Kazachstan).
Flight duration:
  9 days 21 hours 25 mins 18 secs.

Key mission objectives:

  • putting into orbit an international Visiting Crew 3 on board manned spacecraft Soyuz TM-34;
  • scheduled replacement of Soyuz TM-33 spacecraft which has been serving as a rescue vehicle for ISS since October 23, 2001;
  • conducting work on-board the space station under the visiting expedition program: Plasma Crystal, Biotest-1 experiments under the Russian program, and experiments under two commercial programs, Italian Marco Polo program (CHIRO, VEST, ALTEINO, BMI) and a Cosmonaut M.Shuttleworth Program (CCE, SPC, ESCD, EDUCATION-SA, PLANKTON-LINZA-SA);
  • addressing the ISS crew logistical tasks;
  • returning Visiting Crew 3 to Earth in the descent vehicle of the Soyuz TM-33 spacecraft.
The prime crew

Yuri Pavlovich
GIDZENKO

Commander of the crew

Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center, Russia
Roberto
VITTORI
Flight engineer ESA, Italy
Mark
SHUTTLEWORTH
Space flight participant Republic of South Africa

Left to right: M. Shuttleworth, Y.P. Gidzenko, R. Vittori

Picture archive

The back-up crew

Gennadi Ivanovich
PADALKA

Commander of the crew

Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center, Russia

Oleg Dmitrievich
KONONENKO

Flight engineer S.P.Korolev RSC Energia, Russia

The program of visiting mission 3 calls for conducting 11 experiments on-board ISS RS under two commercial programs and a Russian program:

- Italian program - 4 space experiments,
- South African program - 5 space experiments,
- Russian program - 1 space experiment.

The following resources are needed to carry out the program:

LOGISTICS

Cargo delivered to ISS RS on board
          logistics vehicle Progress M1-8
          manned transport vehicle Soyuz TM-34

TOTAL:


43.88 kg
27.32 kg

71.20 kg

Materials with the results of the space experiments to be returned to Earth in the Soyuz TM-33 descent vehicle.

 

20.01 kg

POWER REQUIREMENTS

Continuous

Maximum during a session

40 W

up to 180 W

CREW TIME

Visiting Crew 3 Commander Yu.Gidzenko
Visiting Crew 3 Flight Engineer R.Vittori
Space flight participant M.Shuttleworth

42 h 55 m
32 h 45 m
36 h 25 m

60 items of hardware and kits are involved in the implementation of the program, with 19 hardware items being supplied by the Italian side, 13 hardware items by Contractor (M.Shuttleworth), and 28 items of hardware and kits by the Russian side.
Upon completion of the program, originators of the experiments will receive 18 items of materials with the experimental results having a total mass of 13.87 kg.

 

 

 

 

Official WEB-site of S.P.Korolev RSC Energia
E-mail:mail@rsce.ru