Russian

Sea Launch Project

High Spots


The high spots of the history of developing and operating the unique Sea Launch Complex have covered the period since origin of the project in 1991-1992 when NPO Energia together with Russian enterprises conducted preliminary basic research on development of a Sea-Based Rocket and Space Complex. In life of Sea Launch - one of most "ambitious and fantastic projects of the XX. century" (as wrote newspapers) there were not a few uneasy turns, but always the participants in the project found true solutions. Now the program lives in conditions of rigid competitive struggle at the market of launch services. Launches under the Sea Launch program are going on.

LAUNCHES UNDER SEA LAUNCH PROGRAM

March 28, 1999

At 5:30 a.м. Moscow Time (March 27, 1999 at 6:30 P.M. Pacific Time) from the Odyssey Launch Platform is carried out the first demo launch.

October 10, 1999

At 7:28 A.M. Moscow Time (October 9, 1999 at 8:28 P.M. Pacific Time) is carried out the first commercial launch. The DirecTV-1R spacecraft is placed into the calculated orbit.

March 12, 2000

Launch of the ICO-F1 spacecraft at 6:49:15 A.M. Eastern Pacific Time. Emergency abort of the ILV Stage 2 flight on the 471st second.

July 29, 2000

At 2:42 A.M. Moscow Daylight Time (July 28, 2000 at 3:42 P.M. Pacific Daylight Time) is carried out the fourth launch from the Odyssey Launch Platform. The PanAmSat-9 spacecraft is placed into the calculated orbit.

October 21, 2000

At 9:52 A.M. Moscow Time (October 20, at 10:52 P.M. Pacific Time) is carried out the fifth launch. The Thuraya spacecraft is placed into the calculated orbit.

March 19, 2001

At 1:33 A.M. Moscow Time (March 18, 2001 at 2:33 P.M. Pacific Time) is carried out the sixth launch from the Odyssey Launch Platform. The XM Radio-2 spacecraft is placed into the calculated orbit.

May 9, 2001

At 2:10 A.M. Moscow Time (May 8, 2001 at 3:10 P.M. Pacific Time) is carried out the seventh launch from the Odyssey Launch Platform. The XM Radio-1 spacecraft is placed into the calculated orbit.

June 16, 2002

At 2:39:30 A.M. Moscow Daylight Time (June 15, 2002 at 3:39:30 P.M. Pacific Time) is carried out the eighth launch from the Odyssey Launch Platform. The Galaxy IIIC spacecraft is placed into the calculated orbit.

June 10, 2003

At 05:55:59 P.M. Moscow Time (06:55:59 A.M. PDT) the ninth launch of Zenit-3SL rocket was performed from the Odyssey Launch Platform. The Thuraya D2 spacecraft was placed into the calculated orbit.

August 8, 2003

At 07:31 A.M. Moscow Time (on August 7, 8:31 P.M. PDT) the tenth launch of Zenit-3SL rocket was performed from the Odyssey Launch Platform. The EchoStar IX spacecraft was placed into the calculated orbit.

October 1, 2003

At 8:02:59.178 A.M. Moscow Time (September 30, 2003 at 9:02:59.178 P.M. PDT) the eleventh launch of Zenit-3SL rocket was performed from the Odyssey Launch Platform. The Galaxy-XIII/Horisons-1 satellite was placed into a lofted perigee Geosynchronous Transfer Orbit.

January 11, 2004

At 07:13 A.M. Moscow Time (January 10, 2004 at 8:13 P.M. PDT) the twelfth launch of Zenit-3SL rocket was performed from the Odyssey Launch Platform. The Telstar 14/Estrela do Sul 1 communications satellite was placed into a lofted perigee Geosynchronous Transfer Orbit.

May 4, 2004.

At 4:42 P.M. Moscow Time (5:42 A.M. PDT) the thirteenth launch of Zenit-3SL rocket was performed from the Odyssey Launch Platform. The DirecTV 7S broadcast satellite was inserted into Geosynchronous Transfer Orbit.

June 29, 2004.

At 7:59 A.M. Moscow Time (June 28, 2004 at 8:59 P.M. PDT) the fourteenth launch of Zenit-3SL rocket was performed from the Odyssey Launch Platform. The Telstar 18 broadcast satellite was inserted into Geosynchronous Transfer Orbit.

March 1, 2005.

At 6:51 A.M. Moscow Time (February 28, 2005 at 7:51 P.M. PST) the fifteenth launch of Zenit-3SL rocket was performed from the Odyssey Launch Platform. The XM Radio-3 broadcast satellite was inserted into Geosynchronous Transfer Orbit.

April 26, 2005.

At 11 hours 31 min. 25 sec. Moscow Time (April 26, 2005 at 00 hours 31 min. 25 sec Pacific Time) the 16th launch from the launch platform Odyssey was accomplished. Spacecraft Spaceway-1 was put into its target orbit with high accuracy. For the first time in a commercial launch, a capability was demonstrated to put more than 6 ton SC into a geotransfer orbit owing to special engineering measures implemented by RSC Energia to further improve the unique performance of the upper stage.

June 23, 2005

At 6:03 P.M. Moscow Time (7:03 A.M. PST) the 17th launch of Zenit-3SL rocket was performed from the Odyssey Launch Platform. The Intelsat Americas™-8 satellite was inserted into Geosynchronous Transfer Orbit with high accuracy.

