homepage
THE 1988 PROJECT

Russian
   

A radical change was introduced into the project in 1988, when it was proposed to use instead of the nuclear reactor an environmentally safe system based on film-type solar arrays on linear deployable trusses that passed developmental tests on-board space stations Salyut-7 and Mir. The main reason for this decision was the aspiration to make the vehicle environmentally safe. This decision was also greatly influenced by the progress in the development of film-type photovoltaic converters, which allowed to considerably simplify the construction of a high-power solar power plant.
The key parameters of the project are as follows:

  • the total mission time is 2 years;
  • the vehicle mass is 350 tons;
  • the crew of four;
  • the crew of two to land on the Martian surface;
  • the crew to stay on the Martian surface for 7 days.

The plan was to carry out the expedition to Mars in incremental steps, starting with robotic probes and ending with the manned mission. The following three steps were envisaged:

  • The first step was to develop the principles of joint operation of the elements of the Martian Vehicle using its models to be delivered on-board Progress logistics vehicles to a space station where they were to be assembled by the crew and to continue their mission in fre-flying atomated mode. These models were to equipped with scientific equipment needed to get a better knowledge of the Martian Vehicle operating environment.
  • The second step was to be a dress rehearsal of the manned mission, where a solar-powered tug was to deliver to the Martian surface two landers instead of one, with one of the landers to be used for developmental test of the crew landing and return concept, while the other one, carrying several Mars rovers (the mass of about 20 tons), was to conduct a detailed survey of the Martian surface;
  • The third step was the manned mission to Mars.
 

 

 

 

 

Official WEB-site of S.P.Korolev RSC Energia
E-mail:mail@rsce.ru

на главную
ПРОЕКТ 1988г.

English
   

Существенное изменение проекта произошло в 1988 году, когда в экспедиционном комплексе в качестве энергетической установки было предложено вместо ядерного реактора применить экологически чистую систему с использованием пленочных солнечных батарей на линейных разворачиваемых фермах, отработанных на станциях "Салют-7" и "Мир". Основной мотив этого решения - стремление сделать корабль экологически чистым. Большое влияние на это решение оказал и прогресс в создании пленочных фотопреобразователей энергии, что позволяло значительно упростить создание солнечной электростанции большой мощности.
Основные параметры проекта:

  • общее время полета - 2 года,
  • масса корабля - 350 т,
  • экипаж - четыре человека,
  • экипаж на поверхности Марса - два человека,
  • время работы на поверхности Марса - 7 суток.

Экспедицию на Марс планировалось провести с последовательным наращиванием средств, начиная от автоматов и кончая пилотируемой экспедицией.
Предполагалось три этапа:

  • первый - отработка принципов совместного функционирования элементов марсианского экспедиционного комплекса (МЭК) с использованием его моделей, доставляемых грузовыми кораблями "Прогресс" на орбитальную станцию и собираемых там космонавтами и совершающих дальнейший самостоятельный полет в автоматическом режиме. Эти модели оснащаются научной аппаратурой для уточнения условий функционирования МЭК;
  • второй - генеральная репетиция пилотируемой экспедиции, в ходе которой солнечный буксир доставит на поверхность Марса два посадочных аппарата вместо одного, причем один из них используется для отработки схемы посадки и возвращения экипажа, а второй (с несколькими марсоходами массой около 20 т) - для проведения детального исследования поверхности Марса;
  • третий - пилотируемая экспедиция на Марс.
 

 

 

 

 

Официальный сайт РКК "Энергия" им С.П. Королева
E-mail:mail@rsce.ru