homepage
LAUNCHERS
Rocket R-11FM

Russian
   

It was decided to introduce far-range ballistic rockets in the capacity of the navy armament starting from a diesel submarine. The Chief Designer was N. N. Isanin. It was necessary to redesign the selected submarine to accommodate the R-11 family rocket modified at OKB-1 for this purpose. The rocket was designated as R-11FM and became the first operations rocket adapted for launching from submarines.
As a main launch option of rocket R-11FM, a launch from an above-water submarine surface was approved. For this, it was necessary to lift the launch pad with the completely fueled rocket from the submarine silo to a level of a conning tower and keep it vertical till a launch.


Ракета Р-11ФМ,
готовая к пуску
683x475
(80 334 bytes)
Principal characteristics of rocket R-11FM

Maximum firing range, km

Launch mass, kg

Payload unit mass, kg

Mass of fuel components
(nitric acid AK-20I, kerosene T-1,
mix of TG-02 and gas), kg

Engine ground thrust, kgf

150

5440

967



3393

8260

The accepted option allowed to avoid radical modifications of the submarine design and to redesign only those sites at the shipyard that were associated with the rocket accommodation on the submarine. Radical modifications were also required to the rocket flight control system (to receive initial launch data from the submarine navigation system).
The ground tests assumed launches from a stationary and then from application specific swinging launch pad. The test primary goal was to verify the R-11FM attachment system with movable claws.
Relying on the ground test results the feasibility of integrated sea tests of rocket R-11FM and the submarine was concluded.


Launching of rocket R-11FM
511x305
(38 462 bytes)

Rocket R-11FM launched
from submarine
641x482
(72 217 bytes)
The first successful launch of rocket R-11FM from submarine B-67 commanded by the 2nd rank captain F. I. Kozlov took place in the White Sea on September 16, 1955 at 17:32 .
Then, operational tests of complex "Submarine-Rocket R-11FM" have been carried out in August-October 1956 at the North Navy base. Submarine B-67 was commanded by I. I. Gulyaev. The sea tests were witnessed by S. P. Korolev from boards of submarines.
The program assumed firing of rockets of different storage life. After durable testing three successful launches have been performed of which the first launch took place on September 12, 1956 after a 37-day period of storage of rocket R-11FM on the submarine and two launches took place on October 1956, after 82-day and 47-day storage periods.
The final testing cycle has been carried out in March-May 1958. To witness the rocket final launch from the submarine, the Navy Commander-in-Chief, admiral P. E. Vladimirsky, chief marshal of artillery M. I. Nedelin, as well as commanders of fleets and flotillas were invited to witness the rocket launch from a board of a ship going in parallel with the submarine.
Rocket R-11FM entered service in the Navy on February 20, 1959.
From the year 1955, studies on a rocket under-water launch were initiated. OKB-10 NII-88 (Chief Designer E. V. Charnko) was obligated to implement this work. In October 1956 experiments were started in the Black Sea. The first under-water launch of rocket R-11FM in which a solid-propellant engine instead of a liquid-propellant engine and which was installed in a launch silo of an immersed platform took place on December 26, 1956 from the depth of 30 m.
In 1955 technical documentation on rocket R-11FM was passed on to SKB-385 and its tooling and hardware - to plant 385 for mass production of the rocket. On the initiative of S. P. Korolev, on March 11, 1955 V. M. Makeev previously working in the capacity of the lead designer of rocket R-11 was appointed the Chief Designer of OKB-385.
 

 

 

 

 

Official WEB-site of S.P.Korolev RSC Energia
E-mail:mail@rsce.ru

на главную
средства выведения
Ракета Р-11ФМ

English
   

Работы по использованию баллистических ракет дальнего действия в качестве вооружения кораблей Военно-Морского Флота решили начать с оснащения ими дизельной подводной лодки (ПЛ), главным конструктором которой был Н.Н. Исанин. Необходимо было переоборудовать выбранную ПЛ для размещения на ней специально доработанной в ОКБ-1 ракеты типа Р-11, которая получила название Р-11ФМ и стала первой боевой ракетой, приспособленной для запуска из пусковых установок ПЛ.
В качестве основного приняли вариант пуска ракет Р-11ФМ из надводного положения ПЛ, для чего нужно было поднять специальную пусковую установку с полностью заправленной ракетой из шахты ПЛ до уровня боевой рубки и удерживать ее там в вертикальном положении до пуска.