November 8, 2005

At 5:07 P.M. Moscow Time (6:07 A.M. PST) the 18th launch of Zenit-3SL rocket was performed from the Odyssey Launch Platform. The Inmarsat-4 communications satellite was placed into a Geosynchronous Transfer Orbit.

February 16, 2006

At 2:35 А.M. Moscow Time (February 15, 2006 at 3:35 P.M. PST) the 19th launch of Zenit-3SL rocket was performed from the Odyssey Launch Platform. The EchoStar X communications satellite was placed into a Geosynchronous Transfer Orbit.

April 13, 2006

At 3:30 А.M. Moscow Time (April 12, 2006 at 4:30 P.M. PST) the 20th launch of Zenit-3SL rocket was performed from the Odyssey Launch Platform. The JCSAT-9 communications satellite was placed into a Geosynchronous Transfer Orbit.

June 18, 2006

At 11:50 А.M. Moscow Time (00:50 P.M. PST) the 21st launch of Zenit-3SL rocket was performed from the Odyssey Launch Platform. The GALAXY 16 communications satellite was placed into a Geosynchronous Transfer Orbit.

August 22, 2006

At 07:27 А.M. Moscow Time (August 21, 2006 at 08:27 P.M. PDT) the 22nd launch of Zenit-3SL rocket was performed from the Odyssey Launch Platform. The KoreaSat 5 communications satellite was placed into a Geosynchronous Transfer Orbit.

October 31, 2006

At 02:49 А.M. Moscow Time (October 30, 2006 at 03:49 P.M. PDT) the 23rd launch of Zenit-3SL rocket was performed from the Odyssey Launch Platform. The XM Radio-4 communications satellite was placed into a Geosynchronous Transfer Orbit.

January 31, 2007

Launch of spacecraft New Skies-8 at 02:21:59 A.M. Moscow Time (January 30, 2007 at 03:21:59 P.M. Standard Pacific Time).
As a result of the first stage engine failure to reach the nominal thrust level and subsequent loss of thrust the ILV went down though the launch pad opening into the sea.

January 15, 2008

At 2:49 pm Moscow Time (at 3:49 am PST) the 25th launch of Zenit-3SL rocket was performed from the Odyssey Launch Platform. The Thuraya D3 communications satellite was placed into a Geosynchronous Transfer Orbit.

March 20, 2008

At 1:48 am Moscow Time (March 19, 2008 at 2:48 pm PST) the 26th launch of Zenit-3SL rocket was performed from the Odyssey Launch Platform. The DirecTV 11 communications satellite was placed into a Geosynchronous Transfer Orbit.

May 21, 2008

At 1:43 pm Moscow Time (at 2:43 am PST) the 27th launch of Zenit-3SL rocket was performed from the Odyssey Launch Platform. The Galaxy 18 communications satellite was placed into a Geosynchronous Transfer Orbit.

July 16, 2008

At 9:20 am Moscow Time (July 15, 2008 at 10:20 pm PST) the 28th launch of Zenit-3SL rocket was performed from the Odyssey Launch Platform. The EchoStar XI communications satellite was placed into a Geosynchronous Transfer Orbit.

September 24, 2008

At 1:28 pm Moscow Time (at 2:28 am PST) the 29th launch of Zenit-3SL rocket was performed from the Odyssey Launch Platform. The Galaxy 19 communications satellite was placed into a Geosynchronous Transfer Orbit.

April 20, 2009

At 0:16 pm Moscow Time the 30th launch of Zenit-3SL rocket was performed from the Odyssey Launch Platform. The Sicral 1B communications satellite was placed into a Geosynchronous Transfer Orbit.

September 25, 2011

At 0:18 am Moscow Time the 31th launch of Zenit-3SL rocket was performed from the Odyssey Launch Platform. The ATLANTIC BIRD™ 7 communications satellite was placed into a Geosynchronous Transfer Orbit.

June 1, 2012

At 9:23 am Moscow Time the 32nd launch of Zenit-3SL rocket was performed from the Odyssey Launch Platform. The Intelsat-19 communications satellite was placed into a Geosynchronous Transfer Orbit.

August 19, 2012

At 10:54 am Moscow Time the 33rd launch of Zenit-3SL rocket was performed from the Odyssey Launch Platform. The Intelsat-21 communications satellite was placed into a Geosynchronous Transfer Orbit.

December 4, 2012

At 00:44 am Moscow Time the 34rd launch of Zenit-3SL rocket was performed from the Odyssey Launch Platform. The EUTELSAT-70B communications satellite was placed into a Geosynchronous Transfer Orbit.

February 1, 2013

Launch of spacecraft Intelsat-27 at 10:55:59 A.M. Moscow Time (January 31, 2013 at 10:55:59 P.M. Standard Pacific Time). 1st stage main engine emergency shutdown.

May 27, 2014

At 1:09:55 am Moscow Time (May 26, 2014 at 2:09:55 pm PST) the 36th launch of Zenit-3SL rocket was performed from the Odyssey Launch Platform. The Eutelsat 3B communications satellite was placed into a Geosynchronous Transfer Orbit.

News Archive

March  2017
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31