Ракета Р-11ФМ,
готовая к пуску
683x475
(80 334 bytes)
Основные характеристики ракеты Р-11ФМ

Максимальная дальность стрельбы, км

Начальная масса ракеты, кг

Масса головной части, кг

Масса компонентов ракетного топлива
(азотная кислота АК-20И, керосин Т-1,
смесь ТГ-02, газ ), кг

Тяга ДУ на земле, кгс

150

5440

967



3393

8260

Принятый вариант позволял обойтись без коренной переделки конструкции ПЛ и ограничиться только доработкой на верфи мест, связанных со спецификой размещения ракеты на ПЛ. Требовались также серьезные изменения в бортовой части системы управления ракеты (прием исходных данных на пуск из навигационной системы ПЛ).
При испытаниях на полигоне намечались пуски с неподвижного, а затем со специального качающего стенда. Основная цель этих испытаний состояла в отработке системы крепления ракеты Р-11ФМ с подвижными захватами.
Результаты проведенных на полигоне испытаний позволяли сделать вывод о возможности морских испытаний ракеты Р-11ФМ совместно с ПЛ.


Пуск ракеты Р11 ФМ
с подводной лодки
511x305
(38 462 bytes)

Ракета Р11 ФМ стартует
с подводной лодки
641x482
(72 217 bytes)
Первый успешный пуск ракеты Р-11ФМ с ПЛ Б-67 под командованием капитана 2-го ранга Ф.И. Козлова выполнен в Белом море 16 сентября 1955 года в 17 час 32 мин. Затем провели эксплуатационные испытания комплекса: "ПЛ - ракета Р-11ФМ" на Северном флоте в августе - октябре 1956 года. Подводной лодкой Б-67 командовал И.И. Гуляев. На морских испытаниях на борту подводных лодок находился С.П. Королев.
Программой намечался отстрел ракет, имеющих различные сроки хранения. После длительных испытаний прошли три успешных пуска ракет: первый - 12 сентября 1956 года после 37 суток хранения ракеты Р-11ФМ на ПЛ и два пуска 3 октября 1956 года после 82 и 47 суток хранения.
Последний этап испытаний проводился в марте - мае 1958 года. На заключительный пуск ракеты с ПЛ пригласили заместителя Главнокомандующего ВМФ адмирала П.Е. Владимирского, Главного маршала артиллерии М.И. Неделина, также командующих флотами и флотилиями, которые наблюдали пуск ракеты с корабля, идущего параллельным курсом с ПЛ.
Ракета Р-11ФМ принята на вооружение ВМФ 20 февраля 1959 года.
С 1955 года начались исследования по подводному старту ракеты. Эти работы поручили ОКБ-10 НИИ-88 (главный конструктор Е.В. Чарнко). В октябре 1956 года начались эксперименты на Черном море. Первый старт ракеты-макета Р-11ФМ, оснащенной РДТТ вместо ЖРД, из-под воды был проведен 26 декабря 1956 года с глубины 30 м из стартовой шахты, установленной на погруженной платформе.
В 1955 году техническую документацию на ракету Р-11ФМ передали в СКБ-385, а оснастку и материальную часть - на завод 385 для серийного производства ракет Р-11ФМ. По инициативе С.П. Королева 11 марта 1955 года Главным конструктором ОКБ-385 был назначен В.П. Макеев, ранее работавший ведущим конструктором ракеты Р-11.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Официальный сайт РКК "Энергия" им С.П. Королева
E-mail:mail@rsce.ru